Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Hunt” as Want to Read:
The Hunt
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Hunt

by
3.27  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews
The Hunt is a science fiction short story of 7,000 words.

An expedition to another world. A group of alien hunters. Malcolm thinks he is prepared, but the hunt will be more savage than he expected.
Kindle Edition
Published August 14th 2015
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Hunt, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Hunt

Community Reviews

Showing 1-22
3.27  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
John
Dec 21, 2017 rated it liked it
Space hunt

I was unsure what this story was about. Thought it might have been like the movie predator. Instead Of A Mindless Horror Hunt It Ended Up Having Some Heart to It. Enjoyed the quick read. Details of the aliens gave me a nice visual. The end was a bit predictable but worked as a quick ending.
Heather
Jan 05, 2016 rated it liked it
J.H. Dierking’s short story The Hunt has us accompany a human named Malcolm on his way to observe a hunt conducted by an alien species. The hunt appears to be highly ritualistic–even though the aliens have advanced technologies, they hunt with spears and similar weapons.

This is a short story, so I can’t really tell you any more about the content without spoiling the story. I will say that at first the aliens seem rather stereotyped (they call Malcolm simply ‘human’ and make constant fun of his s
...more
Alex Hansen
Dec 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This quick little story hits on a lot of things that can make science fiction great--imaginative alien worlds, conjectured advancements of science and technology, and a solid human grounding that makes a fantastical futuristic story relevant and meaningful to a modern-day reader.

Ably written and convincingly described, The Hunt tells the story of one human's observation of an alien ritual that takes a sour turn. By the conclusion, the reader is presented with a few parallels to 21st century Eart
...more
Alyssa Watson
Dec 11, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: science-fiction
In this book Dierking corrects the albet, small, pacing issues I had with The Joining. Its a quick read and a fun romp through an alien jungle. If you want a quick adventure fix this is a solid story. The aliens are not as interesting as the ones in The Joining but they are still vivid and well thought out. I continue to enjoy Dierking's style and immagination and look forward to the next book
Greg Sorrells
rated it liked it
Sep 18, 2015
Djinniman
Apr 14, 2017 rated it really liked it
Great short story

I enjoyed this quick but compelling read. Interesting alien creatures, technology, moral questions relating to our modern times, and a well-crafted ending. Worth a look.
Shawn Pleil
rated it it was ok
Jul 02, 2017
Debbie
rated it liked it
Dec 29, 2015
Santiago Rama
rated it liked it
Jun 23, 2016
Klemen Košir
rated it liked it
Jun 24, 2016
Blair
rated it liked it
Mar 09, 2017
Stephen Robertson
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2015
Molly
marked it as to-read
Apr 03, 2016
Juan Carlos Niebles
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2016
Lezli
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2017
Daniel Huckaby
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2017
Gustavo Passos
is currently reading it
Dec 28, 2017
Igrowastreesgrow
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2018
Sasha
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2018
Ben Aultowski
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »