Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Troll: Book 1: The boy with the sliver of ice in his heart” as Want to Read:
The Troll: Book 1: The boy with the sliver of ice in his heart
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Troll: Book 1: The boy with the sliver of ice in his heart

by
3.82  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Three friends. A dark secret from their past. An internet troll threatening to tell the world.

Welcome to THE TROLL; the creepy, page turning psychological thriller series from the prize winning author of The Killing Jar. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and CL Taylor’s The Lie.

Louisa is an academic at the local University, Kelly is a radio presenter and Adam is a provocat
...more
Kindle Edition, 103 pages
Published July 17th 2015 by Blue Morpho Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Troll, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Troll

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-24
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Lisa
Aug 05, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: top-author
I should have made time to read this in one go - it's a short book so you need to absorb yourself in it - I think my reading a few pages at a time meant I didn't get the impact I should have.

Luckily this is only the first part of the story so with the next parts I will make sure I can read in one sitting.

The style of writing is quite choppy and there are lots of hashtags which takes a bit of getting used to but it's a great commentary on how the internet can be a curse, especially if you are hid
...more
John Edward
Aug 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The Troll;: Book 1 is the first of a trilogy of novellas about 4 friends who have a dark secret from their past. Three of them are being pursued by "SickMan" over the internet. He seems to know everything about them & his attacks become increasingly disturbing over time but he cleverly keeps his identity hidden. I strongly recommend that you read all three books as they follow on directly from one another. This is an excellent read which kept me hooked till the end. Nicola also manages to in ...more
Katie
Aug 29, 2015 rated it really liked it
The Troll: Book 1: The boy with the sliver of ice in his heart, is part one of a trilogy written by Nicola Monaghan. I first took an interest in her writing after randomly picking up "The Killing Jar," one of her earlier books, and I immediately falling in love.

The Troll is a novella series about four friends with a long history. An unknown event or experience has separated them in some ways, particularly from one of the friends. The other three, years later, begin receiving messages - mostly t
...more
Richard Barber
Jan 13, 2016 rated it really liked it
I'll be honest, to start with I struggled to be absorbed by this story. For me, the use of #hashtags and /other @internet syntaxes in the text felt contrived and pulled me out of the narrative. I was wrong. This bloomed into a brilliantly told story of shared secrets and guilty histories. By the end of the book I was #CompletelyHooked.
Bill Kupersmith
Shall rate when I finish all three parts but quite like it so far. We have three old school friends, @adam, @Louise, & @kelly, who are being stalked through #SocialMedia by a troll who seems onto some terrible secret from their past, but we're still to find out who & what.
Nicola
Jan 17, 2016 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: books-i-wrote
This is the first a series of three novellas in THE TROLL series. It was inspired by some of the things I saw happening on twitter during 2012 and 2013. There were an awful lot of rows and disagreements all over the place on my feed. It was interesting and disturbing to watch. I also saw a lot of online shaming. It really struck me; imagine if you had a secret? Imagine if an anonymous person on social media threatened to reveal it?

Read all about my inspiration and writing of this book in this i
...more
Margo
rated it it was ok
Aug 26, 2015
D.J. Stone
rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2016
Clare Harvey
rated it really liked it
Oct 12, 2015
Charlotte
rated it liked it
Jan 29, 2018
Debbie Morley
rated it really liked it
Oct 21, 2015
mrs c j nadin
rated it really liked it
Dec 22, 2018
Debbie
rated it really liked it
Dec 14, 2018
J Danz
marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2015
C.M. Lucas
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2015
Kim Roberts
marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2015
Dee
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2016
Tia
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2016
Abena Edwards
marked it as to-read
Jul 28, 2016
C
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2017
Bobbie M.
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2017
Rayjan Koehler
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2017
Michael_stones
is currently reading it
Oct 12, 2018
pamela buhrer
is currently reading it
Aug 01, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
24 followers
Nicola Monaghan won a Betty Trask Award, the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award and the Waverton Good Read for her first novel, The Killing Jar. Her latest book is The Troll: The Boy with the Sliver of Ice in his Heart and is the first in a trilogy. She also wrote The Night Lingers and other stories, Starfishing and The Okinawa Dragon and has been published widely in newspapers, magazines and an ...more