Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Windcatcher (Stone War Chronicles, #1)” as Want to Read:
Windcatcher (Stone War Chronicles, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Windcatcher

(Stone War Chronicles #1)

by
4.07  ·  Rating details ·  61 ratings  ·  36 reviews
Far away from home, under the command of his brother, Raylan and his squad must retrieve an ancient relic stolen from their kingdom’s trading partner—the Tiankong Empire.

Traveling deep into unknown enemy territory to complete their mission, Raylan learns that the ancient relic holds unexpected life; a creature buried in legends, one not seen in their world for more than t
...more
Kindle Edition, 386 pages
Published October 30th 2015 by LowSea Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Windcatcher, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Windcatcher

Eragon by Christopher PaoliniThe Hobbit or There and Back Again by J.R.R. TolkienEldest by Christopher PaoliniBrisingr by Christopher PaoliniDragonflight by Anne McCaffrey
Dragons
1,157 books — 2,230 voters
The Hobbit or There and Back Again by J.R.R. TolkienEragon by Christopher PaoliniHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. RowlingHis Majesty's Dragon by Naomi NovikDragonflight by Anne McCaffrey
Best Book With or About Dragons
605 books — 753 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.07  · 
Rating details
 ·  61 ratings  ·  36 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Dianne
Prepare to leave the mundane world behind and set out on a quest to retrieve a stolen, ancient relic. Follow along as author A.J. Norfield deftly builds his world, one filled with ominous beasts, treachery and danger at every turn as they bring back the relic only to discover that ancient myths and legends are true and that this relic is the bearer of a life long thought gone from the face of the world. The relic? A dragon egg, its hidden prize? A dragon, long thought extinct.

Now a young fledgl
...more
Meggy
Apr 18, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

Many of my friends love fantasy, and thanks to them, I was introduced to the genre, its rules and some of its creatures. This is why I agreed to review WindCatcher. That and the fact the author gave me the image of my dog and myself on an epic adventure through dangerous lands! Who could resist to the idea?


I can't say the opening doesn't know how to grab your attention! I was not expecting anything in particular so when the action started before I reached the 5% mark, I was surprised but interes

...more
Sissy Lu {Book Savvy Reviews}
Mar 15, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: fantasy lovers, dragon enthusiasts
This book was one action packed moment after the next and that is no lie!

We begin the story with a wonderful prologue which gives insight to the importance of the main focus of this tale, which is an ancient relic. It is protected within a monastery and hidden away, until something horrible happens and it is stolen.

Once we hit the first chapter we meet Raylan, who is a soldier beneath his older brother Gavin's command. We are introduced to them at length, which allows us to become invested in th
...more
Scott  Hitchcock
Aug 11, 2016 rated it did not like it
Shelves: dnf, abandoned-series
Sadly I had to DNF this one 15% in. I like looking for hidden gems and have done really well with books that at the time didn't have a lot of reviews but the ones which were out there were all high. Dawn of Wonder and Second Cataclysm being two of the better successes. I hadn't read anything featuring dragons in a while and the book description and review dragged me in. Sadly it just read like a paper I would write for English Lit and I couldn't power my way through.
❤Bibi's Book Blog❤
Well holy freaking moly, batman! What an intense and epic journey I've just been part of! I was approached by A.J. Norfield who offered to send me a free copy of his book, in exchange for my honest review. When I saw on Goodreads, that readers compared this book, to the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini, even this romance fanatic couldn't say no to some epic fantasy. And I'm not sorry I did!

I'll be honest and say that the first 30% did drag for me, and I was ready to give up on more occas
...more
Barbara Underwood
Jul 24, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Windcatcher is a must-read for dragon-lovers of all ages, and while I have not read enough similar Fantasy books about dragons to compare, I feel confident that The Windcatcher is up there with the best of its kind. The author’s skill in describing action scenes is particularly impressive, and there is a good balance of personal relationships, good and bad human nature, and a satisfying amount of escapism in the form of the dragon and the Stone King with his minions.
One of the aspects I fou
...more
Jonel
Apr 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kobo
This is the most epic debut novel that I’ve read in a long, long while. This novel starts with a bang and keeps on going the whole way through. Norfield’s active writing style fits perfectly with the tale at hand. His voice flows and morphs to highlight the current events of the tale while always remaining enchanting. Norfield pens intricate and vivid action sequences without being too gory then switches to picturesque travelling scenes that were absolutely breathtaking.

I love the history and my
...more
Josh Courteau
Beginning a journey should always be this rewarding!
I knew that this was a work in progress, book two wasn't event started when I read Windcatcher, but at the close of book one I was wishing I had book two already downloaded!
This fantasy epic takes you through a land apart from reality but one familiar enough that you are not confused or left to wander in story for story's sake. This action is fast and engaging throughout and this iteration of 'dragon myth' is one of the best and most thought o
...more
Amanda Lyles
May 13, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It started out a bit slow but the pace picked up very quickly and then was nonstop. Once Galirras was introduced it reminded me a little of Eragon, though everyone adjusted better to Galirras than they did to Saphira. The world building was vivid and well done. I had no trouble picturing their world in my mind. I loved the descriptions of them climbing and the sand creatures. The bad guys were very bad. I was a little surprised at how bad they were. Usually the things they do get glossed over or ...more
Winter Sophia Rose
Gripping, Action Packed, Twists, Intricate, Engaging, Memorable & Unique! An Exciting Read! I Loved It!
Matt McAbee
I received a copy of this book through TBRinder to give an honest review.

A relic stolen a small team of soldiers sent to recover it on enemy territory. Gavin and Raylan are brothers on a military team sent to recover a relic stolen by the Doskovians. Surrounded by enemies and in unfamiliar territory you race along with them as they face unbelievable odds in their attempt to get home.

This book was a total joy to read the characters were very well written and as you get deeper in the story you fee
...more
Lenita Sheridan
May 18, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book has parts that are extremely exciting, and where it's not exciting it's at least interesting. The author is inventive in his creation of evil and good creatures. The only reason this is four stars instead of five is that the author gives wolves a bad name in his treatment of them. As a person from Alaska, I object to wolves being depicted as menacing animals. In real life they have never attacked and killed a human being (at least not in North America). Even though this is a fantasy, i ...more
Tania
Nov 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I surprisingly really enjoyed this book. It was a recommendation from a friend, which doesn't often work out, which is why I was surprised. It started off a bit slow in the beginning, which is understandable as the author had to present this new world for us, but once it got going, I had trouble putting it down! I would have finished the book sooner if I didn't have a six-month-old baby. ;)
What a great adventure story, with lots of action! I really connected with the characters, especially Rayl
...more
Elisabeth Hunt
What a great start - excited to see more books in the series. Watching the dragon grow is wonderful and the scope of the adventure increases page by page.

The author does a fine job of getting you invested in the characters and their story, then takes your breath away as they face peril after peril. Part of why you'll love the characters is how they manage to overcome obstacles in clever ways.

The only bad thing is the wait for the next book in the story.
Meels
I really enjoyed this story. The characters are strong, and I was able to become attached to and invested in them. Yes, I enjoyed it very much and hope to read on.

An author who can make me care enough to laugh and/or cry has done their job! :)
Dave Higgins
Nov 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Norfield places the classic war story of a small squad trapped behind enemy lines in an interesting fantasy world, then mixes in his own version of dragons.

When an ancient relic is stolen from the Tiankong Empire, Aeterra’s long-term trading partner, it is politically expedient to have Aeterra recover it for them. Accompanied by a Tiankong monk, Raylan and his unit penetrate the territory of the Stone King. However, when they successfully catch up with the thieves, they discover the artefact is
...more
David Baird
Apr 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Windcatcher is Book I of the Stone War Chronicles.

I’m a big fan of epic fantasy novels and this one ticks all the boxes and more.

The story is written well with a decent page count and the perfect amount of detail when it’s needed. The pace of the book is perfect for all types of readers in my opinion..it’s slow enough for new readers to get immersed in Norfield’s world without be overwhelmed but for the more avid readers it moves fast enough to keep the story flowing well and has the build-up yo
...more
Timy
Jun 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This review contains spoiler!

Okay people, paint me impressed. I'm not that much familiar with dragons, but as far as my experience goes, this book was a pretty good one. I loved how Galirras grew up during the story, how much he learned about himself and the world. And that he used air instead of fire. I loved the forest settlement too, where people walked on trees. I would have been frightened to do so, but the concept is awesome!

The characters were well built, the pace was good, there wasn't
...more
Lynda Lacasse
Jun 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
Very enjoyable read!

This was a fun read, and I enjoyed the characters a great deal. Loves the sweet dragon and his companion Raylan, and of course, found myself rooting for them against the evil Corza. I took away a star only because there were several errors that need to be cleaned up. I'm definitely planning to read Book II.
Jane
May 01, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I love fantasy novels involving dragons and enjoyed Windcatcher, the first book in the Stone War Chronicles, by A.J. Norfield. Windcatcher is an old-fashioned (in the best sense) traditional fantasy dragon novel. A small squad of soldiers travels deep into enemy territory in an attempt to retrieve a treasure stolen from their kingdom’s ally. The treasure turns out to be something thought to exist only in legends – a dragon egg. He hatches, bonds with one of the soldiers, and becomes an ally in t ...more
E.A. Turley
Jul 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Windcatcher Book 1 of the Stone War Chronicles by A.J. Norfield.

This is a very entertaining story of an egg, a man, and a tyrant wanting to steal something that isn't his.
When foreign soldiers invade a monastery that houses the most sacred relic of an old empire, taking it, the Emperor sends out an emissary to the neighboring kingdom of Aeterra asking for help to get it back.
Raylan and his older brother Gavin, along with a small troop of men, are dispatched to intercept the thieves and retrieve
...more
Jake Swartz
Jul 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

4.5 out of 5

A great first book. Reminiscent of Eragon and the Temeraire series, Norfield has introduced me to world I can't wait to further immerse myself into. This book was hard to put down, from start to finish he had my attention.

Some of the dialogue seemed staged or clunky at times and there was some over explaining of plans and characters thought processes, which I tend to see in YA books. Without that my rating would
...more
kathy bracy
May 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
a fast paced adventure story. a team is sent to retrieve a stolen object. part of the team are two brothers Gavin and raylan. I loved the interaction and sibling rivalry between the brothers. the team are deep in enemy territory when they find the missing object, a dragon egg, the ONLY dragon egg. the dragonet gilarris is immensely appealing as a character. he bonds with raylan and they can communicate telepathically.

not since the dragon books of the late Anne McCaffrey have I been so drawn to
...more
Liam
Sep 17, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
1.5/5

386 pages| LowSea Publishing| Fantasy

The digest: a slow-paced novel which unfortunately didn’t live up to the hype.

Another negative review I’m afraid. TLDR: story is unoriginal and lacks distinguishing features. Could be a good YA read but anyone expecting much more than that will be disappointed.

Windcatcher is the first novel in a series (The Stone War Chronicles) which focuses on a young male protagonist as he befriends a dragon, never really too sure of what is going on or how he is able
...more
Awallens
Jun 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I have to admit when I started this book, I wasn't sure about it. But after the first few chapters, I was hooked. The characters were so well done, and the action was nonstop to the last page, literally. I actually found myself holding my breath several times and once when the characters were in danger, I found myself pleading they would be OK. All I have to say is if you like well-drawn characters you are going to root for, give this book a shot. I can't wait for the next in this series. It nee ...more
Lisa
Jan 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Well, this was such a refreshing read! At first I wasn’t sure what to make of it, I thought it would be another fantasy story with a lot of dudes battling each other and a rather grim outlook. And while it did have a lot of dudes battling (and at least one lady), it was a pretty heart-felt epic fantasy about a guy and his dragon. Don’t get me wrong, there’s some grim parts as well, but the overall tone becomes pretty hopeful partway into the story.

I loved the way the book started off, right away
...more
Sarah
Aug 15, 2018 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: dnf
*Disclaimer* I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review.
I really wanted to like this book.
This is the opening book in a large epic fantasy story with dragons which really should be completely my wheelhouse but I found the experience jarring and tedious at the same time.
My main issue that I just could not get past was the author trying to world build with a ridiculous amount of exposition shoe horned into the plot. I understand that Norfield has this entire world
...more
Rosie Rizk
I wanted to like it. It's a self published fantasy, and I've come across a lot of fantastic ones lately, but unfortunately, as I dragged myself through the book in hopes of it suddenly changing into a better read, it just never happened.

There were several good ideas in here - between the plot, and beings like dragons and golems, and once or twice, some really good character bits. But it was mixed in with awkward prose, which was bogged down with too many unnecessary backstory details. I didn't
...more
Ben Fleming
Dec 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
Norfield builds the characters and scenery into a compelling narrative.
Christie
I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book gets started running and doesn't ever slow down. I enjoyed the fast pace of the book, mixed with the various twists and turns that occurred. The plot was solid and although we missed out on a lot of world-building as we only followed the main characters journeys, there was enough to make the fantasy world vast and interesting. The author keeps things fairly clean cut, good guys versus bad guys, which I think
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
  • Dragon Mound (Knight in Shadow, #1)
  • Greatshadow (Dragon Apocalypse, #1)
  • The Magic Ring
  • Soul Ink (Grimm Agency, #1.5)
  • Bentwhistle the Dragon in A Threat from the Past
  • Looking for Group
  • The History of Middle Earth Index (The History of Middle-Earth, #13)
  • The Book of Peril (The Last Oracle #2)
  • One More Run (The Roadhouse Chronicles #1)
  • The Lure of the Labrador Wild
  • Nightblade: Episode One
  • Blood Secret (Blood, #5)
  • The Right Kind of Girl (The Best of Betty Neels)
  • Havelock
  • Treasure Island & Kidnapped
  • A Room Full of Elephants
  • The Sword Chronicles: Child of the Empire
  • A   Rare Chance
58 followers


PURCHASE BOOKS:





Or visit your own preferred ebook store for Windcatcher's listing.

About me:
A.J. Norfield lives with his loving family on land, but below sea level. He tries not to worry too much about climate change and the melting of the polar ice caps. His wife, and two rascals of children, keep him engaged and grounded in life, as he writes the nights away.

Whilst he is a long time stor
...more

Other books in the series

Stone War Chronicles (2 books)
  • Wavebreaker (Stone War Chronicles, #2 - Part 1)