Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Shrouds of Darkness” as Want to Read:
Shrouds of Darkness
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Shrouds of Darkness

(Brooklyn Shadows #1)

by
4.15  ·  Rating details ·  225 ratings  ·  31 reviews
This is an alternate cover edition for ASIN: B006EVZWM0

Leo Malone: Vampire, body guard, Private detective, and all around pain in the ass is hired to find a client's father who has gone missing, but not only is the missing man an accountant for the mob, he is a full-blooded werewolf.
What seems to be a simple case of a werewolf run amok turns into a massive conspiracy that
...more
Kindle Edition, 219 pages
Published September 2015 by Dingo Dog Publishing (first published November 26th 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Shrouds of Darkness, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Shrouds of Darkness

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.15  · 
Rating details
 ·  225 ratings  ·  31 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Shrouds of Darkness
Montzalee Wittmann
Shrouds of Darkness
Brooklyn Shadows, Book 1
By: Brock Deskins
Narrated by: Steven Jay Cohen
This is an audible book I requested and the review is voluntary.
This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. Loved it! If you like vampires, werewolves, mysteries, humor, and fast paced fun reads this is your book. A vampire PI and occasionally hired gun/body guard takes a case that ends up taking 3 cases... all from different parties and all lead to the same conclusion. Action packed, with lots o
...more
Sadie Forsythe
Another reviewer said it took him a couple chapters for this book to draw him in. That reviewer was being kind. The beginning of this book is...off putting. (Now I'm being kind.) It starts with a first chapter that would be better termed a prologue. We then meet the main character for about a page before the book leaps into a lengthy flashback. He then starts reminiscing about a friend. We see him for another page or so before a large info-dump.

I'm not even exaggerating. It's a good 15% into the
...more
Rabid Reader
Dec 11, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This audiobook kept me entertained from start to finish. Vampire PI, Leo Malone, is hired to find a missing werewolf, who also happens to be the accountant of a mob boss Leo occasionally body guards for. Things become even more complicated as he uncovers treachery within the vampire ranks. This story has lots of action, intrigue, a bit of romance, great characters and hilarious repartee that will have you laughing out loud. I really enjoyed the main character, Leo. He is sarcastic, cunning, can ...more
Beverly Laude
Dec 13, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio, 2017, vampire
Years ago, I read a series of books about a Vampire PI written by P.N. Elrod. I have looked for more books in this genre and have never been able to find them....until now! I loved this book!

Leo Malone is a snarky, unfeeling bastard of a vampire who happens to be a PI. When he is hired by two separate clients to find one missing werewolf, he figures he might as well cash in on the windfall.

In his search for the werewolf, he encounters a group of rogue vampires, mafia bosses, and an unexpected lo
...more
BookLoversLife
Dec 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Leo Malone is hired to find a missing werewolf by his daughter. This same werewolf is an accountant to a mob boss, who contacts Leo to also find the missing werewolf. Being paid twice for the same job suits Leo fine and he accepts. But he didn't realise what an undertaking this would be. In his quest to find answers, Leo encounters rogue vampires, more mobsters and even a love interest. But add in the fact that dead bodies are turning up that seem to be ravaged by werewolves and all evidence poi ...more
William Bitner Jr.
Just finished reading “Shrouds of Darkness (Brooklyn Shadows Book 1) by Brock Deskins. I enjoyed this book on many different levels. The genre is a bit hard to pin down, but if I were to attempt to describe it, I’d say it’s Pulp Horrory/Noir/Paranormal. This is a genre all in it’s own category as it really doesn’t fit into the usual mainstream Urban Fantasy mold. I cannot remember the last time I laughed out loud while reading a book. The characters, and especially the main character Leo (don’t ...more
RJ
This is not your usual tale of vampires verses werewolves. I found it to be a cleverly designed mystery/thriller where a vampire P.I. stumbles into a territorial power struggle between vampires and the Mafia. The vampires use the werewolves as a distraction and patsy. Leo Malone the P.I. is hired by both sides of the conflict to find the same patsy and determine exactly what the heck is going on. Leo’s character is witty and the dialog comical. I found myself laughing out loud several times. The ...more
Valadia
May 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
OUTSTANDING!!!!!

Fantastic read, a wild ride from the very start. Well developed characters, professionally done, easy to get lost in the pages.
I am hoping for a sequel, many many more sequels. The storyline is addictive. Sad to come to the ending.....
Shoulanda August
Loved it

I really enjoyed this book and couldn't get enough. I found myself laughing out loud and smiling the whole time. Leo was a great character with a bad attitude. The storyline and plot was different and I was certainly entertained.
Brock Deskins
Jan 31, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
As the writer I am my harshest critic, but I really enjoyed writing this book and I think almost everyone that like a darkly humorous, rude, obnoxious, and violent vampire will enjoy reading it.
c pollard
Oct 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great black humor loved it







great black humor, loved it. it's hard to find good vampire reads, but this is definitely. one. I hope to see more.
Bookwyrm Speaks
Apr 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
With the slew of vampire urban fantasy that has hit the shelves in recent years, from romance with vampires to gritty urban grimdark, I wasn't sure where this would fit into that group. While the idea of a vampire detective isn't new, Brock Deskins' Leo Malone is definitely a great character who brings an added dimension of humor and determination you don't see in a lot of this type of character.

When a mob accountant is accosted outside his office by a gang of rival thugs, things get hairy, lite
...more
Elena Alvarez Dosil
Review originally published at: http://www.lomeraniel.com/audiobookre...

Leo Malone, vampire and Private Detective, is hired to investigate the disappearance of a very well known werewolf, who works as an accountant for the mob. Leo is a badass investigator, and only plays by his rules. Looking for a werewolf is not is usual job, since vampires and werewolves are at oposite sides, but this investigation will be different than others in more than this aspect.

This urban fantasy was a great listen.
...more
Pj
Dec 07, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I listened to the audiobook so I'll start with narration.

Narration:

The Narration of this book is pretty good. I haven't listened to this narrator before, but his voice is easy to listen to, and does a good job differentiating the protagonist from the supporting cast. I wouldn't mind listening to other books narrated by him.

Story:

This book didn't take long for me to get into. The opening sequence is filled with action and the author does a good job of teaching us about the world he's created v
...more
Colin Rowlands
Jan 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Supernatural Private Eye

A snarky supernatural detective is not a particularly new premise, but the author does a very good job of making both him and the story an interesting one.

The story starts out as a relatively simple one with the PI in question, the vampire Leo Malone, being hired to investigate the disappearance of a werewolf, but matters escalate quite quickly as this turns out to only be one part of a larger plot that causes a lot of problems for our protagonist even if he is being pai
...more
Bikram
Apr 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: audiobookboom
Disclaimer.
I had requested and received audible version of this book for free from the author, in exchange for an unbiased review.

What I liked about the book -
I had earlier read the second book of this series, without having read this first book first. The author was kind enough to send me this first book afterwards. Now that I've read this one, I understand the second book's references. Glad about that.

Leo is as fabulous as I remember him from book 2, if not more. This character is written so w
...more
Curly's  Ramblings
Dec 17, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Audiobook review: Shrouds of Darkness is an interesting story of a vampire named Leo who works as a P.I. Leo can be a total jerk and definitely has some very strong opinions about other paranormal species but even he can surprise himself when faced with a beautiful D.A. werewolf. Leo is taken on a mystery ride of full of twists, turns, death threats, and an interesting storyline. The narrator did a fantastic job providing individual voices and appropriate tone inflections! I received a free copy ...more
Penny lurkykitty
Jun 04, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, paranormal
I read/listened to this book on Audible. Leo the vampire is an abrasive asshole but does have his own moral code. He uncovers a multilevel conspiracy among New York’s vamp groups when he is asked to investigate the disappearance of a werewolf. The book starts a little slow but once it gets going, it’s entertaining and fast-paced. I appreciated the wit and humor in the book, especially the banter between Leo and the computer guy Marvin. The narrator does a great job of portraying Leo’s character.
Tyrone Garrett
Jun 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am a Brooklyn-born fan of sci-fi, horror, and noir mysteries, and the description was familiar but I couldn’t recall the details or find the book in my eBook library. Purchased and began reading, then recalled that I’d bought this entire ebook series 8 or 9 years ago from the now defunct Books On Board ebook company. A great detective noir series set in a contemporary alternative Brooklyn populated with normal humans and vampire & werewolf supernatural entities. A very enjoyable and entertaini ...more
Heather Vern
Mar 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read/listened to this book via Audible, I loved it. The narrator did an amazing job at telling the story. He made brought out the attitude of Leo. This read was a little out of what I normally read but I was very pleased with the story. The story line and character build are both very strong. Looking forward to the next installment.
Zoe Radley
Jul 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Bloody hell what a ride.. loved it a slightly bad ass angel and buffy (If the main character was a vampire) this really is my cuppa tea. Loved every action packed page and the snipping was great though the cop is a bit too psychotic.
shannon  Stubbs
Dec 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Interesting

This story is an interesting mix of PI and Blade. I think it makes a great mix. The ending kind of leaves you hanging for more. Not bad.
Jacq
Feb 08, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Found this on Instafreebie.

Violent , fast paced and funny vampire novel. Read it in one sitting. First of a series, I will be buying the rest.
Barb VanderWel
Mar 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love this & I can't wait for more.
I will be also leaving a review on Goodreads @ Amazon.
And letting everyone know about it.
So i gave it a 5 Stars.
...more
Jeff Dawson
Apr 05, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Action vampire enthusiasts

In the words of Artie Johnson, "very interesting."

I will admit, it took a few chapters before the book truly drew me in. It was worth the wait. There are a host of characters the author needs to introduce and lay the ground work. With a little tweaking the beginning will be easier to follow, but the slow start doesn't detract from the premise.

This could fall in the category of Alistair McLean or Mickey Spillane. Why? It is a good quick read and filled with non-stop action. Sometimes the action
...more
Jason
Sep 13, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Pretty nice start.

Pretty good vampire novel. Some of the story is well worn, but the main character has a ton of room for exploration in future entries. P.I. vampire Leo Malone is hard bitten,driven and very irreverent. I like him a lot and look forward to following him in future adventures centered in super natural NYC.
Melissa
Dec 25, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thoroughly enjoyed this story line.
Michele bookloverforever
tough, shrewd and very violent vampire searches for missing werewolf and uncovers a vampire revolution in the making involving corruption among vampire sheriffs
Iain Hart
Apr 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobooks
I absolutely loved this, having not listened to a good vampire vs werewolf for a while I went in a little wary. I thought I was going to get the audible equivalent of the Twilight Saga, thankfully I was wrong, and this review can continue.
The central character is vampire P.I. Leo Malone, he is everything a private investigator who doesn't care should be; brash, over confident and kick ass. The plot of the story is nicely paced and the character's gel nicely, the good, the bad and the ugly.

The le
...more
Greg Dixon
Mar 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shrouds of darkness 1

A good read for people who are in to the series recommend highly can't wait for the next one of the series a really enjoyable read but long still enjoyable read must read the next one of the series
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Audiobooks: Free audiobook sample chapter 1 12 Jan 21, 2018 01:07PM  
Brooklyn Shadows #1 1 4 Jun 14, 2014 12:13PM  
Shrouds of Darkness reviews 1 5 Mar 02, 2012 01:41PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Girl, Serpent, Thorn
  • The Thief of Time
  • All The Lonely People
  • How to Disappear
  • A Place of Execution
  • A Journal of the Plague Year
  • Goldilocks
  • The Resident
  • Every Last Fear
  • Wife After Wife
  • A Few Right Thinking Men (Rowland Sinclair, #1)
  • The House on Fripp Island
  • The House
  • The Roommates
  • Lazybones (Tom Thorne, #3)
  • The Shape of Night
  • Scaredy Cat (Tom Thorne, #2)
  • Sleepyhead (Tom Thorne, #1)
See similar books…
164 followers
Brock Deskins was born in a small town located in rural Oregon. At age twenty he joined the army and served as an M1A1 tank crewman, dental specialist, and computer analyst. While in the military he became an accomplished traveler, husband, and father of three wonderful children. Now out of the military he attends college to brush up on his skills as a computer analyst and gain new skills as a wri ...more

Other books in the series

Brooklyn Shadows (3 books)
  • Blood Conspiracy (Brooklyn Shadows, #2)
  • Primacy of Darkness (Brooklyn Shadows, #3)

News & Interviews

In these strange days of quarantine and isolation, books can be a mode of transport. We may have to stay home and stay still, but through t...
54 likes · 39 comments
“Don’t be too sad, I have already commissioned a latrine for the homeless to be constructed atop your gravesite. I shall take my pleasure in the end.” “I” 1 likes
More quotes…