Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Calamity Jena (Invertary, #4)” as Want to Read:
Calamity Jena (Invertary, #4)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Calamity Jena

(Invertary #4)

by
4.18  ·  Rating details ·  854 ratings  ·  108 reviews
Jena Morgan, Atlantic City’s favorite go-go dancer, may have overreacted when she found her boyfriend balls deep in a stripper called Candy. Instead of washing her eyeballs with bleach, she drank a bottle of tequila and bought a house off the internet. A house far away from her cheating, criminal of an ex-boyfriend. A house in Scotland. As soon as she turns up to claim her ...more
Kindle Edition, 310 pages
Published June 16th 2015
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.18  · 
Rating details
 ·  854 ratings  ·  108 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Calamity Jena (Invertary, #4)
↜ƈɦǟռ☂ɛℓℓɛ↝
 photo giphy_13.gif

She has done it again. I love this one a much as the rest. Well maybe a bit more since I'm totally crushing on Don-Don. He's got it all, the uniform, OCD, the well deserved cocky arrogance, patience of a saint, and all around good guy.

I really can't think of a single thing I didn't adore about this book. It really has it all, hysterics, hijinx, shenanigans, all the way to major ugly cries.

Janet can do no wrong, lol, other than keep me waiting for the next book.

Reading Order
Lingerie Wars (
...more
Rachel
Overall rating: 4 "Princess" stars!

Triggers:
Cheating: (view spoiler)
Love triangle: (view spoiler)
Sex with om/ow: (view spoiler)
Intimate Pasts: (view spoiler)
...more
Tamar
May 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky enough to receive an ARC from the author.

Janet has done it again! I've been impatiently waiting for this next installment in the Invertary series, counting the days until its release. In this action-filled, laugh out loud rom-com, Invertary is shaken up yet again by a visiting American ex-go-go dancer, Jena. Wherever she goes, it seems, chaos is sure to ensue. Not that she means it to, of course. Unfortunately, her mishaps haven't gone unnoticed by the entire town, and they've given
...more
Jane Stewart
Sep 09, 2015 rated it really liked it
The secondary romance was more fun that the main one, but still overall enjoyable.

Jena is accident prone. Early in the story local cop Matt says to Jena “men have a tendency to get injured around you.” Another scene had Matt thinking “he’d seen her during the aftermath of many a disastrous date.” All those prior dates and injuries were skipped as if they were a back story I knew nothing about. And I read the previous books. It wasn’t in them. I wish the author would have given us examples or sho
...more
Gaele
Jul 18, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 Stars Rounded
A break up with her long term boyfriend after his extracurricular activites with the staff members at his new strip club, Jena sold everything, bought a house in Invertary on the internet and flew across the pond to resettle in Scotland after a brief foray in Paris. Now with a house in disrepair, few funds to pay someone to renovate and few DIY skills but a pink toolkit, Jena is struggling to make her place and find a way to support herself in her new home.

Enter Frank with two
...more
★¸. • * ° * ༺*Blanka*༺*°°*•.¸. ♥★

Jena Morgan, Atlantic City’s favorite go-go dancer, may have overreacted when she found her boyfriend balls deep in a stripper called Candy. Instead of washing her eyeballs with bleach, she drank a bottle of tequila and bought a house off the internet. A house far away from her cheating, criminal of an ex-boyfriend. A house in Scotland. As soon as she turns up to claim her new home, Jena finds out exactly why you shouldn't 'one-click' houses while falling-down drunk. It was a dump. With no money
...more
Saly
No my favorite book of the series based in this awesome Scottish town but enjoyable nonetheless. The heroine is new inn town and is a disaster when it comes to dating. Our hero Matt is a cop and all around good boy, so when the heroine's ex comes calling he assigns himself as her protector. The romance was the weakest link in this book but I loved everything else, even Grunt and Matt's sister Claire's crazy story.
Eve (Between The Bookends)
Lord this book was a riot!
Bette Stanek
3.5 Betting Board Stars. This is the fourth book in the Invertary series. Goody Two Shoes is still my favorite, but this one upholds the standard. Jena fled Atlantic City looking for a new life. Well, OK, let’s be honest, she was trying to find somewhere her snake of an ex-boyfriend would never in a million years find her. That’s how she ended up in Invertary. Matt, aka Don-Don, is Invertary’s only police officer and he’s looking to get out. He’s tired of the most exciting part of his day being ...more
Amanda
Oct 01, 2018 rated it liked it
It was cute

The interrogation from the twin was over the top and I could have done without it. Some of the Americanized sayings weren’t American which does take me out of the reading mode when I am sucked in generally. But the story was funny and definitely has the makings of a saucy hallmark movie
Dee
Aug 21, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
a little bit slow at the beginning but i ended up enjoying it
Chessela Helm
Mar 24, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was hesitant to read this book because New Jersey go go dancer didn't really appeal to me as a heroine, but after reading about Jena in later books I decided to give it a try and was glad I did. Jena is not an idiot, and she is not a stripper, despite her penchant for wearing tacky shoes and clothes. She is a little over the top compared to the other heroines of the series, but she has a good heart. Matt can be a little much - he thinks he's a lot more alpha than he really is. Still, he's a fu ...more
Hopeless Romantic Chick
Jul 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Love, Family and Home

Janet always manage to make every story to be full of humor. But this one's a good combination of not just romance and love but also about family and a sense of home. I felt Jena's strong desire for things that meant more than money and game and Matt's strong sense of responsibility and his devotion and commitment. Even Claire and Grunts story is solo entertaining. Good story!
Miss Rail
☆ 4.5 starsssss ☆
I'm in love with Invertary and its inhabitants!!
description
WHY I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THEM BEFORE IS A MYSTERY TO ME!
I've read 2 book in this series so far and I want so much more!
The writing is GREAT.
With this book I laughed a lot and even the serious moments, (view spoiler) were written beautifully.
I absolutely loved Jena & Matt and they are surrounded by AMAZING secondary
...more
Jennifer Johnson
Sep 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
An emotional rollercoaster that you can't put down.

Not many books have the ability to make you laugh like crazy then cry your eyes out like a big baby but Calamity Jena achieved this for me. I already love Janet Elizabeth Henderson stories as they never fail to give me a good laugh and this book didn't disappoint. The crying part came from the amazing way the author was able to describe a death experience so well and all the emotions that come with a death in the family. The author just has an
...more
Carole Mckee
Sep 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
OMG! Wonderful!

No matter how many good things I say about this book, I could never do it justice. First, I'll start with the easy part. It's real!y well written. This is one of the most emotional books I've ever read. Happy emotions, along with sad ones, with some excited ones mixed in, made this a tear-jerker in parts. Many times I had tears clouding my eyes. Jena: scatter-brained, accident-prone, and adorable, with a zest for life. Matt: steadfast, serious, strong, with a desire for some excit
...more
Andrew Palmer
Hilarious, Sexy, and Heartwarming

In book 4 of this series, we have Matt, a regular from the previous three books and the sole Police officer of the quirky Scottish town of Invertary, and Jena. Recently moved from the US, the former go-go dancer is an accident waiting to happen, or an accident in progress, depending on which page you're on. She combines this with an adorable optimism that makes you root for her, despite yourself.

Normally, they'd be no way Matt would spend any more time with Jena
...more
E Lowe
Aug 30, 2020 rated it it was amazing
With all the chaos that is happening around us at the moment, I decided I needed something lighthearted and fun to read. So I picked this up... and boy am I glad I did. I giggled reading about poor Jena's antics. Not to mention Matt, and of course Grunt. You always know you've got it right when you can laugh out loud along with the characters.
Set with a backdrop of Scotland's Invertary, Officer Matt Donaldson is kinda swoonworthy, even when his sisters give him hell. And Jena... well, she's Jen
...more
Lauri Tribbey
Jan 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Amusingly funny!

Jena a go go dancer looking for fresh start buys a home in Scotland. Little did she no she purchased the money pit. She finds help at the locate hardware store with her house troubles. Little does Jena no she is the talk of the for all the accident s she seems to cause. Then her ex shows up demanding she return to the states, she refused and the local lone police officer must intervene and becomes Jena's bodyguard to protect her, until he can get rid of the boyfriend. Matt and Je
...more
Peggy Parsons
Aug 07, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance
There is conflict, but if you're looking for high drama these are not the books for you. Henderson's stories are funny, funny, funny. The scene where the twins run a man off the road is hilarious.

There were characters from the other books in the series and for most it would be nice to get another glimpse of them, but it had been a large gap of time since I'd read the other so they were vaguely remembered. Not a distraction to the story, just wish I'd read them closer together because the charac
...more
Amanda Rozell
Jun 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Loved

That was a load of fun. I can’t get enough of the Donaldson twins. But Matt and Jena were the stars of this book and boy did they shine. Each book so far, I’m think the man can’t get any hotter or sexier than the previous one, and then I’m left in a puddle of hormones, because WOW. Matt was seriously oozing the sex appeal. Can’t leave out Jena. So sweet and nice and sexy in her own ways, because Go-Go dancer. Just a great book all around.
Debi
Jan 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I couldn't put it down

The characters are wonderful. I want to move to this crazy town but I expect like Brigadoon it only exists in our imagination. Made me laugh and made me cry. If you want a book with romance, lots of fun and lots of love this is the book for you. Start the new year with a winner.
Lauren Clarke
Jan 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a multi part series but this was the first book in the series that I read. I wasn't lost and it is definitely a stand alone work. The story was funny, really moving, and very fast paced. I had to take a break to wipe my tears near the end and also had to apologize to my family for laughing out loud and not sharing the joke with them. Strongly recommend this book, series and author.
Cynthia Heyman
Aug 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Calamity , mayhem and loads of laugh!

Can't give any better a review. A page Turner for sure if, you can stopped laughing long enough to turn it. Shockingly dangerously crazy ex boyfriend, seriously bull headed alpha males. All in a small town setting with some very wonderful people. Gosh you gotta read with one! This one's got some meat to it . LOL
Mary Willard
Apr 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
One of the funniest, laugh out loud books I have ever read and re-read and re-read. It is the fourth in a series about the inhabitants of a small Scottish town and the hilarious things that happen to the people there. All of the books in the series are fantastic, light-hearted and fun. Well worth the read, especially if you need cheering up. My go-to books if I need a pick-me-up.
Sandy
Sep 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I laughed and cried while reading this book. It had friendships, soulmates, steam and lots and lots of love. There was so much in this book that held me captive until the end. I own the rest of the books in the series so now I need to read them and get to know this wonderful town and its people more. It is definitely a place where the characters come alive and touch our soul.
Jo Forrester
May 01, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
So sweet and funny. I laughed so much that my daughters demanded I tell them the story. I had to edit out the steamy parts but it got them laughing their heads off too.

Jena was a loveable American fleeing her past but it came back to haunt her. She manages to find love, friends and family while fighting off her past. I cant wait to read the next book in the series.
Stace
Nov 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another great installment in this witty series by Henderson!! I love these original well written stories and characters! She blends the funny and sad so beautifully! Not enough Betty in this one, she totally should have been table dancing!!
Do83
Feb 06, 2018 added it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: dnf
No rating I just could not read it but it seems unfair as I've only read about 30 pages to give even a bad rating. I didn't feel I would like the characters and I really felt the book was missing a few chapters at the beginning to understand where the heroine came from.
« previous 1 3 4 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Madison Mega-Mara...: #106 - Calamity Jena 1 1 Jun 02, 2016 04:46PM  
Goodreads Librari...: please add book to series 3 19 May 06, 2015 03:59PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Finding Olivia (Trace + Olivia, #1)
  • Soldier's Duty (Iron Horse Legacy, #1)
  • Weston's Treasure (Gemini Group #3)
  • Chaos & the Geek (Grace Grayson Security, #1)
  • Petal Plucker (The Flower Shop Sisters #1)
  • Heartland (True North, #7)
  • This Book Is Literally Just Pictures of Cute Animals That Will Make You Feel Better
  • Bullets and Beads (Miss Fortune Mystery #17)
  • Wood's Hope: Action and Adventure in the Florida Keys (Mac Travis Adventures Book 11)
  • Any Day Now (SWAT Generation 2.0, #8)
  • All My Loving (Butler, Vermont, #5)
  • Marine's Promise (Iron Horse Legacy Book 3)
  • Jameson's Salvation (Gemini Group, #2)
  • Summer at the Star and Sixpence
  • Warrior's Resolve (Iron Horse Legacy #5)
  • Out In The Country
  • Autumn at the Star and Sixpence
  • A Natural Woman: A Memoir
See similar books…
I grew up in Scotland, but after I met my Dutch husband in America we decided to move to New Zealand and that's where we've settled. We bought a patch of land that we've filled with other people's unwanted animals - we didn't advertise for them, they found us! So far we have three miniature horses (we took in two and were surprised 11 months later when a third appeared - yep, we know nothing about ...more

Other books in the series

Invertary (7 books)
  • Lingerie Wars (Invertary, #1)
  • Goody Two Shoes (Invertary, #2)
  • Magenta Mine (Invertary, #3)
  • Bad Boy (Invertary, #5)
  • Here Comes The Rainne Again (Invertary, #6)
  • Caught (Invertary #7)

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We’ve got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
3 likes · 0 comments