Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Love Me Tender” as Want to Read:
Love Me Tender
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Love Me Tender

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  208 ratings  ·  17 reviews

A heartrending tale of love and tragedy during The Birmingham Blitz. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

For Kathy O’Malley, life has not been easy with her husband, Barry, out of work and with two children to feed. Then when war breaks out in 1939, many of the local men enlist, including Barry, leaving the women to cope as best they can.

The years that follow

...more
Paperback, 500 pages
Published May 7th 2015 by Harper (first published January 1st 1999)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Love Me Tender, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Love Me Tender

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  208 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Love Me Tender
Sharon
Feb 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A cracker of a story

What I loved about this story is the insight to to ordinary person and what they endured during the war. Anne Bennett has written in way that takes you right there. I could feel the pain and loneliness the terror and the love. Stirred so many emotions and I could imagine what my parents went through and how it changed their lives for it did and in ways I cannot imagine. A hopeful ending. Looking forward to reading another Anne Bennett war story
Shirley Revill
It was a pleasure to read this book and I enjoyed every word that was written on the pages.
I really enjoy books set in this era and this book was no exception. Storytelling at it's best. Recommended.
Bev Taylor
Dec 21, 2017 rated it really liked it
in a time of war her promise will be hard to keep .....

welcome to kathy's life in birmingham just prior to the outset of wwII

life has never been easy with 2 children and barry, her husband, out of work. then he finds a job with overtime in a factory making supplies for what appears to be an impending war

he joins up and life unfolds for kathy and all those on her street, friends and families

a powerful, heart wrenching drama that details the sacrifices that one must make, both for themselves an
...more
Novelle Novels
Mar 20, 2020 rated it liked it
3 out of 5 stars
This is a book set over World War Two and based around Kathy O’Malley. At the start of this book she has two children and a husband out of work which means times are tough. When war breaks out in 1939 everything changes. There are triggers for rape, abuse, miscarriage and grieve. To me this was well written but my only criticism is that it’s quite generic and nothing different from other books about this era. I loved kathys sister Maggie the most as she is the strong one. In my o
...more
Susannah Bennett
Aug 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
A good read once you get into it, it does jump about a bit but towards the last few chapters I couldn't put it down. You really feel as though you know the characters and it's a great insight into life during the war and the everyday struggles.
Patricia O'Sullivan
Aug 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Fantastic book I cannot rate this book enough it is a brilliant story of a family throughout WW2 it captivated and help my attention the entire time which meant very many late nights would recommend its worth every penny thank you Anne Bennet
Barbara Neal
Jun 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A fantastic book, you really felt you was there
LINDA HADDOCK
Mar 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Brilliant

Another brilliant book by Anne Bennett. Its a story of love and how the war affected the family. The two older children being sent to safety in the country, away from the bombing and how it changed their life for five years.. A story that so easily been true. Very detailed about 2nd war world. Brilliant
Hannah
I won this in a Goodreads giveaway

I love History and a good historical fiction of any era is good for me! I especially enjoy WW2 era so I had a good feeling I'd enjoy this.

The story itself is well shaped and well written with some fantastic characters and themes of love, loss and war very well explored.

Kathy is a great character to read, she goes through seemingly endless hardships and is a realistic depiction of a woman in the North of England at this time. She is confused and wary but not af
...more
Tracey
Dec 31, 2015 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this book. It's the story of Kathy O'Malley who is of Irish descent, and lives in Birmingham. She has a large family who all live near, and at the start of the story she had two children. It concentrates on the difficulties of living through the second world war while bringing up a family. It includes such topics as evacuation, rationing, air raids, working in a munitions factory and worrying about husbands serving their country. I felt the characters were very realistic, and the era w ...more
Steph
Nov 01, 2015 rated it it was ok
Had to give this book up after 50 odd pages and normally I'd give it to at least 100 pages if I wasn't feeling it but I just was getting no enjoyment out of it and this is mainly down to the characters.
I couldn't connect with them or care and so much in depth detail on the war and we've only started so not my cup of tea.

Perhaps if I'd stuck it out it would have improved considerably.
Aileen Quaintance-kampstra
Family, hearTache, war..

Story revolves during war torn England, Ireland and how they survive with the strength and love that threatens they're bond.
I liked this book because it forces me to see the humanity that exists when war changes everyday survival for women and children who are left behind when husbands and lovers leave them behind.
Denis
May 04, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I really enjoyed this book and enjoy reading about the war time era in particular
So for me personally I would recommend this fantastic tale of love and loss
Thank you to goodreads
I rate this book 4 stars
Tasneem
May 12, 2015 rated it liked it
This was a Goodreads Giveaway. I'd give it a solid 3.5 star rating. I enjoyed the story and the characters. I found some of it rather trite, but, that's just me. It was well written, and moving in the way it captures what war does to families, people and relationships.
booklover BEV
May 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing
a fabulous story and do remember reading this back in 1999 as well the heartfelt story of wartime and kathys struggle really enjoyed it and thank you goodreads as i won this book off you
Carol B Davis
Ok

This book was ok but not a book I would read again or tell someone else that it as great.
Melia Blunt
rated it it was ok
Aug 05, 2016
mandy dalziel
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2016
Diane Ross
rated it really liked it
Jul 12, 2017
Maria
rated it it was amazing
Mar 31, 2019
Ruby Boyer
rated it really liked it
Dec 12, 2018
Lynda Davies
rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2013
Rachel
rated it liked it
Jul 22, 2015
Mrs Karen Hogger
rated it it was amazing
Feb 27, 2016
Peggy B. McClain
rated it really liked it
Nov 13, 2017
JAMIE BRUNEL
rated it liked it
Jan 14, 2016
Trixie Short
rated it really liked it
Aug 18, 2016
Susan Kerins
rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2019
Diane Isherwood
rated it it was amazing
Mar 24, 2016
linda bradshaw
rated it really liked it
Feb 02, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • A Ration Book Wedding
  • The Biscuit Factory Girls: A heartwarming saga about war, family and the importance of friendship
  • Love And War
  • Bluebirds
  • An Orphan in the Snow
  • Star
  • Sisters
  • Changes
  • Wartime Brides (Wartime Brides #1)
  • A Proper Wife
  • He's My Husband!
  • Secrets
  • The Next Man in Texas
  • Kaleidoscope
  • Dolly
  • The Lost Ones
  • The Secret Scripture (McNulty Family)
  • Auschwitz Survivor 31321: A Memoir: First One In, Last One Out
See similar books…

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
32 likes · 16 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »