Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Miss Fortune” as Want to Read:
Miss Fortune
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Miss Fortune

4.38  ·  Rating details ·  69 Ratings  ·  61 Reviews
"Who would think that my inability to pronounce the letter R would turn my life upside down and lead me from Ukraine to South Africa?"

Albina Hume is often asked the same question - how did she meet her South African husband John, a property developer and a rhino breeder, who is 36 years her senior? She has always kept her response simple. Until now ...

Her childhood fear th
...more
Kindle Edition, 255 pages
Published May 14th 2015 by Ardua Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Miss Fortune, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Miss Fortune

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Dianne
Everyone has a story to tell and few act on it! Thank goodness Albina Hume took the chance to tell her story, warts and all in her autobiography, Miss Fortune. Be amazed at the many facets of Albina as she tells her story through her own eyes and heart with clarity, a touch of deprecation and the naivete of a young woman becoming bedazzled then disenchanted by the world around her, until she finally found what she was looking for on another continent.

Follow Albina from her teen years, in a small
...more
Catherine Ford
Jun 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: other
http://www.bookrantorrave.com/blog/mi...

This book was generously provided by the author at no cost in return for an honest review.

This is the first time I have read a memoir. I am pretty ignorant of the genre. But, wow am I glad that I read this one!

English is Albina’s third language after Russian and Ukrainian, so I was pleasantly surprised at just how well the book was written. It was easy to read, and very engaging. I could imagine all the places that were described. The book is rich in det
...more
Lola Smirnova

Miss Fortune is a fascinating memoir of a brave Ukrainian woman, who tells a story of her hard journey to find love and happiness.

It took one silly kid in school to infuse great fears and complexes into a little girl Albina. Those fears of rejection and being unworthy have dictated her life. While trying to survive in the faltering economy of corrupt post-Soviet Ukraine, Albina went through really rough experiences: rape, betrayal, illegal crossing of the border, prison, beating by the corrupt p
...more
Michelle Ryles
Sep 13, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: galleys-read
This is a very quick read about the life of Albina Hume, and what a life it is! Despite everything that she has gone through, you can feel that Albina did it all with a smile on her face as she refused to give up her dreams of finding a husband.

I found that Albina's naivety caused her to be very unlucky - from taking lifts from the wrong man to illegally entering and working in Greece. Although it is the nature of Albina not to think of these things as bad luck but as experiences that she amazi
...more
Dania Rosa Nasca
Jan 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
What a journey! From Ukraine to Greece, back to Ukraine and to South Africa. Miss Fortune is a brutally honest memoir of a young woman who has dreams and is not afraid to pursue them. This young woman is a go getter. I wish author had written more about life in Ukraine under the Soviet Union and about life in the rhino ranch in South Africa, 4 star. She encourages readers to live their dreams and not their fears. Good read.

Dania R. Nasca
Lights Out: A Cuban Memoir of Betrayal and Survival.
Dennis Littrell
Jul 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
She was looking for Mr. Fortune and apparently found Mr. Right.

Two things really surprised me about this book. One, it is totally engrossing and very intense. Two, this is a style of memoir that is new to me. By that I mean, presumably all the events actually happened more or less as presented; however there is no way Miss Fortune herself, Albina Hume our author, could have remembered all that dialogue. So she has reconstructed the dialogue, put the words in quotation marks and guess what? It wo
...more
Rebecca
Oct 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Albina Hume’s candid and engrossing memoir is unlike anything I have ever read, and I enjoyed it very much! It read so much like an entertaining novel, that I had to remind myself it was a memoir.

What is so remarkable to me is how well written it is, considering that English is not the author’s first or even second language, but her third language. Yet it is flawless in its perfect and flowing use of the English language, and there were no editing errors, which is rather amazing in this day of I
...more
Mark Fine
Oct 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
A candid and unflinching memoir that makes for a satisfying read. I've been hesitant about reading memoirs, until now! My reasoning was based on the flawed assumption that only the lives of the famous and notorious would be of any interest. Needless to say Ms. Hume's 'Miss Fortune' was a genuine eye-opener as I read about a young woman, burdened with an unfortunate speech impediment, travelling the world in search of love and acceptance. And how unlikely her story turns out to be from the humble ...more
Frank Scozzari
Sep 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Miss Fortune is a touching, heartfelt memoir; one I will read over and over again. It is an inspirational book about chasing dreams, finding oneself, and not giving up despite overwhelming obstacles.

