Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Black Lotus (Night Flower, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Black Lotus (Night Flower, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Black Lotus (Night Flower #1)

by
3.67  ·  Rating details ·  96 Ratings  ·  50 Reviews
It's 1752 and Melissa meets the man who will change her life forever. At her disastrous debut, Melissa meets the handsome Justin Lestrade and finds herself falling into his world. But Justin has secrets and many enemies. His dark past will not only ensnare her, but damage everything she knows and understands. Join Melissa as she sinks into a world of old feuds and ancient ...more
Paperback, 562 pages
Published September 15th 2015 by Create Space (first published March 21st 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Black Lotus, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Black Lotus

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Aditi
“Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen.”

----Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


Claire Warner, an English writer, has penned an enchanting tale of magic, immortality and love, in her book, The Black Lotus which is the first book in the Night Flower series. This story unfolds the forbidden regency styled romance between a young debutante and a mysterious bachelor in town and on top of that the story has elements of mystery, magic and is set in the early eightee
...more
Veronica of V's Reads
This is a very very very long historical paranormal romance. I think I may have truly enjoyed the story if it had been 200 pages shorter.

Melissa is debut in her London season when she meets the enigmatic rake Justin Lestrade, newly returned from the colonies to take up his family estate. He's a bona fide rake with dubious connections. Melissa, who is very different from "polite society" must be sequestered after her disastrous debut, because the scandal of her yelling and slapping an attacker i
...more
Ria
Jan 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
Full Review @http://www.abookishescape.com/2016/02...

The End, there isn’t any resolution but there is more trouble. Everyone has shown their card and unfortunately Melissa has had to pay the highest price. She is the target of Justin’s enemy and there isn’t anything anyone can do to avoid what is bound to come. The reader finds out Justin’s secrets but I hope we get some more details of that fateful night when his whole life changed. Melissa knows where everyone stands. After the choice is taken
...more
Beth
Nov 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent story

I actually thought it was about vampires but it's not the traditional vampire story. There's no drinking blood and other myths but it's quite similar. My usual genre is of the Regency period and this is actually 60-70 years earlier so I found myself stopping to research the period.
Melissa is on the marriage Mart and meets Justin with a rakish reputation so he's never going to be accepted by her father. But Justin has a terrible secret....he's immortal. Numerous people and criminal
...more
Kristyn - Reading to Unwind
Feb 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
The beginning jumps right into the book it is slightly confusing and I did read it twice to catch the characters names, but you immediacy get a feeling something dark is going on. It makes me want to read on to see what is going to happen to Melissa.

I love the author’s development of Melissa as the main character makes me want to keep reading this book. Melissa is easy to love as a main character she is set in a time where women are as she refers to it sold into marriage and she is completely a
...more
Narges
Aug 27, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: r2r
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Karen Voitik
Jun 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
>Book Review – The Black Lotus –

>This is the first book in what I hope is a very long series. This story ends without a cliffhanger, but nothing is really resolved.

>This story takes place in the 1700s. Women, at that time, were treated as property. The main female character, Melissa, despises her treatment. She wants the freedoms her beloved brother, Marcus has. As Melissa is presented to society, in order to find a husband, she becomes attracted to a rake, Justin. Justin is attracted,
...more
Majanka
Book Review originally posted here: http://www.iheartreading.net/book-tou...

The Black Lotus is an intriguing historical romance with a paranormal twist, focusing on life in the eighteenth century, and giving the reader a tale of romance, intrigue and the paranormal.

Melissa De Vire is a debutante making her first appearance in high society. Unlike what society wants her to be, Melissa is fiesty, stubborn, driven, and she’s not afraid to stand up for herself and others. As a reader, this instantly
...more
Marissa
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review (LoP or Lovers of Paranormal).

As a fan of historical fiction and the paranormal, I was looking forward to picking up The Black Lotus. The author did a very good job of capturing the historical aspects of the story. A reader is drawn into the world of the 1700s with its fashion and social events. I adored the main character Melissa. She's feisty and goes against the status quo of young women in society during this period. You can't h
...more
Garcelle
Sep 12, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this book in exchange for an honest review from Lovers of Paranormal.
My rating is really a 3.5. This is the story of Melissa De Vire, a high-born female and her forbidden love affair with Justin Lestrade. I absolutely loved Melissa and feel that she was born in the wrong time period (before women's rights). I know that if I were around during that time, i would have been just as frustrated and miserable as she was. I also appreciated that Justin's immortality wasn't portrayed as glam
...more
Stacey Kym
May 30, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-reviews
'The Black Lotus' is pretty awesome. I don't come across historical romance for young-adults very often but this was such a good read for that genre! This is my second time reading the novel - mostly to refresh my poor memory of the plot, characters and events that happened in this book so that I may continue onto book two, 'Blood Orchid'. I really enjoyed the prolonged sense of mystery that filled the novel and how the prologue really hooked and reeled you in. The setting and historical aspects ...more
Sylvia
Melissa De Vire is a young debutante who is making her first appearance at court. Justin Lestrade fills his days with his debauchedly vices. He has lost feeling for the life he is living. When Melissa and Justin met. There is a spark and they could not stop from thinking of each other. This is a different twist on historical paranormal romance. I was intrigued about the Lotus flower. I wish more explanation was given about the origin. Hopefully it will mentioned in the next book. Overall, it was ...more
Angie Pfeiffer-Senft
So . . .this book. . . . Are there any LOST fans out there? You know how watching LOST, you were, well. . .lost? By the end of one episode week after week you were left with a million questions and maybe one was answered in that 50 minute period? Welcome to "The Black Lotus". To begin with, readers are actually starting 5 months BEFORE we get to the backstory. This actually had me upset because I like an order to things. But I have to be honest. The way that this "prologue" ended literally had m ...more
Shelby Jo
Aug 29, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: self-pub, young-adult
The Black Lotus by Claire Warner is a YA fantasy novel following protagonists Justin and Melissa as they uncover secrets in the English court of 1752.

Warner’s story shows great creative potential, but the execution falls flat, pulled down by cliche characters and repetitive writing.

One of the central issues of the book — the first in the “Night Flower” series — is Melissa struggling with the idea of an arranged marriage while simultaneously dealing with her debut season in court. Warner explicit
...more
Kailynn Woods
May 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
Black Lotus is book one of the Night Flower series which is a Historical Paranormal Romance but it isn't your average paranormal book. Claire Warner has this way of building up her characters that gives you specific details of each person which helps you really visualise the people and the scenes, which just goes with her impeccable writing style and attention to detail.
It all starts with a girl, a boy, and a curse. First you meet Melissa De Vire, I loved her character. She is a strong willed y
...more
The Ordinary Housewife Book Blog
Black Lotus is book one of the Night Flower series which is a Historical Paranormal Romance but it isn't your average paranormal book, it has a twist. Claire Warner has this way of building up her characters that give you specific details of each person which helps you really visualize the people and the scenes, which just goes with her impeccable writing style and attention to detail.

It all starts with a girl, a boy, and a curse. First, you meet Melissa De Vire, I loved her character. She is a
...more
Stephanie - Adventures Thru Wonderland
I wasn't sure what to think about this story at first, but the blurb was intuiting. It took me a while to get into it, but I enjoyed the characters, and loved the sense of mystery and intrigue surrounding Justin. A paranormal regency forbidden romance, all genre I don't often read, but this one was fun.
Stacey Kym
Jan 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
ARC kindly provided by Claire Warner in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I have always loved historicals: especially those taking place in regency time periods. I was extremely intrigued as to how and how well the author would weave the world of balls and gowns to that of magic and spells. This is probably the FIRST novel I have read with this unique combination of genres so expectations weren't very high for me, but nevertheless there.
The author's writing style was absolutely superb

...more
Eustacia Tan
When I read the synopsis of this book, I was thinking "oh cool, historical fiction. And a hint of something special. I can probably deal with the romance." Unfortunately, while the backdrop to the world was interesting, the starting and the protagonist irritated me so much that I couldn't really enjoy the book.

The Black Lotus is about Melissa De Vire, who's making her debut into society. She's not normal, having learnt to shoot from her brother, but her parents are really strict so she has to ma
...more
Di
Mar 15, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: earc, indie


I received books one and two of the Night Flower series from YA Bound Book Tours. I hadn't heard of the series previously but the premise interested me immensely and the fact that this was a historical PNR was the clincher. I'm going to be reviewing books one and two together and I will not include any spoilers.

I really struggled with a rating for both of these books (both three to three and a half stars from me) because I did really enjoy them and they were great entertainment value for me. Th
...more
A. Fae
Apr 28, 2016 rated it liked it
It’s 1752 and Melissa is preparing for her first season at court. However, her first appearance is less than ideal. She meets an intriguing young gentleman, Justin Lestrade, whom she can’t help but become fascinated with – but she is somewhat scandalized for defending herself from a man with ill intentions.

Melissa finds more opportunities to talk with Mr. Lestrade despite her family’s insistence that he is a cad and can further damage her tarnished reputation. He has secrets, but she can’t tell
...more
books are love
Mar 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
Wasn’t sure what to expect with a historical book but this was great. There was a air of darkness that surrounded the story. And the black lotus flower and what it symbolized was amazing.

I felt for both Justin and Melissa. they were in impossible situations. Justin felt guilt everyday of his life. His past decisions caused so much pain for so many but also started a feud that has him running so that he can protect others. Each time John shows Justin needs to skadoodle only this time the stakes a
...more
Katherine Paschal
Melissa caused such a scandal at her first society event, causing her brother to fight a dual in her honor and her father to cloister her away hoping people would forget about her behavior. One person can't forget about her, and that is Justin Lestraide, the rake and womanizer who has secrets he can't share with anyone, regardless of his interest. Melissa enters back into society when something else causes a shock, and that would be murder. Girls are being murdered and there might be a connectio ...more
kariny v
Mar 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
* i received a free copy for the blog tour in exchange for an honest review*

Melissa De Vire is about to make her debut into society and find herself a husband. But Melissa would rather shooting with her brother than attend balls any day. As the pressure of being a young lady who's family's reputation depends on making a good match weighs on her, Melissa starts to hate the hypocritical and voracious gossiping nature of her society, If slapping a lord at her first ball didn't already make her the
...more
Claire
Apr 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
This is not my review of my book - This is a review taken from 'The Online Book Club'

This book centers around the forbidden relationship formed between Melissa De Vire and Justin Lestrade. Melissa de Vire is an innocent maiden who has just been introduce to society in order to find a husband, but her first coming out party was a complete disaster and she must leave for the country for awhile to avoid the scandal. Justin Lestrade is a young gentleman who has the reputation as a rake and not the
...more
C.J. Anaya
Jul 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was one awesome surprise. I really enjoyed the entire premise and found the main character Melissa De Vire incredibly refreshing. During this particular period of time women were basically considered property, and their behavior and actions were under careful scrutiny, promising retribution and ruined reputations for the slightest infraction.

Melissa recognizes the double standard she is held to and longs to break free from these strictures. She is stubborn, willful, determined and quit
...more
Danielle
May 16, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

From the get go this book held my attention. The prologue gave me an idea of where the book was heading, like so many have started doing, but it did not prepare me for the full idea and how the characters all got from point A to point B. It was a well thought out idea and the book holds great promise for a series.

This book was definitely not like most of the paranormal romance that you read. You get from point A to point B and the two main ch
...more
Melissa Burcham
Jul 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2015
I was given an ARC book for an honest review free of persuasion from the author or anyone else affiliated with this book.

CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS

This book was amazing. It combined two of my favorite loves; historical romance and paranormal. After you throw in a little suspense and mystery, what is not to love about that combination!

Melissa De Vire has just become of age. She is debuting in her first season in London. Melissa is not your typical woman of this time period. She is feisty and head st
...more
Shreya
Dec 11, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
From start to finish, this book was a fascinating read. At no point could I say that I was bored of the book or that I needed a break from it. It's a habit of mine to pause in the middle of stories and not go back to them for weeks on end because they failed to hold my interest. I found The Black Lotus, however, entertaining enough that I didn't feel as if I was making excuses to not read it.
The characters were developed well in the story: new people seemed to spring up throughout the story so
...more
Maghon Thomas
This is a fun paranornal historical romance. With debutants and magic and a great heroine who won't be pushed into submission, it's a fun adventure. Melissa originally sounded like the normal lady in that time. She was going to marry, be a good wife, make her parents proud. But then the handsome stranger Justin comes into town and everything changes. There's definitely a spark of romance between them but Justin has some issues and people around him aren't safe. And he's the bad boy that everyone ...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
  • Child of War - A God is Born (Of War # 2)
  • The Color of Clouds
  • The SEAL's Angel (Mystery Angel Romances,#3)
  • Lover, Divine (Mythos: Gods & Lovers #1)
  • Twisted Stars
  • The Playmaker (Fire on Ice #2)
  • Eye of The Storm: Eilida's Tragedy
  • Spelled (Sayers Witch Series, #1)
  • Skydreamer
  • Henge (Le Fay #1)
  • Kristin's Ghost (X + Y Files Case #2)
  • Winter Wolf (Witch & Wolf, #1)
  • The Portal and the Panther (Guardians of the Portal, #1)
  • The Muse (Dark Art Mystery, #1)
  • Obsidian (The Dragon Kings, #1)
  • Lioness of Kell
  • The Journals of Bob Drifter
  • The Rose Red Reaper (Chicago Serial Crimes, #1)

Other books in the series

Night Flower (3 books)
  • Blood Orchid (Night Flower #2)
  • Faded Rose (Night Flower, #3)
“Standing in the corner of room with a glass raised to his lips was a young man. Impeccably and dramatically dressed in dark blue and gold he stood aloof from the crowd, watching the proceedings with little interest.” 1 likes
“Melissa turned back to the mirror and drew a breath; the girl she knew was gone. In her place was a woman in rustling green silk and emeralds, a woman who would turn heads at the ball. From the top of her powdered head to the soles of her silk shod feet, she was elegantly dressed and more than ready to attend the ball. The earrings fell from her ears in waterfalls of tiny emeralds and her necklace was a heavy engraved affair of gold, the emeralds in the scrolled settings large and dazzling. Green suited her it seemed.” 0 likes
More quotes…