Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Red Velvet Crush” as Want to Read:
Red Velvet Crush
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Red Velvet Crush

2.97  ·  Rating details ·  69 ratings  ·  19 reviews
Rock music, a broken family, challenging sisters, and the crush of first love—Red Velvet Crush has everything you need in a summer read. For fans of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Eleanor & Park, and This Song Will Save Your Life.

Teddy Lee’s mother ran off when she was in second grade. And ever since, Teddy Lee, the often-overshadowed middle kid, has tried to
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published June 14th 2016 by Greenwillow Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 2.97  · 
Rating details
 ·  69 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Red Velvet Crush
Peach
DNF

I could've sworn I reviewed this? Anyway.

Teddy Grahams Lee is a would-be singer. She hopes to bring the family back together with her voice and her knowledge of '80s musicians, I assume. Her mother has fled town, so her father raises her, her misogynistic brother, Winston, and her sister, Billie, who has a penchant for shoplifting.

The love interest is a mortifying visual. He's said to have a comb-over, thin lips, and "a pooch." Thanks for the handsome image. As did book did zero for me,
...more
Hayaisreading
Jul 10, 2016 rated it really liked it
Red Velvet Crush by Christiana Meredith
Sarah
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

This was a YA contemporary story about a girl in a band, but I lost interest.

Teddy Lee was an okay character, but I just didn’t connect with her well. Not sure why this was, but I just didn’t really love her.

The storyline in this was about Teddy Lee’s band going on tour over the summer, and that was pretty much it. I kept waiting for something else to happen that was
...more
Kris
Mar 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
This is a great book for readers who loved Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist. It is a story about how sisters can hurt each other and what it is like to be the sister who always gives in and what happens when that stops. It is a love story and also a story about heartbreak and second chances. I absolutely loved this and will recommend it to everyone!
Julie
Mar 23, 2016 added it
This book was about sisters, family and being in a band. There was some romance . I wasn't too sure if Teddy was girl or boy in the beginning. But I loved that it focused on family relations while being in band. I finished it this morning and I enjoyed it.
Louisa
Jan 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A book about a band and about a family! So amazing to read, and I just loved it!
Chocolate
Nov 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Sigh. This book was heavy, emotionaly.

The connection Teddy Lee had with music was beautiful. For a person with siblings and spotlights, I understood her pain.

Winston was the perfect crazy brother.

I hated Billie and I don’t understand how TL can forgive her. She was full of herself. It could have been because she grew up without a mother, but idk.

Ty, he was very likable, but when he did what he did, I wanted to punch him repeatedly.

Jay, the crazy happy spirit. I love him.

Ginger, I think he might
...more
Danielle Urban
Jul 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
Red Velvet Crush by Christina Meredith is a deep story of two sisters. One of them is always being overshadowed by the other one. Teddy Lee just wants her family to be a family again. So, she comes up with an idea and let it roll. But it isn't too long before her sister, Billie once again takes over...and things go down hill from there. I liked Teddy. She seemed likable and wanting what's good for others. Her family is in this broken weird phrase. One that cannot be shaken. Her father loves her ...more
Erin
Jun 01, 2017 rated it it was ok
I think what the problem in this book was is that there just...wasn't anything that happened. The band forms, Teddy hooks up with her insta-love boy, they go on a mini tour, Teddy and the boy get in a fight...sort of? Teddy is jealous of her sister. Boy comes back to her. The end.

On the one hand, I appreciate that the band didn't make it big right away--they didn't make it big at all. They toured some dive bars and then went back to their small town. I just don't know anything about the
...more
Jessica (The Psychotic Nerd)
This was a DNF book for me. I gave up on this book mainly because nothing was happening and I was halfway through the book. There should be a story by that point and really did not seem to be going anywhere. So, I set the book aside.
Alexa Herondale-Cullen
Sep 25, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: my-library
it got a little boring at the end. but it was still good
Nicole
Nov 15, 2015 rated it it was ok
Teddy Lee Carter is the middle child. Her older brother Winston and younger sister Billie are always getting in trouble. Ever since her mother left her family, it's always been her siblings and her dad. Winston started working at a radio station and has a great idea to form a band. After auditions, Ty, Jay and Ginger Baker join Teddy Lee and Billie to create Red Velvet Crush. After practicing in the garage, Winston's boss is able to secure gigs at small bars and clubs. However, Billie is getting ...more
Isamlq
Feb 01, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc-galley
I kept holding my breathe expecting Something Big to happen. No, not her and The Boy. And no, not them and The Tour... but something about betrayal and trust and thorny familial bonds set side by side with some newly made connections, and in the midst of all that --- possibility of conflict. So yes, Red Velvet Crush was sweet, sexy, with potential for damage... eventually. Because in the mean time, surprisingly, this we all about family.

I'm particularly impressed with the familial connections
...more
Brianna
Dec 14, 2016 rated it it was ok
I was really looking forward to this book. I love books involving music and bands that potentially make it big. I also am always curious to read books that involve relationships between sisters that may not be ideal relationships. Since this book had both of those factors I figured 'why wouldn't I like it?'. Things just didn't really click or come together the way they could have. It was almost there, but didn't quite get it.

One of the biggest issues I had with this book was what the expectation
...more
Megan
Sep 12, 2016 rated it it was ok
2.5 stars

Teddy Lee Carter is the middle child. The responsible child. Since her mother left them, Teddy has been the one in charge of getting her drunk younger sister, Billie, home after parties and keeping tabs on her wild older brother, Winston. Teddy's passion is music and one summer she finally gets what she's always wanted: a band (Red Velvet Crush) and a means to share her music with the world. Like everything else in Teddy's life however, Billie will not be content until she has what
...more
Rhea Dsouza
Red Velvet Crush was a book that could not hold my interest, not even when I reached the 40% mark, and that's when I gave up on it. While the idea of the book is definitely intriguing, I didn't find it executed very well. It took me a while to even find out if Teddy Lee was a boy or a girl. I could read traces of romanticising of drugs and that's a hard limit for me. The love interest Ty was as generic as they come--mysterious, sexy, smelling good. Nothing was happening, which made the book ...more
Isa
Sep 15, 2016 rated it it was ok
Quite long.
Robert
Apr 28, 2016 rated it it was ok
Basically a teen romance with vague music overtones. Blech.
Unique
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2018
Angie
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2016
Rylee Ellen
rated it did not like it
Nov 13, 2019
Pamela
rated it liked it
Dec 07, 2016
Jenna
rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2017
Megan Perez
rated it it was ok
Jul 21, 2017
Les
rated it it was ok
Jul 20, 2016
Chantel Williams
rated it it was ok
Jun 23, 2016
Stephanie Bonilla
rated it it was ok
Oct 01, 2016
Niki Dinehart
rated it it was ok
Jul 08, 2016
Hermione
rated it liked it
Sep 26, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • If I'm Being Honest
  • Somewhere Only We Know
  • Time Bomb
  • Fake It Till You Break It
  • Skinny
  • Famous Last Words
  • The Double Bind
  • Kissing Max Holden
  • To Catch a Killer (Erin Blake #1)
  • Dry
  • Z
  • The Call of Death
  • This Darkness Mine
  • Liebe geht durch alle Zeiten (Edelstein Trilogie, #1-3)
  • The Conspiracy of Us (The Conspiracy of Us, #1)
  • Smaragdgrün (Edelstein-Trilogie, #3)
  • Knight Protector (Star Kingdom #5.5)
  • Damsel
See similar books…