Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Ruins (The Union #2)” as Want to Read:
The Ruins (The Union #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

The Ruins

(The Union #2)

by
4.52  ·  Rating details ·  44 ratings  ·  24 reviews
Heartbroken, grief-stricken, and wracked with guilt, seventeen-year-old Evan Taylor returned to the Union, leaving behind the boy she loved.

Now, she and her friends must find a way to do the impossible – warn the citizens of the Union about an impending rebel attack without alerting the government and risking retaliation against her friends in the Ruins.

When every move Eva
...more
Kindle Edition
Published June 16th 2015 by T.H. Hernandez
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Ruins, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Ruins

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.52  · 
Rating details
 ·  44 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Jen ♥Star-Crossed Book Blog♥
***4.5/5 Stars***
*Spoilers for The Union #1*

The Ruins had me run the gamut of emotions.  I laughed, I cried, I squealed and I yelled horrible, horrible words to my poor kindle (thank you Bryce!)!  You see, this was everything I was hoping the second book would be, and then some.  Not only were there the characters and relationships that I fell madly in love with in the first book, The Union, but this time around I found the peril I was desperately seeking.  I love getting sent into freak out m
...more
Coco.V
Feb 20, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: freebie
🎁 FREE on Amazon today (2/20/2019)! 🎁

Blurb:
Heartbroken, grief-stricken, and wracked with guilt, seventeen-year-old Evan Taylor returned to the Union, leaving behind the boy she loved.

Now, she and her friends must find a way to do the impossible – warn the citizens of the Union about an impending rebel attack without alerting the government and risking retaliation against her friends in the Ruins.

When every move Evan makes is thwarted, it soon becomes clear she's being watched. Faced with a daily
...more
kelly {BookCrushin}
Jun 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: young-adult, dystopia
4.5 stars out of 5
*Possible minor spoilers from The Union (The Union #1)

The Ruins picks right up where book 1, The Union left readers. Evan and company are back in the Union and they have to figure out what their next moves are going to be and to ultimately try and break the case of who is facilitating the upcoming rebel attack. All the while Evan is holding the weight of this impending doom on her shoulders and trying to save the people she loves both in the Union and the Ruins. I have to say
...more
Christina Marie
Jun 13, 2015 rated it it was amazing
RATING: 4.5 STARS!

**This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review**

T.H. Hernandez has done it again! This was such a fantastic read!

It was so great to be back in this world that I had come to know and love in the first book, The Union. And if you haven't read that book, don't worry -- this is a SPOILER-FREE review!

We are immediately reintroduced to Evan and her recklessness, pretty much right off the bat in this book, which was good because it reminded me about why she aggravated me
...more
Kayla Howarth
Jun 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The Ruins is the follow up to TH Hernandez’s riveting The Union. Evan and her groups of friends have information about an impending attack on The Union. They have to band together to prevent it from happening, but what happens when they find out they’re being hunted by the very people who are planning the attack?

After a wish-washy beginning where the characters seem lost, don’t know what to do, or how to save themselves – let alone the world – they ultimately decide to split up, taking the reade
...more
Liz
Apr 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Usually the first book in a series is my favorite, but I think I liked The Ruins better than The Union. There is a lot going on in this book and it was hard to put down. Even though the storyline isn't complete with this second book in the series, I like where the book ended and felt like it was an entire story in its own right.

I have to say, I wanted to smack Evan in the face more times in this book than in the first. She can be really self-centered and obnoxious at times. But I would like to
...more
Laura
Jan 24, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Keeps on going

And the story keeps going along nicely. Everyone is developing nicely and so is the story. I’m sorry I do not like Bryce. Nope 👎🏻 But the pace is good we are meeting new people I’m loving it. Keeps me actively engaged in the story and wanting to read more.
Tina Lynne
Jun 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The Ruins is a wonderful continuation of the Young Adult story that TH Hernandez started in The Union. We see danger, intrigue, young love, and hard choices that need to be made. There is a deeper level of self-identity, friendship, and self-awareness that is brought to life in this story! I am so happy with this book, despite my initial reactions, and I cannot wait to see what happens next!

The Ruins picks up right where The Union ends. Evan has returned home and left everyone she cared about in
...more
Dani (Dani Reviews Things & Love in a time of Feminism)

See this review in its natural environment, Dani Reviews Things.

I received this book for free from YaReads Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

snap review

Following my review of The Union last month, I couldn't wait to read the next instalment of the trilogy by T.H. Hernandez. I was eager to see what would become of Evan and Cyrus after their parting, and I wanted to know how the events leading to her escape would affect he
...more
Kathy
Feb 01, 2016 rated it really liked it
The Ruins is the second book in The Union Series by T.H. Hernandez. I received a reviewers copy of the 1st and 2nd book of the series when I joined the union tour back in February. click here to read The Union Review

I was really lucky that I had a copy of the 2nd installment of The Union Series when I finished The Union; to be honest I hate to wait for the next book in a series to come out and prefer to binge and read a whole series at a time when I can.

I was so happy to see the majority of the
...more
Macy Klingerman
May 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this book in exchange for review.

The Ruins was a five star follow up to a five star book. It lived up to the high expectations that I had from reading The Union, and then some. This installment of The Union Series was packed with action and suspense, not to mention some steamy romance. I actually was a beta reader for this book, so I was pretty familiar with the story before I received an ARC. This book was so good that I still was on edge, worrying about the characters and
...more
Karole Cozzo
Apr 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I greatly enjoyed the second book in the Union series - actually, I believe the story is gaining momentum as it goes and this book is even better than the first. It started off a little slowly for me - I felt there was a bit too much sitting around and throwing ideas around about what the crew was going to do, but I also had faith that Hernandez had given a tremendous amount of thought to her plot, and in the end, I can appreciate why the set up needed to be what it was. Once the story really hi ...more
Chris Myers
Jun 30, 2015 rated it it was amazing
4.5 STARS
Hernandez's writing has almost a lyrical quality that flows easily. In this installment, Evan returns to the Union where she faces danger and Bryce. The twists start from there and keep coming. After a fallout with Bryce, she returns to the Ruins with her best friend Colin. The characters and the setting are so well done that you feel like a part of the story. I love that the characters have flaws and are consistent. The story has plenty of action and romance to keep the pages turning.

I
...more
Boundless Book Reviews
We are back with Evan and friends for book two. Evan is heartbroken for having to leave Cyrus behind. Also, not happy about the situation she's in. Staying with a father she hardly knows. They soon find out that someone is spying on them and come up with a plan to save everyone.

Even gets a job as a reporter to help with the cause. It seemed quite easy. Something happens with her and Bryce. She ends up in the Ruins with Colin. I was so happy when she finally go to see Cyrus again. He's my favori
...more
Sharon
May 26, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I would like to thank the author, T.H. Hernandez, for giving me an electronic copy of this book to review. Although I enjoyed The Union (Book 1) immensely, The Ruins has surpassed my expectations. With the plot moving at a breathtaking pace, I could not help but be perched on the edge of my seat awaiting the next twist and turn. Evan is everything a main character should be: intelligent, capable, adaptable even in difficult circumstances, and a little feisty. When her life is threatened and her ...more
Jamie Cs
Jun 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
The Ruins, the second book in this series, delves deeper into the lives of the almost-adults that populated The Union.

Back in the Union, Evan and her friends are still in danger...but from who? They're relentlessly pulled into the mystery of unrest in the Ruins and encounter heart-pounding danger at every turn.

Hernandez has a gift for giving readers a rest in between the adventures, sharing quiet times with friends or at some type of work, before dumping you into another dangerous situation.

The
...more
Charity
Feb 10, 2016 rated it really liked it
For full review please go to: 5girlsbookreviews.blogspot.com, Twitter @camartinez and Facebook "5 Girls Book Reviews"

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years, 1 month

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

This book was exhilarating and had me interested from the beginning.

This is a fictional story about the end of a city that could be caused by a rebel attack. Evan goes on this big adventure with the help of friends to try and prevent this impending attack. On some parts I was crying, laughing and getting angry on the ch
...more
Jennifer
Apr 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
The continuation of The Union series is just as epically fabulous as the first installment. I love how we see Evan's growth as a character. After barely surviving her trip to the Ruins she's transformed into an older, wiser character, someone with the weight of the world on her shoulders - literally. Her frustration at not being able to help her friends in the Ruins drives her to making a return trip. We meet many new characters in this book as T.H. Hernandez's world evolves page-after-page. I'm ...more
A. McCarty
Feb 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
T.H. Hernandez has proven once again how much she can captivate an audience.

The Ruins picks up right where the Union left off. Love shines through and the plot itself rises to hold the audience. With this compelling story I was once again pulled in and couldn't pull myself out.
I really enjoyed it and would love to read more.

I, Amber McCarty (Imaginative Dreams), was given a copy for an honest review.
Teresa
Jul 16, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Great book

Totally engrossing. Great characters. Love the chemistry between the three lead characters. Can't wait for the rest of the series.
Jo Carter
Jun 07, 2019 marked it as abandoned  ·  review of another edition
It pained me to give us this book because I so enjoyed The Union. However my enjoyment was in being in the Ruins and despite this book being titled that, I flicked forwards to page 240-ish and they still weren't in the Ruins again AND Cyrus was still no where to be seen. Unfortunately I began to find it boring and like anyone my time is limited. I'm unsure what I'll be doing with The Union, if I'll decide to give it away at the same time as The Ruins so the person taking them will be able to sta ...more
Heather Duff
Jun 22, 2015 rated it really liked it
So I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series, The Union, last year, don't know what happens?, then stop and go to my review of it now before you go any further.

OK shall we continue, The Ruins picks up from where The Union finishes, our journey continues with Evan who has returned from the Ruins leaving behind Cyrus, the boy who she fell for hard.

Still distraught from dealing with leaving him behind she now has to try and warn the population of The Union that rebels are about to atta
...more
Vicky
Sep 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The start was a little slow as you reorient to Evan being back in the Union. Don't worry it picks back up as Evan finds her way back into the Ruins. I know that this is a series that leans on the romance side, but if the guys just skim through the "mushy stuff"
Melissa Tippie
rated it really liked it
Feb 19, 2019
Jennifer
rated it really liked it
Aug 14, 2018
Deanna Kruger
rated it really liked it
Jan 28, 2016
blrzxcv
rated it really liked it
Jul 28, 2015
Tamra Lassiter
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2015
Cindy
rated it really liked it
Sep 07, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Resistance (New America #2)
  • Unrest (Unknown #2)
  • Duality (The Hitchhiker Strain, #2)
  • Hell In Heaven (The Dead Man, #3)
  • Abraham's Men (Birch Harbor, #2)
  • Moonlight (The Guardian Legacies, #3)
  • Gargoyle Addiction (Otherworlds Summons, #1)
  • Storm (Salt, #2)
  • Ring of Knives (The Dead Man, #2)
  • The Ruin of the World (The World Without End, #4)
  • Forced Autonomy, Phase 1 (Forced Autonomy, #1)
  • Capstone (Cornerstone #4)
  • Loving Ean (The Fae Guard, #2)
  • It Started With A Whisper
  • World of Ash (Ash and Ruin #1)
  • Girls on Fire
  • Ascendancy (The Van Winkle Project, #2)
  • Fool's Ride (Jenkins Cycle, #2)
See similar books…
171 followers
T.H. Hernandez is a published author of young adult novels. THE UNION, a futuristic dystopian adventure, was a finalist in the 2015 San Diego book awards in the Young Adult Fiction category. SUPERHERO HIGH, an urban scifi teenage romance, set in San Diego. Her first young adult contemporary co-written with Jennifer DiGiovanni, PROM-WRECKED, releases May 6, 2019.

She thrives on coffee of any kind, t
...more

Other books in the series

The Union (4 books)
  • The Union
  • The Uprising (The Union #3)
  • The Invasion (The Union, #4)
“Trust me, what you want now, at seventeen or eighteen, isn’t the same as what you’ll want at thirty-eight.” “You” 0 likes
“It’s as if I’ve entered a portal and taken a giant step back in women’s rights. Back to when women would rather be silent than be called a liar, a tease, or worse. “So…I” 0 likes
More quotes…