Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Politica” as Want to Read:
Politica
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Politica

(Ideas in Profile)

3.83  ·  Rating details ·  320 ratings  ·  24 reviews
Potendo scegliere, oggi, dove vi piacerebbe nascere? In Danimarca o in Siria? Pochi avrebbero dubbi: la Danimarca è una nazione ricca, con uno stato sociale tra i più efficienti al mondo e una speranza di vita tra le più alte; la Siria è nel mezzo di una sanguinosa guerra civile, ma anche prima della guerra le cose non andavano nel migliore dei modi. Ma perché la Danimarca ...more
Paperback, 174 pages
Published October 2015 by Bollati Boringhieri (first published May 8th 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Politica, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Politica

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.83  · 
Rating details
 ·  320 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Politica
huzeyfe
Nov 05, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Definitely worth reading. Great overview about how politics work. Need to write a detailed review when I have enough time!
Burak Göral
Sep 17, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Dünyanın en mutlu ülkesi araştırmalarında birinci sırada yıllardır aynı ülke çıkmaktadır: Danimarka. Ve şu sıralar dünyanın en mutsuz ülkelerinden biri de kuşkusuz Suriye’dir. Peki yıllarca monotonluğundan şikayetçi olunan Danimarka’nın yine de insanın ömrünü uzatan dinginliği, refah düzeyi bu kadar çekici bir hal almışken, bir zamanlar Ortadoğu’nun da nispeten refah ülkelerinden biri olan Suriye nasıl bu kadar kaotik bir ülke konumuna gelebildi? Bu sorunun çok net bir cevabı var: Politika ...more
Nouf
Aug 27, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I bought this book from my last trip to Germany this summer.

I liked the author's way of laying down his argument about the limits of politics when it comes to violence, technology and justice (which are the three chapters of the book) though politics on all these three issues still matters. One of the questions that the author raised is: If politics what makes the difference, why do we tolerate such vast discrepancies between the world's most successful states and its least successful ones?

The
...more
Sorrento
Apr 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I picked up this book from my local library after reading a biography on Tony Blair. Politics is a short but dense book by the academic David Runciman. I was initially surprised that the opening chapter was entitled Violence but found this entirely appropriate as Runciman developed his argument why the control of violence is at the heart of politics, introducing us to the political philosophers such as Hobbes, Machiavelli & Max Weber. How this works in the modern world is starkly illuminated ...more
Erin
Feb 08, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A decent overview of the importance of politics and why we need to pay attention to our governments. That being said, I wish there had been more analysis of various types of governments as well as different political theories.
Francisco Luis Benítez
Libro didáctico muy interesante. Un intento de explicar para qué sirve la política, y lo más importante, para qué sirven los políticos y por qué son necesarios. A pesar de la desafección ciudadana y del malestar hacia la política, esta es más necesaria que nunca. Esto es lo que explica el profesor Runciman a lo largo de un libro ameno, que no desdeña pinceladas filosóficas y principios politológicos para hacerlos llegar a todos los públicos.

Recomiendo su lectura en caso de grave desafección por
...more
Warren
Jun 12, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
this book is written from a realist perspective. Although it's a school of thought that I don't normally agree with, I did find that the author had some interesting insights about the topic of politics. I did enjoy the three themes he chose and I also enjoyed the way he broke these themes down own. Rather than trying to give readers a total overview of the field of politics, I enjoyed the more pared back approach, for a change.
Angelin
Aug 23, 2014 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
The view of the author appears to be too narrow and concentrated on certain countries, and doesn't provide the overview that the synopsis promised.
At the end of the book I feel like I just heard a person's view on politics, using specific examples. Probably not a book for someone trying to understand politics from a historical point of view.
Luís Gouveia
Feb 24, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: diversos
Um livro de 2014 que tem uma leitura agradavel de um tema be conhecido: o que é a política e qual a sua importância para a nossa sociedade.

Inteligente e bem conseguido, apresenta a discussão centrada nos Estados nação e na forma como a política é central para assegurar o controlo da violência, de se constituir como uma melhor alternativa à influência da tecnologia e qual o seu papel para com a justiça (em especial, a associada com as desigualdades).

Interessante, a sucessiva intrdução da
...more
Fatih Ç.
Jan 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Domingo’nun Aklayakın serisinin ilki. Dünya halklarının hem refah ve mutluluğunu hem de fakirlik, iç savaşlar, açlık ve göçleriyle sonuçlanan kötü yaşamlarının ortak sebebinin Politika olduğunu söylüyor. Fark sadece onu nasıl anladığımız ve ne amaçla nasıl kullandığımızda. Özellikle şiddetin, halkların ve hatta paranın yönetilmesindeki önemli rolü ile ilgili olan kısmı son derece ilgi çekici.
Dünya nasıl ve neden bu kale geldi ve nereye gidecek? Şiddet nasıl evrilecek? Teknoloji mi politikaya
...more
Gürkan
David Runciman, Politika kitabında Siyaset Felsefesinin bütün enstrümanlarını kullanarak bir arketip çiziyor. Bu arketipi çizerken Hobbes, Constant, Machiavelli gibi isimlerin düşünceleriyle kendi engin bilgisi ona fener oluyor. Kitabın tasarımına hayran kalmamak elde değil. Kitabın dili sade ve anlaşılır. Çevirmen de bu dili korumayı başarmış. Ama dil sade olmakla beraber anlatılanlar o kadar yüzeysel ki kıyısından da olsa Siyaset Felsefesi bilenler için çoğunlukla tekrar niteliği taşımaktan ...more
Calum Fisher
Oct 11, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Runciman is one of the best writers on politics alive, and this is a splendid overview of an impressive amount of territory. The first chapter on Violence is exceptional, and appropriately addresses the fundamental issue from which Politics itself arises - the fact of violence, and of attempts to understand it, control it, and indeed put it to socially-productive use. The other chapters on Justice and (especially) Technology felt slightly less at the core of matters but still are packed with ...more
Daniel Wrench
Jan 27, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Enthralling read about the role and the future of politics. Very briefly summarises what politics is all about, but mainly explains its purposes and effects, namely with regards to Violence, Technology, and Justice. Logical and clearly written
Mz
Oct 31, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
ένα κατατοπιστικό εγχειρίδιο των σύγχρονων πολιτικών προβλημάτων, με πολύ χαλαρή δομή
Eduardo Ocampo
Nov 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: comprado
Un diagnósito de nuestro presente breve, ameno, objetivo y que sus reflexiones ayudan a cuestionar nuestro presente.
Charles Bonfils-Duclos
All my undergraduate lectures in one book! (Vol. 2).
Rick Wolfe
Mar 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book the theories set out not only coincide with theory application of how politics can change the outcome of many countries in turmoil but this books provides practical application.
Senem
Feb 23, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Politika olgusunu yormadan, basit ve akıcı şekilde anlatıyor. Tek sorun son bölümlerin güncellenmesi gerektiği. Yani kitap 2014'de basıldığı için sonrası bulunmuyor. Genel olarak güncel olayları ve kişileri baz alarak örnekler verildiği için 2017'de 3 senelik süreçte neler olduğunu görerek okumak garip bir his uyandırıyor.
Christos Bouras
Jul 12, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: politics
Ο συμμαθητής του Κάμερον και του Μπορις Τζόνσον έγραψε ένα επίκαιρο βιβλίο - σχόλιο στην σημερινή πολιτική. Εξαιρετικά σύγχρονο σε σημείο που η σημερινή πολιτική το ξεπερνάει μέρα με την μέρα. Έχοντας ώς αναφορά δύο χώρες, την Δανία και την Συρία, επιχειρεί μία ανάλυση της σύγχρονης πολιτικής κάνοντας τις αντίστοιχες παρελθοντικές αναφορές με προεξέρχουσες τις φιλοσοφίες του Χομπς και του Ρώλς.
Γραμμένο σε κατανοητή γλώσσα, με αναφορές στα θέματα της σύγχρονης τεχνολογίας (βλέπε Google)
...more
Jorge Efraín Dardon
Políticos. Ideas in Profile.

La comparación entre Dinamarca y Siria es muy gráfica e ilustra bien el argumento del autor. La presentación de las ideas de Hobbes es muy amena y ordenada. Pero el final del libro es decepcionante, porque aunque los argumentos sobre la debilidad de la democracia están bien desarrollados, se siente que el autor le falta profundidad y disposición a arriesgar análisis. Es un final débil para un libro bien comenzado.
Tdr85
Feb 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: politics
An excellent primer on what politics is about in the contemporary world. It is a quick read and a useful reminder that we are never going to get exactly what we want from democratic government but we can often get what we need from them. But we have to keep on our toes and occasionally be willing to wade in knowing that compromise is the only way we are going to get things done.
Joe Farnworth-mayers
Interesting read, explored some thought provoking themes such as how violence affects politics.
Ulas Bayraktar
Read the Turkish translation and found it too simplistic for a researcher and too complicated for ordinary readers.
Diogo Noivo
rated it really liked it
Jan 02, 2017
Evan
rated it really liked it
Jul 29, 2018
Alexis Miranda
rated it really liked it
Jun 21, 2017
Enes
rated it it was ok
Sep 19, 2016
David García
rated it really liked it
Oct 21, 2015
Matt
rated it really liked it
Oct 05, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Bir Ömür Nasıl Yaşanır?
  • Habits of a Happy Brain: Retrain Your Brain to Boost Your Serotonin, Dopamine, Oxytocin,  Endorphin Levels
  • Şehvetiye Tarikatı
  • Saatleri Ayarlama Enstitüsü
  • Savaş Sanatı
  • Beyaz Geceler
  • Reminiscences of Leo Nikolaevich Tolstoy
  • Değirmen
  • Kuyucaklı Yusuf
  • Dahi Diktatör
  • What is Man?
  • Son Ada
  • Tarihimizde Garip Vakalar
  • Diary of a Superfluous Man
  • The Gentle Spirit
  • The Right to Be Lazy
  • A Country Doctor's Notebook
  • Discourse on the Sciences and Arts (1st Discourse) and Polemics (Collected Writings, Vol 2)
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Ideas in Profile (1 - 10 of 12 books)
  • Truth: Ideas in Profile
  • Geography: Ideas in Profile
  • Feminism: Ideas in Profile
  • Shakespeare: An Introduction: Ideas in Profile
  • Theories of Everything: Ideas in Profile
  • Criticism: Ideas in Profile
  • Social Theory: Ideas in Profile: Ideas in Profile
  • Conservatism: An Invitation to the Great Tradition
  • Art in History, 600 BC - 2000 AD: Ideas in Profile
  • The Ancient World: Ideas in Profile
“Dictators and tyrants are the ones who lead their people over a cliff.” 0 likes
“Bad things happen in nice places, and nice things happen in bad places. But that doesn't mean the places themselves are hard to tell apart.” 0 likes
More quotes…