Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Crazy Dead (Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery #4)” as Want to Read:
Crazy Dead (Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery #4)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Crazy Dead

(Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery #4)

by
3.57  ·  Rating details ·  46 ratings  ·  26 reviews
Fighting depression in a Toronto psychiatric ward, Cordi must throw herself back into harm's way when another patient dies. Was it murder?



Struggling to escape the sticky blackness of clinical depression, zoologist Cordi O’Callaghan is admitted to a psychiatric ward in Toronto. As she slowly recovers, one of the patients dies. Cordi must convince a skeptical m
...more
Paperback, 264 pages
Published July 19th 2016 by Dundurn Group
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Crazy Dead, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Crazy Dead

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.57  · 
Rating details
 ·  46 ratings  ·  26 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Crazy Dead (Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery #4)
Diane S ☔
Psychiatric wards are such a great place to set a mystery, holds such a flavor of the unknown. This is where Cordy finds herself, committed by her brother after falling prey to a debilitating depression. When she finds one of her roommates dead, she begins to believe strange things are going on and secrets are being kept. She also believes she may be the next victim.

Didn't notice this was a fourth book in the series when I requested it but believe I would have had a more in depth und
...more
Linda Strong
Zoologist Cordi O’Callaghan, after having almost died solving a previous case, finds herself immersed in depression. She has suffered with this before, but her brother finally had to get her out of bed and checked into a psychiatric ward at a Toronto hospital.

As she is recovering and joining the world again, one of the other patients dies, in the bed next Cordi. Cordi sees her lying there with her eyes open and a silk scarf around her neck.

Almost before she knows it, the
...more
Petra
Jun 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: cozy, mystery, psychology
Crazy Dead is the fourth book in the Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery series, but it works fine as a stand-alone. I didn't have any problems following the story although I haven't read any of the previous books.
Struggling with severe depression, Cordi becomes an in-patient on a psychiatric ward at a Toronto hospital. One morning, she discovers one of her roommates dead in bed. Cordi believes Mavis was murdered. But the staff tell her she has it all wrong, Mavis isn't dead at all, just sick and ha
...more
Linda
Apr 18, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a copy of Crazy Dead by Suzanne F. Kingsmill through NetGalley for an honest review. Thank you to Dundurn Publishing and to Ms. Kingsmill for the opportunity.

Delightful!

Suzanne F. Kingsmill takes you along the endless, winding hallways of a mental health hospital through her main character, Cordi O'Callaghan. Cordi has suffered under the clutches of depression since she was a child. She lays on her bed staring up at the ceiling trying to make sense of a seagull
...more
Nicole
May 26, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebooks, series
Crazy Dead!!! First things first: I received an ARC of this book through NetGalley.
The book comes out june 25th and it's worth checking out.
 
So when I decided to start reading this book, I actually found out that this is the 4th book in a series. I haven't read the others but I didn't feel like it mattered. I got into the story really quick and found some really likeable characters really fast.
 
The story is about Cordi O’Callaghan, who finds herself in a psychiatric
...more
Michelle Only Wants to Read
The premise of the story is what caught my attention, and the reason I requested it. Solving a murder at a psych ward while being a patient seemed right up my alley.

Cordi, the main character, did not set well with me. I couldn't tune into her story. I didn't realize this was a book in a series (totally my bad). Had I paid attention to this, I probably would have skipped it. I suppose the character development takes place in the previous books. I was intrigued by the story, but my annoyance with
...more
Heather
Jul 21, 2016 rated it did not like it
Shelves: netgalley
I really wasn't feeling this one. The plot-outline sounds great. The setting of a psychiatric ward was unique and sounded like it would make for an interesting story. But it didn't. And it bums me out.
The pacing felt all over the place. Certain mundane sections would drag on needlessly, yet the climax felt rushed. The characters felt one dimensional and I ended up not really caring about what happened to them. My biggest issue, though, was the writing style. This was like, a hard-core first per
...more
Elisa
Apr 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
I received a free copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Dundurn!
What a scary book. I don't mean the murder, the suspects or the setting as much as the main subject: mental illness. I am lucky enough not to have suffered from it, but people close to me have been clinically depressed and I know it's not a question of "pulling up your socks," as one of the characters says. When the enemy is an "other," someone else you can fight against, things are arguably easier t
...more
Dee
Apr 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Cordi has suffered with mental illness for so long her brother was forced to put her in a mental institution. While there, she wakes up only to find her roommate dead. Or is she? While no one believes her, Cordi sets out to prove them wrong , or are they? While on her quest to find the killer Cordi's life is threatened several times. She also unraveled some interesting things about other patients, doctors and nurses. You will not be disappointed with this book nor, do I believe you will figure o ...more
Blagica
Apr 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Cordi has suffered with mental illness for so long her brother was forced to put her in a mental institution. This book was interesting, fun and some parts confusing yet fun. While in the institution she not only questions everyone and everything but she finds her roommate dead or is she? While on her quest to find the killer Cordi's life is threatened several times. She also unraveled some interesting things about other patients, doctors and nurses. You will not be disappointed with this book n ...more
Kathleen Gray
May 18, 2016 rated it really liked it
Interesting setting and a well written character in Cordi made this an intriguing, if confusing, mystery. Small details bothered me a bit - clearly inpatients in Canadian mental health facilities have far more latitude to leave the hospital (and where did Cordi get money to buy coffee etc.?) and I wondered how Martha managed to get herself into the exact position she did, even if she did it unwisely to help Cordi (or did she?) You will finish this book with as many questions as you started with. ...more
Irma Sage
May 19, 2016 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: suspense fans
The overall story is good. It gives ideas of what patients in a mental hospital feel about being there. The main character Is well written out… The only thing about the book is I felt like it dragged out a lot. Like the author was figuring what else to add to the novel. That is the reason why it took me so long to finish it. Don’t get me wrong the story line is great and the ending really surprises you. It just takes a bit to get there.
Rebecca
Feb 16, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: adult, murder-mystery
I liked the story and definitely became confused in the story who was crazy and confused, who was the murderer. I like the character ofs Cordi and jaque.. full of twist and turns. It is easy to see how clinical depression and medication can cause an individual to feel lost and confused..


https://www.dundurn.com/books/Crazy-Dead
"Fighting depression in a Toronto psychiatric ward, Cordi must throw herself back into harm's way when another patient dies.
...more
Ann
Jan 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
Slippery
Roxann
Jul 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
From the cover: Fighting depression in a Toronto psychiatric ward, Cordi must throw herself back into harm's way when another patient dies. Was it murder? Struggling to escape the sticky blackness of clinical depression, zoologist Cordi O Callaghan is admitted to a psychiatric ward in Toronto. As she slowly recovers, one of the patients dies. Cordi must convince a skeptical medical staff that the woman has been murdered, while healing her own mind at the same time. Her suspects include medical p ...more
Kristine
Jun 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-2016, 2016
CRAZY DEAD a terrific book! The fact Cordi is left defenseless by her depression is unnerving. You will feel the need to try and guide her to the right path. This book intrigued me because the setting is in Canada. Also, the brave subject of mental health. T couldn't possibly name all the developed characters. Each contains a mini story of their own. Cordi's brother Ryan is the one who dropped her off at the psychiatric hospital. She felt emotionless and non-existent. Therapy and medicine aided ...more
Selena
May 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The book begins with Cordi being returned to the psychiatric ward in Toronto by her brother, Ryan. She has not been committed and can leave the ward whenever she desires. Her doctor, Dr. Osborn, does request she stay in the ward a couple times, for her own safety.
She wakes up one morning to discover her roommate has been murdered. She knows Mavis was murdered. The doctors and nurses tell everyone it is a mistake, Mavis is not dead, she got sick and was taken to the hospital. Cordi begins to sea
...more
Nicola Mansfield
Jul 19, 2016 rated it it was ok
2.5/5 - I don't usually start with book 4 of a mystery series but the plot of this one just sounded too good to pass on. Unfortunately, it didn't meet my expectations.The whole plot and the characters were too far-fetched and just not plausible. I just can't imagine real people reacting the way these characters did. The ending is very weird and totally unsatisfying. I'm not sure if it is a "too be continued" or it signifies the end of the series.I kind of feel like I might be more clued in if I' ...more
Debbie
Jun 01, 2016 rated it really liked it
Crazy Dead was Crazy Good! Wow, the ending was jaw dropping fantabulous! I sped through this book. It was a little slow at the very beginning until everything got introduced. Here's your exit doors, here's the lights leading to the exit doors and here's your masks, blah, blah, blah. And then, wow we were poised and ready for take off. What a ride! I truly enjoyed it. I went back and forth trying to decide if this girl was nuts or was she really caught up in some coverup. The things they do to he ...more
L
Nov 19, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery
Cordi O'Callaghan is working her way out of major depression in a psych ward. She sees another patient, one of her roommates, dead, but the staff insists the woman was merely ill and had to be moved. Hmmm. Cordi doesn't know who she can trust and who might have killed the woman, who was healthy other than her mental illness. It gets worse when someone tries to kill Cordi--more than once.

The book was strange, but that can be expected when the protagonist is mentally ill, as are many of the other
...more
Kelly Sierra
Dec 12, 2016 added it
Shelves: 2016, arc
I am not going to rate this book... because I just wasn't aware until too late that it was part of a series, and while I enjoyed some things about the story; I feel I cannot fully rate the experience.

Stephanie Bryant
Nov 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Really enjoyed this. It takes place in Toronto which I always enjoy. Most of the action takes place inside a Toronto mental hospital and I found the discussions of various illnesses very interesting and sometimes illuminating.

The twist at the end really makes you pause!
Margaret Bryant
Nov 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Unique location for a murder mystery -- sleuth Cordi is irrespressible and fun, despite the setting.
Michelle Olms
Aug 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Great book
Diana Simpson
Sep 04, 2016 rated it liked it
Good read ... But not sure I liked the ending
Kristina Best
Aug 20, 2016 rated it really liked it
This book was strange. Strange in a good way. I was shocked with the ending. Thank you for an interesting read.
Leo
rated it liked it
Sep 04, 2018
Michael Yoder
rated it really liked it
Jul 28, 2016
Olivia
rated it it was ok
Nov 01, 2017
Margaret
rated it it was ok
Sep 20, 2017
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The 48
  • Belly Up
  • The Moscow Code (A Foreign Affairs Mystery #2)
  • Wishful Seeing: A Thaddeus Lewis Mystery
  • My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
  • After the Horses (Dan Sharp Mystery, #4)
  • Salvage
  • The Con Artist
  • Undertow (B.C. Blues Crime, #2)
  • Tumbled Graves (Stonechild and Rouleau, #3)
  • Tahoe Skydrop (Owen McKenna #16)
  • The Gone Dead
  • Thanksgiving
  • A Cast of Falcons (Birder Murder Mystery #3)
  • Last of the Independents: Vancouver Noir
  • I Got a Chicken for My Birthday
  • Be Our Ghost (Merry Ghost Inn Mysteries, #3)
  • All Saints
See similar books…
Suzanne F. Kingsmill has a B.A. in English literature, a B.Sc. in biology, and a M.Sc. in zoology. She is the author of four murder mysteries starring Cordi O'Callaghan and four non-fiction books and has written numerous magazine articles. She lives in Toronto.

Other books in the series

Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery (4 books)
  • Forever Dead (Cordi O’Callaghan Mystery #1)
  • Innocent Murderer (Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery #2)
  • Dying for Murder (Cordi O'Callaghan Mystery #3)
“Too often the mentally ill are marginalized as people who just can’t pull up their socks. If only it were that simple.” 1 likes
More quotes…