Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “They Also Serve (Follies #2)” as Want to Read:
They Also Serve (Follies #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

They Also Serve

(Follies #2)

by
4.12  ·  Rating details ·  107 ratings  ·  12 reviews
January, 1941. Dark days for Britain, standing alone against the menace of Nazi Germany, and for four friends fighting their own personal battles . . .
When Rose Taylor receives two proposals on New Year's Eve she has to face an agonising choice that threatens to separate her from all those she loves.

Meanwhile, Richard Stephens has to come to terms with his shattered dream
...more
Paperback, 384 pages
Published November 1st 2007 by Hodder & Stoughton (first published November 1st 2006)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about They Also Serve, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about They Also Serve

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.12  · 
Rating details
 ·  107 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of They Also Serve (Follies #2)
Redfox5
Feb 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
I liked this one even more than the first one and found myself gripped from the first page.

It starts with Rose having to choose between Richard and Matthew and to everyone surprise she chooses neither but then later tried to get in contact with Richard but he has buried himself in secret work and is no where to be found.

The characters in this book are really strong. I love Felix and Merry's relationship, it's so sweet and I feel bad that they have to hide it at time when everyone should have
...more
Emma
Feb 04, 2008 rated it it was amazing
This is the second book of three in the follies series and although it isn't a cliff hanger in the true sense, it certainly leaves you wanting to know how it will all end!

This book starts where the first finished off - and lets us see how the decisions they have made will alter the courses of their lifes. For Rose it seems that her dream is now over an all she has to look forward to is plain (as plain as plain is in the middle of a war) everyday life. Richard closes himself off from the world a
...more
Hayley Noble
Oct 08, 2012 rated it it was amazing


I loved this! I actually found it harder to read than the first one, but only because I was scared about what would happen to certain characters! Can not wait to read the third in this series! Though I don't know if I can take any more sobbing over these books!
Tina Milledge
Jun 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Excellent if you love stories based on SOE and The Resistance in WW2. I was totally engrossed from one evening to the next. I hadn’t realised this was the second in a series when I picked it up in a charity shop but it didn’t matter.
Marianne
Jan 24, 2011 rated it it was ok
Shelves: 2011reads, war, romance, drama
This is what it is. I think the problem with this book is that the description on the back of it isn't very clear. To explain, this is apparently a book of a trio now when I picked up the books cheap it seemed okay - all the descriptions mentioned different characters and as someone not aware of the author or the series I just assumed they were all in the same 'world' but unrelated. As it was I picked up this book and started reading only to realise that when it started abruptly the story wasn't ...more
Rachel Mckenna
Mar 29, 2014 rated it really liked it
I love Hilary Green - her books never fail to delight. The research is wonderful, the stories amazing and serve to remind us how awful war is on the lives of those who live through them. This series is set in WW2 and I have read them all. Want to start on the WW1 series next.
Fi
Feb 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed the first book in this series, but didn't find any of the characters compelling enough to make me rush to read the sequel. However, I'm now very glad that I did make the effort: the character have all become far more real, & I now can't wait to read book three. ...more
Joanna
Aug 03, 2014 rated it really liked it
The story continues...and wow...it's good...I really enjoyed reading it...let's see what the third book will bring....
Gillian Morris
Jul 04, 2016 rated it liked it
I'm really enjoying this series of books. Two read two to go.
Mary Joy
Oct 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is a good book, but I hate how Richard left Rose without even asking her side.
Deb
Feb 07, 2008 rated it liked it
Ditto "Now is the Hour".
Heather
rated it liked it
Feb 24, 2013
Tara Garnett
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2019
Michelle Nowak
rated it really liked it
Sep 22, 2015
Barbara Chuidian
rated it it was amazing
Dec 31, 2012
John
rated it it was amazing
Jul 25, 2014
Elizabeth
rated it liked it
May 05, 2019
Nick
rated it liked it
Feb 10, 2013
Katy Allison
rated it it was amazing
Oct 30, 2012
Julie-ann
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2014
A
rated it really liked it
May 30, 2014
Leigh
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2014
Pat Smith
rated it it was amazing
Dec 21, 2015
Peperenpe
rated it it was amazing
Mar 31, 2015
Eliza Bell
rated it really liked it
Nov 06, 2015
Jackie James clarke
rated it liked it
Sep 02, 2012
Rose
rated it it was amazing
Jul 24, 2014
Meg
rated it it was amazing
Jan 25, 2018
Erika
rated it really liked it
Oct 12, 2012
Belle
rated it really liked it
Aug 26, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Bobby Girls (The Bobby Girls #1)
  • A Ration Book Childhood: Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Lesley Pearse (Ration Book series)
  • The Only Plane in the Sky: An Oral History of 9/11
  • In Plain Sight (Detective Clare Mackay, #2)
  • The Crossing (Detective Louise Blackwell #1)
  • Down Among the Dead (DI Nick Dixon Crime #10)
  • Hard Target (Jon Reznick #8)
  • See Them Run (Detective Clare Mackay, #1)
  • The House on Lonely Street
  • A Ration Book Christmas (East End Ration #2)
  • The Woods
  • Such Sweet Sorrow
  • Three Rivers (DI Tanner #4)
  • The Patient Man (DI Jackman & DS Evans, #6)
  • The Harlech Beach Killings
  • Chasing Hannah (Billingsley #2)
  • Charlie (Recovering Commando, #1)
See similar books…
37 followers
Hilary Green is a trained actress and spent many years teaching drama. She has always written, producing novels, scripts for the BBC, and short stories, one of which one the Kythira Prize awarded by the Historical Novel Society.

When not writing she gardens, rides horses, walks in the countryside and plays bridge as well as enjoying travel and has been round the world several times. Hilary is marr
...more

Other books in the series

Follies (4 books)
  • Now Is The Hour (Follies #1)
  • Theatre Of War (Follies #3)
  • The Final Act (Follies #4)

News & Interviews

Dragons, demons, kings, queens, and the occasional farm boy (with a special destiny, of course): Fantasy literature has it all! To celebrate ou...
52 likes · 21 comments