Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Firedragon Rising (Flynn Nightsider, #0.75)” as Want to Read:
Firedragon Rising (Flynn Nightsider, #0.75)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Firedragon Rising

(Flynn Nightsider 0.2)

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Sinister plots. An underground rebellion. And a treacherous road filled with monsters and enemies unknown.

It's been three months since Aurelia survived the International Challenge—an elite monster-fighting competition. And the Triumvirate has been keeping a close eye on her ever since … as if they expect her to cause them more trouble.

They’re right.

Now that she knows abou
...more
ebook, 80 pages
Published August 4th 2015 by Glass House Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Firedragon Rising, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Firedragon Rising

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Meghan
Oct 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
This is the continuing story of Aurelia, the Firedragon. I really liked the first book... and liked this one even more than that. The end of it was so good... and yet so sad, because I just didn't want the book to end. I't is a great adventure - just when I thought it couldn't get any better, there are several heart-catching moments - and I liked learning more about her, the Trimvirate and the Rebellion. Mary is such an amazing author and I cannot wait to read the next book in this series. The o ...more
Tash McAdam
Jul 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Oh man, I LOVE this series. It really is a breath of (monster-y) fresh air. The evil comes in two guises. The government who rule the world with an iron fist, and the actual evil-monsters who want to eat you. In a world run by the evil Triumvir, ostensibly protecting the common people from the horrors of the underworld, but in reality oppressing and abusing their power, Aurelia Sun refuses to be part of the lies any more. Determined to join the rebellion and fight for the cause, she heads off in ...more
Ula
Jun 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
*ARC review*

I am so ready for the series to 'officially' begin with Flynn Nightsider! The second novella in the series was just what I needed to bridge the wait.
It wasn't as kickass as the first one, The Firedragon, but I still enjoyed it a lot. I can't shake this Harry Potter feel when I read about this world, and even though I love HP and think it's all great, I hate that my mind keeps jumping into another world and another story when I try to commit to this one.
I love Aurelia, she's so kickas
...more
Stephen Kozeniewski
Mar 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Another home run for Mary Fan! And another delightful romp in the world of Aurelia "The Firedragon" Sun. My only complaint (if you can call it that) was that FIREDRAGON RISING was too short. I sincerely hope Fan will consider buckling down and committing to giving us fans a full-length novel in this world some day. But until then, we'll have to settle for tantalizing glimpses like this one.

In case you missed the prequel, Aurelia Sun, known as "The Firedragon" is the premiere non-magical fighter
...more
Sharon Stevenson
Dec 13, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This is an awesome young adult paranormal adventure tale with a fiery and fearless main character. Interesting take on magic and the paranormal. Highly recommended!
Kim Dyer
If you enjoyed the first novella, chances are very good that you will enjoy this one as well. It presents the second half of Aurelia's story. In The Firedragon, she learned of the corruption of the Enchanters - the magical-wielding individuals who rule society. In The Firedragon Rising, she makes her daring escape to join the rebellion.

The setting of this book shows the same promise as The Firedragon, but also suffers from the same flaws. Fan's world-building is impressive, introducing a world t
...more
Carrie White
I have to admit, I'm REALLY starting to wish that Aurelia was our main character for the series. I adore her spunky attitude, her flagrant disregard for authority, and -- most of all -- her ability to kick monster butt, no matter where she is. This girl is on a mission, and in this book we find that it's a lot deeper and more complicated than we'd realized. Although there's not as much action in this second short from Mary Fan, we get a LOT more character development, and begin to see the world ...more
George Ebey
Jun 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The tough and feisty Aurelia Sun is back in this follow up to the action packed, Firedragon. This time around, Aurelia is making her escape from a corrupt government that is doing everything in their power to keep her kind in check. On her journey, she faces a myriad of enemies who want to force her to go back. But the Firedragon is not one to go quietly.

I really liked the chase elements to this story. As Aurelia is being hunted, we get a real sense of tension and trills that carry through to th
...more
Benjamin
rated it it was amazing
Jan 19, 2016
Nic Eaton
rated it liked it
Dec 14, 2016
Breeze
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2018
Holly
marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2015
Mary Fan
Jul 18, 2015 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Ross Harrison
marked it as to-read
Jul 18, 2015
Gailz Goodiez
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2015
Ivan Amberlake
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2015
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2015
Cynthia
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2015
Karissa Laurel
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2015
Diana Southammavong
marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2015
JUB
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Kelsey
marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2015
SARIT
marked it as to-read
Aug 11, 2015
K
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2015
Beiza
added it
Feb 25, 2016
Kate Moretti
marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2016
A.Fisher
marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2016
Claire
marked it as to-read
May 27, 2016
Lela Jones
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2016
Fabiana Alvarez
marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2016
Courtney
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2016
Igrowastreesgrow
marked it as to-read
May 05, 2017
Alice Arnold
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2017
Julia Oelbaum
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2017
Dianne
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2017
Philip Cantrell
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2017
Tannie
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
282 followers
Mary Fan is a hopeless dreamer, whose mind insists on spinning tales of “what if.” As a music major in college, she told those stories through compositions. Now, she tells them through books—a habit she began as soon as she could pick up a pencil.

Mary lives in New Jersey and has a B.A. from Princeton University. When she’s not scheming to create new worlds, she enjoys kickboxing, opera singing, an
...more

Other books in the series

Flynn Nightsider (1 books)
  • Flynn Nightsider and the Edge of Evil (Flynn Nightsider, #1)