Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Dead House - FREE PREVIEW EDITION (The First 17 Chapters)” as Want to Read:
The Dead House - FREE PREVIEW EDITION (The First 17 Chapters)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Dead House - FREE PREVIEW EDITION (The First 17 Chapters)

by
4.12  ·  Rating details ·  57 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Welcome to The Dead House.

Two decades have passed since an inferno swept through Elmbridge High, claiming the lives of three teenagers and causing one student, Carly Johnson, to disappear. The main suspect: Kaitlyn, "the girl of nowhere."

Kaitlyn's diary, discovered in the ruins of Elmbridge High, reveals the thoughts of a disturbed mind. Its charred pages tell a sinister v
...more
Kindle Edition, 108 pages
Published August 11th 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Dead House - FREE PREVIEW EDITION, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Dead House - FREE PREVIEW EDITION

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.12  · 
Rating details
 ·  57 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Marcia Vanboskerck
Sep 22, 2019 rated it it was ok
Wait. What ??? Pick a lane! This one drove be crazy but it did hang on to me until the end.
Anaisy
Jun 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Holy crap I remember binge reading this book. I loved it!
PNJ




Review of "The Dead House" by Dawn Kurtagich. February 2, 2016

From the book cover, to the description, to my peek inside to see in the middle of the book to see if the writing was worth reading, (yes that's a terrible habit I have. Especially when I get back to said peeked at place and say "Well I'll just skip this because I read it 6 months ago in the bookstore when I bought it because I didn't have Indie books to review," and then realize, was this the one that had the snuffalupagus in roller
...more
Vicki
Aug 18, 2015 rated it really liked it
Good creepy story but the format made character development and depth to the story difficult. I wanted more detail about their lives and relationships, about their back stories and inner torments. I like that at the end we still aren't quite sure what really happened, who the good guys were and who were the victims.
Maria
Jan 29, 2017 rated it it was ok
2.5 stars it was different the format was part diary part interviews etc, haven't quite made up my mind and feel a little confused with the ending but enough interest to finish the book.
Michelle
rated it liked it
Jan 03, 2018
Bird Lemanski
rated it it was amazing
Nov 28, 2015
Adna
rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2016
Lily L.
rated it really liked it
Aug 17, 2018
Paris Chartrand
rated it it was amazing
Feb 09, 2018
Julie Jerles
rated it it was amazing
Feb 24, 2016
Dawn Kurtagich
Aug 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Manda
rated it liked it
Aug 14, 2017
Amanda
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2016
Rachel Hockhousen
rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2015
Jess
rated it liked it
Apr 09, 2017
taneisha
rated it it was amazing
Oct 07, 2019
Jess Linda
rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2015
KayKay
rated it it was amazing
Dec 13, 2015
Leona
rated it really liked it
Jun 03, 2017
Chauntelle
rated it it was amazing
Oct 13, 2015
Mizukie
rated it it was amazing
Sep 27, 2017
Tra Rock
rated it really liked it
Nov 21, 2016
Sarah Taylor
rated it really liked it
Mar 15, 2018
Keely
rated it really liked it
May 09, 2016
Kayla
rated it it was amazing
Jul 10, 2019
Angie
rated it it was ok
Feb 08, 2017
DylanCandBReviews
rated it it was amazing
Aug 11, 2016
Karen Amburgey
rated it it was ok
May 20, 2016
Woody
rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
1,115 followers
Dawn Kurtagich is a writer of creepy, spooky and psychologically sinister YA fiction, where girls may descend into madness, boys may see monsters in men, and grown-ups may have something to hide. Her debut YA novel, THE DEAD HOUSE, was called "an evil and original story" by bestselling author R.L Stine and ""...a haunting new thriller..." by Entertainment Weekly. Her second novel, AND THE TREES CR ...more