From a Ukrainian village behind the iron curtain to an exotic animal ranch in South Africa, Albina Hume takes you on this mesmerizing, romantic journey. Shakespeare once said: "The course of true love never did run smooth.” In Miss Fortune, we find this to be true not only for love but also for the p
...more
Karen
Oct 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book introduces you to Albina; on her way from child to grown woman - searching for the one true love outside of the Ukraine.

With Miss Fortune, Albina Hume has created an unforgettable memoir. The story comprises a variety of interesting characters with sufficient depth and an excellent combination of a captivating journey with unanticipated events - some dreadful, some unbelievable, some too good to be true. I had a great time reading Miss Fortune - it is a very captivating and heart-warmi
...more
Maxine
Sep 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
Albina and I met in New York City in July 2015 where she gave me a hard copy of "Miss Fortune." Though the reader knows exactly how it will end, the story of how Albina got to the ranch in South Africa is nothing short of incredible and makes for an engaging memoir.

If anything, my main complaint is that "Miss Fortune" isn't long enough. The end felt a bit rushed especially in comparison to the pace and detail of the first three-quarters of the book. But if anything, that speaks to Albina's abili
...more
Dermot Davis
Sep 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Really liked this first-person account of beginning unhappy in Ukraine and ending up happy in South Africa with a good portion of time spent in Greece in-between. Although some of the decisions made were questionable and she ended up in quite a few precarious situations that could have gone horribly wrong, I was quite glad that perhaps it was her naivete and innocence that saved her on more than one occasion. Reading this account, one can easily see how people can get themselves into trouble so ...more
Ann
Sep 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
From the first pages of the autobiographical book "Miss Fortune" by Albina Hume I plunged into an exciting and very touching life journey of author. The book is very authentically depicts the realities of post-Soviet life, and when reading it, you realize, that it was a really hard time. This book is a real and compelling story of Cinderella from a small village, which has become a princess of Africa! Together with her, we worried about her downs and enjoyed her ups. But her every move was dicta ...more
Lisa
May 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
I was given a free e-book from the author to write an honest review. For me it was more of 3.5 stars. I found the book to be a very interesting story and one as an American woman one I cannot even imagine. The book starts off with a young girl born in a small Ukrainian village who is teased because of her trouble pronouncing the letter r. This makes her self conscious and makes her feel unwanted and unloved. In her search for love and value she is involved with all kinds of people and crazy situ ...more
Di
**I was sent a manuscript of this book, so I'm not entirely certain how different it is to the completed published version.**

This book is a compelling memoir of the life of a determined and resourceful young woman born in Ukraine before the dissolution of the Soviet Union. The story flows easily from page to page keeping the reader entangled within a web of determination, political turmoil, danger, intrigue and above all, a search for love.

Patricia Gitt
Aug 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A young woman’s journey to her dreams
Albina Hume’s memoir takes the reader from her close family in Eastern Europe’s Ukraine to South Africa with numerous detours along the way. It is a world totally unfamiliar to me as an American, albeit a well-traveled woman, still the road taken was one I could only think about in terms of having faced the devil and surviving due to Albina’s inner compass knowing right from wrong and having a spine of steel.
As a young girl, Albina, was raised on fairy tales
...more
Rhea Peterson
I read this in one day, I found it really interesting. This memoir really lets the reader into a different world. Albina writes of a very scary life, I do wish she had writing more about her feelings.
Brooke
May 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This memoir was very entertaining. It showed a very different and difficult road to travel when finding love.
Margaret
Dec 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A brave story of a young girl to reach for her dream
Darth Vix
Aug 27, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I would like to give a huge thanks to the author Albina Hume who gave me the chance to read this book in exchange for an honest review!

Miss Fortune is a memoir that follows Albina through her life from childhood to adulthood. If you have been a follower on my blog for awhile you already know how much of a fan I am of memoirs. I absolutely LOVE to read a good memoir and value what they have to teach me by way of someone else's experiences in life. This book was definitely interesting and at times
...more
Jennifer Lara
Oct 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
Miss Fortune by Albina Hume is a memoir of one woman’s journey from poverty in the Ukraine to animal activism in Africa. It is a life which many of us can hardly imagine but a classic story of picking yourself up from the dust and creating a great life in any way possible.
The story opens with a prologue, Albina is eagerly awaiting the arrival of her wedding invitations which features a butterfly as a representation of the beginning of new life. She lives on a ranch in Africa with her fiancé, Joh
...more
Michael Lynes
Aug 29, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"Miss Fortune" by Albina Hume is a very well written autobiography. In this novel length work of non-fiction we are privileged to become acquainted with Ms. Hume and her interesting and misadventure filled young life.
I will mention at the outset that, as other reviewers have noted, English is a non-native tongue to the author. Despite this fact the writing in this story is seamless, and Ms. Hume's use of the language excellent. As expected with this type of autobiographical work, dialog is more
...more
Shell Baker
Dec 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Wow what a brilliant memoir, I absolutely loved it. I read this in one afternoon I simply couldn't put it down. This is a very gripping, powerful and interesting story about Albina's journey from a child to where she is now and how she got there.

The prologue starts off with Albina waiting for her wedding invitations where she is to marry John Hume in July. We get an insight to Albina's life peaceful and happy life now with the look at the rhino ranch. Then we are taken back to Albina's childhood
...more
Svetlana Janzen
Nov 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I have received the copy of Miss Fortune from the author in exchange for an honest review.
I was also born in the USSR, furthermore I was born in Donetsk. So I know what the author was writing about as fact and not by hearsay. That's why this book is incredibly interesting to me.
This is a story about how a totalitarian society, being deprived of liberty, humiliated atypical people since their childhood.
Being insulted by a rude childhood boy, Albina decided that she would not have the chance t
...more
Natalia Kuprinenko
Jun 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I would like to share my thoughts about the book I have read from cover to cover with great pleasure — memoir “Miss Fortune” by Albina Hume. As you know, it is the first book, that was written by Albina. And it's very important to mention, that she wrote it in English — her third language (her first two languages are Ukrainian and Russian). I was honored to be one of that people, who got the copy of “Miss Fortune” among the first. That evening I opened this book just for looking it through, but ...more
Grady
Sep 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
‘I chose the butterfly as the special symbol of my wedding because it perfectly reflected the new beginning of my life.’

Ukrainian author Albina Hume moved to South Africa at age 24 after a childhood in the Ukraine. Her reason for writing the memoir MISS FORTUNE is to share the story of how some childhood fears can dictate your present and future. She is an optimist and wishes to encourage the universal power to make dreams come true.
In a near conversational style she relives her childhood in th
...more
Luccia Gray
Feb 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
This is a touching memoir of Albina’s life, remembered on her happiest day, her wedding day. She tells us the story of her childhood dreams, first love or crushes, a series of mostly unsatisfactory adult relationships, and disappointments. It all started when she was at school and her anxiety at being different due to her inability to pronounce the letter ‘r’ as most people do. Her parents wisely sent her to a boarding school, which was more supportive, and her marks improved so much that she wa ...more
Margaret Chadwick
Jun 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Author: Albina Hume
Title: Miss Fortune
Genre: Women, Health/Family/Lifestyle, Conservation

Synopsis: "Who would think that my inability to pronounce the letter R would turn my life upside down and lead me from Ukraine to South Africa?"
Albina Hume is often asked the same question - how did she meet her South African husband John, a property developer and a rhino breeder, who is 36 years her senior? She has always kept her response simple. Until now...
Her childhood fear that no one in Ukraine would
...more
Rosemary Ellis
Jun 09, 2015 rated it liked it
I received a free e-book from the author to write an honest review. Initially, I was interested in this memoir because I had recently read a couple other books focused in South Africa and I wanted to learn more about that country. I quickly found that although the story both begins and ends in South Africa, the bulk of the action takes place in the author's home country, Ukraine, and in Greece.

The book is so easy to read that I never would have thought English was not the author's first or even
...more
Barbara Webb
Dec 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"Miss Fortune" is a non fiction book but the way it reads is like a piece of fiction because of the unbelievable adventures that Albina writes about.
As a child she experienced problems because she couldn't pronounce the "r". There were no speech therapy sessions in her village so she suffered greatly at school. She recalls these times with dry humour and sometimes poignancy.
When looking to improve her qualifications, she experienced bureaucratic discrimination fir the simple reason that she came
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
21 followers
Albina Hume is the founder of Future4Rhino - an educational campaign to raise awareness on the plight of rhinos, and the author of the memoir Miss Fortune - an adventurous love story, which became a Finalist at the Kindle Book Awards 2016.
More about Albina Hume

Nonfiction Deals

  • Masters of the Air: America's Bomber Boys Who Fought the Air War Against Nazi Germany
    $15.99 $3.99
  • The Monster of Florence
    $10.99 $2.99
  • The Westies: Inside New York's Irish Mob
    $9.99 $1.99
  • April 1865 (P.S.)
    $11.74 $1.99
  • Jesus Is ______: Find a New Way to Be Human
    $7.99 $0.99
  • Scent of the Missing: Love and Partnership with a Search-and-Rescue Dog
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Lab 257
    $8.74 $1.99
  • How Not to Hate Your Husband After Kids
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Girl in the Woods: A Memoir
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Power of When: Discover Your Chronotype--and the Best Time to Eat Lunch, Ask for a Raise, Have Sex, Write a Novel, Take Your Meds, and More
    $14.99 $2.99
  • The Last Lecture
    $10.99 $2.99
  • Love Wins: A Book About Heaven, Hell, and the Fate of Every Person Who Ever Lived
    $12.74 $1.99
  • Not Tonight, Honey: Wait 'Til I'm A Size 6
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The Defining Decade: Why Your Twenties Matter--And How to Make the Most of Them Now
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Ladies of Liberty: The Women Who Shaped Our Nation
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Ends of the World: Volcanic Apocalypses, Lethal Oceans, and Our Quest to Understand Earth's Past Mass Extinctions
    $12.99 $1.99
  • Feast: True Love in and out of the Kitchen
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Last of the Doughboys: The Forgotten Generation and Their Forgotten World War
    $15.99 $1.99
  • Vaccinated: One Man's Quest to Defeat the World's Deadliest Diseases
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology
    $12.99 $2.99
  • An Appetite For Wonder: The Making Of A Scientist
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Letters of Note: An Eclectic Collection of Correspondence Deserving of a Wider Audience
    $27.99 $2.99
  • Waiter Rant: Thanks for the Tip-Confessions of a Cynical Waiter
    $8.74 $1.99
  • Dakota: A Spiritual Geography (Dakotas)
    $13.99 $1.99
  • Restless: Because You Were Made for More
    $7.49 $1.99
  • Fifth Avenue, 5 A.M.: Audrey Hepburn, Breakfast at Tiffany's, and The Dawn of the Modern Woman
    $10.24 $1.99
  • The Song of the Dodo: Island Biogeography in an Age of Extinctions
    $16.99 $2.99
  • Happiness: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After
    $13.99 $3.99
  • Man-Eater: The Life and Legend of an American Cannibal
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Pukka: The Pup After Merle
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Buddhist Boot Camp
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Flour: A Baker's Collection of Spectacular Recipes
    $21.99 $3.99
  • The Longest Day: The Classic Epic of D-Day
    $12.99 $3.99
  • Present Over Perfect: Leaving Behind Frantic for a Simpler, More Soulful Way of Living
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Van Gogh
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Lost in the Cosmos: The Last Self-Help Book
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Secrets of the Millionaire Mind: Mastering the Inner Game of Wealth
    $11.49 $1.99
  • Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Church of the Small Things: The Million Little Pieces That Make Up a Life
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Capital Gaines: Smart Things I Learned Doing Stupid Stuff
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Moving Beyond Words: Essays on Age, Rage, Sex, Power, Money, Muscles: Breaking the Boundaries of Gender
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Woman's Worth
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Do the Work
    $4.99 $1.49
  • The Lost Tribe of Coney Island: Headhunters, Luna Park, and the Man Who Pulled Off the Spectacle of the Century
    $4.99 $1.99
  • I Suck at Girls
    $10.74 $1.99
  • The Beauty Myth: How Images of Beauty Are Used Against Women
    $14.99 $2.99
  • A Mind of Your Own: The Truth About Depression and How Women Can Heal Their Bodies to Reclaim Their Lives
    $18.99 $1.99
  • Band of Brothers: E Company, 506th Regiment, 101st Airborne from Normandy to Hitler's Eagle's Nest
    $12.99 $3.99
  • Peace Is Every Breath: A Practice for Our Busy Lives
    $9.49 $1.99
  • Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art
    $14.99 $1.99
  • Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now--As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It, and Long for It
    $7.24 $1.99
  • The World's Last Night: And Other Essays
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Tracks: One Woman's Journey Across 1,700 Miles of Australian Outback
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Daring to Drive: A Saudi Woman's Awakening
    $13.99 $1.99
  • Hell's Princess: The Mystery of Belle Gunness, Butcher of Men
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Life
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Seeing Further: The Story of Science and the Royal Society
    $13.24 $2.99
  • Grace, Not Perfection (with Bonus Content): Celebrating Simplicity, Embracing Joy
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Promise and the Dream: The Untold Story of Martin Luther King, Jr. And Robert F. Kennedy
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Through the Eyes of a Lion: Facing Impossible Pain, Finding Incredible Power
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Why We Run: A Natural History
    $9.49 $1.99
  • Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Road to Jonestown: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple
    $12.99 $2.99
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »