Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “UnCommon Bodies: A Collection of Oddities, Survivors, and Other Impossibilities” as Want to Read:
UnCommon Bodies: A Collection of Oddities, Survivors, and Other Impossibilities
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

UnCommon Bodies: A Collection of Oddities, Survivors, and Other Impossibilities

by
4.21  ·  Rating details ·  129 ratings  ·  81 reviews
Step right up to the modern freakshow — We have mermaids, monsters, and more. You won't be disappointed, but you may not get out alive.

UnCommon Bodies presents a collection of 20 beautifully irreverent stories which blend the surreal and the mundane. Together, the authors explore the lives of the odd, the unbelievable, and the impossible. Imagine a world where magic exists
...more
Paperback, 300 pages
Published November 24th 2015 by Fighting Monkey Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about UnCommon Bodies, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about UnCommon Bodies

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.21  · 
Rating details
 ·  129 ratings  ·  81 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of UnCommon Bodies: A Collection of Oddities, Survivors, and Other Impossibilities
Jessica West
Oct 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I had the absolute pleasure of performing line edits on this collection. Some of these stories are poignant and touching, others are a helluva good time. I recommend this book if you're in the mood for something out of the ordinary with characters that are, inexplicably, easy to relate to.
Jule Owen
Oct 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Laxmi Hariharan's 'Untamed', one of the tales in this collection, reminds me of a more mainstream Angela Carter. It’s not just the magical realism it’s the alchemy of combining myth and the modern world to create storytelling gold. In this case, the mythical framework is not the gruesome fairy tales of the brother’s Grimm and other tale-spinners of cold northern climes, but the ancient, rich tapestry of India.

The chaotic markets, port and temples of this world are vividly imagined. Hariharan kn
...more
.Lili.
Nov 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing
**This review is only Bey Deckards Don't Touch Me.

 photo image.jpg1_zps6qzcy7wr.jpg

Blurb:Fighting is what Beau does best, because the very thing he dreads is exactly what lends him the extraordinary strength to defeat even the worst odds. And he does it all with the help of his angel, the woman he longs desperately to hold...but can't.

I'll start off by saying: I had no clue what I was getting into. When the ARC was offered I'd never read the blurb and never read Bey Deckard's work. What I received is an achingly beautiful lo
...more
Heather
Oct 26, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed reading Laxmi Hariharan's highly original short story 'UnTamed' included in Philip Harris's 'UnCommon Bodies' . 'Untamed' forms part of Laxmi Hariharan's Bombay based series beginning with 'The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer.' The Ruby Iyer novels and this short story are set in a dystopian future Bombay and in UnTamed the author imagines an even further future time, when humans blend with animals. There is a more mythical quality to the narrative, detailing legends and new beginnings, with a ...more
Michael Hicks
Oct 06, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
UnCommon Bodies is a very unique anthology that collects a number of short stories around the unifying premise of physical oddities. There are several traveling circus sideshow freaks, cyborgs, mutilated figures, people coping with body issues, and love between a man who is too short and a woman who is too tall.

As with the human body itself, there much in the way of variety here and these stories run the gamut of genres, from a breezy bit of lesbian erotica set against the Jack the Ripper murder
...more
Morgann
Oct 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
This is an intricate and intriguing mix of many different voices and stories. There will always be something new here, no matter how many times one re-reads the collection, and with such a variety of stories, this will most assuredly happen at least once. I thoroughly enjoyed the many different stories in this book - in particular, Sessha Batto's work, Made For This. I am always delighted to crawl between the pages of her work, for even when she writes shorts like this one, the characters and si ...more
Luupi "The Reading Queen"
Sep 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
Another one of my favorites horror books!

I have to admit that in this collection there were some stories that I didn't like or I couldn't fully understand what was happening and that's why it doesn't have 5 stars. Otherwise, it's incredible, with lots of blood, murder, vengeance, sometimes a little bit of romance, sirens, weird creatures with uncommon bodies ;)

Some of the ones I remember that were really twisted and dark were We is we by Michael Harris Cohen, Saltwater Assassin by Samantha Warr
...more
Aletia
Oct 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing
There aren't words. With this AMAZING line up of writers, one can only hope they do it right. And man o man did they! I can't wait to get my paperback version so I can read them all again, almost like the first time :D

*I was given an ARC for my honest opinion
Pam
Nov 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The UnCommon Bodies anthology is fascinating. Sometimes shocking, even disturbing, it also provides moments of hilarity. A good example of this would be Sally Basmajian's The Well-Rounded Head, in which a wife is only attracted to her husband because of his perfectly circular noggin. When his head appears to lose volume, the marriage hits the skids. Other stories may delight some readers and potentially upset some, too, but most are compulsively readable. This book is definitely worth checking o ...more
Bryan Jarvis
Oct 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
I had the pleasure of reading Jordanne Fullers story Scars:First Session and it is a beautifully heart wrenching story about overcoming the physical and mental abuses a person can suffer from family and loved ones.This is by far the best story this author has written it is beautiful and engaging and definitely a must read.
Merril Anil
Jan 12, 2016 rated it really liked it
Wait for it…wait for it…BOOM !! and its Over

Note: The following review is for the story "Untamed"by "Laxmi Hariharan" and NOT for the entire book

First of all a huge thanks to the author for providing me with a copy of her story, which is part of the Anthology that is this book, Uncommon Bodies

Laxmi Hariharan is one of those rarest Indian authors that had changed my view about Indian authors as I was part of that group who had given up hope in finding a good book among all those engineering
...more
Dianne
Short stories are just that, short. Sometimes authors just miss breathing their tale to life or they do not quite draw out the emotional tags. Laxmi Hariharan does both with each stroke of her pen. Follow along as we are taken into Ms. Hariharan’s world of the Ruby Iyer Universe, a post-apocalyptic, dystopian place set in the streets of multicultural Bombay.

Leana is different than those around her. She is a hybrid, part human, part werewolf and she is struggling to come to terms with her inner m
...more
JustJen "Miss Conduct"
Nov 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: bgirls, ebook, shorty
Review for Don't Touch Me by Bey Deckard only.

A review by The Blogger Girls.

Wow. I feel like a broken record, but here is yet another amazing story by Mr. Deckard. It doesn’t matter what the story is about; it doesn’t matter how long the story is. This one, just as with everything else I’ve read by him, has gripped me from the start, made me forget about genre, tense or anything else I notice when I’m reading other stories, and just keeps me focused on the story I’m given.

This one is about a ma
...more
Melissa
Oct 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
A few months ago I was fortunate enough to read Keira Michelle Telford's short story All the Devils included in the Uncommon Bodies anthology. Previously, Telford’s work has been eloquently written and engaging from start to finish. Her newest addition, All the Devils, is no exception. Telford’s Victorian London (shortly after Jack the Ripper) is uninhibited. She doesn’t shy away from the gruesome and grisly descriptions of the poverty, crime and destitution people in Whitechapel experienced. Ye ...more
Hannah Mary McKinnon
Nov 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I had the pleasure of reading Sally Basmajian's story The Well-Rounded Head. It was so surprising and witty, I laughed out loud a number of times. If the other stories in this collection are anywhere near as good, I will be thoroughly entertained.
Seamus
Nov 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing
An excellent anthology of trei-freaky, weird & wonderful short stories!

Series 2 anyone??
...more
Riina Y.T.
UnCommon Bodies is an intriguing and elaborate mix of many interesting and very, very different voices and stories. We get to meet mermaids and mermaid assassins, cyborgs and wolves, talking, growing fish, cybernetic ghost hackers and monsters. Oh and people who can mold and sculpt flesh. Yikes.

We dive right into the eighteen hundreds then straight into the future with a quick stop at the now and here, sparkled with magic and a bit of kink. These stories are all charming in their own way, movin
...more
Michelle Cornwell-Jordan
Oct 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Uncommon Bodies is a wonderful anthology filled with works by a collective of very talented authors! I loved the idea of the anthology and I was very excited to see how this unique premise would be carried out.

One of the stories that I loved was UnTamed which was the first work of Author Laxmi Hariharan I’ve read and needless to say I will be reading all her works! I really do not know where to start. But I enjoyed the magical tale that had a touch of dystopia, but was more. I believe the mix o
...more
Bookish Indulgenges with b00k r3vi3ws
The Ruby Iyer Universe has provided me with hours of entertainment already. So, when I heard that Author Laxmi Hariharan has come up with a short story set in the same universe, albeit a different timeline, I jumped up at the chance of getting my hands on an ARC. And Laxmi doesn’t disappoint her fans.

Untamed is the story of Leana Iyeroy trying to come to terms with who she is. She is a half wolf - half human hybrid with has blood on her hands. In order to try discovering her true self and findin
...more
Eamon Ambrose
Nov 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I've been through a number of anthologies lately and wasn't sure what to expect from Uncommon Bodies, but I had read some of the author's works previously so I was confident that I was in for an interesting experience. Beginning with the jolting tale of sideshow freaks Mary and Millie, Michael Harris Cohen kicks proceedings off nicely, and it quickly becomes apparent that this collection is something special indeed.
Uncommon Bodies is a vivid and diverse collection of weird and wonderful tales of
...more
Angie
Nov 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
A journey at the juncture of fantasy, horror, and science fiction, this collection of stories thrusts readers into the disorienting experience of inhabiting bodies deformed, maimed, of mixed species, and otherwise alien to us. Each turn of the page to the next story requires a literal disembodiment, one that can be thrilling, disturbing, or -- in the best stories -- both. The stories can be uneven in quality, and sometimes the same themes are revisited too often. But the standouts in the collect ...more
Nan Sampson
Nov 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
I recently had the privilege of reading an advanced review copy of Uncommon Bodies, a collection of short stories themed around side-show freaks and other folks with unusual physical anomalies. As you might expect, all the stories in this collection are quirky, odd and occasionally a little bit disturbing – but in a fun sort of way. Every story is different and while sometimes this makes the collection a little uneven, I like the fact that I never knew what I was going to get when I turned the p ...more
Aya
This anthology impressed me with its diversity and substance; more often than not anthologies are filled with shorts that can feel incomplete and/or superficial. Fortunately, UnCommon Bodies is filled with rich and complex, albeit dark, tellings. These shorts explore a range of genres, from magic realism, to a more contemporary setting, and then a little of everything in between; this anthology is a beautiful tapestry of many colours and textures.

Of all the shorts in this anthology, Reserved by
...more
Debbie
Nov 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
I read an advance copy of this book, and found it to be very unusual.

Most of the stories feature topics that I would not routinely choose to read, but I enjoyed a few of them. The ones that interested me the most were Undead Cyborg Girl, Saltwater Assassin, Phantom Pain, and From the Inside. Some others I found confusing, and a couple seemed unfinished. More than one appeared to be a chapter or installment from a larger story. That particular trait is not unique to this book. I’ve seen it in se
...more
J.
Nov 22, 2015 rated it really liked it
I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Robb Grindstaff's "Rudy and Deidre" is a story about (as the summary states) "a shorter than average man admir[ing] a taller than average woman from afar." But it feels like a much bigger story than that, and broader than its short length would seem. I've read other work from Robb, and one thing I admire about his style is his ability to evoke strong imagery and emotion without resorting to overly flowery or pretentious language, and this story
...more
Kathy Morris
Nov 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: horror, contemporary
*A copy of this book was provided to me for an honest review.*
Anthology of short stories published by Fighting Monkey Press.

This book has 21 short amazing stories and poems. You have mermaids, cyborgs, monsters, people with afflictions, sideshow freaks, hybrids and much more.
One of the stories I really enjoyed was Don't Touch Me by Bey Deckard. It's about a fighter named Beau. Fighting is what Beau does best , because the very thing he dreads is exactly what gives him the extraordinary strengt
...more
M.B. Mulhall
Nov 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
**I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review**

I was intrigued when I first saw the cover reveal and then even more so when I read a synopsis. I don't normally go for short stories as I want to know what happens from beginning to end, but these stories, snippets of a bigger picture I'm sure, were horrifying, entertaining, interesting, and mesmerizing enough to keep me wanting to read on.

There's a little something for everyone in this collection from horror
...more
G
Nov 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Don't Touch Me by Bey Deckard: Bey charmed us once again with a story of unconventional love – like Romeo and Juliet or the Beauty and the Beast, an impossible love that could and should have been. It is sad and beautiful. Beau is an ex-military with a incredible aversion to being touch which works great for him because he is a fighter and the repulsion of being touched gives him strength to fight any opponent. By his side is always Suzy, his angel. She gives him unconditional love and care. Bea ...more
David
Nov 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shotgun blast in its genre-fusing originality, Uncommon Bodies still delivers a remarkably consistent quality for those with an ear for language and a taste for the speculative.

I found We is We, by Michael Harris Cohen to be the exemplar of the form. It's bones are a narrative voice that is strong and lean then fleshed out with original phrasing and a just-right, striptease reveal of character that left me interested in what I saw and desperately imagining what was not explicitly told. To this b
...more
Lois Langdon
Nov 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
* I received an eARC copy for the purpose of an honest review*

UnCommon Bodies is reminiscent of a sideshow circus freaks, historical gore, sci-fi and the human condition.

The stories connect on many instinctual levels. Fear, horror, sympathy and even erotically charged. Each author has a character that has a surprising voice that you would not expect from the bullied chubby girl to the heart broken cyborg.

This anthology is a definite standout in the new trend of self-publishing. I was not distra
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Author Link for Uncommon Bodies 2 20 Nov 24, 2015 12:28AM