Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Unbreak Broken (Coming About, #3)” as Want to Read:
Unbreak Broken (Coming About, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Unbreak Broken

(Coming About #3)

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  264 ratings  ·  54 reviews
Rory Donovans life is a hot mess. His marriage is failing and hes in intensive psychotherapy, working through the unfortunate side effects of memories from a childhood trauma. The only thing good in his life right now is his jobteaching photography to gifted high school students.

Harbor Patrol officer Bennett Foster is co-parenting his teenage daughter with his high school
...more
ebook, 357 pages
Published September 16th 2015 by Wilde City Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Unbreak Broken, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Unbreak Broken

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  264 ratings  ·  54 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Unbreak Broken (Coming About, #3)
~✡~Dαni(ela) ♥ ♂♂ love & semi-colons~✡~
~4.25~

This is a tender, hopeful story about second chances, self-discovery, family, and that crazy little thing called love.

This book can be read as a standalone, but if you've read either of the two previous books in the Coming About series, you'll probably remember Rory (Justice's best friend and Rich's roommate) as the even-keeled guy who always has a smile on his face.

Rory, a high school photography teacher, never stood out for me, and now I know why. Rory blends right into the background.
...more
Wendy
5-Star.png (900×240)

I was a bit worried about reading this book, because I've read the previous one in this series and Rory kinda pissed me off in that one. Ofcourse I shouldn't have worried, because after reading this one, I am totally "team Rory" !!

https://www.google.com/search?q=you worry too much gif

So like I said, we've met Rory in the previous books. He's a high school photography teacher, who got married to Maia not too long ago. Things however aren't going that great and his marriage is slowly falling apart. You see, Rory has some serious sexual problems. He
...more
Susan
Re-read December 2019
Still an amazing read.

-------------------------

This was awesome! I loved it. My inner psychologist was so happy with this book.

Rory hasnt even been married for a year to his wife, Maia, when it is clear things arent working out. Rory has major sexual hang-ups, and he feels panicked whenever Maia wants to have sex. Rory knows this is not normal behavior so he seeks the help of a psychologist.

I really loved how the author went into depth at these sessions. I felt so connected
...more
Ariana
May 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ku, lgbtq
*3,5 stars*

I loved Rory's story and the psychology around it.
It is blooming awful to think you're simply not wired to enjoy the pleasures of sex. To think you're so different that the 'freak label' fits you perfectly. To believe that you can never have what seems so 'normal' to most people.
Rory is desperate - he and his wife have hit a stale mate in their marriage. neither seems to be able to resolve. Rory's psychotherapy session are really well written, and although I doubt that things fall
...more
Ele
Aug 28, 2015 rated it really liked it

This is the third book in the Coming About series and I believe it can be read as a standalone. Finally, Rory's story!

In one way or another, both I Survived Seattle and Love and the Real Boy revolved around Rory . The gentle giant, straight as they come, just married, always happy, always surrounded by friends. Well, it seems it was all a facade.

Rory Donovan is one miserable man. He loves to be touched, his skin craves it, but he has a low sex drive. He's just not interested in having sex.
...more
Kade Boehme
Sep 16, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Loved loved this. I was so looking forward to Rory's story and it was so worth the wait. God I wanted to hug him so hard. And I loved how awesome Bennett was with him.

This one can be read more stand alone than the second in the series, but the series is so good idk why you wouldn't read all three.

Great job JK. Want more!
Tara♥ {MindforBooks}
Feb 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Recommended to Tara♥ {MindforBooks} by: Susan

I read a book in a series out of order!!



I feel all sorts of bold. It is of course not my fault but that of a very bad influence who I must blame for everything!!

Aside from a few continuity errors and being a tiny bit 'in the dark' about other characters stories this was really very good. Some things were a little unbelievable but that's the beauty of fiction. What was very well done was Rory's problems and the work that he was doing to help figure them out, I think it's fair that his healing
...more
Candice
I know I have a lot of reviews to write, but I NEED to get my thoughts out on this one before anything else.

Rory, Justice's straight friend that married Maia in book 2, broke my heart. I wanted to hug him. I wanted to wrap him up in a blanket and never let go.

Skin hunger, ever heard of it? I have. Although, it wasn't called that term, actually not sure if there even was a label for it back several years ago. That NEED to be touched. My friend described it as being a flower, but instead of water
...more
Elsbeth
Nov 26, 2016 rated it really liked it

*4,5 stars*

This was beautiful story.



Rory thinks he is broken. He's married to this woman he loves very much. He just doesn't really feel sexual desire for her. He loves to be touched, he just doesn't want sex all the time. It's becoming more and more of a problem in his marriage. He seeks psychological aid and with his therapeut he discovers his suppressed memories of his childhood.

He meets Bennett. And from the beginning these men have a great connection. Bennett seems to be very sensitive by
...more
Tamika♥RBF MOOD♥
3.75 stars
9-14
So I have to think on the rating and my review for this. This was alot heavier than the previous two, definitely touched on some topics that was fairly interesting. I'm not sure how I feel about the ending, but I do like the author's way of writing.

9-17
I really like J.K. Hogan writing. I like the realness to it, I like the difficulties she brings, I like the tragedy surrounding her characters, and I like that someone out there in the world is going through this or went through it.
...more
Katerina
May 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Two men like fire and ice.



It was as close to perfect as Id had in a long damn timeprobably everand it was with a straight-ish guy. Id given up questioning what I felt for Rory. He made me happy, and Id take the heartbreak if and when it came for the chance to feel that with him, even for a little while.



And just perfect when they meet.
This book was a surprise. The author has a perfect and incredibly intense way to tell a story. It feels as natural as if it were taken from real life. I can't
...more
Leaundra
Oct 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
If my husband walked in here now he would wonder what happened? I'm sitting here bawling my eyes out. It's amazing how a book can do that to you, that's why I LOVE reading. This was my favorite one out of the series. Rory and Bennett were everything. I really enjoyed their friends and family too. It was just good and I'm sorry it ended.
Sandra
Pre-read notes:

While I knew that Rory had some issues, I didn't realize what they were. This blurb makes me worried. Yes, I know this is a fictional character, but childhood trauma won't be easy to handle. And if this trauma is sexual in nature, I'll likely be crying.


Review:

Well, damn. I cried. Not just once.

In this 3rd installment of the Coming About series, we find out about Rory's story. Rory, who's steady and reliable, and kind of tends to fade into the background, even as big as he is,
...more
Fani *loves angst*
How do I justchange teams like that? What will people think? What will Maia think, or my parents?
Teams, teams. There are no teams. Youre on Team Rory, and thats all you need to worry about. And if Bennett wants to fucking join Team Rory, then I say hell make a great assetpun intended. But seriously, this is way simpler than youre making it out to be. Are people going to give you shit? Yes. But if it werent this, theyd give you shit about the divorce, or your teaching style, or the fact that you
...more
Suzy
Sep 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 5-stars-reads
Loved this - want to give it all the stars!!!

After the second book (Rich's story) I didn't think I could like Rory, but I was so very wrong - this is my fave so far, I want to forget it all and start again, this is will definitely be a future re-read!

Fell in love with Rory, swooned over Bennett and wanted to hug to stuffing out of Addy and Alex. Also nice to get a little hello from Rich and Justice :)

Great story, amazing characters - HIGHLY recommended!
Lisa The Novel Approach
Feb 21, 2016 rated it really liked it
Unbreak Broken, my favorite of the series! While this could be read as a standalone, I highly recommend reading this series in order for context and understanding of Rorys relationships with his friends. Also, there are spoilers in this story for the first two books.

Ive been waiting for the real story of Rory, and boy, do we get it here! Poor Roryhis marriage is falling apart and he feels like a failure. At least his teaching job is going well. When his favorite and most promising student,
...more
Tracy~Bayou Book Junkie
LOVED IT!!

*copy provided to Bayou Book Junkie by author/publisher via Pride Promotions in exchange for an honest review*


While reading the first two books in this series I have watched Rory and desperately wanted to get into his head and see what his story was. See what makes him tick. J.K. didn't disappoint. We go deep into Rory's head. Rory, a HS Photography teacher is sweet and totally confused. Things are not going well in his new marriage, but he doesn't know how to fix himself to make it
...more
ReadingAllNite
Nov 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: m-m
Not enough stars

I am in awe of JK Hogan and her stories, that are outstanding in expressing empathy and understanding of so many different issues. I loved her first two books and this one, I think is the best of the three. I was engrossed in the book, as she explored and revealed both the short term and long term effects of bullying on its victims. She also showed it from differing viewpoints, that of Rory and of Alex. Also included were the effects on family and friends who aren't always aware
...more
Bev

Nice story about Rory Donovan, touch starved and unable to perform for his wife Maia and who is undergoing therapy because of it. When we uncover the underlying reason for his difficulties, it's no surprise whatsoever to discover that as far as his head is concerned, his mental sexual development stopped in his early teens, and ever since he has just been going through the motions. He is therefore beginning anew and he finds that he's very attracted to Bennett, who just so happens to be the
...more
Christy
Jun 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: on-my-kindle, m-m, arc
After so many years of nothing, of feeling like I wasnt connected to the worldlike I could play all the right notes, but I couldnt hear the musicevery new sensation was beautiful.

I was crazy over the first two books in the Coming About series and somehow I mustve gotten caught up in any number of other books and I missed reading the final two. I met Rory in the other two books seeing as Justice was his college roommate and best friend who flew out for Rorys wedding and met the love of his life,
...more
Aerin
Nov 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: m-m
This book was gorgeous, I totally fell in love with it, even though it made me bawl my eyes out. I completely forgot about this series, and I admit I skipped the second book, but at this point I don't even care. This was better than I could've imagined, and I got no complains what's so ever! It was complex, with mature and well developed characters, believable and well executed plot, heart-warming and heart-wrenching, both at the same time and separately, which is the best combination ever in my ...more
Ricardo
Jul 01, 2019 rated it it was ok
Surprised by the high rating this book has since nothing in it is either original or exceptional. The plot (single gay parent falls for his daughters teacher, who just recently realized he is gay after being married to a woman) has been done in hundreds of other books and the characters were definitely likeable but they were simply not realistic, nobody is THAT perfect. 14 year olds talking about soul mates and were supposed to take it seriously. A 34-year old man referring to a 29-year old man ...more
jaxnsmom
May 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
4.25 stars
M
Dec 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Loved it.
Miriam
I am happy I didn't give up on this book like I wanted to. The first 15% to 20% was a bit of a drag. The scenes with Bennett and Rory were magic! Lots of affection, sexual tension and the SS were nice and steamy without being drawn out and excessive. However, every other scene outside of their relationship was boring and drawn out.
Michelle Slagan
Sep 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing
WELLThat was an emotional rollercoaster I wasnt expecting. I am an addict when it comes to the M/M genre. I have read a lot of books. Some I will remember the general concept of the book. Some I remember the MCs and most of what happened. Some I read, but cant remember a thing and thats not because they werent good It is because I have read so many there is no way to keep every storyline and every character straight. Let me tell you THIS.this amazing story will stay with me forever. I will ...more
Federica Lemme
Sep 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Every book in this series is so good, but with each one, they gain a certain depth, that makes addictive reading.
Its hard to choose which book is my favourite, but I have to say this book is really wonderful.
We met Rory in Book 1. He seemed a very easygoing and positive character, a big guy who is also very strong and I knew he would deliver some surprises.
The story starts with Rorys wedding, but now, only after a few months, his marriage has problems and is failing.
Even if he does loves his
...more
Joyfully Jay
Oct 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: crissy
A Joyfully Jay review.

5 stars


Unbreak Broken is the third book in Hogans Coming About series. I have been dying for Rorys story since the first book. It was worth the wait. While heavier than the other two books in this series, this installment takes an unexpected but not altogether unwelcomed turn. Its possibly the fact that I didnt see it coming that had me glued to the pages. Or that it was so damn hotbecause that first scene needed to come with a warning label and a fan.

I think Ive always
...more
Sarah
Sep 26, 2015 rated it it was amazing
What a wonderful story! Drowning in a failed marriage, Rory turns to his therapist to help him understand himself and his sexual hang-ups. Rory also teaches high school photography and life keeps throwing him together with the father of one of his students.

Bennett and Rory are drawn to each other from the start. Gently, Bennett helps Rory re-discover his sexuality and discover his attraction to men. The relationship grows slowly as Rory becomes more comfortable with himself and his sexuality.

...more
Lynnette Hartwig
4.5 Stars

I was given this book by Inked Rainbow Reads in exchange for an honest review.

This series just keeps getting better and better. In this story the author shows how Rory was able to overcome many issues, from childhood trauma to suddenly realizing he was gay. He was able to overcome it all and he was able to start a new relationship. I love the interactions between Rory and Bennett and loved how the author was able to bring Bennetts daughter and best friend into the story. There was a
...more
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Books Mistakenly combined, please help! 3 9 Feb 14, 2017 08:29AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Without You
  • Screwed (Four Bears Construction, #4)
  • A Long Way Back (Unfinished Business #2)
  • Hardwood (Four Bears Construction, #3)
  • Nailed (Four Bears Construction, #2)
  • Virgin Flyer
  • The Making of Jonty Bloom (Unfinished Business, #1)
  • Fake It 'til You Make Out (Love & Luck #1)
  • Best Man (Close Proximity, #1)
  • Hard Knox (Havenwood #3)
  • How to Vex a Vampire (VRC: Vampire Related Crimes, #1)
  • Tallowwood (Tallowwood, #1)
  • The Happy List (Better With You, #1)
  • Lights and Sirens (Emergency Services #2)
  • Pop Star (Famous #1)
  • We Have Till Dawn
  • Inside (Death Row Chronicles #1)
  • Off Plan (Whispering Key, #1)
See similar books…
281 followers
J.K. Hogan has been telling stories for as long as she can remember, beginning with writing cast lists and storylines for her toys growing up. When she finally decided to put pen to paper, magic happened. She is greatly inspired by all kinds of music and often creates a soundtrack for her stories as she writes them. J.K. is hoping to one day have a little something for everyone, so shes branched ...more

Other books in the series

Coming About (4 books)
  • I Survived Seattle (Coming About, #1)
  • Love and the Real Boy (Coming About #2)
  • Force of Nature (Coming About, #4)

Related Articles

This June, as we observe LGBTQ Pride—the annual celebration of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning communities—we...
198 likes · 73 comments