Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Blood and Beauty and Other Weird Tales” as Want to Read:
Blood and Beauty and Other Weird Tales
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Blood and Beauty and Other Weird Tales

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews
Collects six short stories of fantasy and weirdness. Fans of Edgar Allan Poe, H. P. Lovecraft, Greek mythology, and biblical-inspired fantasy will find something interesting.

"Blood and Beauty" tells the tragic love story of a satyr and a dryad.

"Sutter's Well" records the weird encounter between two boys and a Lovecraftian monster in Appalachia.

"Morphine and Chocolate" d
...more
Kindle Edition
Published May 21st 2015
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Blood and Beauty and Other Weird Tales, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Blood and Beauty and Other Weird Tales

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-26
4.13  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Ronald Keeler
Jun 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
Blood and Beauty and Other Weird Tales by Jeff Chapman is a collection of six allegedly weird tales. The first one, Blood and Beauty,* comes with an adult material warning. The asterisk was supplied by the author to indicate adult material. I am a big fan of short stories so I will comment on each of the six.

This book came from the Instafreebie platform. By downloading books from this platform I automatically subscribe to the author's mailing list. I find this convenient. If I become annoyed by
...more
Netanella
I started reading this last night, drawn to the classical pastoral image on the cover. Chapman's collection includes six short stories of the fantastical and weird, and I'm enjoying the heck out of them.

"Blood and Beauty" - This is the story of the dryad and the satyr whose cover image drew me to this tome, and probably the least favorite of mine. Like most tales drawn from mythological creatures, it ends a bloody vengeful mess.

"Sutter's Well" - I knew I was right to avoid the crawfish at last n
...more
Christine Rains
May 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
A wonderfully weird and well written collection of short stories. A taste of Lovecraft and Greek mythology. Plus a range of fantasy for every reader. Each with a dark edge.

We see love twisted in "Blood and Beauty" and "The Facts in the Case of M. Hussman." "Shafts to Hell" made me glad I'm not a miner nor am I wanting to go caving any time soon! The longest story, "Good King David" takes the reader into a Biblical fantasy world in which a ruler covets something that is not his and the consequenc
...more
Lyndon
Aug 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Chapman's richly descriptive writing and fable-esque story telling is unique and compelling. His tales are often drawn from classic myth and fairy tale, newly imagined or slightly retold to bring out a hidden theme or reveal an unusual twist to the original. This collection of six stories is on the whole slightly darker than his usual fare, but the mix of odd and macabre serve their purpose well, sending shivers down the spine and a sigh of relief upon the realization that they're merely (one ho ...more
Chandaly
rated it really liked it
Mar 26, 2017
Donna Micco
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2017
Nicole
rated it it was ok
Mar 22, 2017
Ashlee Willis
rated it it was amazing
Sep 23, 2015
Jeff Chapman
May 09, 2015 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Tyrean
marked it as to-read
May 09, 2015
Kendra
marked it as to-read
Sep 23, 2015
Chandra LaMorte
marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2016
Christina
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2016
Laura Farmer
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2017
Sally
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2017
Joe Defazio
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2017
Geri
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2017
Kristine Little
is currently reading it
Apr 03, 2017
GollyRojer
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2017
Michael Fierce
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2017
Michael Joseph Schumann
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2018
Sheen
marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2018
O. D. Book Reviews
is currently reading it
Aug 17, 2018
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2018
Nancy Hammons
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
65 followers


Thanks for visiting my page. I write software by day and speculative fiction when I should be sleeping. Dark hot chocolate fuels my evenings. My work ranges from fairy tales to fantasy to horror and ghost stories. I've been writing all my life but decided to become super serious about it and pursue publication a few years ago. My work has appeared in various anthologies and magazines. I live
...more