Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “12 Reasons Why I Love Her” as Want to Read:
12 Reasons Why I Love Her
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

12 Reasons Why I Love Her

by
3.39  ·  Rating details ·  517 ratings  ·  88 reviews
The classic romance from the team behind Lady Killer is back in print with a brand new hardcover edition! Now in a larger size, and featuring excerpts from the original script, this 10-year anniversary edition is perfect for fans of Fresh Romance. Twelve vignettes reveal the story of young couple Gwen and Evan’s tumultuous relationship, one small piece at a time. It all ad ...more
Paperback, 152 pages
Published October 31st 2006 by Oni Press (first published October 25th 2006)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about 12 Reasons Why I Love Her, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about 12 Reasons Why I Love Her

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.39  · 
Rating details
 ·  517 ratings  ·  88 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of 12 Reasons Why I Love Her
Matt
Sep 23, 2007 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: anyone tired of the typical romantic comedy
When I bought this book directly from Jamie Rich at the 2007 San Diego Comic-Con, I started off our conversation by saying, "I just heard the WORST podcast review of this book, but I really want to buy it anyways."

Classy, I know.

It was one of those moments where the things coming out of my mouth didn't exactly match all the things I was thinking in my head. I'd been following Jamie's work for years and I'd been enjoying every bit of it. The negative review I mentioned to him was one of those rev
...more
Nouruddine
::Personal conclusion::

Apparently, love has no reasons. And love in itself will never work. Friendship is a must. Being in love with whoever is a great thing but it does not always work when there is no understanding friendship.
Love is the deal of heart. But friendship is the deal of mind. We need both to survive our relationships.

***

Screenshot-2019-01-23-19-41-54-1


Screenshot-2019-04-03-08-52-39-1


Screenshot-2019-04-03-09-02-40-1


Screenshot-2019-04-03-09-15-51-1


Screenshot-2019-04-03-19-21-48-1


Screenshot-2019-04-03-20-02-53-1



***
...more
Jessca
Oct 17, 2010 rated it it was ok
This was a disappointment. The story, which was already pretty cliche, had no depth whatsoever. I would be lying if I claimed to have enjoyed anything about it other than the illustrations. Word to the wise: jumbling the vignettes so you have to piece the story together does not make an uninteresting story interesting.
Mike Cassella
Dec 12, 2007 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: fans of relationship drama
One of the best parts about this graphic novel, apart from the terrific art by Joelle Jones and Rich's extremely realistic dialog, is the decision to use an out-of-sequence narrative style to tell the story. First date, big fight, getting to know each other, break-up fight, etc. are all told in an order that is non-linear, but thoroughly engrossing for someone who's ever been in a real relationship. The key is that after it's over, you're left with the pieces of a story and how you even fell in ...more
Peacegal
Jan 03, 2017 rated it liked it
As I've noted before, romance is decidedly NOT my genre but this graphic novel had enough interpersonal conflict (and musical references) to keep my attention, plus it was there and I had an hour's time to waste.

I've lately been messing around with a set of comic characters I created--gulp--20 years ago now, and whom I've continued to revisit over the ensuing years, occasionally revising their looks and putting them in new situations and adventures. So appreciated the wordiness of this one as a
...more
Megan
Nov 08, 2010 rated it it was ok
Shelves: graphic-novels
Felt a bit like a hipster approved romantic-dramedy. "Quirky" conversations and unnecessary drama in effort to appear deep. The out of chronological order vignettes-style seemed an effort to distract from the barely there plot. This isn't all to say I disliked the book, I was just hoping it would be a bit more substantial. Lovely illustrations though. ...more
TraceyL
May 12, 2020 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Two shitty people acting shitty towards one another. I didn't feel any of the drama, humor, or heart that the synopsis promised. These people are better off alone. ...more
Emilia P
Jan 23, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: comic-books
Ummmmmm. I picked this up on the off-chance that it would be okay.
It was way better than okay. It's a little high-faluting/existential dialogue-wise for the format, but that was ok with me. It was about people who are too smart and self-contained to not speak their minds, sometimes bicker and sometimes fight bitterly, but they're in love anyway. Told in 12 out-of-chronological order vignettes with some variance in writing and illustration styles which suited both the changing personal moods and
...more
Clay
Aug 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I read this years ago. I've recommended it but always like to revisit. Not disappointed. Love the artwork above the story. The format that they tell the story works. I recommend this one for people to see all comics aren't just superheroes. ...more
Chloë
1 star for the art. -4 stars for the ridiculous, boring relationship, lack of plot, unlikeable characters, stilted dialogue and offensive language. The main male character actually told the female character "I hope you die." ...more
Jessica
Jan 13, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Recommended to Jessica by: Mike Foley
Shelves: graphic-novels, 2008
This is the kind of book that you put down every now and then so that you can drag out the story. I just want to make it last longer!
StrictlySequential
Jan 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
Jones:
-It's cute art which I mean as a straight-forward compliment. Adding more to it wouldn't work here.

Mr. Fluffery Buffington:
-The story and all its accoutrements are funny with enough regularity and are highly relatable to the target audience with appropriately measured depth.

Comments:
-The one who arrives at the first date bringing flowers picked on the way is cute. EITHER ONE bringing a purchased ensemble of roses isn't, as presented by her, original/funny/egalitarian (the latter because th
...more
Derek Farris
Jul 21, 2017 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sara G
Sep 15, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: graphic-novel
I did like one scene and the drawing is genuinely nice.

The story, though, is a lot like a version of "The Last Five Years" musical, except with less of everything. Less character development. Less plot. Less sympathetic moments. Less thought. In fact, it feels like a wannabe TLFY story, except from Jamie's point of view, which somehow makes it even worse.

The female character is not developed at all and the male character is shitty to her all throughout; laughing at her interests and likes, argu
...more
Caroline
Sep 26, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
I liked this graphic novel but it wasn't what I expected. I was hoping for some sweet romance, clear and direct reasons why this person loved their girlfriend. Instead, it was a lot of scenes where they argue or fight, and while I understand love can come out of those places, I felt like I missed something. Or maybe I missed the point entirely. It didn't help that the author intentionally places the scenes out of chronological order, so I was left trying to figure out where in this relationship ...more
Silas
Nov 29, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I had high hopes for this book, but it didn't really pan out. I enjoyed the art a good deal, and everything was easy to follow, though some of the facial expressions were far too extreme for the situation, which initially made the male main character unlikeable. The female main character became unlikeable later on, and the ending was incredibly disappointing. ...more
Samantha
Mar 02, 2018 rated it liked it
Meh. Liked the art, kinda liked the out-of-chronological technique at the start, but by the end I wasn't that charmed by it and it left things confusing in the long run. Characters weren't the most likable, but I could see this being a good discussion piece for non-traditional plot ordering and creative writing. ...more
Nataly
Sep 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
HighFidelity
Mar 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
Short and sweet slice of life of two people and their relationship. With all good sweet romance moments, all their differences,disappointing choices, all the big little things that goes between two people. Art is very old school but it is great. Dialog is even better. Very real.
Shelly
Jul 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
Quickie read
Short and sweet. The story played out in different orders but it was still a wonderful piece to put together
t0n4r
Oct 12, 2017 rated it it was ok
:
This isn't how I pictured love would be like; schmaltzy.
...more
Ray
Apr 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
legitimately one of the best and most beautiful graphic novels I've ever read! ...more
Wesley
Jun 03, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5

Fast read, interesting use of flash backs and flash forwards.
Adrian
Sep 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: graphic-novel
Truly great love story, with fantastic art!
Arrianne
Aug 17, 2019 rated it it was ok
Beautiful art, less so on the story.
Mousmi
Oct 10, 2019 rated it it was ok
Rating: 2.5 Stars.
Laura
Nov 28, 2019 rated it liked it
I really liked the illustrations. The story was okay.
Sarah Carol Williams
Loved this with my whole heart 🖤
- ̗̀ Riki ̖́-
Jan 14, 2020 rated it it was ok
WOW THE MAIN CHARACTERS SUCKED
Aurora
The structure of this was confusing to me, and it ended very abruptly. I didn’t like the main guy and had no idea what the heroine saw in him? Then again I’m not sure I liked her either.
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
St. Anne's Readin...: Three 1 3 Aug 19, 2013 09:56AM  
St. Anne's Readin...: One 2 2 Jul 31, 2013 02:24PM  
St. Anne's Readin...: Book Club Killer 2 2 Jul 24, 2013 01:32PM  
St. Anne's Readin...: Comic Book 4 3 Jul 24, 2013 12:56PM  
St. Anne's Readin...: Playlist 1 2 Jul 24, 2013 08:28AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • i love this part
  • Heartstopper: Become Human
  • Box Office Poison
  • Blue
  • Everything Is Beautiful, and I'm Not Afraid: A Baopu Collection
  • Fangs
  • The Planetary Omnibus
  • Dearly: New Poems
  • Cheat
  • Midnight Nation
  • The Down Days
  • Mexican Gothic
  • Fire Power by Kirkman & Samnee, Vol. 1: Prelude
  • The Sandman (Sandman Audible Original, #1)
  • Miss Don't Touch Me: Complete Set
  • A City Inside
  • Bop!: More Box Office Poison
  • Dawn of the Arcana, Vol. 1 (Dawn of the Arcana, #1)
See similar books…
102 followers
Rich is an author of both prose (Cut My Hair, I Was Someone Dead, and The Everlasting) and comics (the two-volume series Love the Way You Love; the Spell Checkers series). His third full-length novel, Have You Seen the Horizon Lately?, was released by Oni Press in the summer of 2007. He regularly collaborates with artist Joelle Jones, including the Oni graphic novels 12 Reasons Why I Love Her and ...more

News & Interviews

Happy Women's History Month! One of the undisputedly good things about modern scholarship is that women’s history is finally getting its due....
21 likes · 2 comments