Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Deviance (London Crime, #3)” as Want to Read:
Deviance (London Crime, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Deviance

(London Crime #3)

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  120 ratings  ·  35 reviews
Who is the sinner and who is the saint? ** From New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author J.F.Penn **

LONDON. When the body of a priest is found in the ruins of Winchester Palace, his tattooed arms flayed, his mouth stuffed with feathers, the alternative community of Southwark huddle in fear.

Private investigator Jamie Brooke begins the hunt for the murderer aided by

...more
Kindle Edition, 234 pages
Published July 31st 2015
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Deviance, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Deviance

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  120 ratings  ·  35 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Betsy
Jul 30, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Modern-day society versus corporate determination mixed with supernatural evil

You will not want to be interrupted once you start this book. Exciting third adventure with our now ex-cop and our psychic. Author weaves into the story the social ills of modern society, the determination of a greedy land developer, and, of course, horrible serial killings, all mixed in with a mesmerizing evil politician, street people, and marching "clean up our streets" groups. All the ingredients for a thriller tha
...more
Toni Osborne
Feb 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Book 3, in the London Psychic trilogy

Tattoo is the theme explored in “Deviance” and with extensive research on the history of body modification Ms. Penn has created another very captivating episode for us to enjoy.

Jami Brooke and Blake Daniel are the two protagonists at the heart of this latest saga.

This is a great story that wraps up this wonderful trilogy. The author colourfully weaves suspense with supernatural/ paranormal and dives into the darkness of humanity. In the shady area of town, J
...more
Elizabeth Ducie
Feb 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is the third in the London Psychic Book, and having bought them as a box set, I have read all three of them in one go, which may have been a mistake as it's tempting to continually compare the three stories as you go along. There's a lot of great things in this one once again. The two main characters, Jamie and Blake, continue to be well-rounded and their professional and personal relationship is developing satisfactorily. The story line is very relevant with social justice very much to the ...more
Gail
Feb 08, 2016 rated it it was ok
One word: disappointing. I really enjoyed the first book in this series, didn't particularly like the second but struggled on to this one. I wish I had never have bothered. The whole thing seemed rushed, after the first exciting instalment. I did consider not even bothering with this one, but I needed to see how the perpetrator would be brought to justice. I staggered to the end to an absolutely implausible denouncement and realised I'd wasted a couple of weeks of my life, that's all I can say r ...more
Icy Sedgwick
Dec 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing
As with the previous books in the series, Deviance follows a central theme. In this case, those who stand outside the norm. So we have sex workers honouring a graveyard for prostitutes, tattoo conventions, and a dastardly villain seeking to sweep away anyone who deviates from his idea of 'the right sort'. Ms Penn's writing is as lush and descriptive as the previous London Psychic books. The psychic in question, Blake Daniel, grows ever more lovable, especially as he begins to delve into his pers ...more
A.M.
May 10, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: e-books, i-own
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Ami
Jun 27, 2018 rated it really liked it
I believe this is the final book (so far) from Penn's London Crime series. Jamie Brooke is no longer part of law enforcement -- she is now a private investigator. Then her new community gets targeted by the people who want to "clean" London so she decides to do something about it. And Jamie connects with Blake and asks him to help.

I am rather bummed that there's no exact confirmation whether Jamie and Blake will pursue their attraction towards one another. Instead, at the end of this book, Blake
...more
Jennifer Eckel
Jul 04, 2018 rated it liked it
A mystery framed around the police, London, and horrific ideas. These ideas include who is good and bad, and also redemption. There are also some psychic overtones. A very dark read. Not a mystery with clues, and procedures, but plenty of good and evil. This is as far as I know the final book in the series. There are seeds in the story that are worth continuing and exploring.
Barbara
May 17, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: dark, whodunnit, thriller
I don't usually read books about the supernatural, however, in this series (I've read all three books this month) Penn does a good job of suspending my disbelief as DS Jamie Brooke (now a private investigator) enlists the help of Blake Daniel (reluctant psychic) to solve grisly crimes.
S
Feb 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: crime
Excellent story completes the series and kept me reading till the end.
Sherry Briscoe
Oct 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This was my favorite of the three London crime stories. She write such visually compelling characters, I love that.
Lacy Gonzales
Jan 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This book was amazing and wrapped up a story arc from the other three books that you didn't actually realize existed until the first third of this book. Jamie Brooke and Blake Daniels are back and skating around the fact that they have a mutual attraction but are very broken individuals.

Jamie is setting up her life after it was so derailed in her daughters death and loss of her job and she realizes she has no community to support her. While she begins to stretch out and make connections someone
...more
Cyd Madsen
Jul 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I didn't think it was possible, but J.F. Penn has outdone herself with Deviance, the third installment of the London Psychic series. The book is one of the most sensual books I've yet read, but it never once dips into the lewd or even depict graphic sex. The book smolders on the embers of darkness and sensuality.

Jamie Brooke, once Detective Sergeant Jamie Brooke, is now on her own after resigning from the police force at the end of the previous book. Her daughter Polly's death and the phantasmag
...more
Kai
Nov 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: audio-books
Deviance begins with the murder of a priest found in the ruins of Winchester Palace. His tattooed skin has been flayed. The residents of Southwark, are wary and scared. They knew that some of the artists and outcasts have disappeared without any reasons or taken any of their belongings.

The leaders of the Southwark hired Jaime Brooke, a former Detective Sergeant turned Private Investigator, begins the hunt for a murderer. She turned to Blake Daniel, a psychic and museum curator for help. As her i
...more
Leanne Hunt
Nov 15, 2015 rated it really liked it
The third in the London Psychic series, Deviance is a colourful and fascinating read. Joanna Penn once again introduces the reader to a cast of unusual people and offbeat practices, this time incorporating a skin collector, a wild raven charmer and artsy volunteers at a soup kitchen. The main characters, ex-cop Jamie and museum researcher Blake have a very special relationship which is part sexual attraction and part mutual understanding of the griefs each have suffered. All this makes for a ver ...more
C E
Aug 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Ms. Penn has again proven herself to be a writer of the first water. Her insight into humanity (both the "dregs" and the "elite") has culminated in this, the third of her London Psychic series. As a premier wordsmith she has colorfully drawn a picture that reunites Jamie Brooke, a former policewoman who we met in the first book of the series, and Blake Daniel, a museum worker we met in Day of the Vikings from her Arkane series and later in the first book of this series. Together the work to find ...more
dennis barron
Jul 30, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Deviance. J.F. Penn

Deviance is book three in the London psychic trilogy. This is a stand alone novel. The primary character Jamie Brooke is now a private investigator. She resigned from her prior job as a detective in the homicide bureau of the Metro Police department in London. Jamie has the tenacity of a modern day Sherlock Holmes. She has strong powers of deductive reasoning, but she establishes strong emotional bonds with friends. She strongly relies on instinct and will quickly act on these
...more
Mark Tilbury
After reading the first two books in this series, I wondered what would be next for protagonist Jamie Brooke. She is now a private detective after leaving the police force, and begins investigating murders in central London. The murder victims seem to be targets of building developers who will stop at nothing to get areas of the city clear of the homeless and sex workers.

This installment of the series is just as well written, researched and edited as Desecration and Delirium. It isn't as dark in
...more
Barbara
Sep 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
I received a free e-copy of this book from the author in return for writing an honest review.

I love the writing style of this author. Her words paint pictures - both beautiful and horrifying, so much that you feel you can almost see what she is describing in living color. This was an interesting story - again, Penn has done a lot of research to provide an authentic look at her topic of choice. This time, it was the seamier side of London and those living on the margins. You learn something new,
...more
Nigel
Aug 07, 2015 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jane Blanchard
Aug 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
As a benefit of reading Deviance by J. F. Penn, I learned about London’s historic sex trade and its connection with the church. Ms. Penn has a knack for weaving unusual historical fact into a modern setting as background for a mystery thriller.

Deviance is the third book in the London Psychic series. In this book, Jamie Brooke, now a private investigator, and Blake Daniel, the psychic researcher, look into the murder and disappearances of tattooed members of the Southwark borough of London. The s
...more
Donna Thompson
Nov 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2015-read, audio
Damaged and broken lives are at the forefront of "Deviance,"the third entry in the London Psychic series by J.F. Penn, and Jamie herself fits this category as she comes to terms with her new life in the wake of personal tragedy. As Jamie acclimates herself to her new neighbors and community, someone is bent on destroying it, both the community and the people that inhabit it. As Jamie tries to help her new found friends, she must ask the assistance of her friend Blake, a psychic who is battling d ...more
Lucy Hay
Aug 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Another supernatural thriller set in diverse London, JF Penn's characters draw attention to the multi faceted world we live in without judgement. My favourite in the series (so far??), Jamie is attempting to move on after the death of her beloved daughter Polly and she reconnects with both Blake and the enigmatic from O (from DESECRATION) as she attempts to set up her business as a private investigator in Southwark. The story has a social conscience without becoming preachy and I loved the visua ...more
Christina
Nov 15, 2015 rated it really liked it
Seamlessly blending supernatural occurrences with believable reality, this is crime fiction with a difference.

Private investigator Jamie Brooks, weighed down with self-doubts and loss, sets off to aid the community she's finally integrating into when it is rocked by a series of horrific murders. With the help of an alcoholic psychic researcher, Blake, and her new artist community friends, she starts to unravel a gruesome truth linked to the highest orders of power in London...

The Southwark setti
...more
Kay Smillie
May 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely stunning piece of work by JF Penn. Well done for taking this particular subject on, and for clearly carrying out so much research.

Sex workers and the homeless are like Marmite, they are either thought of as human beings or scum of the earth to be rid of. These days you can add the seriously ill and disabled on benefits to this list. I agree with a previous reviewer that you just can't help comparing this to what is happening in the UK at the moment.

Love Jamie and Blake. Can't wait to
...more
Kate M. Colby
Feb 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A satisfying end to the trilogy. This was my favorite of the London Psychic books, because it gave the greatest characterization of the protagonist, Jamie, which I felt had been a little shallow in books prior. Seeing her cope with her grief and establish new relationships was very fulfilling. I also appreciated how Southwark itself acted as a character, through lively descriptions, a rich history, and interesting locations and events. My only critique of the novel is that the villain was reveal ...more
Billijo Link
May 09, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: thriller
A group of societal outcasts pay homage to a decades-old legacy graveyard of outcasts and encounter a murdered man with ravaged and removed skin. The detective and psychic investigate the murder and discover other disappearances in the London Southwark neighborhood. A quick, find-the-killer read and only bumped me out of the make-believe world when the character Magda calls upon her ravens. Earlier and additional setup would have helped me roll over that plot point without stopping.
*I learned mo
...more
Dan Dobler
Nov 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Unbelievably fantastic!

Penn's writing continues to get better and better! This story combines so much research, real-life geography, culture, sub-culture, passion, and on and on! There is something about her stories that are so intriguing that I am a confirmed fan.

The darkness of the setting of this story is offset by the depth of human care and kindness that many of the characters share. The depth of depravity of the main antagonist is offset by the strength of the community to which he directs
...more
Michael Mardel
Aug 30, 2015 rated it really liked it
Deviance by Penn is a dark psychological thriller. It took me awhile to get into it but once there, I read in leaps and bounds to the end. I liked the characters of O and Magda and Penn's talking about their relationship. Of course, the drama centred on Jamie and Blake and we are left with them smouldering for each other. The story line of tattoos was a good one, including the octopus on O. O reminds me of the Story of O. I guess both are outside the norm, which is represented by the cemetery. W ...more
Nigel
Aug 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I have to agree with fellow reviewers this is a superb book the 3rd instalment in the London Psychic series. I read this in one sitting,i just couldn't put it down it was so dark and moving. The characters of Blake and Jamie are very well constructed and developed as well intriguing. As always with Joanna's book the research is spot on and faultless. Keep up the great work Joanna I love all your books, thank you.
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Mushroom in the Sand
  • Death by Chocolate Cake (Bakery Detectives #3)
  • In the Shadow of Babylon
  • The Ex
  • Whatever Gods May Be
  • The Waterway Girls (The Waterway Girls #1)
  • Legacy (The Mystic Saga, #2)
  • The First Bird: Episode 3 (The First Bird, #3)
  • The Emperor's Agent (Numinous World, #5)
  • Desolator (Stellar Conquest, #2)
  • No Safeword Matte: The Honeymoon (Safeword, #7)
  • Tender Touch
  • Out of Her League (The Sun Never Sets, #2)
  • Eden
  • Day of Reckoning (Shadow Warriors #2)
  • An Image of Death (Ellie Foreman, #3)
  • Ryker (Bad Boys for Hire #1)
  • The Dawn: Omnibus edition (The Dawn, #1-5)
1,950 followers
I'm the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the ARKANE thriller series, and the London Crime Thriller series.

The fast-paced ARKANE thrillers weave together historical artifacts, global locations, a kick-ass protagonist and a hint of the supernatural. Described by readers as a female Indiana Jones meets The Da Vinci Code.

One Day In Budapest is a chilling view of a possible future as
...more

Other books in the series

London Crime (3 books)
  • Desecration
  • Delirium (London Crime, #2)