Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sweet Revenge (Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, Book 14)” as Want to Read:
Sweet Revenge (Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, Book 14)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sweet Revenge

(A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery #14)

by
3.80  ·  Rating details ·  7,601 ratings  ·  496 reviews
A month before Christmas, I saw a ghost...

Goldy Schulz is thrilled to be catering a holiday breakfast feast for the staff of the Aspen Meadow Library. But little does she know that on the menu is a large helping of murder.

While setting up at the library, Goldy spots a woman who bears a striking resemblance to Sandee Brisbane—the Sandee Brisbane who killed Goldy's ex-husban
...more
Audio CD, 10 pages
Published August 21st 2007 by HarperAudio
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sweet Revenge, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sweet Revenge

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  7,601 ratings  ·  496 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sweet Revenge (Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, Book 14)
James
Book Review
3 of 5 stars for Sweet Revenge, the 14th book in the "Goldy Bear Schultz Culinary" cozy mystery series, written in 2007 by Diane Mott Davidson. I enjoyed this book and have been rather fond of the series, but it was not without its issues. What's great about this edition is not only do you have the normal delicious and fun recipes, but you've got a mystery about old maps and books. Goldy's catering at the library and serves up some fun themes between what she's preparing a
...more
Lain
Nov 30, 2007 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
This could very well be the worst Goldy mystery yet. Not only are the characters mere two-dimensional puppets, Goldy has turned into a narcissitic busy-body who I found myself rooting against. The supporting characters are merely that -- props that allow Goldy to to do whatever the heck she wants and then pull her out of trouble when she finds herself stuck.

How many times can one person put themselves in harrowing circumstances with no clear reason? How often can Goldy tromp over her friends an
...more
Lorraine
Dec 30, 2010 rated it did not like it
Recommends it for: no one
Skip to the last chapter. Read that. It's faster and less painful.

I can suspend reality and accept the coincidences of all those involved in the murders are in Goldy's life right now, that she's super-sleuth compared to the cops, and similar quirks associated with the murder-mystery genre. But Super Goldy, as she is in this book, is just too much. What human can set up for a catering event, and deal with cops after finding a body one evening, then the next day cater three events, plus run around
...more
Megan
Aug 30, 2012 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I usually favor Goldy over Hannah and Lucy when it comes to the most popular three cozy heroines. Towards the end of the 14th book I was ready to throw in the towel and dub Goldy a moron. But hey I've read all of Flukes dragged out mysteries and many Meier's lackluster mysteries. I don't give up easily. Besides the fact the book was much longer than usual and the end felt very rushed and that the killer's motive was weak and not thought out I felt like Goldy was a total idiot. This time around I ...more
Terrie Shortsleeve
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kate
Feb 23, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Overly longgggg and wordy. I actually like the food/cooking descriptions, but I can't stand the repetition and tangents. Plus, I was bummed that even though this book takes place at Christmas there is virtually no discussion of the holiday season. Goldy doesn't even cater any holiday parties or make any seasonal recipes, it might as well have taken place in March :(
Elena Santangelo
May 16, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery
This was an audiobook, so I'll begin with the reader. Barbara Rosenblat is one of my favorite readers, though I have to admit, I don't think this was her best work. A lot of her male voices sounded so similar, I sometimes had trouble telling them apart. They all sounded adolescent, which was fine for the adolescent character, but not for the adults. And more than once, when she read an attribution followed by an adverb ("she said hesitantly"), I didn't think the tone of her voice matched the adv ...more
Finn
Apr 20, 2012 rated it it was ok
Wherever Goldy Schultz goes, there will eventually be a dead body or two. Now free of "the Jerk", her ex-husband, she is free to become attacked by others who wish her ill. Fortunately her big handsome police officer husband is often nearby, and there she is, sticking her nose into yet another of his cases that he tells her to keep away from and stick to cooking. But no, Goldy (who thrives on 3 or 4 hours of sleep) will not rest until she's nearly killed herself several times, wrecked her best f ...more
Syd Perry
It was refreshing to read a gentle mystery. There were murders, crazy people, mean people, skulduggery but all without the graphic details. This is an example of the only sex scene in the book, "We made love in the shower." I don't need to know any more than that.

There are plenty of humorous antics and recipes at the end (Goldie, the main character, is a caterer).
Melanie
May 29, 2008 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery
Murder and mayhem set against the backdrop of stealing maps from rare book libraries...Although if we had referred to said libraries as "what's called Special Collections" one more time, I was going to go crazy.
Sheryl
Jan 23, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
As always, I enjoyed this book in this series
Kerry
Jul 23, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobooks
I grabbed this audio book as an antidote to a long 8 hour drive this summer. I wanted something entertaining and engaging enough to keep boredom at bay and my eyes wide awake. I broke my own rule with this story and deviated from starting a series at the very beginning. As everyone always says about most series, "you don't need to read them from the beginning." This is one of the places I exhibit a little OCD in my life, let me have it. But, that statement does apply in this case. A little long ...more
Rosa Cline
4 1/2 star

This was a wonderfully done mystery, drama, semi comedy holiday story. I had never read any of the books in this series and wasn't lost about whom everyone was or did. I will be looking for others by this author. I listened to this on CD and the reader Barbara Rosenblat was WONDERFUL! She changed tones and voices per characters and settings. I will be looking for CD that she has read.

I can recommend this for a preteen-teen advanced reader. It had 'some' language but only mild, and had
...more
Auntie
Sep 11, 2007 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Culinary Mystery lover
Shelves: finished
My friend Gretchen shared this author with me. Diane Mott Davidson has a series of Culinary Mysteries that are, in Gretchen's words, "potato chips for the mind". No deep, dark insights here...but wonderfully commentary on the foibles and peculiarities of the mountain community people of Colorado..some of whom are Episcopalians. Yes, the main character espouses faith. So delightful!

Best bonus is that the main sleuth is a Caterer and proceeds to solve crimes while on the various jobs she takes on.
...more
Judyw
Oct 04, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I know some may think it's corny, but I really like the food-related mysteries by Diane Mott Davidson. Every once in a while, I actually find a recipe I like. But mostly, Davidson writes a good story.

In Sweet Revenge, Sandee Brisbane returns. The story takes place during a winter season, and I finished it during my own snowy season. Another good mystery.
Helen E Baker
Apr 26, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good book

It amazes me how well the author knows how teenage boys act and feel. Having one of my own, I can attest to the eye rolls.
All of the books in this series make me think about the duality of humans; how people can be generous and dangerous, good and evil. It is in everyone to be either way...it is up to the person to choose the right path.
Colleen
May 25, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another good mystery by this author. Good recipes included also. I always get hungry when reading her books! I recommend this book and others from her series for a nice read.
Dawn
Jul 04, 2008 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: summer-reading
The Goldy Bear mysteries are brain candy. Fun characters, good recipes at the end.
Jan
Sep 14, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I like this series of books. They are quick read books that are fun. Goldie Schlutz is always getting into some kind of trouble. She is funny.
Kitty Tomlinson
Goldy deals with map dealing and murder.
Ashley
Jun 03, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Sweet Revenge is a solid 2.5 star novel, that unfortunately doesn't work well as a stand alone novel or else it would be closer to a 3 or 3.5 star. I got this book and a few others by Diane Mott Davidson at a used book sale, without realizing this was the 14th installment in a series.

The bulk of this story involves elements from a previous story (apparently in book 12) and the summaries given in this book are not sufficient for someone who hasn't read that story. The basic gist can be understoo
...more
Chazzi
Aug 22, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery
It is Christmas and New Years time. Goldy Schultz's busiest time of the year. Her catering service is in high demand among the citizens of Aspen Meadow. How is she going to work in solving a murder with all her culinary demands?

While she is setting up a special breakfast at the library, she thinks she sees a woman who should be dead! Is it really her or is it a look-alike? To top that off, the ex-DA is found dead in the library on the same morning. Not being the best thought of man, it is no sur
...more
Ingrid
Sep 26, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery, fiction
Wow, this is the worst one yet. Why do I keep reading this series? I sort of want to finish them all so I can cross it off my reading to do list, and at some point I did enjoy these books and I keep waiting for the good writing to return. Enough is enough. Not suffering through another of these books ever again! How many times did you count that Goldie should have called the police? I stopped counting at 10. Now she's blatantly breaking laws and truly obsessed with finding out something, ANYTHIN ...more
Peggy
Dec 02, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This cozy mystery series about a caterer who lives outside of Denver are among the better written cozies in my opinion. I use them as "palate cleanser" after I read more serious or grizzly books. In this episode Goldy is stressed by having to cater multiple events over just a few days. She is shaken when she thinks she has caught a glimpse of the woman who murdered her ex-husband. Sandee, the murderer, is presumed dead herself. How can she be here? Goldy is catering for wealthy people who are in ...more
Jennifer Robb
Aug 29, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: readers of the series
Recommended to Jennifer by: YMCA Book Exchange
I've read other books in this series but not necessarily in order. I found this one on the book exchange shelves at the Y. I don't think it's the best in the series.

There are a couple different "mysteries" going on in this book, so not all the plot points go to the same mystery.

Goldy makes stupid choices--and more than once within the confines of this novel. Sometimes I do wonder how she's still alive--or what it will take to smarten her choices. Then again, I also wonder why people keep choosin
...more
Penny Evenson
May 24, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Goldy Schulz is thrilled to be catering a holiday breakfast feast for the staff of the Aspen Meadow Library. But little does she know that on the menu, alongside the Great Expectations Grapefruit, Chuzzlewit Cheese Pie, and Bleak House Bars, is a large helping of murder.

While setting up at the library, Goldy spots a woman lurking in the stacks who bears a striking resemblance to Sandee Brisbane—the Sandee Brisbane who killed Goldy's ex-husband, the Jerk. But Sandee is supposed to be dead. Or so
...more
Kate Shannon
I like this series, but I found this one a bit tiresome. Goldy is always intent on getting to the bottom of things, but this time her driven behaviors felt more like immaturity and sometimes just down right stupidity. There was also a heavy dollop of unbelievabilty throughout a good portion of the story. There were also quite a few "well-we-saw-that-coming" moments. Many of the characters felt shallow and situations seemed contrived. If I had read this book first, I would never read another one. ...more
Karen
Jan 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
Barbara Rosenblat reads Diane's cozy mysteries with such a flare. You are pretty sure Goldy is your best friend she portrays her so wonderfully.
Almost Christmas Goldy is booked up to her ears in holiday parties.
But the wealthy, although frequent customers of hers, are not always the easiest or best of clients.
On her way to a gig Goldy thinks she sees the woman who murdered her ex-husband and father of her son, Arch. Of course everyone thinks she batty since there were witnesses of this woman thr
...more
Grahamma1030
Jul 14, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This was my first GBCM mystery. Hopefully 1-13 were better. I absolutely hated this book and skipped to the end to find out who did it. For most of the book I was thinking Goldy was 50-60. She talks like an old lady and acts like one too. I found the dialog to be unnatural with words and phrases that bugged the heck out of me because no one talks that way. Too many characters and none that I was particularly interested in. And what's with Goldy and her husband? Should he really be giving her all ...more
Jan
Mar 04, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I believe that this is the best in the series that I have read so far. Goldy is a caterer who unexpectly runs into murder. Goldy Schulz is catering a holiday breakfast for the staff of the Aspen Meadow Library when she becomes part of a murder investigation.

Goldy's suspicions that Sandee Brisbane is involve mount when the body of Drew Wellington, a former district attorney, is found in a corner of the library with a map worth thousands of dollars stashed in his clothing.

From there the story con
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Change first publication date 2 13 Feb 05, 2020 12:23PM  
recipes 3 25 Aug 10, 2017 07:35PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, #1)
  • Eggs in Purgatory (Cackleberry Club, #1)
  • Plum Pudding Murder (Hannah Swensen, #12)
  • Glazed Murder (Donut Shop Mystery, #1)
  • The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree (The Darling Dahlias #1)
  • Death by Darjeeling (A Tea Shop Mystery, #1)
  • Muffin But Murder (Merry Muffin Mystery, #2)
  • Bran New Death (Merry Muffin Mystery, #1)
  • Murder on a Bad Hair Day (Southern Sisters, #2)
  • Sprinkle with Murder (Cupcake Bakery Mystery, #1)
  • The Diva Runs Out of Thyme (A Domestic Diva Mystery, #1)
  • Murder is Binding (Booktown Mystery, #1)
  • Freezer I'll Shoot (Vintage Kitchen Mystery, #3)
  • Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swensen, #13)
  • Better Homes and Corpses (Hamptons Home & Garden Mystery, #1)
  • Peach Pies and Alibis (A Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery, #2)
  • Murder Gets a Life (Southern Sisters, #5)
  • The Chardonnay Charade (Wine Country Mysteries #2)
See similar books…
1,958 followers
New York Times bestselling author Diane Mott Davidson wrote three novels before one was accepted for publication—when she was 41. She has since written 14 more mysteries, all featuring Goldy the caterer. In addition, she has written short stories and poetry for various publications. Davidson has won the Anthony Award from Bouchercon, and has been nominated for the Agatha, another Anthony, and the ...more

Other books in the series

A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery (1 - 10 of 17 books)
  • Catering to Nobody (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #1)
  • Dying for Chocolate (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #2)
  • The Cereal Murders (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #3)
  • The Last Suppers (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #4)
  • Killer Pancake (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #5)
  • The Main Corpse (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #6)
  • The Grilling Season (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #7)
  • Prime Cut (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #8)
  • Tough Cookie (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #9)
  • Sticks & Scones (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #10)

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
18 likes · 13 comments
“between the three of” 0 likes
More quotes…