Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Little Green” as Want to Read:
Little Green
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Little Green

by
3.92  ·  Rating details ·  241 ratings  ·  39 reviews
For fans of Jodi Picoult and Anna Quindlen, a moving and heartfelt novel about a husband and a wife, a missing child, and the complicated family secrets that can derail even the best of marriages.

It’s been a busy—and expensive—few years for Matt and Elise Sorenson and their young daughter Gracie, whom they affectionately call Little Green. Matt, a Manhattan lawyer, has ju
...more
Paperback, 352 pages
Published June 5th 2018 by HarperCollins Publishers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Little Green, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Little Green

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  241 ratings  ·  39 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Heather
Sep 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
⭐⭐⭐⭐💫This was excellent! This is the type of book I probably would have read in a day if other things like work and kids and life didn’t have to get in the way! Right now, I’m late for work as I just wanted to see how the book ended! I love stories where you really feel connected to the characters and find yourself cheering for them and just wanting everything to work out. I will definitely read more from this author. ...more
Denise
Sep 09, 2018 rated it liked it
3.5 stars for Little Green, a book about passions versus family. I enjoyed reading it but had to keep at it. The endings to the varies storylines ended very quickly. The characters were well developed but for me, unfortunately I did not relate to them. I did enjoy how the author gave this novel its title.

“Because everyone has the potential to be excellent at something, you need to find your excellence and then go for it.”
Karen Sokoloff
Jul 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book for so many reasons. Besides the story feeling so truthful, raw and personal, I had the good fortune to meet the author in person and then coincidentally read the book while on vacation on Saranac Lake! It added even more to the atmospheric feel.
How much can a marriage take? What is unforgivable? What tears us apart but brings us back together and can old loves replace or comfort better than current lives? Tish handles all of this with grace, honesty and leaves you thinking. C
...more
Jaclyn
Jun 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: best-of-2018
OMG this book is so beautiful. 😭❤👨👩👧 ...more
Christina Kline
Jun 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
How much stress can a marriage take? Tish Cohen answers this question with skill and artistry, capturing subtle shifts in mood and feeling as she escalates the pressure on her characters. They’re forced to face their own foibles and weaknesses as well as each other’s as they confront the mystery at the heart of this story. Atmospheric and compulsively readable.
Mary
Aug 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
The characters in this book are shown as multidimensional humans - they all have faults as well as redeemable traits.
 Kath
Jun 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A great book, writing about strained marriage between 2 people who genuinely love each other. Elise's dreams have always taken center stage even after their daughter is born and when an almost tragedy happens, their marriage could go on either direction. Also in the mix is the financial cost of Elise's horses and the time she has to spend training with the ultimate goal of getting to the Olympics. Matt inherited his grandfathers property in Lake Placid and the time has come to make a decision ab ...more
Karen
Jul 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Elise Sorensen is working towards the Rio Olympics as a dressage rider. Her husband, Matt is the parent st home taking the primary responsibility for their 8 year old daughter, Gracie. When the 3 of them go to Lake Placid to prepare Matt’s grandfather’s cabin for sale, old secrets come out. When the unthinkable happens to their daughter, the two of them must face the issues in their marriage. A well written captivating book
Penelope
Jul 01, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The story in this book was pretty good, but I disliked most of the characters, especially the main one. And I found it ended too quickly, and not in a way I would believe would happen in real life. 3.5 stars
Katherine Cotton
Jul 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is a great read. The story line is compelling and the characters are well-drawn. Little Green works on many levels and there is something in this story for a wide range of readers, male and female alike, as it is not a particularly gendered story. I have bought multiple copies as gifts for friends and relatives and it has "landed" with everyone. Our collective experience has been that we tore through it in about two days as it is something of a page-turner. This works as a terrific recreati ...more
Colline Vinay Kook-Chun
Aug 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
This story is not only about marriage and the challenges it may face, but also about how events may change both a marriage and one's personal goals. The description Cohen gives of the marriage between Matt and Elise is a realistic one that is not sugar-coated. While reading I came to understand the stories of both partners in the marriage - though my understanding of Elise takes a little longer to materialise than my understanding of Matt's experience. There were moments in the story when I held ...more
Debbi Burnie
Jul 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book. Tish Cohen is my favorite Canadian Author just love her books and this latest does not disappoint. It has all the meat of a good book, romance, family, tragedy, Love, lots of challenges and a happy ending. Her Characters are relate able and human just like us. Thanks for another great read !!
Colleen Macdonald
Oct 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Quick read, page turner. Keeps you interested and engaged! Some semi predictable plot twists but satisfying!
Brenda
Jul 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! The characters and scenery were so vivid as I read this story of the complexities of marriage/family.
Emily
Aug 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
As always, I very much enjoy Tish's books, and this one was no exception. :)
Sonja Travis
Jul 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Nice easy summer read!
Carol Rennie
Jul 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this book.
It's a good summer read.
Hannah Mary McKinnon
Jun 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Tish Cohen has written a beautiful story about what makes a couple and family tick (or not). I loved the expertly woven in backstory that showed the characters' history and how it shaped them. When Gracie's story took a very unexpected turn it surprised and delighted me. A highly recommended read.
Andrea Marlene
Aug 14, 2018 rated it it was ok
This book had potential, with interesting ideas and complex characters, but fell flat for me due to poor plot development. The story moves along due to an unending stream of coincidences and unlikely scenarios. I found myself rolling my eyes many times as situations unfolded in increasingly improbable ways. It's unfortunate as I had high hopes for this one. ☹ ...more
Jessie
Jun 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book! Life forced me to put it down but I wanted to read it in one sitting! I picked this up solely on a recommendation, I didn't read any description, I simply read it and let the story unfold. It's well-written and focuses on the impact of time and space on relationships. I highly recommend!
Geta
Aug 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!
Every free minute I had I wanted to pick it up to find out what would happen next. Loved it!
Can’t wait to read her next book
Jackie Winberg
Aug 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I couldn't put it down.
Kelly Osmond
Aug 11, 2018 rated it really liked it
A slow start for me but picked up and was a great read.
Kimberly
One of the top books I have read recently.
Lisa Ridder
Jul 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Thoroughly enjoyed this book and overall an enjoyable read from beginning to end. There is something in here for everyone - and a few twists and turns I didn't see coming. Well worth your money and time.
Jessica Gadd
Apr 28, 2018 rated it really liked it
What a great and unique novel! So well written and kept me engaged throughout. It was happy, sad, touching, and intense all at the same time. Definitely recommend it!
Colleen
Elise Sorenson is a dressage rider whose dream since her early teens has been to make it to the Olympics. While she spends most of the year training, her husband Matt maintains the homefront by working in a law firm and raising their 8-year old daughter, Gracie. Just when it looks like Elise’s dream may come true, she and Matt find themselves facing a major crisis that threatens to finally put an end to their marriage. How much strain can a marriage take, and will they be able to survive as a co ...more
Marta
Sep 18, 2018 rated it really liked it
I have to admit that I have a soft spot for Tish Cohen and her writing style. I first became aware of her during an authors night event in London, ON. Each one of her novels has an honest rawness, has characters making mistakes and not being “perfect”.

I found myself rooting for Matt, and though the novel didn’t quite end the way I would have wished for it to- it did wrap up in a perfectly imperfect way.

Matt is both mom and dad most of the time to little Gracie, while Elise pursues her life lon
...more
Nicole
Nov 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
There is a lot going on in this book, almost too much. However the story revolves around a mother, competing on an Olympic level in horseback riding, and her husband, a lawyer, and main caregiver to their daughter. Past mistakes and a series of unfortunate events take place, leaving this couple to discover who they are individually and as a couple, and if they can continue their relationship.
Anne Logan
Jan 27, 2019 rated it did not like it

I think I’m alone in the negative opinion I have of the book Little Green by Tish Cohen. Through a quick google search of other reviews of it, most people really enjoyed it. And it’s not that I hated it, not at all, but the marriage at the heart of the novel didn’t ring true for me and I disliked most of the characters so I don’t think I can recommend it to my followers. That being said, I’ll lay out my reasoning below and you can make your own decision.

Matt and Elise are from different backgrou
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Good Sister
  • In the Sight of Akresa
  • Brutal
  • Tears in the Grass
  • The Wound of the World (The Cycle of Galand #3)
  • The Followers
  • Girl-King
  • Against a Darkening Sky
  • Rag and Bone
  • The Red Word
  • Extraordinary
  • The Vanishing Princess
  • Liberty Street
  • The Three Sisters Bar and Hotel
  • Peach
  • Republic of Dirt: A Return to Woefield Farm (Woefield, #2)
  • The First Stone
  • The Age of Hope
See similar books…
206 followers
"And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom."
Anais Nin quote from Oprah's website inspired Tish Cohen to write her first adult novel.

Tish Cohen is the author of TOWN HOUSE, a 2008 finalist for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize – Best First Book Award (Canada and Caribbean region), and in development as a feature film with Fox 2000. Ridl
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »