Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Peter in Blueberry Land” as Want to Read:
Peter in Blueberry Land
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Peter in Blueberry Land

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  593 ratings  ·  40 reviews
Peter is looking for blueberries for his mother's birthday, but he cannot find a single one. Suddenly he feels a light tap on his shoe, and a strange, magical adventure begins. This is the mini edition of a perennial favorite. (Age 3-5)
Hardcover, Miniature Edition, 32 pages
Published September 15th 2005 by Floris Books (first published 1901)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Peter in Blueberry Land, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Peter in Blueberry Land

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  593 ratings  ·  40 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Manybooks
Like with the vast majority of Floris Books of Edinburgh's editions that feature so-called translations, that present English language renderings of classical continental Western European children's literature picture books, Elsa Beskow's Peter in Blueberry Land (the original 1901 Swedish title being Puttes äventyr i blåbärsskogen) is really to be considered more a lyrical prose adaptation, as the original text is actually rhyming poetry (and yes, I even obtained a copy of the original Swedish v ...more
Dianna
Nov 08, 2010 rated it it was amazing
This book really tickled my fancy. Peter goes into the forest to find some berries for a gift for his mother's birthday. But he can't find any berries and sits down to cry. Then the King of Blueberry Land shrinks him and takes him home with him, and Peter gets to play with the blueberry boys and the cranberry girl and they show him where the berries are hiding.

This book was first published in Swedish in 1901. Fans of L Frank Baum, Beatrix Potter, and Blanche Fisher Wright will probably enjoy thi
...more
Matty Lapointe-Smith
Anyone following my feed lately has, I'm sure noticed all the young children's literature. While being unemployed I started reading 1001 Children's Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up. So I am!

This book from 1901 is a delight. Great illustrations, charming story and a solid, very European-feeling integration of the simple magic of fairy tales.
Morgan Djuna Sorais Harrigan
This story is beautiful and cute. The children who I read this to are excited and inspired by the natural and imaginary theme. (Having a nice big bowl of blueberries near by while reading is a must).
Heidi
I'm thankful we live in an area where libraries share their collections. We were able to request this copy from another library in our quest to complete the "1001 Books Before You Grow Up" list. I'd heard of this title before, but wasn't that motivated to pick it up.

A cute story, with pretty illustrations and while we enjoyed it, it doesn't make my must own list.
Judy
Beskow's stories are always imaginative, gentle, and set in the out-of-doors. While many of her books have recently been reprinted, they don't have the color quality that makes the early editions so beautiful.
Abigail
Oct 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Elsa Beskow Fans
Originally published in Sweden as Puttes Äventyr i Blåbärsskogen, this classic picture-book first appeared in 1901, and has been delighting children at home and abroad ever since! Elsa Beskow, whose work is so highly regarded in her native country, that Sweden's annual award for the best illustrated children's book is named in her honor, here weaves an enchanting tale of a young boy who sets out to gather a basket each of blueberries and cranberries, as a birthday gift for his mother. When there ...more
Janey Colbourne
Feb 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book is suitable for young children, mainly preschoolers, but the pictures and story are so beautiful it is a book to treasure. The simple story has a lovely sentiment, all about the blueberry and cranberry children helping peter collect berries and playing together. There is absolutely nothing in it that might disturb a young child. I love reading it to my daughter. I love these kind of books with stories of nature beings, a healthy antidote to a technological culture. A similar book is th ...more
Allison
Sep 18, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Preschoolers and up
Recommended to Allison by: 1001 CBYMRBYGU
Shelves: 1001-cbymrbygu
Little mystical people in nature helping out a little boy collecting berries for his Mother as a birthday present and charming illustrations - it doesn't get a whole lot better than this for me. Here's another children's book that if I owned two of them, one would surely be sliced up and framed. The realism of the drawings of creatures and plants lends this book to use as a teaching device as well as a mechanism to feed the imagination.
Angela Skeie
Aug 10, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: william-s-books
SO far my favorite Scandinavian children's book. I think it's a little silly how in the English version, they apparently changed it from lingonberries to cranberries. William loves it. The illustrations are beautiful.
Diana
Jun 09, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kids, storytime
What a satisfying little book! Classic and tender, this is a gentle little fairy tale with highly pleasing illustrations. I requested this as part of my unit on blueberries. It didn't arrive in time to use, and that makes me sad, since it is a great piece. I'll have to get it again next time!
Melusine Parry
Absolutely lovely book, beautiful beautiful colours, a favourite when I was little.
Kathryn
May 14, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children-s-books
Oh I just loved the whole thing - the illustrations, the story, the adorable faces and the story...I just loved it.
Peacegal
Oct 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
These books are sweet, charming studies in miniature, with nice lessons in kind behavior.
Lee
Dec 09, 2009 marked it as to-read
Recommended to Lee by: Gundula Baehre
Shelves: picture-books
Sharing.
Miss Sarah
Peter sets out to collect blueberries and cranberries for his mothers birthday but he can't seems to find any until the king of the blueberries shrinks Peter and takes him to meet his sons and the cranberry queens and her daughters. Adventure abounds. A little long so one on one or preschool.
Clara Ellen
This was all I'd hoped it would be...an adorable story!
Tracey
Dec 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: owned-books
Another lovely and beautifully illustrated old-fashioned children's tale.
F.J. Commelin
Wow this is really long ago. I know i read it as a child xxx times because of the wonderful illustrations.
Alexandra Shoni
Mar 13, 2013 rated it liked it
You can never be too old to admire these stories. A short tale which embodies the magic of fantasy.
Tammy
Sep 01, 2013 rated it really liked it
Very fun story. The illustrations were awesome. :)
Natalie
Aug 07, 2009 rated it liked it
Another adorable Beskow book; we liked the shrinking-down and somewhat 50's fun Peter had with the Blueberry Boys and Cranberry Girls.
Christina
Oct 21, 2009 rated it really liked it
I thought I got this one from the library a while back, but they don't seem to have it. Does anyone own this or any other Elsa Beskow books thay'd be willing to lend?
Michelle
This is an old book that can be hard to find, but the Swedish illustrations of a little boy shrunk down to visit the kingdom of the blueberries are very enchanting.
Jess Gill
Sep 06, 2008 rated it really liked it
simple story, beautiful illustrations.
Ana Huston
Maddy's favorite for a while
Jen
Aug 14, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 1001, childrens
I enjoyed this whimsical tale of Peter's adventures gathering berries for his mother's birthday. It was a most unusual process.
Corinne
Dec 31, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kids, own, picture-book
Very sweet book. Boy needs help finding blueberries and cranberries for his mother. Magic, new friends and a wonderful gift.
Jen
Feb 28, 2008 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-alouds
Imaginative fairytale
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
1001 Children's B...: September 2017 - Peter in Blueberry Land 7 15 Sep 10, 2017 02:23PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Mother Earth and Her Children: A Quilted Fairy Tale
  • Lotta's Bike
  • Mother Goose
  • The Quangle Wangle's Hat
  • Das kleine Ich-bin-ich
  • Jamela's Dress
  • Ernest and Celestine
  • The Cow Who Fell in the Canal
  • Barbapapa
  • Uppo-Nalle (Uppo-Nalle, #1)
  • Autumn Story
  • Martine à la ferme
  • The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Gray Bridge
  • The Church Mouse
  • Avocado Baby
  • Crocodile Beat
  • My Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes
  • The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My
See similar books…
79 followers
Elsa Maartman Beskow