Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Hand-Me-Down Doll” as Want to Read:
The Hand-Me-Down Doll
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Hand-Me-Down Doll

3.52  ·  Rating details ·  65 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
A lonely doll without a name endures a series of terrible misfortunes before she finally finds someone to love her.
School & Library Binding, 32 pages
Published September 28th 1983 by Holiday House (first published September 1983)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Hand-Me-Down Doll, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Hand-Me-Down Doll

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Melissa
This is not a fresh story, but I was mildly interested to find out just how the doll would travel from person to person until she found her home. The illustrations are well done (I love Dan Andreasen), and the palette evokes the old-fashioned setting, but the mixed historical markers in the story bothered me.

Horse-and-cart and a limo and a boy in cap and knickers tell me this is the 1920s-30s, but the shyster mean lady pays $5 for the doll which would have been about 60 bucks back then? (Yes, I
...more
Storywraps
Mar 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing
First off let me say that the illustrations are truly gorgeous. They are vintage style and the colour pallet takes you back to days-gone-by. They are like portraits full of wondrous detail and expression. Wow! The book is worth the purchase just for the illustrations alone. But I do digress.

Glenda, a poor little rich girl, has everything she can ask for and more. She is poor in the sense that she values nothing and her sense of gratitude is non-existent. The more she has the more she wants.

On
...more
Shelli
Jul 28, 2012 rated it liked it
This poor unfortunate doll, who only wishes to be named and loved, is given to a spoiled girl who has much to much. The mother of the spoiled child offers the doll to another, from person to person this doll is passed. And as silly as it sounds, I couldn't wait to see her finally be loved and given a proper name. That same feeling one gets after watching Toy Story and seeing life through the dolls perspective. Very touching story that should be read with and to your child's own special dolly.
Kate Hastings
Jun 14, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: picturebooks
Grades K-3. An unwanted doll changes hands several times until she finds her forever home. From the description I was hoping for a read-alike to McPhail's Teddy Bear or perhaps an ecology or humanitarian lesson in giving. It wasn't either. But I still think doll-lovers and Corduroy fans will like this one.
Maria
Oct 08, 2016 rated it liked it
3.5/5 stars

Nice drawings but I thought the story would be different. The doll finally got a home but it didn't go into great detail about the doll's new home. Very similar concept of wanting an owner and to be loved as seen in The Velveteen Rabbit.
Laura
Jun 14, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
I'm a sucker for a good doll story. This poor doll goes from being unloved by a girl who has too much, to being forgotten by careless adults all over town, to the arms of a little girl who will love her always.
Megan
Jul 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Geeze louise such harsh reviews on here lol. I'm giving it 5 stars mainly because my daughter was VERY interested in the story but also because it gives spoiled brats a bad name. Stop buying your kids everything people! :)
Annie Pasma
Apr 26, 2013 rated it liked it
Good little book. The illustrations are pretty. Recommend for ages 5 to 8.
Julia
Sep 22, 2012 rated it did not like it
Shelves: picture-books
Very creepy and unsettling. Not an original story.
Kaytee Marie Walker
Beautiful

Good story with stunning illustrations! It will blow your breath away at how beautiful it is both in story and illustrations.
Emily
Sep 22, 2012 rated it did not like it
HORRIFYING. NOT FOR CHILDREN.
Molly Houston
Dec 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Such a sweet story.

Super sweet story - I loved the lonely doll and this reminder me of that but with a happier ending
Sarah
Jun 29, 2012 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Amanda
rated it liked it
Aug 09, 2012
Alicia
rated it really liked it
Jun 29, 2012
Sheila
rated it it was amazing
May 21, 2017
Kim
rated it liked it
Aug 16, 2014
Twilight Knight
rated it liked it
Aug 21, 2016
Patricia
rated it it was ok
Apr 13, 2013
Amanda Walz
rated it it was amazing
May 13, 2015
Sarah
rated it it was ok
Aug 21, 2012
Norma
rated it liked it
Dec 17, 2015
Susan
rated it liked it
Jun 22, 2012
Steven
rated it it was ok
Aug 13, 2012
donna willette
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2015
Jj
rated it liked it
Mar 23, 2013
Susan Wachtel
rated it liked it
Dec 26, 2015
Kelly McNeill
rated it it was amazing
Jun 02, 2017
John
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2012
Vinnie Batiste
rated it it was amazing
Aug 08, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
62998
Stephen Kroll spoke at schools and conferences all over the world. He was married to the journalist, Kathleen Beckett, and they lived in New York City and an old carriage house in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. When he was not writing or traveling, he played a lot of tennis and walked around looking at everything.
More about Steven Kroll...

Share This Book