Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Huntress” as Want to Read:
Huntress
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Huntress

by
4.67  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  14 reviews
All her life, the young lioness Leya has dreamed of becoming one of the karanja, the proud huntresses of her people. But there's more to being karanja than just learning to throw a spear. Life among their tents means giving up family, safety—even love. How much is Leya willing to sacrifice for a place in the sisterhood? Does she truly have the heart of a huntress?

Author Re
...more
Paperback, 214 pages
Published September 2015 by FurPlanet Productions
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Huntress, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Huntress

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 4.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Huntress
Altivo Overo
Jul 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: furry fans, fantasy readers
This book is as beautiful as a poem, or a centuries old tale passed down in oral tradition. The author has drawn on the style and language of various African traditions but built a whole new fabric of them. We hear the life stories of two young women, one a lion and the other a painted dog. Each has a traditional life path or what we would call a "career" to fulfill, and those paths are rigidly limited by the customs of their people. Each eventually reaches a crossroad, a point at which she must ...more
James Steele
Sep 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
The path you take in life, and the path not taken. This is the theme of the stories in Huntress. Leya doesn’t like normal girl things as a child and yearns to become a huntress, one of the group who live for the hunt. And yet she can’t help but wonder what might have been had she chosen to be a wife and a mother. For most of her life, she finds reminders of the path not taken, and she wonders what might have been, and when the enthusiasm of the life she yearned for dies, she has no idea what she ...more
Alice
Jul 16, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: furry
I first encountered Huntress in the anthology Five Fortunes. I felt it was easily the strongest story of the five, and I'm delighted it has been given a chance to shine alongside three new stories set in the same world.

The world is a fantasy Africa populated by anthropomorphic predators and, conveniently, non-anthropomorphic prey species. In the title tale, young lioness Leya escapes the traditional expectations of her people - a husband, cubs - to join an elite cast of female hunters, only to
...more
GuineaPigFalconer
I'm not entirely sure just how I managed to stumble across this book, but I'm very glad I did! It's rare to find a fantasy world that feels so real, filled with characters so very lifelike.
This collection of stories takes place in a fantasy world inspired by indigenous African culture, in a lush, wild setting. The characters are anthropomorphic animals, and they all felt very human. The first story (and the longest), titled Huntress, was my favorite. It followed Leya, a young lioness who underg
...more
J.F.R. Coates
Aug 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
I thought this was a really well-written book, with a detailed and interesting world created around the stories within. I found myself enjoying the three short stories at the end better than the main piece though, possibly because the shortness of them meant a tighter, more focused telling.
Aleksandar Ovnarski
Aug 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A truly magnificent, beautiful and powerful book. The talent of the writer is visible in every sentence, and the story has a strong, authentic voice while at the same time being accessible and emotionally moving. A journey of self-discovery, sacrifice, and changing tradition, which is very empowering to read. If you're searching for a masterful story where the characters are rightfully anthropomorphic and that only adds to the quality of the story, this one is for you.
Carol
Aug 18, 2018 rated it really liked it
I was drawn to this cover years ago in Seattle but didn't buy the book at the time. I ended up buying it online via eBook and haven't regretted it! It is well written and the world building was very well done. The characters had depth to them. The progression of events were believable and I found myself wanting more.
There were a few editing errors but overall, it is worth a read.
Kate Hanley
Jan 16, 2019 rated it liked it
(The short stories are stronger than the novella. The audience is definitely YA, which is exactly what it aims to be.)
Ben Levans
Oct 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Was an amazing book :3 had me on an emotional rollercoaster.
Skye Lansing
Oct 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: anthropomorphic
This book was a rare, interesting experience for me. Very quickly after I began reading I realized that this wasn't something that was written for me, however this is one of the few times I can say that didn't matter one bit. The story is well-written enough that it carried me through easily. At it's core, Huntress is a coming-of-age story—one I found deeply engaging despite that not normally being my thing and which has only grown on me in the time since I first finished the book.

I could point
...more
Karen Granovsky
Mar 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
5 Stars.

I've always loved anthropomorphic animal fantasy, so when I found this book I was instantly drawn in (the cover floored me, especially for an indie). I don't regret it - Huntress was amazing.

Note: this review is only regarding Huntress, not the short stories that are included in the ebook. I haven't read those yet, but I most certainly will when I get a minute.

Huntress tells the story of Leya, a young lioness who wants nothing more than to join the karanja, proud huntresses who bring mea
...more
Malcolm F. Cross
Oct 14, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: furry
A novella and collected short stories, brought to you by the author’s love of Africa. The titular novella, Huntress, is a charming coming of age story set in her fantasy-Africa. Leya’s a lioness with a dream, but she finds out her dream of what she wanted to be — one of the Karanja, an amazonian order of huntresses who prowl the savannah in search of ‘heavy meat’, large and dangerous game animals. Common lions are prohibited from hunting heavy meat both for practical reasons, such as safety, and ...more
ShingetsuMoon
This was a beautifully written book and a well imagined world. The stories in this book are set in a fantasy version of Africa with anthropomorphic predators. In the first story we follow the young lioness Leya as she pursues her dream and the life she's always wanted. But what she imagined is a lot different from the reality she is now faced with.

Leya's journey into adulthood and self discovery was excellent and the world building here is well thought out and convincing.

There are also other s
...more
Aryot
Oct 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book was really amazing!! It brought both happy and sad tears to my eyes.
Donald
rated it it was amazing
Aug 11, 2015
Kimberley Kindon
rated it it was amazing
Jun 26, 2018
Fiona
rated it it was amazing
Mar 12, 2016
K.C. Alpinus
rated it it was amazing
Jan 14, 2019
Sydney Spears
rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2017
Arf
rated it it was amazing
Feb 09, 2016
Ricky
rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2016
Calvin Goodman
rated it really liked it
Oct 18, 2015
Adam Gould
rated it really liked it
May 06, 2019
Lael Tucker
rated it it was amazing
Sep 28, 2019
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Oct 24, 2015
NightEyes DaySpring
rated it it was amazing
Jan 25, 2017
Breeze Wolf
rated it it was amazing
Nov 27, 2017
C3rberus
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2015
Katherine Hill
marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2016
aj
marked it as to-read
Mar 15, 2016
Wolfieee
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2016
Blaziken
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2017
Lucien Casanova
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2018
Pink Dy
marked it as to-read
Nov 22, 2018
Roxas Duel Weilder
marked it as to-read
May 08, 2019
Kovic
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2020
Sea Bunny Voyager
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2020
Loki
marked it as to-read
May 06, 2020
Aryot
marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2015
Ayala Deer
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2015
Alaitallon
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2016
Franck Rabeson
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Kristy
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2016
Oliver  Quebedeaux
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2017
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2017
Emily
marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2018
Moonflower
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2019
Naragon
marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2019
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Furries!: Now available - Huntress (furry fantasy) 1 8 Sep 18, 2015 04:31AM  
Anthro Fiction: Huntress - now available - furry/anthro fantasy 1 9 Sep 18, 2015 03:56AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Why Coyotes Howl
  • Into the Wild (Warriors, #1)
  • Stories from the Billabong
  • St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves
  • The Darkest Hour (Warriors, #6)
  • A Dangerous Path (Warriors, #5)
  • The Camp of the Saints
  • Rising Storm (Warriors, #4)
  • Forest of Secrets (Warriors, #3)
  • 28 Days Later: The Aftermath
  • Basewood
  • Honor Girl: A Graphic Memoir
  • Fire and Ice (Warriors, #2)
  • How to Write Dazzling Dialogue: The Fastest Way to Improve Any Manuscript
  • Bluestar's Prophecy (Warriors Super Edition, #2)
  • Firestar's Quest (Warriors Super Edition, #1)
  • Crookedstar's Promise (Warriors Super Edition, #4)
  • Midnight (Warriors: The New Prophecy, #1)
See similar books…
46 followers
Renee Carter Hall writes fantasy and science fiction for adults who never quite grew up, with occasional excursions into dark fantasy, poetry, and stories for children and teens. Talking animals slip into her stories whenever they get a chance, and her work has been influenced by storytellers from a range of media, including Steven Spielberg, Ray Bradbury, and Jim Henson. Her most recent book, the ...more

Related Articles

Myths and mayhem, the fantastical and the scientifically plausible, these are readers’ most popular sci-fi and fantasy novels published in the ...
142 likes · 28 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Second. If any male ever tries to force you--or if he does--they’re no more to you than the zebra or the kudu or the pigs. Kill him. If you can’t kill him, tell us who he is, and we will. No man touches a karanja except by her will, or he dies. That goes for rainspeakers and aumahs and Yaa himself.” Thembe’s eyes were bright flames.” 0 likes
More quotes…