Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dusgadh Essence of Life (Awakening #1)” as Want to Read:
Dusgadh Essence of Life (Awakening #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Dusgadh Essence of Life (Awakening #1)

by
4.24  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Ember Malloch has no idea her life is about to get turned upside down. Besides the fact that she sees the dead on occasion, she lives an ordinary mundane life.

Her sister warned her not to provoke the spirits, but Ember has a mind of her own and she defies Becky at every turn. Now, her life as she knows it will be changed forever, as an unbridled strength is unleashed upon
...more
Paperback, First, 218 pages
Published June 5th 2015 by Author House
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dusgadh Essence of Life, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dusgadh Essence of Life

Community Reviews

Showing 1-43
Average rating 4.24  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Dusgadh Essence of Life (Awakening #1)
Luana
Jan 21, 2016 rated it liked it
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Mystery, Romance
Edition: Kindle Edition, Published June 10th 2015 by AuthorHouse
Pages: 133

(New Adult: contains scenes with explicit content)
-----------------------------------------------------
I received an e-Arc from the author for an honest review. Thank you so much for this great opportunity to read your book!

-Dusgadh is the first book in a series and the author mainly focuses on introducing the readers to the world and the characters, with some action mixed in
...more
Sunshine Somerville
Sep 02, 2015 rated it liked it
I read this story (about the length of a novella) in one long sitting, and it's definitely packed full of interesting ideas, action, and mystery so that you keep turning the pages. The overall concept involves a mix of Celtic folklore, magic, and New Age-ish reincarnation that's pretty interesting. I really like that this fantastical mystery unfolds bit by bit until you get the full picture of what's going on, and you learn from inside the main character's head as she too figures out what's happ ...more
Ashley Owens
Mar 22, 2016 rated it liked it
First of all I would like to thank the author for providing me with a copy of this book to review!

Man I wish this novel was longer! “Dusgadh” has lots of potential because there’s SUCH a deep and inventive world there. The author has an outstanding imagination. It is just such a freaking cool mix of many ideas and styles: magic, romance, violence, fantasy, and more!

STORY: The author packed a lot of cool information into a surprisingly short novel. I enjoyed the history of Ember’s family’s clan,
...more
Stephen Carter
Aug 31, 2015 rated it really liked it
Not only does the story’s hero, Ember, face a horrific series of attacks, she faces a worse series of revelations about her real identity. As the story is told in the first person, we learn each emerging truth as Ember does. For her and us nothing is what it seemed. This layering of violence, emotion, and a deeply compromised reality makes this a compelling dive into the supernatural.

Our engagement with Ember would have been stronger if Act 1 had been given over to her earlier normal life. We’r
...more
Cynthia Austin
Jun 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This books has everything a reader would want! A good, strong female character who has no problem standing up for herself, funny, loyal friends, a ruthless villain we all hope is destroyed and of course the destined, fated-together love story that we all need.
Ember is a young girl who has recently lost both of her parents in a horrific house fire. Struggling to come to copes with the loss of her family, she has trouble bonding with her older, over-protective sister. The story quickly changes fr
...more
Rebecca Lombardo
Aug 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this book. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I found myself drawn in immediately. I love Margaret's writing style. She was neither too descriptive nor not descriptive enough. Some of the circumstances in the book had me extremely emotional, considering my family. I would recommend this to anyone. ...more
Michelle Randall
Reviewed for Readers Favorite

Dusgadh, such an odd word to title a story, but then when you subtitle it Essence of Life, maybe it makes more sense. Ember has never felt like she fit in. She loved her family, but they were taken from her in middle school and she was left with only her older sister. She has trouble making friends, and even worse, she sees ghosts. She is just fumbling along in life until one night, a party and a seance in the park brings up something more than Ember or anyone else w
...more
J.E. Grace
Nov 12, 2016 rated it really liked it
"I received a copy of this book and voluntarily chose to review it."

It was really hard to put this book down and therefore I read it in one sitting. The author has developed a very interesting storyline packed full mystery, lots of action, the paranormal, and folklore.

The main character, Ember and her sister, Becky, face a great tragedy. Ember has always felt different like something was missing. She finds out that her life has been a lie and the revelation of her true identity brings with it ra
...more
Stephanie
Feb 16, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a copy of this novella from the author in exchange for an honest review and I have to say that I really enjoyed this introduction to what I think is going to be a really good series. Even with it being a novella, it had enough action and stuff going on to make it feel like a full length novel.

One of my favorite parts of the book are her friends, Matt and Izzy. I love the story about them and how they all end up being together. I feel like I am being so vague but I don't want to give
...more
Dani Bauer
Jun 11, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: fiction-fantasy
More of a novella than a full length novel, Dusgadh Essence of Life, by debut author Margaret Daly is a fast paced read that offers a good thrill.
For main character Ember Malloch that feeling somebody is watching her doesn’t just turn into a nightmare scenario, it becomes something she never could have imagined.
First she has to adjust to the trauma of life without her parents after a freak accident, and then she has to adjust to a life where the reality she’s always known is completely false.
Ex
...more
Jessica
Jul 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
I've been contemplating exactly what to write about this book for a while. It was fast paced, full of action, and seemed every page had a new fact I needed to know. Because of these facts and my habit to read quickly when it's exciting I often had to re-read pages. Ember intrigued me, she knows so little about herself yet is such a strong person. She is often conflicted because of these issues and I can relate to that and I love being able to relate to characters. I am excited to see where the s ...more
Erzabet Bishop
Nov 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: sisters, magic
This story of two sisters gives way to magic and mystery and an element of horror that kept me turning the pages. A very enjoyable read! Looking forward to seeing how the series develops.
Linda Perkins
rated it it was amazing
Dec 12, 2016
Sara Knight
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2016
Margaret Daly
Nov 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2015
Weston
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2015
Jen Perry
marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2015
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Arnela
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Tammy Pooser
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Carla
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Pam Mooney
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Sue
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
SARIT
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Barbara Summey
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Roxanne
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Sandralk
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Leland Lee
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Max
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Ted
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Larena
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Pam
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Larry
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2015
Jennifer Lessard
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2015
Elaine Needelman
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2015
Katrina Mcghee
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2015
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Who is your favorite Character? 1 2 Jun 29, 2015 07:41AM  
233 followers
Having written her first paranormal fantasy book at the age of forty-three, Margaret Daly has started a wonderful trilogy. Margaret took her life's encounters and crossed a bridge to a different world with them, a world filled with untamed power and endless possibilities. Being raised in the hills of West Sparta, New York, Margaret lost her home and everything in it to fire at a young age. She dov ...more

Related Articles

Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020 will be long remembered as a Dumpster fire of a year. But the nice thing about time is that it...
498 likes · 237 comments