Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit” as Want to Read:
The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit

(Dumfries Detective #1)

by
3.36  ·  Rating details ·  478 ratings  ·  53 reviews
Told in the first person, this high-paced, multi-layered, quirky, and, at times, humorous murder/mystery drips with a distinct sense of place. Its many twists and turns evolve quickly into a thrillingly tense and topical story. When a dead pig, dressed in an evening suit, is found in a storm drain in the sleepy Scottish town of Dumfries, Jin cannot hold his curiosity at ba ...more
Paperback, 284 pages
Published December 18th 2013 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform (first published January 24th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  478 ratings  ·  53 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Nola Arganbright
Apr 26, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: cozy-mysteries
Plot upon plot!

A long story with numerous subplots. The story takes place in Scotland and you are given good descriptions of the area. Plenty of suspense and mystery.
Donna Foston
How many near-death experiences can one hero have and live to tell about it? A lot going on, implausible plot twists, and a REALLY long and boring medical explanation about one of the many near-death experiences. Just not my cup of tea.
Michelle
Good book

You people should just read this book yourselves and write your own review on this novel yourself and I really enjoyed reading this book very much so. Shelley MA
Chaplain Stanleigh Chapin
A light change of pace

not a lot of mystery and intensity, but a lot of light hearted reading. I use this type as a break
Susan
"I just could not get into this book and decided to stop and move onto something else. I could not relate to the lifestyle and language of it and it just did not draw me in."
Paula Clouser
May 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Twists and turns

Couldn't put it down!! So many storylines which blended together for a good read, and a very satisfying ending. I'll be looking for more of Jinky's adventures.
Kat Lebo
This book has a lot going for it. An interesting title (yes, I picked it for the title), a fun set of characters, a very intriguing plot, a -- for me, at least -- exotic setting, yet I only rated it a 3.

The things that usually make me crazy weren't running rampant in this book. Yes, there were a couple of misused words, maybe a half dozen: you for your, by for my. Simple proofreading fails. But, for the most part there was little to stop my progress or to take me out of the action. The story is
...more
Susan Ferguson
I am not sure what to make of this book. There is a series of three and I'm undecided on reading the rest.

'Jinky' Johnstone lives in the little town of Dumfries. He grew up there and inherited his parents' house as well as the houses of some other relatives. He did not care to study, although he reads a lot, and was definitely uninterested in school - so he worked at a builder's yard. After he inherited the relative's houses, he sold them and put money aside, so has some in the bank - and quit h
...more
Denise Zendel
Jin Johnstone is a quiet, unremarkable man living in Dumfries, Scotland. Inheritances from assorted relatives have left him comfortable and able to pursue his passions of golf, going to the pub, and helping people. He’s not a PI, he’s just a tenacious guy with a lot of curiosity.

When a dead pig wearing an evening suit is found in a storm drain in Dumfries, Jin is intrigued and decides to investigate; a bad decision for him, because he ends up in peril. Repeatedly.

I had a little difficulty readin
...more
Jack
Jul 21, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
You live in a relatively small town by a river. The big event of the week, most likely to make the front page of the next edition of the paper next week, is the retrieval of a body caught in the storm drain of the river. And you wonder why everyone is laughing at such a tragedy. And then things go downhill from there.

This starts out as a fairly light mystery, a welcome change from the heavy serial killer/demon dabbling/terrorist cell attacks of the past few books I've read. The whimsical title t
...more
Gabri
Oct 20, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In The Case of The Pig in the Evening Suit (The Dumfries Detective Trilogy), Jinky Johnstone is the most endearing specimen in the private detectives' race: he likes making his neighbours' lives right and he is good at it; he prides himself to be the one everyone turn to when there's something ailing them, what with a runaway child or an old could-be haunted hote, or a friend's marital issues. True, he gets paid for his services, but he doesn't need the money and his choices in assuming a case a ...more
Sharon Stevenson
Mar 10, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: owned
'The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit' is the story of Jin Johnston, an amateur detective who enjoys helping people.

The book starts off with an intro to Jin's everyday life and then the slower paced beginning gives way to some wild and shocking twists and turns as the mystery develops and the pace picks up. Jin is a fairly pedantic kind of guy and provides a few nicely neurotic moments with his behaviour. I enjoyed this narrator very much, he was a great character. Chiara was a very interesti
...more
Christina Simons
I'd give it more like 2.5 stars. It's an interesting concept, set in a small Scottish town peopled with the usual group of "interesting" characters. I got this one for free (intrigued by the title), and I've borrowed the second one from Amazon Prime. So it was good enough for me to give the second in this trilogy a try. (I don't know what I'd have done if I'd had to buy it, though. Free is good.)

However, there are some glaring faults. First, the author badly needs a lesson in comma usage. At lea
...more
Randy
Oct 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Since I'm a real fan of Alexander McCall Smith and his Scottish stories, this book was written using lots of Scottish words and phrases that I enjoy learning about. The story is very well written, with multiple plots and twists and humor. This is the first of R.R. Gall's Dumfries Detective trilogy, and I'm looking forward to reading the others. The protagonist, Jin Johnstone, is a man who acquired wealth from his relatives and helps people without asking for payment. As you would expect, this st ...more
Babus Ahmed
Apr 09, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jin Johnstone is a person who likes to investigate in relatively quiet Dumfries, he takes on local cases to help people who need him to find people or get to the bottom of local mysteries. He's not a policeman or trained by the military but just an ordinary guy. The discovery of a Pig in an evening suit and it's subsequent investigation leads him to mortal danger, but who would try and kill him and why? At the same time a body is discovered, is this linked to the danger Jin faces. The mystery th ...more
Tarissa
This is more a book of many "mini-mysteries", not just the one as the title implies. On the whole, I found this book to be a little "fun", but not too interesting for my taste. The whole plot just seemed to stretch out more and more. It does have fascinating elements, but I think it just needed to be tied together a little more neatly.

Regardless, I did so enjoy the Scottish setting of Dumfries. The author use several true Scottish words too, adding to the authenticity. As I read, I listened to a
...more
Joan
The title is a bit of a misnomer in a way. This is about far more than a pig in an evening suit. An intricate and twisty plot involving some great characters and a very believable setting ( I love Dumfries btw, so I may be biased! ;) )

There are a couple of scenes in the story where I flinched and my toes curled up (view spoiler) - it takes a lot to make me do that - and there were some rambling parts that could
...more
Heather
Oct 19, 2013 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
This book was so weird!! There literally is a dead pig in a suit. Jin appears to be an amateur detective but he literally runs into (or is run over by) every clue. He doesn't figure out anything except by bad luck. Jin is nearly frozen to death twice, he is poisoned, almost ran over, and pushed off a bridge. Every relationship around his is an estrangement--his friend, Asa, is separated from his wife so he crashes in Jin's couch the whole book; Melanie and Cori (the dead girl found in the metal ...more
Mark
Jun 18, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In 2004 or 2005, RR Gall saw a picture of a dead pig, pulled from a storm drain in Sydney, Australia, dressed in formal attire. The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit is the what came of Gall's imaginings from that photo.

The book is an enjoyable mystery, unfolding at a relaxed pace, with ample dashes of humor, reasonably well-developed characters, local color, and a genuine love of place (Dumfries, Scotland). The protagonist and narrator, Jin Johnstone, is an unorthodox hero, fairly full of foi
...more
D.L. Williams
Jun 28, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed reading the Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit, but I’m sure I never want to be a character in one of RR Gall’s books. The main character was close to death three times, others attempted to kill him two or three times, and just when I thought he couldn’t possibly run into any more trouble, he is accosted again by an old woman with a crane like but surprisingly strong body. Aside from the constant menace to the lead character, I enjoyed the read, I enjoyed the language and the phrasing ...more
Murrill
Jun 08, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery
I was delightfully engaged for the first half of the book: A cast of eccentrics and an intriguing little mystery entertained me, and I looked forward to more in the series. Unfortunately, the story peaked at the 50% mark when the primary plot came to conclusion and a secondary footnote riddle was solved. From there it took a turn, becoming a medical-mystery with jargon that was out of tune with the chatty dialogue in the beginning. New stories continued to emerged, and by then I was just over it ...more
Jeanne Johnston
Nov 21, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A fun little mystery, though I found myself a bit frustrated at the way the clues came from so many directions. Not sure if it's just been to long since I've done a mystery or if this was written too much as a trilogy and not enough as a single story. Didn't get many "aha!" moments when something was solved and I could either kick myself for not noticing the clue in the first place (usually because there wasn't one) or revel in my skills because "I knew it!" Maybe it all wraps up neatly after al ...more
Black Butterfly
Oct 20, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: ADULTS
Recommended to Black Butterfly by: AMAZON
Shelves: mysteries
THIS IS BK#1 OF A TRILOGY, SET IN SCOTLAND. JIN IS NOT A DETECTIVE HE JUST LIKES HELPING PEOPLE, WITH SOME OF THE RESULTS I WONDER WHY? AFTER ALL THAT HAPPENED TO HIM IN THIS BOOK I DON'T KNOW HOW MUCH MORE HIS POOR BODY CAN TAKE. I LOVED THE CHARACTERS, THEY WERE ALL KIND OF QUIRKY BUT LOVABLE. THE CASES JIN TRIES TO SOLVE ARE UNBELIEVABLE SO ARE SOME OF THE PEOPLE. IT WAS A VERY ENJOYABLE READ, I REALLY LOVED THE TITLE AND THE WAY IT WAS WRITTEN. WONDERFUL & FUNNY. ;>
Carla Johnson-Hicks
I received this book as a free kindle edition from Amazon and am glad I did not pay for it. There were so many things going on that were really not connected and were somewhat implausible. The beginning seemed promising, but as I read on, I quickly changed my tune. I finished it to find out how these events would tie together and those are hours I will not get back. There are two more books in this series that I will not waste my time with.
Walter Price
What started as an intriguing story soon took on unacceptable elements. This would be a clean book by most standards as the sex and violence is minimal compared to most modern mysteries. For me it was too much and I was unable to finish it. If it was a "clean" book (by my standards) it would have probably earned 5 stars.
Nikki
Oct 11, 2014 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle, i-own-this
The whole book felt like one long, monotone ramble. Even when Jin was in trouble or they were having a dramatic scene, the tone didn't seem to change. None of the story lines seemed to truly come together either, though the author hinted that they might if you read the rest of the trilogy. I wasn't impressed enough to find out.
earthenborn
Nov 22, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked this one a lot. Good character development, interesting story. I did think Jin got beat up on too much by unfortunate circumstances. I liked the Scottish cultural elements and phrasing. I would definitely read more in this series.
Garden Girl
I was excited to read this as we had met the author while in Scotland. He was extremely shy, though plesant. The book hopped around a lot and the plot was not very tightly woven. Unfortunately, I don't care to read any of his others. This seemed silly to me.
Louise Pledge
Sep 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The book was very different, sometimes a little bit hard to understand the British lingo, too many murder attempts/miraculous escapes involving the main character but, overall, a delight! Still trying to decide whether to purchase the other two in the series.
Monica Davis
Several unusual mysteries unravel over the course of 3 weeks in this novel, set in the small Scottish town of Dumfries. Almost too much going on at once but, all in all, an entertaining read for this first book in a series.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Mushroom in the Sand
  • Picnic at the Iron Curtain: A Memoir: From the fall of the Berlin Wall to Ukraine's Orange Revolution
  • A Memory in the Black (The New Aeneid Cycle, #2)
  • The Parrot Talks In Chocolate (The Life And Times Of A Hawaiian Tiki Bar)
  • A Raucous Time (The Celtic Cousins' Adventures #1)
  • Clean Cut (Paris Murphy, #1)
  • Cause of Death (Det. Annie Avants, #1)
  • Blood Forest
  • Icehotel
  • The List Conspiracy (Wallis Jones, #1)
  • In the Company of Wolves
  • Into the Killer Sphere (Chase Williams detective stories #1)
  • A Death in the Family (Euphemia Martins Mystery #1)
  • Don't Cry Over Killed Milk
  • Hot Enough to Kill (The Jolene Jackson Mystery Series, #1)
  • Once Upon a Lie (Alistair Fitzjohn, #3)
  • Bold Counsel (The Trials of Sarah Newby, #3)
  • Murder in the Dark (Santangelo #1)
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Dumfries Detective (3 books)
  • The Case of Colourful Clothes and Kilts (Dumphries Detective #2)
  • The Case of the Hermit's Guest Bedroom (Dumfries Detective #3)