Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Dog and His Boy” as Want to Read:
A Dog and His Boy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Dog and His Boy

by
3.91  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  9 reviews
A gripping wilderness adventure tale, a tragic sins of the father story, and a tender ode to friendship. T.F. Pruden's debut novel 'A dog and his boy' is these and more. The richly layered account transports the reader to a world too real to be imagined where life alternates between ironic humor and compelling tragedy. A poignant coming of age narrative, it confronts the g ...more
Paperback, First Printing, 220 pages
Published November 12th 2015 by Amazon
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Dog and His Boy, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Dog and His Boy

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 3.91  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A Dog and His Boy
Disha Bose O'Shea
Nov 18, 2015 rated it did not like it
Following the Bildungsroman tradition of a coming-of-age narrative, the story follows the life of a family of four and their two dogs. Set in the Canadian wilderness of Manitoba, the themes of isolation, parenting and a relationship between man and his best friend are explored. Judging by the style of writing I was too quick to jump to the conclusion of assuming that the book is targeted at young adults, by the second section of the book I was suspicious that it perhaps is not.

Very soon the don
...more
Andrea Lundgren
Jan 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: literary-fiction
I think the biggest problem this novel suffers from is identity confusion, probably on the part of the readers. The title “A Dog and His Boy” reminded me of “The Horse and His Boy” from The Chronicles of Narnia series, and there is a fairly popular (to judge by number of reviews on Goodreads) middle school children’s book called “One Dog and His Boy.” Despite the description, the title and the book cover, with its school-bus colors and child-like printing, make you think this could be a young ad ...more
Theresa Needham fehse
Feb 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
Free book for honest review. juliesbookreview.blogspot.com

When Will Parker returned from World War II emotionally scarred by the war and by the
pressure of his father’s upbringing, a hopeless alcoholic. Joe, fourteen years younger, was a
confirmed bachelor, alcoholic, cowboy and lady’s man. Joe, a much more restless individual
than Will, loved the freedom of working the ranch. Joe would never be the marrying kind, and
when Will married and later bitterly separated from his wife, Joe swallowed a
...more
Elaine Chapelle
Mar 30, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I recently read “A Dog and His Boy” and it has taken me some time to process what I read, and write these comments. The description on the back is perfect - I can’t think of better words myself. Poignant, lyrical precision, a world too real to be imagined, reality of a broken home and alcohol abuse. I think I missed the layer with ironic humor. Perhaps I would need to read it one or two more times to be able to grasp this part.

T.F. Pruden writes beautifully and I found it impossible to put the b
...more
J.D. Thompson
Jan 05, 2016 rated it it was ok
https://thechroniclesofjen.wordpress....
Set in northwest Canada during the nineteen seventies, A Dog and His Boy by first time author T.F. Pruden follows one unconventional family and their lives in an isolated ranch as they learn to survive lost childhoods and broken homes.

Let me start by stating that A Dog and His Boy was a decent novel. While exploring themes of isolation, loss and family relationships, Pruden does a good job at giving the readers a sense of what life in northern Manitoba mu
...more
Laura
Nov 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Perhaps there are others like me who ache for a good story. A story once started they cannot put down. T.F. Pruden’s first novel, “A dog and his boy” will not appeal to the masses. Its themes are not trendy or populist. But this is a story well told.

Pruden takes us into the wilds of Manitoba and the lives of four men bound together as brothers and sons. He writes about the breakdown of family and the impacts of isolation and disconnection. We witness fragile/ irreparably damaged psyches trying t
...more
Sarah
Dec 21, 2015 rated it liked it
I received a copy of this book from librarything.com in exchange for an honest review. That being said, this was not a book for me. I'm sure it is partly to do with personal preferences, but it was a wordy book for me
The author seemed to overexplain everything, and while it did make the book come to life for me, it made reading it slow. I can usually finish a book in a day or two but this one took me almost two weeks. The author does have a sense of immersing the reader into the woods along wit
...more
Kristine
Jan 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received this book from a Goodreads giveaway

It took me a while to get into this book. This book was okay, by the time I got half way through I knew it was going to have a sad ending. The story was interesting, some of the wording was a little confusing at first. There were areas where I felt the characters embarrassment or pain, at other times I felt that the characters were vague and their feelings were hard to grasp.
Sharron
Dec 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. Really enjoyed the story.
J Pociwauschek
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2015
Gary
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2019
T.F. Pruden
Nov 13, 2015 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: favorites
Katharine Em
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Ms. Reader
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Tanya
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Rachel Hall
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Susan
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Kara
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Betty
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Stella Clarkson
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Kara Davis
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Eileen
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Debbie Kennedy
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Patricia Ann
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Joy Adams
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Diane
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Susan
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Books
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Rhonda
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Emiley Allen Bowes
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
amy
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
DEBORAH SHAW
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Manny
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Nancy Baker
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Melitta Cross
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
24 followers
T.F. Pruden spent a lifetime learning to write fiction while earning a living in a variety of occupations. Widely traveled, he is a chronicler of the obscure captivated by a never ending search for independence. His fifth novel 'Where Some Roads End' published in 2020. He lives in small town Alberta in western Canada.

News & Interviews

Hispanic Heritage Month is the perfect time to relish the latest works from beloved Hispanic and Latinx authors like Isabel Allende, Natalia...
90 likes · 79 comments