Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Second Coming” as Want to Read:
The Second Coming
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Second Coming

by
4.63  ·  Rating details ·  52 ratings  ·  44 reviews
God looks down on Earth and is disgusted with what he sees his creation has become. He decides that humanity is a failed experiment, and he orders Earth and all of humanity destroyed. He will start again from scratch. Jesus, however, intervenes and requests one more opportunity to turn mankind around. He is given one year to see if he can make a significant difference.

"Th
...more
Paperback, 382 pages
Published June 16th 2015 by Pentian (first published June 15th 2015)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Second Coming, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Second Coming

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.63  · 
Rating details
 ·  52 ratings  ·  44 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Second Coming
Grant Leishman
Jun 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Clearly this is not a real review -I mean that would be just a tad self-serving; after all I wrote the book, but I would like to make some comments about the book that might influence people to consider reading it.

I wrote The Second Coming because like most writers I spend a lot of time pondering the "what if?" question, in search of inspiration. One day it came to me; "What if God looked down from Heaven and was so disgusted with what he saw that he decided to destroy humanity and label it a f
...more
Bill Ward
Oct 21, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This is first and foremost a very entertaining read. On one level it is a romantic adventure but it can also be perceived as a serious read about the future of mankind. Whether you believe in a God or not, what is indisputable is that mankind has made a terrible mess of living together, looking after each other and the planet we inhabit. The author gives us a modern day biblical type story of the return of Jesus (JC) to once again try and save mankind from itself. I enjoyed the setting in the Ph ...more
Book
Aug 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This was brilliant - creative, imaginative and completely off the wall, but the story has a great underlying tone about humanity and how we potentially need to stop and think about where we are going!

The characters are endearing, I fell in love with JC and Ma (the modern day Jesus and Mary Magdalene) and his unconventional group of disciples.... I must admit that before I read this I really wondered how the author would make this concept, story and even its location in the Phillipines work wonde
...more
Angela Gascoigne
Jun 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
In The Second Coming, Grant Leishman has delivered a highly entertaining and thought-provoking story of hope for a united and peaceful world, told in a light-hearted an very humorous way.

There are heart warming moments which brought a tear to my eye on more than one occasion.

The chemistry between the two main characters, JC and Ma is electrifying! And, the strength of faith and unity between this group of very loveable characters shines through from beginning to end.

This is the first of many gr
...more
Elaina
Jun 29, 2018 rated it really liked it
I started reading this series the wrong way round, beginning with the end (something profound in that statement!) and coming back to start over. Having read the final book, and having enjoyed it, I wanted to find out how it all began. How did Jesus get to be here on Earth?

The action takes place in the Philippines and makes for interesting reading. It’s tongue-in-cheek irreverent at times, but also pretty serious at others. The camaraderie between the ‘disciples’ is heart-warming, and love plays
...more
Michael Kelly
Oct 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
An interesting and absorbing tale which deals with the Second Coming of Jesus Christ in a bid to convince his Father that humanity is worth saving and the world shouldn't just be destroyed as a failed experiment.

There is a danger that a book like this could be very preachy, or on the flip side it has the scope to be very comical, not taking itself seriously. It neatly sidesteps both pitfalls by simply telling the story. Big things happen in the world, but the story doesn't focus on those; it sta
...more
Sharon Brownlie
Sep 21, 2015 rated it really liked it
Stories about The Second Coming, is not an original concept, but the Second Coming by Grant Leishman is. It’s modern, weird, whacky and wonderful. You don’t have to be Christian to enjoy, although some may find the flawed JC hard to fathom. I’m an atheist and I found it raising some questions for me. It isn’t intense but it is very thought provoking.
The main character Jose Castillo, JC to his friends is, as I have said is flawed but he is believable and well developed, as are the secondary chara
...more
Ken Fry
Jan 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Human activity is creating chaos on Earth. God has had enough and wants a fresh start so JC needs to arrive once more and attempt to sort out the mess in double quick time.
Mr. Leishman displays this in an entirely amusing and unique fashion on which he grafts wonderful spoonfuls of his own brand of humour and observation. I should have expected this as from another of his trilogy I have read.
The whole narrative is witty and yet I sensed an underlying seriousness about what some die hard bible fo
...more
Mary Schmidt
Jul 21, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Grant gifted me this book to read and I fell in love with the theme right away.
In The Second Coming, Grant Leishman has given the world a very thoughtful, entertaining, soul searching read hoping for peace to come to all.
There are a few grammar errors in this book but they don't detract from the power of the messages his book contains.
Grant uses humor in telling this story and many moments the reader feels that they are right there alongside side the main characters and touching loving moments
...more
Molly
Aug 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Starting with a man awakening from a coma and trying to regain his memory this had an instant pull. A slow reconstruction of JC’s life introduces heavenly elements and soon the religious and biblical connection becomes more transparent. It took me while to accept this modernised ‘second coming’ and the fictional use of biblical characters and God. However, after a while I eased into it and found that the concept worked indeed very well. The message of the book is delightful and while some elemen ...more
Patient Lee
Aug 21, 2016 rated it really liked it
An entertaining, thought-provoking read. I enjoyed the thought the author put into the story. I loved the setting and the things I learned about the Philippines. I love the cover, and I think it's a great representation of the story.

Two things made this book more difficult to read. First is the punctuation. Dashes can't be used in place of commas most of the time. The second is the bulky writing style. I appreciate direct language and active voice. "Seemed" weakens the author's message, and it
...more
John Gaynard
Jan 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
JC, alias Jose Christian Castillo, alias Jesus Christ, Son of God, is in Manila because he interceded with his father in heaven to spare the earth from destruction, that place his father had already sent him to more than two thousand years ago, but which an angry God now says is just as much of a cesspit as it ever was. Grudgingly, his father agreed to give him a second go, lasting no longer than a year, and decreed that his son’s destination should be the Philippines, one of the three reasons f ...more
Lex Allen
Oct 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
“The Second Coming,” by Grant Leishman is a riotous alternative (and far more peaceful) story of Jesus’ second coming as foretold in the Bible’s Book of Revelations. Jesus a.k.a. Jose Christian Castillo; JC for short, has returned to Earth in an attempt to keep his father (God) from sending down the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse to end humanity because he’s pissed at what his marvelous creation (human beings) has become.

JC awakens from a coma, following an accident, with severe memory loss. He
...more
Ken Stark
Mar 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
We humans are an incorrigible bunch, it seems. God is in 'one of his moods' and is thinking about wiping the slate clean, so JC returns to Earth to prove our worth.
The Second Coming by Grant Leishman is a refreshingly light-hearted take on a two thousand-year-old story, setting the return of Christ in the Philippines and surrounding him with a cast of very relatable and likeable characters. Neither irreverent nor preachy, Leishman uses a gentle touch of humour to keep the story grounded, and
...more
Carol Phipps
Sep 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is not the first book I have read by this author, and as I quite enjoy his writing, I am certain it will not be the last. THE SECOND COMING by Grant Leishman is a truly enjoyable and fun read sure to make even God smile, were He to read it. That said, I am certain that Mr. Leishman certainly wrote his clever and light-hearted take on The Second Coming of Christ for us mere mortals.

JC basically begins his second coming to earth with amnesia after being hit by a bus. Not the best circumstan
...more
Eichin Chang-Lim
Jul 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
At first glance at the title, it is safe to assume that “The Second Coming” is a serious, religion-related book. However, the comic book cover made me think otherwise. I was intrigued even before reading it.
Yes, it is a story about the second coming of JC (Jesus Christ). He comes as a Filipino, the same as his disciples. The entire occurrence is in the Philippines, which creates an interesting setup. Mr. Leishman has an explanation about the reason for the location that is logical and convincing
...more
Dee
Sep 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This story is about what the title claims - Jesus’s second coming, but, as the cover indicates, with a more light-hearted approach. Unlike the first coming, this one occurs in the modern times in The Philippines and with fewer disciples. Regardless, the themes still remain of universal love and compassion amid the chaos of what is the human race. That said, I have to admit this story was a surprise—it isn’t preachy, and the modern situations make it believable and relevant for our times. The cha ...more
Allen M Werner
Mar 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is a light-hearted, tongue-in-cheek, sometimes funny, often humorous ... vernacular of the streets ... approach to the return of JC to save humanity from his father, God, who is angry with his creation - again. The author places JC in the Philippines, which was unique. I learned quite a bit about the culture in the Philippines reading this. The book never devolves into religious tripe or gets preachy. The characters are real and human and talk like any of us, including JC. The storytelling ...more
Kristy Volchko
May 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Lighthearted, thought-provoking, inspiring!

This super-original, quirky book has it all...comedy, action, spirituality, universal lessons, even love. (The cover for this book couldn't be more perfect!) It begins with 'JC' waking from a coma with no memory due to a bus accident and goes from there. A well thought out, creative, modern day spin on an ancient story that has the author's sense of humor shining all the way through it. I found it to be a lighthearted, thought-provoking, and inspiring
...more
Ian Hunter
Jun 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
Despite the cheeky humor throughout, this book isn’t as irreverent as you might think. It avoids being pro or anti-religious. It’s more of an earnest attempt to visualize what The Second Coming might look like, what form it might take. The humanizing of the Christ figure, his trials and tribulations trying to get used to being in a human body I thought, if anything, ennobled the human spirit. The book took too long to get going and not all of the jokes land, but it’s a fun read.
Robin Lyons
Aug 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The Second Coming was a fun read; Grant Leishman did a great job.

Because of an accident, JC, (aka Jesus Christ) doesn’t remember what his big mission is, until the Archangel Michael, JC’s best friend in Heaven visits him to set him straight. JC’s father, God, is unhappy with how present day humanity has turned out, but he allows his son to return to earth to end conflict and make the world right once more. Otherwise, God will destroy the earth.
Mrs Linda C Tolmie
A Pleasant Surprise

When I was told about this book , as a practising Christian I expected to be offended by it and that I would end up wishing I hadn't read it. I am so glad to be able to say that I was very wrong on all counts. The story is beautifully and humorously told and is full of love.
Ian Saul
Mar 05, 2017 rated it liked it
This book was a bit hit-and-miss for me. It has interesting, sympathetic characters; it's religious without being lecturesome; it makes some brave and unconventional choices; and ultimately, it's very good-hearted, with a positive message and strong themes of hope and decency.

Plot-wise, I felt it could have been structured more tightly, and that some of the challenges faced by the characters were resolved much too easily. It's a conundrum, though ... if your protagonist is on a divine mission an
...more
Skye Collett
Apr 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The second Coming was unexpectedly delightful. I wasn't entirely sure what I was in for but I'm glad I listened to all the 5 Star reviews. Funny and warm, with complex characters to fall in love with. A unique and enjoyable take on a well known saga with wit & imagination!!! JC & Ma were my favourites!!! ...more
Diana Febry
Jul 28, 2015 rated it really liked it
A well-produced thought provoking book.
I loved the concept behind this book and was intrigued by the idea of God sending his son down for one last chance to save humanity. One thing that surprised and impressed me is the author walked the thin line between the book becoming either pro or anti religious despite the obvious theme. This really is a "what if?" book.
So young Jose Castillo from the Philippines has a year to gather a group of loyal followers to help him bring peace and harmony to the
...more
Sarah Stuart
Sep 18, 2015 rated it really liked it
The opening to this book is extremely clever. The leader of a group of characters, JC, is unconscious after an accident, so his memory of who he is, and who his friends are, returns slowly, allowing them all to be introduced clearly. What takes still longer for JC to remember is the reason he is the leader and what he is intended to do. But for the rather revealing blurb, it would have come as a shock when he performs his first miracle: the fast and complete recovery of a boy who showed no signs ...more
E.M. Cooper
Aug 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
‘The Second Coming’ is a highly original story that draws you in powerfully with its first breath. Jose Christian Castillo (JC) wakes up in a hospital bed in the Philippines suffering with amnesia. He soon discovers he’s part of a disparate group with endearing characters like Ma, Ange and Gabs, each with a compelling back story. JC begins to suspect they are all part of a bigger destiny and his dreams of chariots, flying griffins and a golden haired warrior echo that thought. The story leaps fo ...more
Johanna Craven
Sep 04, 2015 rated it really liked it
Grant Leishman's tale of Jesus Christ's return to earth is quirky, original and thought-provoking. Christ- JC to his friends- returns to 21st century Manila and Leishman does a great job of imagining how this would impact the conflicts present in today's social-media drenched world. (I particularly loved the image of people cramming to take selfies with Jesus. Scarily accurate!!)

The book is at times both poignant and funny, with a good range of complex, well-drawn characters. I thought the sett
...more
Carissa Lynch
Sep 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Okay, I had no idea what to expect when I started reading this book. What I loved most about it was the author's amazing ability to make it an enjoyable read for both Christians and non-Christians. As someone who often ponders "what if" questions relentlessly, I found this story to be eye-opening read, both deep and light at times. I was able to sit back and enjoy the story, but at the same time there were so many underlying themes and question points -- which I LOVED!! There were quite a few mo ...more
Ellie Midwood
Feb 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing
“Second Coming” is a witty, extraordinary and fresh take on the idea of “what if?” What if Jesus Christ comes back to Earth and tries to save it from destruction by his father, who isn’t happy with how his creation turned out? The only problem is that Jesus Christ is suffering from amnesia after being hit by a bus. And he’s in the Philippines. And it’s in the present time with much more obstacles thrown in poor JC’s way. How is that going to work out, I wondered? And it turned out to be one of t ...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
139 followers
I am an expatriate New Zealander living in Manila, The Philippines, with my wife and two step-daughters.

At age 55, after careers in Finance and Journalism, I have finally discovered my true passion in life - writing; and I truly believe I am now "living the dream".

News & Interviews

Summer is a great time to lose yourself in a page-turning mystery. To help you sleuth out a new read, we asked five of the season’s hottest myst...
33 likes · 11 comments