Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Just A Drop in the Ocean” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Just A Drop in the Ocean
 
by
Grant Leishman
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Just A Drop in the Ocean

by
4.53  ·  Rating details ·  45 ratings  ·  37 reviews
Two teenagers in the 1970's start a relationship, as pen-pals, and soon have their futures together all mapped out, until that pesky, little, thing called life, steps in and ruins everything. Follow the separate, often painful, but always action packed lives of Teresa Mercado, from a tiny, farming village in the rural backwaters of The Philippines and Nick Stevenson, a suc ...more
Paperback, 398 pages
Published October 25th 2015 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Just A Drop in the Ocean, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Just A Drop in the Ocean

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.53  · 
Rating details
 ·  45 ratings  ·  37 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Just A Drop in the Ocean
Ellie Mitchell
May 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
From Grant Leishman comes A Drop in the Ocean, a charming tale of romance, deceit, and accountability for one's actions. Set between the Philippines and New Zealand, we follow the journeys of Teresa and Nick, two long lost pen-pals.

Having lost the contact they craved as adolescents, both try to move on and find romance, but neither finds what they need in their partners. There is a recurring theme of emotional manipulation that sees both Teresa and Nick desperately cling to unhealthy relationshi
...more
Iva Kenaz
May 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

A lovely story about two childhood pen-pal friends, Teresa and Nick, and the different yet somewhat similar roads they take later in life.

I would say this is a book very based on character study, so for readers who appreciate such an approach this will be a jewel. The characters grow on you with time and however strange their decisions and actions may so often be, it’s all believable because of the brilliant character development. In a way, both characters seemed naïve to me at first, but ended
...more
Carol Phipps
Feb 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I very much enjoyed this heartwarming love story, Just a Drop in ocean, by Grant Leishman, though when I first began reading the book I wasn’t certain about it. I was a bit jolted when the story jumped from a pair of preteen pen pals to two adults heading off in separate directions in their own respective countries. However, as the story unfolded, I soon became immersed in this fascinating romantic tale to the point that I found it difficult to put down.

The two protagonists, Theresa and Nick, ar
...more
Michael Kelly
Dec 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An absolute cracker of a novel!

At its heart, it's a romance, the tale of how two teenage penpals, one in New Zealand, one in the Philippines, reconnect and finally become a couple after drifting apart for 30 years. As such, it's a beautiful and heartwarming story and you really feel their delight when their lives really come together.

But there's so much that happens along the way! They both endure unhappy marriages, trials and tribulations. I don't want to give any spoilers, but everything that
...more
Colin Griffiths
Nov 21, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is truly a lovely brilliantly written story. It starts with pen pals from an early age ( that brought back memories) then like most pen pals life gets in the way and they move on. Yet with Nick and Teresa you always know there will be more. As you follow them it becomes moving and enchanting and the reader is longing for them to meet again and the reader is certainly left on tenterhooks. It's lovingly portrayed, with a sense you want to give the characters a kick up the backside, but that's ...more
Helen Fryer
I got this on free promotion kindle a while ago, as I'd read Leishmen's Second Coming on recommendation from a friend.

I love the story, the premise behind this. Its a romance (but not your typical mills and boon style romance) and the two characters and their lives make for a great build up to what you're hoping is a happy ending.

What did throw me, and it was the same in Second coming, but this time I found it distracting, was the constant use of 'ha' at the end of sentences. It is mostly out of
...more
Ken Fry
Aug 10, 2016 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
I would never have belied I could enjoy a romantic book like this so much.
The trials and tribulations of two lovers, Nick and Teresa, who have never met and are separated by
by Continents I found riveting.
GL skilfully up to a denouement and finale, which I found surprisingly moving and emotional. I suspect also that a fair amount of autobiographical material found its way into his work
The story is easy to read, unpretentious and the characters in the main, likeable and loving.
It kept me going and
...more
Belart Wright
Mar 03, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Longing love, hard life, and pen pals.

Just a Drop in the Ocean was an overall enjoyable read for me, though I had quite a few problems with the book's middle act. Throughout I was treated to the true to life, poignant, cultured, often hilarious, and deeply troublesome lives of the book's two leads Teresa Mercado and Nick Stevenson. I was also treated to two very distinct cultures in the book, as the Philippines and New Zealand feature heavily in the story, about as much as the two leads. So firs
...more
Lila Mina
Apr 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The first reason I chose this story was the unusual setting and background stories of the main characters. The first-hand knowledge of the author about both New
Zealand and the Philippines show and it's such a refreshing change. The author shows real talent at putting us readers in the shoes of his characters, and not just his two heroes. For all their flaws, it was particularly interesting to get a sense if what Marlon or Marivic thought.

My heart went out to Teresa from the start, and I felt the
...more
Angela Lockwood
May 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I’ve wanted to read another book by this author ever since reading ‘The Photograph’, that was a supernatural thriller with a fair bit of tongue in cheek humour. A drop in the ocean is a more serious affair but again a very good read. What I like about Grant Leishman is his ability to create a mature character. They are complex characters formed by their experiences and not without faults. This portrait about two penpals who lose touch but never stop thinking about each other was fascinating. Alt ...more
Ian Hunter
Jun 23, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The author definitely has a penchant for thought-provoking tales. This one involves two star-crossed lovers that find that for their paths to truly come together, both have to grow emotionally and spiritually first. And life’s classroom being what it is, that means a lot of suffering and heartache before they wake up to the error of their ways. That journey forms the body of the story. The characters, understandably, are not that likable at first, and for a long time, but they grow on you in tha ...more
Pandora Spocks
May 06, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A Drop in the Ocean by Grant Leishman is a gut-wrenching, emotional story about a pair, Nick and Teresa, who meet as pen pals when they're school children and seem destined to be together, no matter what fate throws in their way. But their journeys take individual and dark turns when someone intervenes in their budding romance. It's only decades later that their paths converge, and it was high time. This gritty and honest story reads a lot like autobiography. It's well worth the read as a harrow ...more
Sarah Rollins
Mar 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a wonderful and refreshing story. The author takes you on a journey between a man and a woman, who met via a penpal relationship and built a real connection as students. However, as time passes they lose contact but they never forget each other and the bond they felt.

As a reader you are then taken on a journey through their separate lives as they marry, start families, but are never quite happy with their life - something is missing.

I won't give away the ending, it is not as predictable as
...more
Marie (UK)
this is much more than a romance a developing story line with many threads and great characterisation
Reet Singh
Nov 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Intrigue after intrigue - add to that a love story and you have a great read!
Sarah Stuart
May 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Reviewed by Sarah Stuart for Readers' Favorite

Grant Leishman’s book, The Second Coming, opens with a man recovering consciousness in hospital, and trying to remember his identity. Whoever he is, he’s sure he has a mission to accomplish and very little time to do it. Gradually his memory returns. He, Jose Castillo from the Philippines, is the son of God, and he has been ‘allowed’ to return to Earth. The second coming was promised over two millennia ago, but nowhere in the bible is there a caveat:
...more
Book
Nov 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was completely hooked all the way through this amazing new read from this author.

The story of Nick and Teresa starts in their school years as they are connected through a school pen pal program. Teresa in the Philippines and Nick in New Zealand quickly form a connection, feel that they have met their soulmate... but unfortunately both lose contact with one another for reasons they do not understand.

Then as we all know, life just keeps going, and both are caught up in their own problems, relati
...more
Gordon Bickerstaff
Highly recommended to lovers of a great true or truly romantic story.

This is a romantic drama that does work well. The characters are well fleshed out and believable and their issues are not too far-fetched. However they do make a series errors of judgement, and while I might think some things are idiotic, people are people, and irrational decisions are commonplace in everyday life. There is a lot packed into this book as if follows the lives of two teenagers and their troubled journey through l
...more
Angela Gascoigne
A childhood friendship, nurtured by pen and paper and carried over land and sea, develops into so much more as Teresa and Nick grow into teenagers. They both long for the day they will finally meet, and take their relationship to the next level.

One day, out of nowhere, their only means of communication is severed and neither knows the reason why.

As the years pass life deals out some cruel blows. Both Nick and Teresa make some terrible life choices, but despite all they are going through, one th
...more
Ellie Midwood
Feb 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this story, a story of love, hope and second chances. Teresa and Nick start off as two strangers, two school-kids, one in the Philippines and another one in New Zealand. Slowly their pen-pal friendship develops into a romance, however, despite the bright plans for the future, suddenly one day Teresa doesn’t get a long awaited response back. Not knowing about each other’s motives, the two drift apart and jump into relationships, which bring both only misery.
I absolutely admired Teresa’s
...more
Jana Petken
Dec 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
When Nick and Teresa connect as pen pals, they, like most children, have no idea what is around the corner as they grow to adulthood.
This was a fascinating and highly enjoyable read for many reasons. I particularly enjoyed my glimpse at the Philippines and the characters’ individual, yet interconnected stories.

I will call this a poignant and realistic tale of choices, love, hurdles, and fate. The characters were developed beautifully; each walking their own paths, with trials and tribulations,
...more
Michael Wilton
Jan 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: paranormal
A touching love story
When two teenagers, Nick and Teressa become penpals – one in New Zealand and the other in the Philippines – they thought they had their future planned out together. But life is never that simple. As they find themselves moving their own separate ways, they experience unhappy marriages and face heartrending challenges along the way until the reader is left to wonder how they are ever going to get together again. Luckily with the expert help of the author who skilfully blends
...more
Michael Wilton
Jan 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A touching love story
When two teenagers, Teressa and Nick become penpals – one in the Philippines and the other in New Zealand – they thought they had their future planned out together. But life is never that simple. As they find themselves moving their own separate ways, they experience unhappy marriages and face heartrending challenges along the way until the reader is left to wonder how they are ever going to get together again. Luckily with the expert help of the author who skilfully blends
...more
Mary Yarde
Sep 04, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Was it possible to fall in love with someone you have never met? Teresa Mercado has loved Nicholas Stevenson since the first time they exchanged letters with each other, back when they were teenagers. But the chances of them ever meeting each other is slim to non-existent. She lives in the Philippines, whereas he called New Zealand home.

Just A Drop In The Ocean is a compelling page turner. It isn't the typical romance ~ the story takes you on the journey of the protagonist's lives. It reads, at
...more
Ju Ephraime
Feb 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: to-be-read
The story was written in a reflective kind of way, going back and forth between the two main characters, Teresa and Nick, as they meet as pen pals and loses touch as the years roll along. The author uses very flowery phrases, “she was a quivering, almost over-ripe fruit, ready for the plucking.” This is a story about second chances and the undying nature of true love. I had a bit of a problem with Marlon’s relation with Teresa, but that’s just me. I believe she should have put an end to it after ...more
Sharon Brownlie
Dec 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A wonderful story of connection, love, hope, despair, trials and tribulations across the globe. I liked the way the author's characters 'chose' each other and the insights in the location of both Teresa and Nick and the way he moved their story forward.

As the well drawn characters move the story forward their lives definitely makes the reader pause for thought. I like the way Grant Leishman writes, with honesty and openness, both in his dialogue and narrative. For all Teresa went through she sti
...more
Valentine
Jun 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Just loved this well written book, which flows beautifully. 2000 years on and Jesus returns to earth to save humanity once more after his father (God) decides he has been sickened with the world he has created and what the human race has become.Such a thought provoking book that really made me think, 'but what if?' Brilliant humour attached to this book along with love and romance, and suitable for all denominations of all faiths as Jesus tries to bring them all together. This is also a lovely l ...more
May Panayi
Oct 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow, this was an amazing book. I loved the two main characters Teresa and Nick from the outset. There were times when I wanted to pick them up and shake them and say, this is not the best way to enjoy your life, stop. But most of the time I just empathised with their plights and willed them through to the better things I just knew [like Te] were coming for them. The last few chapters were so emotional, I cried so much I could hardly read. I hope the characters are real, they certainly felt it to ...more
Molly
Nov 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a gripping story, tough at times as well as beautiful. It starts with Teresa in the Phillippines and Nick in New Zealand, both making plans to start pen friendships. We don't get to see their letters however as the plot jumps forward to a harsh reality of a now grown up and unhappily married Teresa.
The book details her tough life and depicts much drama and hardship. It is a moving story that will possibly bring a few tears to your eyes. It is also interesting as the reader gets to learn
...more
Deborah McClatchey
I received this wonderful book as a gift for my birthday. What a heart-warming love story between two childhood friends living worlds apart. Teresa lives in the Philippines and Nick in New Zealand. They meet through a school program. Fast forward to the present. I'm not one to give out spoilers, but I found the story poignant and didn't want it to end. Author Grant Leishman takes you through their complicated lives as they grow into adults. Cleverly woven plot and I highly recommend.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Heir of Kingsley
  • Sting of Hope
  • A Christmas Tail
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Apple Die (Apple Orchard Cozy #1)
  • The Girl at the Wedding: A Prequel to 'Without you' (Sreepuram Series Book 0)
  • My Love, A Liar (Small Town Girl Romance #2)
  • Sweet Surprises: A Bed & Breakfast Romance set in Italy (Inn Love Book 3)
  • Finding David:  A Paranormal Short Story
  • Sam the Sudden
  • TAKE A CHANCE ON ME (Sehgal Family and Friends Book 1)
  • Moti on the Water
  • The Falconer's Apprentice
  • Boyd and Sarge: NYPD Law and Disorder
  • Victoria's Voice: Our Daughter's Losing Battle with Drug Abuse
  • The Rainbow Acres
  • The Adventures of Cassidy Newbold
  • A Night at Achanakmar
See similar books…
139 followers
I am an expatriate New Zealander living in Manila, The Philippines, with my wife and two step-daughters.

At age 55, after careers in Finance and Journalism, I have finally discovered my true passion in life - writing; and I truly believe I am now "living the dream".

News & Interviews

Science fiction and fantasy have spawned some of the most imaginative plots and settings in existence. Makes sense, given that these genres are...
130 likes · 44 comments