Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Withering Banyan” as Want to Read:
The Withering Banyan
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Withering Banyan

by
3.38  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  14 reviews
About the Book
A well-to-do business family, whose members are torn apart by a turbulent father-son relationship shrouded in mistrust, suspicion, and contempt for one another – a result of the vagaries of the son's mind and its maladies – suffers silently. Well-wishers fear that Badri is suffering from a mental derangement, and is on the brink of wiping away his father, Siv
...more
Paperback, Large print, 357 pages
Published May 18th 2015 by Leadstart Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Withering Banyan, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Withering Banyan

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-51
3.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  14 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Komal Priyani
Sep 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
Review :- The Withering Banyan By Hyma Goparaju

Congratulations For ur debut book and Thanks to Author Paradise for counting me in your "Reviewer List"

I conducted a survey in my family to know how many of them are stress free or never felt lonely ?? Or how many believes that a person visiting a Psychiatrist is a total nut case and how many think its like "Defaming the families prestige and legacy"
And Trust me when i say that only 20% of my family members said that they are stress free or never
...more
Pankaj Goyal
Aug 02, 2015 rated it really liked it
A look into the modern Indian English fiction every now and then brings an apprehension about the quality of Indian English novels at the present time. While a number of novels are published every year, a large number of these disappoint you or do not leave any sort of impression on you. However, there are moments in life when one is grateful for giving you a ray of hope. And, surely reading ‘The Withering Banyan’ by Hyma Goparaju was one such moment for me. The rhythmic but powerful voice in th ...more
Tushti Bhatia
Aug 31, 2015 rated it really liked it
This story revolves around the story of a family whose most of the members are suffering from brain disorder which is genetically transferred.. in this disease people can easily interpret reality, in an abnormal manner..this book is basically written keeping in mind all the pros and cons of this disease and how mari family dealt with the situations..one of the member of this family was affected by this very same disease and the whole family started getting effective in continuity, which hampered ...more
Mani Khanna
Aug 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
Plot:

The story is divided into two parts, one dealing with the present and other dealing with the past.

The Withering Banyan is the story of Marri Family in which many of the members are suffering with a genetically transferred brain disorder, Schizophrenia, in which people interpret reality abnormally, hallucinate and stay isolated. One of the members of this family got affected by it and the rest of the four generations inherit it from him. Till the four older generations, people preferred nam
...more
Himanshika Sharma
Dec 06, 2015 rated it liked it
Synopsis -
A well-to-do business family, whose members are torn apart by a turbulent father-son relationship shrouded in mistrust, suspicion, and contempt for one another- a result of the vagaries of the son's mind and its maladies - suffers silently. Well-wishers fear that Badri is suffering from a mental derangement, and is on the brink of wiping away his father, Siveswara's hard-earned fame and fortune. Unaware of the boundless periphery of its affliction, descendants of the five-generation li
...more
Divya Ramnath Bandodkar
The story:

The story begins with a frightening incident where Natya’s mother smashes a large mirror and talks about killing a wicked woman. She is suffering from Schizophrenia. Natya is the daughter of Shraddha Devi who comes from the Marri family. The Marri family which is popular by the name Irram Sweet Makers was considered the best in the village. The fame of Irram Sweet House kept diminishing after the death of Natya’s great grandfather, Siveswara. Lack of proper funds and interest in busine
...more
Ravi Gurunani
Jan 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Book Name- The Withering Banyan 
Author Name- Hyma Goparaju 
Publisher- Frog Books
Pages- 357
Price- ₹295/$12

Blurb- 
A well-to-do business family, whose members are torn apart by a turbulent father-son relationship shrouded in mistrust, suspicion, and contempt for one another- a result of the vagaries of the son's mind and its maladies - suffers silently. Well-wishers fear that Badri is suffering from a mental derangement, and is on the brink of wiping away his father, Siveswara's hard-earned fame an
...more
Sunil Parashar
Aug 29, 2015 rated it did not like it
The withering banyan is a tale of rise of one Marri family to affluence and its gradual fall due to Schizophrenia – a brain disorder genetically passed along its four generations, which the members ignorantly interpret as madness, till Natya, the granddaughter of the Marri family, comes to the rescue of the family.

The tone of the prose is biographical. And the precise, elegant, and graceful writing of the author has nicely managed to convey the story. Also the author’s love for the language is c
...more
Dhwani Swadia
Nov 22, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2015, i-own
Read the full review here: https://thereandtheir.wordpress.com/2...

This book deals with the stigma attached to mental disorders in Indian Societies. It’s true isn’t it? Going to a psychiatrist is still kept under wraps. If something is wrong with our physical body, we visit the said specialist….But if something is wrong with our brain, we need to hush it up.

The author has managed to highlight this fact beautifully in this book. It is a commendable efforts to not only tell a story, but also raise
...more
Pannala Ramachandra Reddy
May 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
" the Withering Banyan" by Hyma Goparaju ... few of days back I finished reading it ... and its really wonderful one with very interesting story, with an important social subject "schizophrenia" ..... and the other importantance of this book is ...she narrates the story in an exceptional manner that it creats intrest chapter by chapter till last 38.... with inclosure of lots and lots of much information of many things... we wish her heart fully to have many more from her pen.
Mounika Lakkakula
Sep 19, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: give-aways
I sincerely thank the author Hyma Goparaju for sending me a copy through Goodreads giveaways.It's an interesting novel with awareness towards the mental disorders etc.The story also guides us through the developmental thought process of youth in those days.Schizophrenia was well explained.My English vocabulary also stepped up a higher by this novel.It's a wonderful read.I thank the author once again.
Surbhi Sareen
Feb 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book is a perfect example of Social and Domestic Novel. First of all, I loved it as it is a full length novel. It is beautifully written and the aroma of words makes you nostalgic. The plot is really strong and the way characters are dealt is impeccable. Natya and Badri are the main protagonists and the story keeps you glued and yes, it takes time but after reading you end up with a big smile. The title fantastically justify the thought process of the novel.
Madhuri Varma
Oct 04, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: review-copies
An interesting but lengthy read, not for quick readers. (3/5)
Full review- http://wp.me/p2vbKI-7Y
Rajeshreddy
May 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
Good
Aradhna Tiwari
rated it liked it
Nov 30, 2015
Sangeeta
rated it it was ok
Aug 31, 2015
Nisha
rated it it was ok
Oct 01, 2016
Amruta Joshi
rated it really liked it
May 01, 2016
Anuradha
rated it it was ok
Nov 06, 2016
Richa
rated it really liked it
Feb 24, 2017
Savitha S
rated it liked it
Jan 01, 2017
Hyma Goparaju
May 21, 2015 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Ash Bansal
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Aadya Grover
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Mudit Agrawal
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Shraddha
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Shivani
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Aishwarya
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Akhila Nasina
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Aysha
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Sangini Kaul
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Vignesh Bharathi S
marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2015
Saravanan Pandi
marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2015
Vaishnavi Varma
marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2015
Avenger
marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2015
MissUnderstoodGenius
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Kavya
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Ashutosh Garg
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Neha Sharma
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Manander Singh
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2015
Arpita Subhadarshinee
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2015
Kalyan Panja
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2015
Anamica
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2015
Vishal Chugh
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
Anindhitha Shetty
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
Jaideep Khanduja
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
Gita Madhu
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
Deepika garg
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
Kanchan Pawar
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
Kanchan Rajendra
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
5 followers
I am a Management Professional based in Hyderabad. I have done my schooling from KV, NTPC, Ramagundam, college from SDMSMK, Vijayawada and MBA from ITM Warangal. I obtained my CFA charter from ICFAI, Hyderabad and am currently pursuing PhD from IBS Business School, Hyderabad. I have worked with corporates like Reed Business Information, Tata Teleservices and Bharti Airtel Limited and am now associ ...more