Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ghosts of Heiland (Heir of Scars I, Part One)” as Want to Read:
Ghosts of Heiland (Heir of Scars I, Part One)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ghosts of Heiland (Heir of Scars I, Part One)

by
4.52  ·  Rating details ·  23 ratings  ·  9 reviews
-The Heir of Scars I Series-

Adria Idonea has always awakened from dreams of drowning. Throughout her childhood, Adria has awakened entangled in her linen sheets in her tower at her father's mountain citadel of Windberth. She has awakened within sweat-soaked furs as a young woman among the Aesidhe, the Wilding Ghosts of the deep wood. Adria has awakened far too many times b
...more
Kindle Edition, 2nd Edition, 66 pages
Published November 21st 2013 by Violet West Entertainment (first published July 1st 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ghosts of Heiland, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ghosts of Heiland

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-51
4.52  · 
Rating details
 ·  23 ratings  ·  9 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
L.M. Smith
Aug 26, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A Modern Day Poe: 4.8 stars

Writing: 5/5 stars
It may be hard to understand the title of this review so I am starting with my thoughts on the writing before the plot (out of order from my usual regime). There is a certain lyricism to this author's writing that is deeply reminiscent of Edgar Allan Poe. The plot and story are nothing like Poe's works so I AM NOT suggesting that this author is a knock off and it is entirely possible that he's never even read Poe (for all I know) - but the romantici
...more
Hayley Barrett
Nov 23, 2015 rated it really liked it
Jacob Fallling has a style of writing that fits perfectly with the type of story he is trying to tell. It's difficult to explain exactly what I mean other than to say his writing is beautiful, and exactly right for the fantasy world he has created in this novella.

Ghosts of Heiland is the story of Adria who has learned to live among a tribe of people who are not her own. The story opens with her being recognized by a guard as she raids a village of what used to be her own people. As the story dev
...more
Heather Alexander
Oct 16, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was given this book in return for an honest review. This is a novella, so I will keep a short story review, short. Adria was the pincess of the Aeman of Heiland, she left to join the Aesdhe, The Wilding ghosts of the deep wood. There she learns to be a healer and a warrior. She doesn't know who she is at times, a healer or a traitor. She has terrible dreams of drowning, a promise to fulfil to her brother, Hafgrim, and some ghosts as well. During a raid on her homeland to feed the homeless and ...more
Heidi
Oct 15, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this book from the author for an honest review.

I love books that pull you into their pages without remorse for what you leave behind. This is one of those books. It has a depth to it that is not easily understood unless you allow yourself to be fully immersed into the life of the main character Adria, and the world the Author creates. Even though this is only a Novella, the author does this all within a few pages and I can't imagine what reading the whole series will do to me. Creatin
...more
Michelle MacQueen
Nov 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I don't know where to begin with this book. It was so beautifully written as to be almost poetic at times.

Adria is an exiled princess but years among the oft hunted Aesidhe have taken any highborn tendancies out of her. She is a hunter now. She is stronger than she ever was and now cares deeply for the very people who were once her enemies. But she is not one of them. She has a family that she still loves despite all that they've done and a promise made long ago that she must now keep.

This is th
...more
Brian Bigelow
Oct 22, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It's a good read

I would have liked seeing a little more character development but the characters were well constructed. It's got a pretty good plot line even and it's well written. In my opinion Ghosts is well worth a read.
Patricia
Nov 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, in-english
This is a wonderful introduction for what promises to be a very exciting read. Jacob Falling has a strong skill for characterization, showing us not only well-rounded characters (particularly Adria, since we see everything in these chapters from her perspective) but also a well-developed society. We learn about the Aesidhe in a way that allows us to immerse in this world quickly and without the excesses of info-dumping that are sadly frequent in literature.
The one complaint I can make is that th
...more
Lauren
Nov 23, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Quick read about a woman named Adria who can hold her own and is learning to become better and find her calling. This is not my genre of choice but I did enjoy the story. The author quickly pulls you into his world. WaAR
Nistarn Vbettencourt
Sep 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fantasy readers
Addicting and intriguing, each time I pick it up to read a page or two I find myself making a break from the real life instead and embrace a new world of strong characters and amazing storytelling.
Ana Almeida
rated it it was amazing
Nov 10, 2015
Abetment
rated it liked it
Jun 20, 2016
Lisa
rated it it was amazing
Oct 09, 2012
Agnes Palaima
rated it it was amazing
Jun 20, 2016
L.J. Higgins
rated it it was amazing
Mar 01, 2016
Blair
rated it really liked it
Jun 21, 2017
Ashley
rated it really liked it
Jan 20, 2016
Alice Morais
rated it liked it
May 18, 2013
Sed
rated it it was amazing
Sep 17, 2012
Kim culbertson
rated it it was amazing
Dec 15, 2012
Ana
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2013
Celide
rated it really liked it
Aug 22, 2016
Wanda Hartzenberg
rated it it was amazing
Oct 18, 2012
Rickk III
rated it it was amazing
Aug 19, 2015
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2012
Brooke Rothwell-Blum
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2012
Fábio
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2012
Sophia CarPerSanti
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2012
Ramona
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2012
Alex is The Romance Fox
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2012
Celsey Seivert
marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2012
Emily
marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2012
Brianna Lee
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2013
Ariel
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2013
Isabella
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2013
Ana Salgado
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2013
Angelique
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2014
Jenna’s love of books
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2014
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Jul 02, 2014
Victoria
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2013
Joyce Wetherbee
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2013
Cary Morton
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2015
Dawn
marked it as to-read
Aug 11, 2015
Beiza
added it
Feb 25, 2016
A.Fisher
marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2016
Jacob Falling
Aug 26, 2012 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Cheri
added it
Nov 09, 2015
Marije
marked it as to-read
Dec 13, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »