Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Theatre Of War (Follies #3)” as Want to Read:
Theatre Of War (Follies #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Theatre Of War

(Follies #3)

by
4.30  ·  Rating details ·  73 ratings  ·  9 reviews
It is 1942. The theatres of war are North Africa and Italy. All eyes follow the front, but behind the scenes a messier war continues, an improvised game of snatched triumphs, terrible mistakes and terrifying uncertainty.

Cabaret singer by night, spy by day, Richard risks his life to help British servicemen escape occupied France and get back to England.

Rose leads a group of
...more
Paperback, 472 pages
Published July 9th 2008 by Hodder & Stoughton Ltd (first published June 12th 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Theatre Of War, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Theatre Of War

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.30  · 
Rating details
 ·  73 ratings  ·  9 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
allbooksnoheart
Jun 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I really think this series improves as I read each book- I really love Merry & Felix and love reading about them.
Sandra
Mar 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I thoroughly enjoyed this once again,for me, a random pick up choice of book.I was very much into the story straight away and I also found it very poignant as well as matter of fact re the main wartime story. The ending has a good outcome for two characters but not so happy for others.
Joanna
Jul 14, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: in-my-library
Story continues....it's ok...but some parts are boring and that's why it took me so long to finish it...
Fi
Apr 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Follies is such a superb series, & this is possibly the best book of all; entirely absorbing & credible, I feel that I've learned so much about the brave resistance fighters in Italy
Cat
Jul 17, 2015 rated it liked it
I did not dislike this book in any which way but I didn't love it either. It was very informative and opened my eyes to a lot regarding the 'entertainers' during wartime but, to be completely honest, it bored me at times. I wish I could give this 3.5 stars but I went with 3 as I felt the .5 was closer to that than 4.
Pamela Darling
Apr 23, 2013 rated it really liked it
Excellent writing with a great deal of detail and history about the people who entertained the troupes during ww2. I learned a lot about ENSA - how they entertained workers in factories as well as the troupes overseas. The characters were colourful and based on real life men and women which I had not known whilst reading the book.
Emily
Apr 09, 2013 rated it it was amazing
This is book 3 of 4 in the Follies Series. It's so well planned and structured with characters of great depth, the author makes the reader feel so involved and close to the experiences and emotions felt. Unmissable!
Raymond
Sep 09, 2012 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I was unfamiliar with this author or this series but she concocted an imaginative look into the British/European/Egyptian WWII entertainers and their supposed activities (tragedies, loves and love lost between what you would expect of "show" couples)!
Samantha
Aug 26, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Brilliant Book .. Now onto Book 4 :)
Helen
rated it really liked it
Apr 19, 2014
Hannah Andrews
rated it it was amazing
Aug 09, 2016
Jean
rated it it was amazing
Mar 06, 2014
Cannizaro
rated it it was amazing
Apr 25, 2012
Marie
rated it it was amazing
Oct 01, 2014
Rosie Hopkins
rated it it was ok
Oct 17, 2011
carolmortimer
rated it it was amazing
Jan 14, 2019
Heather
rated it really liked it
Feb 24, 2013
Andrea
rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2016
Olga-flupi
rated it really liked it
Dec 13, 2018
Liz
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2017
L.D.Hill.
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2018
Lynn
rated it it was amazing
Apr 20, 2017
Elizabeth Edser
rated it really liked it
Jun 16, 2010
Irene D
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2017
Gillian Morris
rated it liked it
Jul 04, 2016
Tonya
rated it liked it
Jul 14, 2013
Christine
rated it liked it
Jan 17, 2013
Rachel Mckenna
rated it really liked it
Mar 29, 2014
Alison Purvis
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2014
Emma Willmer
rated it it was amazing
Oct 01, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
32 followers
Hilary Green is a trained actress and spent many years teaching drama. She has always written, producing novels, scripts for the BBC, and short stories, one of which one the Kythira Prize awarded by the Historical Novel Society.

When not writing she gardens, rides horses, walks in the countryside and plays bridge as well as enjoying travel and has been round the world several times. Hilary is marr
...more

Other books in the series

Follies (4 books)
  • Now Is The Hour (Follies #1)
  • They Also Serve (Follies #2)
  • The Final Act (Follies #4)