Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Apothecary of Mantua: A Supernatural Sequel to Romeo and Juliet” as Want to Read:
The Apothecary of Mantua: A Supernatural Sequel to Romeo and Juliet
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

The Apothecary of Mantua: A Supernatural Sequel to Romeo and Juliet

by
4.14  ·  Rating details ·  7 ratings  ·  4 reviews
This is the story of a drug deal gone bad. Having committed the crime of selling a potent poison to a desperate youth, a destitute apothecary must decide how to spend his ill-gained fortune. Resolving to start his career afresh, he flees to the city of Verona to set up a new shop of medicinal healing and alchemical discovery. But plans go awry when he finds himself in the ...more
Paperback, Trade Edition, 194 pages
Published April 30th 2015 by Eightfold Wrath Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Apothecary of Mantua, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Apothecary of Mantua

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
Average rating 4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  7 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Apothecary of Mantua: A Supernatural Sequel to Romeo and Juliet
Carol Cao
May 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Satisfying Brew of Shakespeare Sequel-Parody
Romeo and Juliet should have stayed stiff in the crypt. No, not just to guarantee the classicness of the tragedy, so ingrained in the required readings in English classrooms or a Taylor Swift song. It would have been lackluster if Romeo and Juliet ran off together, healthy and rosy-fleshed, into the sunset.
If the romance, or tragedy, of William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet somehow must continue beyond their destined demise, you might have gues
...more
Phill Layman
Oct 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
For Fans of Tim Burton and William Shakespeare!
First of all I am a big fan of seeing Shakespeare performed, and Romeo and Juliet is one of my favorites. Mainly because is a Comedy turned Tragic. What Aaron did was take that Tragedy and follow through to the logical end, closing all the plot holes with a dark comedic twist! I was lucky to read this early on and I think the Bard himself would have appreciated the ending! If you liked Romeo and Juliet, you'll love The Apothecary of Mantua. ...more
Kati
Nov 13, 2015 rated it liked it
I won this book though Goodreads giveaways.

This book was definitely an unusual and interesting read. I thought the ending was a bit odd but it was a compelling and imaginative sequel. It was easy enough to read, written partly Shakespearian-like and partly like a novel.
Jutta
Mar 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Oh my I have to say I love the narrator Scott Richard Ehredt. Once you have heard his nurse with a Brummie accent you'll never go back. There is quite a wide cast of characters yet I didn't get confused as to who was talking. I really enjoyed listening to his narration.

The story is a really great idea. Being honest I can remember the rough outline of Romeo and Juliet but not the finer details so I don't know if I missed out on any jokes or references in that regard. Having said that it didn't d
...more
Simon Gibson
rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2019
Aaron Hollingsworth
Oct 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Rusty Callahan
rated it liked it
Jan 24, 2019
SARIT
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Sangeeta
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Shomeret
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Darren Mitton
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Regina Hinckley
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Stacia Chappell
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Terry Pearson
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Angelique
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Kim Myers
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Debbie Carnes
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Laura
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Emiley Allen Bowes
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
M.L.
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
A. Hunt
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Theresa Cummings
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Joy Yerkie
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Catherine
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Todd Rumsey
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
MIPat
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Candra Hodge
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
A. C. H..
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Turning (The Forsaken Series Book 2)
See similar books…
Aaron Hollingsworth is the author of the ongoing science fantasy series Four Winds-One Storm, the weird fiction novella The Apothecary of Mantua: A Supernatural Sequel to Romeo and Juliet, and the French swashbuckling fantasy novella The Broken Bards of Paris.

He self-publishes his books under the press name Eighfold Wrath Books, and lives in Kansas City, MO with his wife and cover artist, Stephanie.

Fun Fact: Aaron is a
...more