Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association” as Want to Read:
The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association

3.37  ·  Rating Details ·  52 Ratings  ·  7 Reviews
In the tradition of "Billy Gashade", Estleman's latest novel again takes readers on a trip through the early movie-making days of Hollywood. The cast of "big guns" includes D.W. Griffith, Tom Mix, Lillian Gish, and unseen villain Thomas Edison.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published July 15th 2000 by Forge Books (first published 1999)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Sarah Sammis
Mar 18, 2008 Sarah Sammis rated it really liked it
Shelves: released
The early years of filmmaking, and the move to California is a favorite topic of mine. The days before the film industry in America was known as "Hollywood" was a free for all of mavericks going up against huge monopolies. Tiny fly by night companies popped up as fast as Edison's Motion Picture Patents Company (MPPC) could shut them down. The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association is a fictional one of these rogue "indies".

The hero of this odd ball historical novel is Dmitri Andreivitch Pulsk
...more
Todd Stockslager
Jun 09, 2015 Todd Stockslager rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction
Typically crisp no-fat dialogue and high-impact plot, but a cut below classic because of a much-too-abrupt ending. It feels as if Estleman was writing to a word limit and stopped when he hit it.

Rocky Mountain is the one of the pioneer companies in the fledgling movie industry in the teens of the 20th century, struggling for legal independence from the Thomas Edison patents and financial independence from creditors everywhere. Estleman weaves in historical characters and events without becoming b
...more
Cranky
Jun 29, 2009 Cranky rated it really liked it
Shelves: audiobooks
The early days of moviemaking, as seen through the eyes of a naive young man who gets swept into the excitement. This was a lot of fun--the dialogue made it a rollicking good thing to listen to as an audiobook. I felt like the jumps between the golden hollywood years of the late 30s and 40s and early movie making weren't as successful, but the former were pretty brief. Overall, I really enjoyed it and I felt irritated when it ended as soon as it did--always a good sign for me that a book was a g ...more
Rachael
May 27, 2014 Rachael rated it really liked it
I definitely liked this, probably because of my love of film history. Estleman uses enough real people to give the story a realism you don't often find. Again, I read this so I'd have some background of his work before his appearance at the Library and, turns out, he and I had a wonderful conversation about film and the book on the way back from dinner!
Joni
just couldn't find anything in common with it...
Thomas Burchfield
Apr 27, 2016 Thomas Burchfield rated it liked it
Great beginning, with a vivid portrayal of California in the 1900s, but the uninteresting plot feels rushed toward the end.
Pat
Jan 27, 2011 Pat rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobook, novel
The movie industry in its early days. The characters were interesting, but the plot just seemed a bit thin. George Guidell always does a great read.
Patrick
Patrick rated it liked it
Jul 27, 2011
Erin Robertson
Erin Robertson rated it liked it
Jul 12, 2009
Dan Trudeau
Dan Trudeau rated it really liked it
Dec 01, 2012
Still
Still rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2013
Mike Briggs
Mike Briggs rated it really liked it
Aug 31, 2012
Nancy
Nancy rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2011
Thom Haneline
Thom Haneline rated it really liked it
Apr 04, 2011
Sherry (sethurner)
Sherry (sethurner) rated it liked it
Nov 04, 2008
Joan
Joan rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2017
Denise Silver
Denise Silver rated it liked it
Nov 02, 2015
David Macpherson
David Macpherson rated it liked it
Apr 27, 2010
Kim Fournier
Kim Fournier rated it it was amazing
Sep 10, 2013
Phair
Phair rated it really liked it
Sep 04, 2009
Andy M
Andy M rated it it was amazing
Jul 14, 2013
Will Plunkett
Will Plunkett rated it liked it
Dec 28, 2013
Dennis
Dennis rated it it was amazing
Oct 31, 2014
Greg Ballinger
Greg Ballinger rated it it was amazing
Sep 15, 2011
Declan
Declan rated it liked it
Oct 03, 2011
EJ Johnson
EJ Johnson rated it it was ok
Apr 03, 2008
Walt Lynch
Walt Lynch rated it it was amazing
Apr 30, 2012
Sherrie
Sherrie rated it really liked it
Mar 06, 2012
Rosalind
Rosalind rated it did not like it
Apr 03, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
13371
Loren D. Estleman is an American writer of detective and Western fiction. He writes with a manual typewriter.

Estleman is most famous for his novels about P.I. Amos Walker. Other series characters include Old West marshal Page Murdock and hitman Peter Macklin. He has also written a series of novels about the history of crime in Detroit (also the setting of his Walker books.) His non-series works in
...more
More about Loren D. Estleman...

Share This Book