Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cleo Edison Oliver, Playground Millionaire” as Want to Read:
Cleo Edison Oliver, Playground Millionaire
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cleo Edison Oliver, Playground Millionaire (Cleo Edison Oliver #1)

3.59  ·  Rating details ·  86 Ratings  ·  25 Reviews
Cleopatra Edison Oliver has always been an entrepreneur, just like her inspiration, successful businesswoman Fortune A. Davies. So when Cleo's fifth-grade teacher assigns her class a "Passion Project," Cleo comes up with her best business idea yet: the finest "tooth-pulling" company in town. With the help of her best friend Caylee, a Nerf gun, her dad's tablet, and her pat ...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published January 26th 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books (first published January 1st 2015)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Yapha
Aug 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Cleopatra Edison Oliver is a budding entrepreneur and rising 5th grader. She is in awe of Fortuna A. Davies, an Oprah-like business woman with her own talk show. Cleo is constantly coming up with new businesses and ideas, and they are often successful. From selling avocados off the tree in her yard to pulling teeth with a Nerf gun, Cleo's ideas draw a lot of attention. And she always donates part of her earnings to those who are less fortunate, just like her idol. She just needs to work on askin ...more
Joe Holman
May 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This book made me smile as it reminded me of my own money making enterprises growing up. The lead character is a handful - more so that I was...

There are a lot of age appropriate lessons to be learned in this book and that makes it a handy book for teachers and librarians to have available when those lessons need to be learned.
AMY
Mar 12, 2017 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Grade 5
213 pages. Fifth grade story of a girl going into business. I read two chapters and it was pretty good. Recommended. I might read the whole thing later on…
Lydia
Jul 12, 2017 rated it liked it
Just an interesting little story. Not really impressed. Not sure I like the money-centered personality of the main character.
Emily Smith
May 05, 2017 rated it liked it
3.5. JFIC
Ms. Yingling
Oct 26, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: wndb
ARC from Young Adult Books Central and reviewed there.

Cleo is starting fifth grade, but her real passion is starting businesses. Her idol is Fortune A. Davies, who has a television show about entrepreneurs, and Cleo takes her advice to heart. She sells avocados from her back yard trees, and everything is a business opportunity. When she realizes that many of her classmates have loose teeth, she comes up with a fairly painless way to remove them using a Nerf gun, and figures that there is a lot o
...more
Barbara
On the surface, fifth grader Cleo Edison Oliver, has it going on. After all, she's smart, determined, brave, and filled with many great ideas about how to make money. Determined to follow in the footsteps of television personality, Fortune A. Davies, a successful businesswoman, Cleo sells avocadoes from the family's trees and even invents a nearly painless tooth removal system relying on her little brother's Nerf gun. Surely, she deserves credit for her great ideas. However, things often don't g ...more
Amy Formanski Duffy
We're always on the hunt for quality books in the beginning reader/ early chapter book categories. It's tough to find engaging stories for that age group, let alone diverse ones. And here's Cleo, an African-American-Filipino 5th grade entrepreneur. She's bubbly, she's full of business ideas, and she's determined to follow in the footsteps of her idol, Fortune Davies. Fortune is a TV host mashup of Oprah and Suze Orman. So Cleo creates a tooth-pulling business for a school project. It's all fun a ...more
Lorie
Jun 10, 2016 rated it really liked it
Cleo idolizes a brilliant business woman and television star, Fortune A. Davis. Cleo’s initials even spell out CEO, so she is destined to become a business success, right? After several smaller schemes don’t pan out, she stumbles on to the perfect money making plan, charging kids to painlessly remove loose baby teeth with her brother’s Nerf gun. What could go wrong?

This realistic fiction story will appeal to middle grade readers with a like-able heroine, a crazy scheme with some gross out momen
...more
Salsabrarian
Cleo aspires to be a successful business woman like her idol Fortune Davies who hosts an inspirational TV show. Cleo sells avocados from the family's tree, starts a quick-and-painless tooth-pulling business and even changes her middle name to Edison so her initials can be CEO. But it's not easy being in business especially when it becomes too much of a priority and complicated emotions cloud her vision. Cleo is a mixed-race child who is adopted into a diverse family. She has issues that are fami ...more
Judy
Mar 08, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2016-books
This was a fresh fun book about a spunky girl whose mind is full of ideas in starting a business. From selling avocados to pulling teeth, Cleo will find a clever way to market her skills. Readers will cheer for Cleo as she deals with the ups and downs of life. Caring and supportive parents help Cleo and her brothers as they learn how to deal with issues of abandonment and self worth in a positive way. Along the journey, Cleo learns a thing or two about friendship and responsibility. A real treat ...more
Lauren Richey
Charming, funny, fast-paced realistic fiction, perfect for fans of Beverly Cleary, Julia Alvarez, Jennifer L. Holm, Jeanne Birdsall, Nikki Grimes, and similar writers. Cleo springs to life off the page - a whirlwind of energy and ideas - and her (mis)adventures will surely entertain. Highly recommended as a classroom readaloud or book club selection as there is ample material for discussion of what it means to be a good friend, what success looks like, etc.
Sharie
Feb 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
She makes anything into a entrepreneurial opportunity! This is a short book for the amazing number of themes addressed within it.

Themes:
family
adoption & foster care
multiracial backgrounds
knowing you're worth something
friendship
divorce
fantastic, out-of-the-box teachers
right vs. wrong
Allison
Jan 19, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2016
Cleo is the quintessential entrepreneur, always starting new businesses as a way to make money and emulate her idol, self-made business woman Fortune A Davies. She's also adopted, and working on coping with not knowing her birth mother. There is also the requisite best friend drama. It was a cute book.
Clare Rossetter
Sep 06, 2016 rated it liked it
Delightful tale of a very spunky fifth grader who comes up with a way to make money. Of course, all does not go smoothly but Cleo and her friends are great problem solvers. Students will enjoy her adventures at school. This even lends itself to a class read aloud with chapters that tell a tale and leave the student wanting to hear more.
Renee
Aug 16, 2016 rated it liked it
I'm kind of lukewarm about this book.
Cleo is a young adoptee who has a passion for business. Her ideas in the book are comical, like her teeth removal business. The book was a little too sweet for me. Maybe I have been reading too many depressing books with major problem in the story.

Would like to see what others think of this story. I will be adding this to my collection at my library.
Julia Margaret
May 30, 2016 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Shayna
Recommended to Julia by: myself
I really like how the girl (Cleo Edison Oliver) is adopted. I also enjoy how she admires a buisness woman. Cleo experiences trouble with friendships (namely Caylee, her best friend and buisness partner).
Alexa Hamilton
Nov 15, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: money, tween, kids-books
A good intro to a new series focused on entrepreneurship, which also manages to address adoption, economics in a family capacity, family dynamics and a host of other things without seeming jam-packed full of lessons. Cleo is a very dynamic, spunky character, except for her obsession with money.
Shauna Yusko
May 21, 2016 rated it really liked it
3-5. Please be the start of a new series! Pair with Fletcher Family titles by Levy.
Jacqui
3.5
Andrea
Qwerty but fun , a bit far fetched but what is fiction?! I like the side message of adoption and fitting in where you get in.
Sara Truog
Dec 07, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: juvenile
Cute and entertaining story about an enterprising elementary schooler. Very memorable scene at a park involving a tooth-pulling scheme and a bout of the flu.
Lucy T
rated it really liked it
Jul 31, 2016
Grace
rated it it was ok
Sep 15, 2016
Piper Dallas
rated it liked it
May 12, 2016
Suzanne
rated it liked it
Mar 28, 2016
Noa
rated it liked it
Jan 30, 2016
Christyc
rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2016
Lori Benson
rated it liked it
Apr 26, 2018
Jennifer Schultz
rated it really liked it
Jun 05, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other books in the series

Cleo Edison Oliver (2 books)
  • Cleo Edison Oliver in Persuasion Power