Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Super Jumbo” as Want to Read:
Super Jumbo
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Super Jumbo

by
3.66  ·  Rating details ·  316 ratings  ·  59 reviews
The charmingly oblivious elephant Little Jumbo "saves the day" in a superhero story that’s perfect for fans of Ian Falconer’s Olivia.
 
Being a superhero isn’t easy. All Little Jumbo wants to do is fight crime and defend the weak, by doing things like halting traffic for snails to cross the street and stopping Dad from sneaking cookies. It’s not his fault grown-ups don’t ap
...more
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published February 16th 2016 by Dial Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.66  · 
Rating details
 ·  316 ratings  ·  59 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Rainey
Nov 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
Hilarious and heart-felt- Jumbo inspires!
Allison
So much wonderfulness!!
Roben
May 28, 2016 rated it really liked it
Good intentions for a little super hero elephant always end in less than desired results. Such a true theme! How often do our own good intentions not go quite the way we thought? But Super Jumbo perseveres with his super thoughtful attempts at being helpful and super. Eventually he does help a friend mend his wagon - resisting a major temptation - but we'll have to see how that turns out! I think this would make a great read-aloud for storytime.
Rachel Watkins
Nov 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, picture-book
Little Jumbo tries to be a helpful super hero but his attempts at saving the day are often misguided. Fred Koehler's SUPER JUMBO shares the story of an under appreciated crime fighting elephant. You'll love the vibrant illustrations and Little Jumbo's persistence.
Sara Grochowski
I love this little elephant who's determined to save the day (even when it doesn't need saving!) The reactions and expressions of the everyone who encounters Super Jumbo and his hijinks are especially funny.
Joanne Zienty
Jul 07, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: children-fiction
Cute tale of the trials and tribulations of superhero-dom. The young elephant Little Jumbo is inclined to be a hero, but he finds his efforts to save his neighborhood mostly unappreciated. Expressive illustrations help convey our little hero's dilemmas.
Amy
Jan 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: my-little-boy
Perfect for my super-hero-loving almost 4-year-old. Action, humor, and warmth, all in a quick read. We've read this so many times before bed that I may have to get his own copy instead of constantly borrowing from the library.
Trisha Parsons
Jan 10, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: storytime
This is a cute book, but it wasn't a big hit for Story Time.
Reem
Dec 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: keeper
'I would love to have the book because saving someone in a day is very good'- 5 year old Noah
Peter
Nov 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Absolutely darling! Charming illustrations and a story about the fun of imagination, earnest desire to help others, and friendship.
Donna Mork
Jan 28, 2018 rated it really liked it
Little elephant is a super hero, saving the day whether it needs it or not.
Kareena
Jan 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
A silly story, but definitely a lap read. The pictures are what really make it, so it's not great for a big group.
Darinda
Jul 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
A cute story about Little Jumbo. He wants to be a superhero and help those in need. His "help" is a little misguided, but his heart is in the right place.
Dione Basseri
These vigilantes must be stopped! Or at least ignored, as this is just a middling-quality book. If your little one has a love of elephants and superheroes, obviously, a home run, but if those aren't in your child's interests, this is, at best, a library borrowing book. Parents might even object to the book, as it portrays Little Jumbo acting a bit more like a super-villain at time, stealing cookies, chasing cats up trees, and shooing away pigeons from their feed. Nothing terribly malicious, but, ...more
Jana
This is a funny picture book about a little elephant that wants to be a superhero. He calls himself Super Jumbo, and goes around looking for people that need help. But like lots of little kids, his help isn't particularly helpful or appreciated. Eventually he finds one of his friends that needs help and realizes that it's awesome to help your friends out. Funny illustrations along with cute text will make this book popular with young readers.
Diane
Mar 19, 2016 rated it really liked it
"For Little Jumbo, being a superhero was not an easy job."

... and for those around him, it takes a lot of patience to deal with this particular superhero. But Little Jumbo is determined to keep his neighborhood safe. Little Jumbo's heart is in the right place and sometimes his superhero activity hits the mark.

Adorable illustrations (helping snails across the street and cats up a tree) that will help students understand the power of illustrations to tell part of the story.
Jess
May 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: z_16, picture-books
Little Jumbo lives with is dad. He wants to be a superhero, but sometimes his efforts are helpful. Say, helping a cat into a tree. But he keeps helping, because some time it'll work out.
Oh did I grin and laugh at this book. Freaking adorable. Those snails! The cape from curtains! How the dad looks at the stuff his kid does.
"A superhero is always there to lend a hand (or a push.) Because saving the day with a friend can make the world a little more super."
Lynn
Little jumbo (From "How to Cheer Up Dad") is back with his innocent& determined actions, which are sometimes appreciated and sometimes, not so much, as he ..."defended the weak" and "tirelessly crusaded against the forces of evil..."
Simple illustrations, limited use of color to highlight what's key on each page, done in digital media, pencil & pen.
Christine
May 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: superhero, urban
Absolutely adorable! I love that there's a picture in the background on one page of Little Jumbo and Big Jumbo together, suggesting a single-dad family, and Little Jumbo comes to the rescue of a little fuzzy guy with a bowtie who's crying. Funny escapades, great lesson at end about helping out. City scenes are very relatable for kids (e.g. a little one getting a haircut, a coffee shop, a bakery).
Sandra Guerfi
Feb 22, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Being a super hero is the plan today. Being stronger, faster can only be better right. But as the young elephant in the story learns sometimes being a super hero doesn't necessarily mean being better if it only makes things harder for others. Caring, attention, and patience may be what needs to save the day after all.
Jenna
Mar 22, 2016 rated it liked it
Very cute illustrations and while I'm sure Jumbo's heart really is in a good place, I could see his mischievous antics getting him in deep trouble. Maybe his new friend will steady him. The basic premise felt familiar, but it didn't stop it from being a fun read.

Would be good for a preschool story time session.
Elizabeth Castro
Aug 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Super Jumbo has big plans that don't always turn the way intended, but his heart is in the right place.
The simple text in Super Jumbo backed up with hilarious illustrations leaves the reader filled with delight. Super Jumbo is a heartwarming picture book for children or anybody young at heart.
Chelsea
Apr 27, 2016 rated it really liked it
A cute book about a misguided (young elephant) superhero who tries to help out, but ends up making a mess of things. In the end though, friendship and helping others is what matters most.

+Book
-List
Jen
Mar 19, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: childrens
Cute story about a little elephant trying to be a super hero and help others. However, if I were his mother, he'd be in timeout a lot, because his well-intentioned activities don't always have good results, at least for others!
EG
Nov 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Super Jumbo is a very cute story about a little elephant who has good intentions as a "superhero". However, these good intentions often result in more problems. Lots of pictures and minimal text makes this a perfect story for preschoolers.
Reading Rainbow Community
Apr 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: picture-books
An adorable and laugh-out-loud fun story! It's hard to resist a superhero who stops traffic to help snails cross the street, and is able to ignore (well, almost ignore) the Sweet Shop. Super Jumbo is irresistible!
Vonnie
Mar 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I love this book for its limited language & delightful character. The pictures tell the story as much as the words. Jumbo is a delightful character with personality & the message of friendship is of course so universal & very well done in this book!
Great Books
Mar 12, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ages-5-8
Little Jumbo may be small in stature, but he has a big imagination. Fighting crime wherever he goes (whether it is necessary or not) Little Jumbo is determined to save the day as he embraces his secret identity: Super Jumbo!
Reviewer # 21
Silence
Audience: Preschool / Grade School
Illustrations: So cute!
Plot / Review: LOVE THIS! It's hard being a superhero, but this little guy is adorableness personified! Such a cute book about trying your best, even if you fail sometimes.
Read Aloud: Yes, but it's a solid one-on-one read too.
Michele Knott
This book made me laugh out loud and want to hug it - Jumbo has a great heart and funny attempts at super-heroism!
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Even Aliens Need Snacks
  • There's a Bear on My Chair
  • Have You Seen Elephant? (Gecko Press Titles)
  • Poor Little Guy
  • Cows to the Rescue
  • Sir Simon: Super Scarer
  • If I Had a Gryphon
  • Fly!
  • Quit Calling Me a Monster!
  • The House That Zack Built
  • Cookiesaurus Rex
  • Shark In The Park
  • Click, Clack, Surprise!
  • Carrot Soup
  • The Birthday Box
  • Playtime?
  • Marigold Bakes a Cake
  • Who Wants a Tortoise?
See similar books…
8 followers
Fred Koehler is an artist and writer whose real-life misadventures include sunken boats, shark encounters, and getting caught in a hurricane. Whether freediving in the Gulf of Mexico or backpacking across Africa, Fred's sense of adventure and awe of nature overflow into his characters' stories. He won a Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Award for his illustrations for One Day, The End. Fred is passiona ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »