Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “My Sweet Kitchen: Recipes for Stylish Cakes, Pies, Cookies, Donuts, Cupcakes, and More--plus tutorials for distinctive decoration, styling, and photography” as Want to Read:
My Sweet Kitchen: Recipes for Stylish Cakes, Pies, Cookies, Donuts, Cupcakes, and More--plus tutorials for distinctive decoration, styling, and photography
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

My Sweet Kitchen: Recipes for Stylish Cakes, Pies, Cookies, Donuts, Cupcakes, and More--plus tutorials for distinctive decoration, styling, and photography

4.34  ·  Rating details ·  29 ratings  ·  10 reviews
The world of desserts has never been more delicious, or more elegantly styled. With Linda Lomelino as your baking muse, your kitchen just got a whole lot sweeter.


With an offset spatula laden with buttercream in one hand and a camera in the other, Linda Lomelino has made her mark as one of the most exciting recipe creators and food photographers in the world. My Sweet Kitc
...more
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published February 7th 2017 by Roost Books (first published April 12th 2016)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about My Sweet Kitchen, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about My Sweet Kitchen

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.34  · 
Rating details
 ·  29 ratings  ·  10 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Olivia & Lori (The Candid Cover)
Images can be viewed on The Candid Cover

I have been baking up a storm these last couple of weeks thanks to Linda Lomelino and her new recipe book, My Sweet Kitchen. I was first drawn to this one for its gorgeous cover and the fact that Lomelino shares some of her photography tips in the book. If you are anything like me, taking pictures for social media or the blog is a struggle. This book is a really useful guide to anyone wishing to learn baking basics and how to capture images of the process
...more
roxi Net
Sep 09, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: roxicook, roxiown
First of all, the pictures are amazing – my favorite is the bundt cake with elderflower glaze. I really appreciate the fact that flowers are used liberally. The recipes are beautiful but many are a bit too complex for me (although baking altogether is complex for me!). I’m looking forward to attempting many of the recipes, specifically “Pavlova Roulade with Mascarpone and Raspberries”, “Lemon Meringue Cake”, “Lemon and Poppy Seed Cupcakes with Blueberry Frosting”. It’s great to have step-by-step ...more
Tzigane Monda
Jan 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: cookbook, netgalley
My Sweet Kitchen is a beautiful book filled with 50 yummy recipes and tons of how-to tips and lots of great inspiration! I highly recommend this book to anyone who has a sweet tooth and loves to bake! Or loves to take photographs of your foods. Or to those who want to learn how to make sweets and bake better! Really, I would recommend it to everyone!
Garima Narang
Apr 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Love the recipes!! They work so well! My favorite was the chocolate cream pie. Reminded me of Julie and Julia, where Julie say “You know what I love about cooking? I love that after a day when nothing is sure — And when I say nothing, I mean nothing, you can come home and absolutely know that if you add egg yolks to chocolate and sugar and milk, it will get thick. It’s such a comfort”
Paula
Jan 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I reviewed this book for NetGalley.

This is the second cookbook by Linda Lomelino I have read. And just like the first, it is beautifully photographed with delicious and elegant recipes and great food writing. It is just adorable.

Ms. Lomelino is Swedish and while a lot of her recipes are classic baking staples, some of them are good old US baked delights (chocolate chip cookies) though a Swedish prism. Very interesting.

I look forward to baking some of her recipes. And as always, Ms. Lomelino does
...more
Linda Ruggeri
Feb 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This book really hit the spot for me; I love to bake & I'm an amateur photographer. Not too many recipes where you can loose yourself in the choices (as in a Tomas Keller book), but just enough to keep you busy and interested in trying new things that are "doable". I loved the section "Styling and Photography", which resonated with me so I can improve my photography and food staging techniques. Highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in desert making and style. The images and quality ...more
Inkling Reviews
Feb 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: people who enjoy baking, interested in food photography
Read the full review at An Inkling Reviews

This is a delicious looking book and with recipes even a novice banker could tackle. The whole cookbook is just so pretty that I was a little intimidated at first. Was I going to have all of the equipment and space needed while children ran around trying to “help”? Did I need to go to a specialty grocery store to find ingredients? Was I going to have to babysit the bake through each step of the process? Nope, turns out these recipes were totally do-able
...more
Carly
Jan 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing

What a delicious dream of a book! Sometimes baking cookbooks can seem daunting, and the recipes nearly impossible to conquer, but 'My Sweet Kitchen' has inspired me to get some ingredients and start baking!
The photos and styling are also beautiful, and I especially enjoyed the chapter spent on teaching the basics of food styling and photography.

Thoroughly enjoyable - I look forward to seeing the physical copy once it is published!
Thank you to the publisher and to NetGalley for the ARC in excha
...more
Katie Smith
My Sweet Kitchen by Linda Lomelino is a must have book for all bakers. Full of great tips and tricks for getting your delicious treat to turn out perfectly. Linda explains the tools necessary for all things baking and the ingredients you need, and how to prep them. A perfect starting point for the most novice baker to become a pro, and recipes so beautiful and creative they will inspire even the most expert bakers.
Christine
Sep 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: cookbooks
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley!

This is a gorgeously styled book. The recipes are appealing and the end products look amazing. I've already picked out a few that I want to try out for gatherings. I'm really impressed by this book
Diane
rated it really liked it
Oct 06, 2018
Stefanie
rated it it was amazing
Jul 25, 2018
Pamela
rated it liked it
Feb 22, 2017
Rose M
rated it liked it
Aug 08, 2017
Fiore
rated it really liked it
Jul 30, 2017
Nikki Scott
rated it it was amazing
Jun 01, 2017
Dani Saunders
rated it really liked it
Apr 29, 2017
Angela
rated it really liked it
Apr 20, 2017
Terri
rated it it was amazing
Jun 05, 2017
Anissa
rated it really liked it
Apr 18, 2017
Miss S Sparks
rated it really liked it
May 01, 2018
Noa
rated it it was amazing
Dec 31, 2017
Yazmin-Luis Salcido
rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2018
AliyaBlue
rated it really liked it
Aug 26, 2018
Leslie
rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2017
Janet
rated it really liked it
Oct 15, 2017
William Young
rated it it was amazing
Jul 23, 2018
Ashley
rated it liked it
Jul 10, 2017
Jessi
rated it liked it
Apr 17, 2017
Kara
rated it it was amazing
May 07, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »