Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “So What Do I Do? A Crime Thriller from the High School (So What! series #3)” as Want to Read:
So What Do I Do? A Crime Thriller from the High School (So What! series #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

So What Do I Do? A Crime Thriller from the High School (So What! series #3)

by
3.68  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  26 reviews
An alternate cover edition can be found here.

This is a thriller of the “Why’d they do it?” category and the book stands alone with its intriguing trail of catch-up between the police and the criminals. A crime that goes badly wrong in its execution, and goes on to tragically affect the local school community, produces a trail of chaos. It’s a winding trail that the reader
...more
Paperback, 265 pages
Published June 20th 2015 by Create Space-GJG (first published June 17th 2015)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
3.68  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  26 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Lisa Reads & Reviews

I felt as though I was sitting in front of a TV set, only I did not have control of the remote and the person who did was flipping through a hundred channels. Just when I became interested in a character, like the senior birdwatchers where the wife is struggling with a disability, the channel would change and I had to endure watching a selfish, chocolate-eating, fat, and rich woman play kissy face with her spoiled pug (too cliche for my taste). All details about a crime, one involving several ch
...more
Susanne Leist
Jul 22, 2015 rated it really liked it
The story begins in a sweet way with a pair of bird watchers. But it soon turns deadly with a bombing and a dead body. The author delves into the characters of Birch Green High School and their feelings about the horrific event. We also learn about their feelings about the environment and about each other.
The poor Hodgson Hide, a bird sanctuary, is destroyed once again. The beautiful bird paradise is ruined by a conspiracy theory and criminals. The author slowly unfolds the story in his unique
...more
Anne
Aug 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: crime
First off I want to point out that I do not like the cover of this book and if I'd seen it in a book shop I would not have been drawn to it and that would have been a shame. However, I read this story on my Kindle having been offered a free copy by the author in return for an honest review and that's what you'll get.

I have read other books by GJ Griffiths and my first impression was just how much his writing has matured and of course I say that as a mere reader, I am no writer myself so I have n
...more
Hazel
Aug 25, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: reviewed
This eBook was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

A crime thriller from the high school: So What Do I Do? is the third book in the So What! series by British author G. J. Griffiths. Despite being part of a series it works as a stand-alone story meaning that anyone can read it regardless of whether they are familiar with the previous books.

So What Do I Do? is set in the north of England and centers around Birch Green High School. Do not be put off by the mention of school ho
...more
J.C. Wing
Jul 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The third book in the So What series starts off with Gil Hodgson, whom readers were introduced to in Griffiths’ previous novel. This time, we are offered a closer peek at his personal life when we are introduced to his wife, Jean. It’s been five years since Hodgson’s Hide was built, and as the story opens, it is here we find the couple as they take part in a bit of bird watching. They aren’t alone, however. They are unknowingly in the company of some troublemakers, and Griffiths has shown a brig ...more
Ronesa Aveela
Jul 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
So what do I write? I’m torn with my review of this book. I really liked certain parts, but others felt out of place. On the positive side, I loved the humor in the story, from the woes of a new teaching acclimating himself to his class, to a spider monkey saving the day. I found myself relating to the characters, the good and the bad. They make you laugh and cry. The author describes some characters in colorful, poetic detail, for example: “His stringy stature had something of a heron about it, ...more
Hock Tjoa
Jul 27, 2015 rated it it was ok
The author is to be congratulated on persevering and completing his announced trilogy of the So What books. With nearly forty named characters and a "shaggy-dog" style, the book appears to this reviewer to be a leave taking by the author of characters he has conjured in his imagination and from whom he is loath to part.

The many topics seem to meander: birding, teaching, the politics of school administration, larceny on the part of a councilman and a member of the gentry, juvenile delinquents and
...more
Scott Spotson
Jul 02, 2015 rated it liked it
So What Do I Do?... is a book written with an ensemble cast, with no lead characters or protagonists. As such, it is necessary to explore this intricately woven plot through the points of views of several characters. To be fair, the author does pick certain characters to carry the story, such as the school teacher, his wife, the two detectives, and the two ruffians.

The author delves into many of the characters with details as to their desires, their ambitions, and their perceptions of the world
...more
Cathy
Jul 04, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read the first two books so was happy to see what was going on with the people from those books. This book talks about Birch Green High School in England and a nature corner on the school property called a bird hide.
They named it Hodgson's Hide in honor of a retired teacher everyone liked. It had been burned down twice before and funds had been gotten together from fund raisers in the community to rebuild. It is educational for the children and Gil Hodgson and his wife Jean love to come there
...more
Samuel
Sep 02, 2015 rated it really liked it
This book didn't immediately engage me, but as the plot thickened I found a lot to enjoy. The language itself was a little plain for my tastes, but it was also clear, concise and fit for purpose. I also enjoyed the thoroughly British accents and nicknames. In fact, the book is littered with British reference points, but I'm sure the story itself has a broad appeal.
The book gives a closer look at the Gil Hodgson, and we see different facets of his life and personality here. I found the plot of t
...more
Anna Fantabulous
Oct 13, 2015 rated it liked it
The story begins five years after the events detailed in ‘So What's Next! (So What! Stories, #2)’. Molly Pearson is now the mother of two boys and is dissatisfied with her job as a teacher. A tragedy - a criminal act of arson that converts to attempted murder and manslaughter - propels her to make the change that gives more meaning and substance to her life.

It does not end so well for Gil Hodgson, the renowned retired teacher whose nature corner ‘Hodgson’s Hide’ Molly restored in ‘So What's Next
...more
A.E. Albert
Jun 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
So What Do I Do? is another novel by G.J. Griffiths and the third installment of the So What? series. However, this time something more sinister is afoot as English police race to unmask those responsible for the death of a beloved teacher at the local high school.

The story contains numerous characters. Some have small parts to play, while others a more significant role. Regardless, the author breathes life into each and everyone of these real and believable characters. He masterfully sculpts th
...more
C.A. Pack
Dec 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
"So What Do I Do" is a crime thriller about a greedy businessman and a similarly greedy magistrate who allow their desire for huge profits to cloud their judgment. The action involves the death of a beloved schoolteacher who needlessly dies trying to save his wife from a burning building and the resulting investigation of the fire. The plot of this story is complex and the characters are many. It took me a while to really get involved in the storyline because there were so many characters to kee ...more
P.M.F. Johnson
Dec 29, 2015 rated it liked it
I received a copy of "So What Do I Do" in exchange for an honest review. I thought the main plotline of this book proceeded in an interesting and engaging fashion. The crime committed, the unforeseen complications, and the unfolding of the consequences were believably written. The characters all seemed quite real, especially the bad guys.

I did have some quibbles with the author's occasional pause for an info dump. For instance, I didn't feel the need for a full page explanation of neonicotinoid
...more
Benjamin Hebert
Jan 23, 2016 rated it liked it
So What Do I Do? Was an interesting read. Overall I think the lack of a 'main character'/ characters hurt the story a lot. It contains a big cast that the author moves between and though some have a bigger focus than others, I didn't really have the chance to relate or learn to care about any of them.

The story was decent, and I continued through to follow it till it's conclusion but I think the presentation could have been much much better. I'm curious if the rest of the series is done in this
...more
Patricia Walker
Aug 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This is a brilliant follow on from the first two books in the So What! series. It is a very much darker story than the other books but the same characters are there with us throughout. The reader is plunged into some very difficult times and throughout we laugh rarely and cry often as the story unfolds. The characters are even more rounded in this third in the series which, in my opinion, is even better than the first two. The story line throughout holds together well and we get to know the char ...more
Joannes Rhino
May 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
"So What Do I Do?" is a brilliant piece of work. I love the idea of how the author tries to describe an event from a multiple point of views. Having no main character in a story sometimes can be difficult for readers to follow (by difficult, I mean boring), but that seems not to be the case in this book. The author keeps the mystery going until a certain stage where the dots start to linking one and another. I wish if the author gives the explanation at the few last chapters of the book, that wo ...more
Ica Iova
Sep 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
Although we are introduced to a lot of characters (too many for my liking with no protagonist,) the author did a good job separating each voice; the dialogue is believable, the plot line is interesting. A very fun to read book. I recommend it.
Bruce Perrin
Mar 18, 2016 rated it really liked it
When Backstory Intrudes on Plot

So What Do I Do is a tale of two apparently upstanding citizens who turn greedy. They then hire a ruthless enforcer to manage the actions of two hapless, petty criminals in their get-rich-quick scheme. The caper goes awry, providing a series of twists as the story unfolds.

The book is well written. The prose is descriptive and the characters and settings were generally well developed. Initially, the dialog concerned me, as several of the characters use slang and pro
...more
Jon
Jan 30, 2016 rated it liked it
In So What Do I Do?, British author G.J. Griffiths demonstrates an incredible talent for telling a compelling, realistic crime story from the perspective of the criminals. Griffiths’ tale takes the reader into a world of crime that operates under the same class distinctions that are at work in every day, legitimate life. The story shows how ugly, brutal crimes that, on the surface, appear to percolate up from the lowest rungs of society may actually originate in the greed and corruption of the w ...more
B.A. Spicer
Apr 07, 2016 rated it liked it

Don't be put off by the cover!

This is the second book I have read by this author. I had already met the majority of the characters in ‘So What Do I Do Next?’ and I was interested to know how their stories would continue. Although the book opens with yet another arson attack at Birch Green High School, the plot is definitely intriguing from the start. There is also the same variety of colourful characters from different walks of life, from petty criminals to murderers to school teachers and their
...more
Ben Hammott
Dec 23, 2015 rated it really liked it
When I was sent this book free for an honest review, I doubted it would be to my taste and not one I would not have normally chosen to read, which may have had something to do with the cover. However, after reading a few pages I was sucked into the story and from that moment on there was no going back. As other reviewers have mentioned, this thriller has a lot of characters stories to follow, but as each story line is written distinctly enough to avoid confusion, you soon slip into their differe ...more
Jennifer
Dec 16, 2015 rated it liked it
Overall, I enjoyed this book. Greed doesn’t pay.

The plot was interesting, following two clumsy criminals as their crime unravels, becomes worse than they could ever imagine and they suffer the consequences. There were quite a few side stories happening simultaneously, these could have been pared down to make the plot flow better.

The author does an excellent job of creating flawed characters, and they are interesting to follow as the story develops. Descriptions of the characters make them come a
...more
Dermot Davis
Apr 10, 2016 rated it really liked it
Even though I have not yet read the first two books in the series, I had no problem following the plot or understanding the characters of this delightful tale. More of a why did they do it than a whodunnit, I enjoyed the slow pace as it built up steam towards a rewarding climax that left me in thought for longer than most best-selling thrillers. The fact that the setting was local (at least in the UK) and involved local people and community education and politics was a very nice change from inte ...more
G.J. Griffiths
Jun 20, 2015 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: crime-thriller
In the So What! series of books I have tried to carefully craft each novel to present my readers with an enjoyable stand-alone story. However, there are with links between each book to favourite characters from Birch Green High School.

Here is my summary to date:
Readers laughed and they cried at So What! Stories or Whatever!
Readers gasped and they sighed at So What's Next!
So prepare to be fooled and defied at So What Do I Do? the latest stand-alone novel in the So What! series from G J Griffiths.
...more
Annabelle Costa
Nov 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I don't read a lot of crime thrillers and I thought this was written in a very interesting way. It was an ensemble cast with a lot of different storylines going on, but all of them were very interesting. Not all the characters were entirely likable, but I actually like flawed characters. It's not a whodunnit, but more like Columbo in that you know the crime up front and it's all about whether the criminals will come to justice. More of a "how they dunnit." In general, I thought it was a great, u ...more
Sally
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2015
Kim
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
Sneha Pyne
marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2015
Claudette Melanson
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2015
Lou Wooten
marked it as to-read
Jul 07, 2015
Deborah Blanchard
marked it as to-read
Jul 10, 2015
Joe
marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2015
Sheila
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2016
Lynne
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2016
Twilightwatchers
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2016
Amy Linquist
marked it as to-read
May 23, 2016
Cherei
marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2016
Sandra Crow
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2016
Bill Tillman
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2016
Lynn Pearson
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2016
Maralyn Steeg
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2017
Mary
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2018
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: How to change my book cover? 3 20 Oct 25, 2016 03:16AM  
Kindle Unlimited ...: A Crime Thriller from the High School 1 2 Sep 02, 2015 11:03AM  
64 followers
G J Griffiths is a retired science teacher with some early working experience of the photographic industry. Born in the UK he enjoys reading most genres of fiction such as sci-fi, crime/detective thrillers, historical and wildlife stories. Non-fiction reading mainly includes scientific or historical books. Walking in the English, Scottish or Welsh countryside with binoculars ready for bird-watchin ...more