Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Breakaways” as Want to Read:
The Breakaways
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Breakaways

by
3.20  ·  Rating details ·  751 ratings  ·  212 reviews
Quiet, sensitive Faith starts middle school already worrying about how she will fit in. To her surprise, Amanda, a popular eighth grader, convinces her to join the school soccer team, the Bloodhounds. Having never played soccer in her life, Faith ends up on the C team, a ragtag group that’s way better at drama than at teamwork. Although they are awful at soccer, Faith and ...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published March 5th 2019 by First Second
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Breakaways, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Breakaways

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  751 ratings  ·  212 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]
This was one of the cutest middle grade graphic novels ever. It was so fluffy, and had so many heartwarming moments, and an incredibly diverse cast of characters! It follows this young girl, Faith, who's been convinced to join her school's soccer team by a popular girl she wants to impress. The team is broken up into a few cliques, and there are some characters who seem to fit certain stereotypes (like the hot girly girls, or the punk band girls, etc.), but we're given tiny windows into their lives to ...more
Rod Brown
Too many characters, none of whom really like being on a soccer team together, each get too few pages to have much of a character arc, especially with way too many pages wasted on a completely pointless recurring fantasy sequence. Nice diversity at least.
Liz
Apr 15, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I really liked some aspects, but overall it was just kind of all over the place.
Chelsey
Apr 30, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: 2019
I kept checking to see if my copy had pages ripped out, I was so confused.
Renata
This was a very cute, diverse graphic novel, including a gentle trans coming out story. It reads a bit like an anthology--there are a lot of characters followed, and it doesn't necessarily feel like they all get their due, so I hope this is the start of a series. I think it'll be a good one for fans of Raina et al.
Katie Lawrence
Mar 15, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novel
What I loved:
- Great representation and diversity!
- I loved the art style a great deal. Each character was distinct.
- I love that this is a sports book about people who are not very good at it and also are not sure if they want to keep playing the sport. As a former soccer player who did not enjoy it, it makes me happy that there are books that present that feeling as ok. Wanting to belong but not understanding or liking the sport you're playing to belong.
- A great focus on self di
...more
Ashley Tenn
May 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I think this might be one of my favorite books of all time.
Eva B.
Sep 13, 2019 rated it it was ok
1.5 stars
The art was very cute, but that's about it. There was a very diverse cast, but there were so many characters that it's hard to follow them, and we don't get to know them super well. For example, Faith and V are supposed to be so close that Faith breaks down when she finds out that V is moving away, but all we see of their friendship is the two of them having a sleepover. Same with Sammy and Marie, we see just short glimpses of them hanging out, and then in 5 pages Sammy comes out
...more
Books on Stereo
Mar 31, 2019 rated it liked it
Far too many characters with little to no payoff.
Jennifer Hill
Jun 18, 2019 rated it did not like it
I was really excited about the diversity of this book and enjoyed the small glimpses of diversity, but the character development was VERY spotty. I think there was too much shoved into one book. The characters could have focused on one or two, but it was really too many. I felt like it jumped around too much from one person’s story to another and it was hard for me to keep up with who was who. I had to go back and look to figure out what was going on. I know the main character was Faith, but the ...more
Jessica Fletcher-Fierro
Jun 04, 2019 rated it did not like it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Ms. Yingling
Jan 09, 2019 rated it liked it
E ARC from Edelweiss Plus

Faith is very shy, but when she starts her new school, the popular Amanda asks her to be on the soccer team. As a fifth grader, she is excited to play with older students, but isn't pleased when she ends up on the "C" team. A lot of the girls are mean, but she is befriended by Maria and Sodacan, who tell her about the quirks of her teammates and watch out for her. Between school, home, and soccer, Faith has plenty to keep her busy, and she also draws a mediev
...more
Bethany Hagenbuch
Apr 27, 2019 rated it really liked it

As a fellow soccer player, this book spoke to me. Girls soccer is as drama-filled as it gets. It reminded me of the book “Tangerine” that is really popular among middle school kids. It touches on cliques and groups of girls that huddle together. I like the line in the summary that says they are a “defiantly independent group of kids” because that summarizes it perfectly. Young adults are extremely stubborn! Soccer is a team sport that requires cooperation and strong team dynamics. It’s extremel
...more
Lorraine
Sep 22, 2019 rated it it was ok
This graphic novel is about a 3rd rate middle school soccer team. Faith, a 5th grader is recruited to be on the soccer team by Amanda, a popular 8th grader. She agrees to do it because she wants to be friends with Amanda. It turns out that Amanda is on the A Team, the soccer team made up of the best players, while Faith is put on the C team, a team made up of unskilled players, who lose every game.

While the book is primarily told from Faith's point of view, towards the middle of the book, we ge
...more
Jenna
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kris
Jul 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Super cute and diverse middle-grade graphic novel about a bunch of kids who are on a soccer team and are not good at it at all. They are good are being a pretty accepting group of friends, though. Very cute art that will appeal to readers of Raina Telgemeir or Victoria Jamieson. My critique is that there are too many characters whose story we try to follow. I think it would have been better to make this a series, and focus on one character in each book. None of them get the attention they deserv ...more
Mary
The plot could have been tighter in this graphic novel about a middle school soccer team. The Bloodhounds are the worst soccer team in the league mainly because almost none of the players like to play soccer. Short vignettes/episodic chapters introduce readers to the different teammates. Even though they are not very nice to each other, some are able to make connections and begin/renew friendships. It's a diverse group of characters in multiple ways - race, ethnicity, home life, gender and sexua ...more
Samma
Mar 21, 2019 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Gigi H
Jun 08, 2019 rated it liked it
I liked the diversity and the fact that this was about a school soccer team that actually wasn't particularly good.

A lot of topics/issues get covered, but I also think it may have been a little too much all at once. Faith is shy, artistic and has quite the imagination. However, I found the scenes where her imagination wanders to be unnecessary and a bit confusing.

Overall, I enjoyed the artwork and thought this worked well as a graphic novel.
Dakota Morgan
Apr 25, 2019 rated it liked it
The Breakaways starts off all over the place, but by the end, I found it thoroughly delightful. Faith is the 1A main character here, a newcomer to the Bloodhounds, a C-level middle school soccer team. The other members of the soccer team are, somewhat unexpectedly, the 1B main characters. The transition from the story being primarily Faith's to primarily everyone else's is rough. And then there are the random fantasy dream sequences that don't pay off until the very end. Oof.

Fortunately, the n
...more
Mary Thomas
Mar 23, 2019 rated it liked it
This one missed the mark for me- I think kids will like it, but for me it lacked a clear plot and the characters were sort of all over the place. I had a hard time following along. Nonetheless, I know kids will read and enjoy it!
Katelyn Patterson
Feb 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: graphic-novel
A group of misfits thrust on to the girls soccer C team struggle with middle school and figuring out who they are. Eventually they embrace their dislike of soccer and discover that what they have actually found is each other. Diverse cast of girls with a great message of acceptance of self and each other.
Chelsea
Jun 04, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I just didn’t really connect with this one
Nori
Apr 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: graphic-novel
If a Raina Telgemeier book and a Lumberjanes book got together and had a love child, it would look something like this. I read this in one sitting. It was sweet, but also believable. I guess my one complaint is that I wish it was longer and I had more time to get to know the characters. There were so many characters, and not enough individual development for me to really care about any of them besides the main character. Maybe I need more installments.
Dana Fontaine
Jun 11, 2019 rated it it was ok
Super disappointing. This sugar costed and watered down a lot of issues. There was also lots of issues thrown in that weren’t fully developed or addressed.
Erin
Jul 16, 2019 rated it did not like it
Worst book I've ever read.
Laura
Jun 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
Real cute, endearing and engrossing. Love the art and representation. Love the message. Good stuff.
Jaime Dear
Jun 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Great sports slice of life. Vibrant, lovable, and efficiently developed characters. Loved it!!!
Allison Wysong
Apr 20, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: lgbt, graphic-novels
A cute graphic novel with some very sweet representations of all kinds of people. Sometimes life is choosing to do what you really enjoy and I like that in the story.
Larakaa
Mar 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
If you like "Lumberjanes" or "Backstagers" then this is for you!
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
NZ Intermediate S...: The Breakaways (graphic novel) 1 8 Jun 25, 2019 01:51AM  
14 followers
My name is Cathy G. Johnson. I'm an artist in Providence, Rhode Island, where I make comics, drawings, prints and books about youth, confrontation and sincerity. I draw inspiration from my life and my community.

My first graphic novel, Jeremiah, debuted in 2013, and was published by One Percent Press in 2015. My second book Gorgeous was published by Koyama Press in 2016. My upcoming boo
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »