Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Sunrise Lands (Emberverse, #4)” as Want to Read:
The Sunrise Lands (Emberverse, #4)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Sunrise Lands

(Emberverse #4)

3.90  ·  Rating details ·  5,418 ratings  ·  225 reviews
A generation has passed since The Change that rendered technology inoperable around the world, and western Oregon has finally achieved a degree of peace. But a new threat has risen in Paradise Valley, Wyoming. A man known as The Prophet presides over the Church Universal and Triumphant, teaching his followers to continue God's work by destroying the remnants of technologic ...more
Hardcover, 450 pages
Published September 4th 2007 by Roc (first published 2007)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Sunrise Lands, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Sunrise Lands

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.90  · 
Rating details
 ·  5,418 ratings  ·  225 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Donna
Sep 11, 2008 rated it liked it
I loved the idea of a follow up to the Dies the Fire books that centers around the younger generation. Most of the characters were either born after the Change or were very young when it happened, so to them, the post-Change traditions and factions seem normal. But at the same time they have a direct connection to the earlier world in the stories of their parents, even if they don't always understand some of the concepts or references.

The book is about the start of a quest. A stranger has a myst
...more
Amy
The Sunrise Lands is the first book in Stirling's 3rd set of 3 interconnected series. I love the idea behind the sets of series, so I thought I'd jump in. In the "Island in the Sea of Time" trilogy, the island of Nantucket is flung backwards in time to 1250 BC. In the "Dies the Fire" trilogy, Stirling tells what happened to the world left behind: The Change has caused electricity, high gas pressures, and fast combustion (including explosives and gunpowder) to stop working in the rest of the worl ...more
Graham
May 06, 2012 rated it did not like it
Disappointed. It doesn't end - to find out what happens one, presumably needs to read the subsequent 3,4,5,6, however many sequels and I just can't be bothered.
Its just a complete mish-mash. The evil prophet and his equally wicked followers (the Cutters) - the clean cut invincible all American hero (who just happens to wear a kilt and has a mother who is a witch and has been sent on a crazy quest) - cowboys wearing armour - add some crackpots who think they are elves from the Lord of the Rings a
...more
Kathy Davie
Feb 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: dystopian, sci-fi
Fourth in the Emberverse dystopian science fiction series. This is the first in the second trilogy in the Emberverse, and it revolves around Rudi, a.k.a., Artos. It's the fall of 2020 and twenty-two years since the EMP and twelve years since the War of the Eye in which Mike died.

My Take
It starts with a bang-up fight and death and an introduction to the pivotal character who will send Rudi and friends on their trek. It also introduces us to a grown-up Rudi, Mathilda, and Mary and Ritva among othe
...more
Stephanie
Jul 14, 2013 rated it liked it
I wanted to give this book 4 stars until I got to the end and was disappointed that it left so many story threads open. I understand it is the first of a three book trilogy, which is itself the third trilogy in this this series; but I expected more closure at the end. I would really be upset if I didn't already have the next book in hand.

The story is about the quest of Rudi McKenzie who is one of the first generation born after the change and is in line to someday take over the clan which lives
...more
Kris
Apr 23, 2010 rated it it was amazing
This book is the beginning of a new story arc set in the same world as the first three books of the Emberverse but the main characters are the children of the ones in the first story arc. It starts out 12 years later and we quickly find out that Rudi Mackenzie, Mathilda, Mary, and Ritva are all going to take center stage with a couple of new characters and a scary new group as villans. This story is going to let Stirling explore more of the country and is set up as a quest early on. The action i ...more
Erica Anderson
Jun 27, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2013-reads, dystopic
First of all, you can definitely read this book without having read the first three in the series. Stirling provides plenty of context, so I never felt lost.

Sunrise follows the basic quest trope, with a group of well-drawn characters setting out in a dystopic America where swords and longbows are the norm. There's a good bit of politics, since the country has been divided up into petty kingdoms that are always either at war or nearly so.

This is a character-driven adventure, and Stirling spends
...more
Fred
Mar 25, 2013 rated it really liked it
Fantastic. Anytime that a writer decides to end a trilogy or a series, skip a decade or two and then pick up with the previous character's children you have to wonder if something is going to be lost in the transition. In this case I was really worried because I really liked the older characters and it didn't help that one of my favorites (Mike Havel) died at the end of the last book.

All that aside, this was a great book and I'll definitely continue the series from here as I can happen to find t
...more
Linda Isakson
Oct 06, 2010 rated it it was amazing
I was really excited to start on this next chapter of the Emberverse series and it doesn't disappoint! Rudy MacKenzie is finally all grown up and having his own adventures in pursuit of peace. Now that the Protectorate is essentially neutered, a new menace sets in to fill the vaccuum. Enter The Prophet, a faceless entity who rules the downtrodden and helpless by making them his slaves and imposing a bizarre religion with himself as the word of God. As the Prophets army spreads itself like a plag ...more
Annette
Mar 12, 2009 rated it really liked it
We're now 20+ years after "the change" (as the characters name the event in 1999 when the laws of physics changed out of nowhere and prevented electricity and internal combustion) and the first generation of "changlings" has grown up. Rudi, son of Juniper McKenzie finds himself on an unanticipated and not quite desired quest which takes him to parts east, thus letting us see how other parts of the former US have fared. The various societies that have formed and shaken out are fairly believable, ...more
Anne
Aug 05, 2008 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fantasy readers
I like SF/Disaster-type novels. Rebuilding civilization even. Heck, I liked the tv series Jericho.

I don't care for fantasy. This series is rapidly becoming fantasy. I feel kind of cheated. I thought in this part of the series we were going to find out why the Change happened. While it's interesting to see what went on east of Oregon, it's getting more and more like fantasy. While no one seems to have developed magical powers yet and little fairies and elves have not cropped up, I had to just ski
...more
Stephen Edge
May 19, 2008 rated it it was ok
I love the Change Novels, the setting is very interesting to me and Dies the Fire was a great, startling, thought provoking book; and its sequels all lived up to its example while takeing the story in slightly different directions.

However I can't help but feel that Mr. Stirling was reaching for a second series for some reason, and he just didnt pull it off with this book. He steps away from the harsh realities shown in Dies the Fire, and into a more mystical realm here, and it didnt sit well.

Re
...more
Eric
Dec 26, 2008 rated it liked it
Shelves: sci-fi
See my review of "The Protector's War."

The Sunrise lands is moderately more interesting than the previous books in the series in that the characters begin to get hints about the nature of "The Change" and start to explore it.

I won't talk about the plot except to say that Stirling appears to be repeating / drawing heavily on the quest for the holy grail.
Charla aka Chuckie
Oct 16, 2008 rated it liked it
I'm kind of over the series... however, there is one more and I feel like I need to know how it's going to end. Stirling has gotten away from the main characters in the first series, and didn't do as much character development but with a few key characters. Furthermore, it has become more SciFi in a prophecy spiritual nonsensical way.
Chromium Kitty
Jul 05, 2018 rated it did not like it
*heavy groan* By all the gods and goddesses, this was miserable...

First of all, I felt like I was reading a poorly written fantasy by some teenager that had just discovered paganism. There was an air of "trying too hard" when it comes to Celtic mythology, witchcraft, and paganism, as if they author only just recently found out about paganism and felt a compulsion to tell everybody about it at every given opportunity.

Also, seems to me it's a little more respectable to The Lady to refer to her as
...more
Kristina
Mar 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
22 years after the Change (a phenomenon where all electronics, machines and anything requiring an explosive nature - firearms and combustion engines) all suddenly stopped working), and the world is starting to somewhat settle into the new "norm".

Sword for hire, Ingolf Vogeler finds himself having recurring dreams after visiting the strange area around Nantucket Island. These dreams driving him across the country to what was the Portland, Oregon area to meet up with the group known as the Mackenz
...more
Jason Bloom
S.M. Stirling keeps writing them, and I keep reading them - they're like candy. They are solid, and if you liked the first one (or three), you'll enjoy these later books in this long-running series, but seriously, his writing style is so detail heavy that I have started to skip small sections just to speed things up. Each camp is described in minute detail (even though they are all laid out the same way), each piece of armor and weapon is explained, and every death is laid out in graphic minutia ...more
Alice
Aug 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Rudi's book one

Rudi is grown and goes on a quest to Nantucket. With him are his close friends and it's a bit like Lord of the Rings. Part ways there he gets involved with a war between the Prophet's cutters, the Mormon Saints and President Thurston' s USA troops. A major betrayal occurs and it closes with a cliff hanger. Definitely plan on getting the next book The Scourge of God as there's no way you can stop here.
Alaina
Nov 19, 2018 rated it liked it
Figured out about half way through this is actually book #4 or 5 in a series. And that makes sence because i felt lost after the 1st few chapters. There also isnt good time frame separations, jumps from day to night to last year in just a few sentances. Overall hard to read from several character views.
Valarie
Nov 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This series hasn't disappointed me yet. Loving all the characters, enjoying the pop culture references, some of the changes are laugh out loud funny to me. Be sure to start with the first book, Dies the Fire, or you may be missing some key plot points. Those of you older than 30 will be especially appalled during the first book, but hold on, it gets better.
Ann Friedman
May 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great book, the best of the series so far. Great character and world building. Heroes and villains. Battles and treachery galore.
I am glad I don't have to wait for the next book as it is next in my pile.
Ghartman17022
A decent extension of the series.

This novel leaves a lot unresolved, but not so much that the series is unlikely to resolve. If you enjoyed the earlier ones this one won’t disappoint.
Kathryne Gladwin
Apr 26, 2018 rated it liked it
good story
Dmack
Jan 26, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: dystopian, sci-fi
Good continuation of previous books but just a little too bloody and predictable for me
Carleton Burch
Jul 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
A good introduction to the next portion of the series. The tone is more YA than the prior 3 books.
Elar
Feb 12, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobooks
New evil raises its head and beloved characters take up long journey. Somehow author manages to portray quite lovable characters and keep readers invested in their future.
Thom Davis
A quest for gossakes.

I understand why San Francisco library didn't get books 7 to 12 in the series. Ok for words in a row.
Vickey Foggin
Mar 09, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: dystopian, fantasy
I am still engaged in this story of a post-apocolyptic America, even as the series shifts from a well thought-out dystopian speculative future to a standard fantasy series wherein a group of 9 set out on a quest to retrieve a magical object required to defeat evil. This is not as good as the first three books but good enough for me to read the next one. One thing I really liked about the first three books was the focus on personality and individual thoughts and reactions, and this series seems m ...more
David Richardson
Feb 21, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: did-not-finish
Too complex plus I realized it was the middle of a series.
An Odd1
Jun 23, 2011 rated it it was ok
** "The Sunrise Lands" (Emberverse #4, but my first) by S.M. Stirling explains enough alternate western/ medieval technology-less future U.S. background to incorporatet earlier "Change" books. But I have divided the star rating for demanding I read a sequel. After major bloody fights, the ending leaves the questers heading east to Nantucket for answers in a big pickle. Ingol gets to Oregon and finds the Clan Mackenzie Chief's successor to be called "The Sword of the Lady" from old prophecy. The ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • A Long Time Until Now
  • In at the Death (Settling Accounts, #4)
  • After America (The Disappearance, #2)
  • Crusade (Destroyermen, #2)
  • Choice of the Cat (Vampire Earth #2)
  • 1634: The Galileo Affair (Assiti Shards, #3)
  • Ariel
  • Winter in Eden (West of Eden, #2)
1,267 followers
Stephen Michael Stirling is a French-born Canadian-American science fiction and fantasy author. Stirling is probably best known for his Draka series of alternate history novels and the more recent time travel/alternate history Nantucket series and Emberverse series.

MINI AUTO-BIOGRAPHY:
(personal website: source)

I’m a writer by trade, born in France but Canadian by origin and American by naturalizat
...more

Other books in the series

Emberverse (1 - 10 of 15 books)
  • Dies the Fire (Emberverse, #1)
  • The Protector's War (Emberverse, #2)
  • A Meeting at Corvallis (Emberverse, #3)
  • The Scourge of God (Emberverse, #5)
  • The Sword of the Lady (Emberverse, #6)
  • The High King of Montival (Emberverse, #7)
  • The Tears of the Sun (Emberverse, #8)
  • Lord of Mountains (Emberverse, #9)
  • The Given Sacrifice (Emberverse, #10)
  • The Golden Princess (Emberverse, #11)
“But then they were males, and therefore idiots about some things.” 4 likes
“Likes to fight, does he?" Sandra said thoughtfully.

"Oh, yeah. He says there are only two reasons to fight."

"Which are?"

"Joy and death."

Her mother's brows went up. "Joy in death?"

"No, no... For joy, to stretch yourself with a friend; or death, to kill as quickly as you can. Nothing in between.”
4 likes
More quotes…