Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A New Arrival (Sprout Street Neighbors, #2)” as Want to Read:
A New Arrival (Sprout Street Neighbors, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A New Arrival

(Sprout Street Neighbors #2)

by
3.57  ·  Rating details ·  35 ratings  ·  12 reviews
There's a new neighbor on Sprout Street in this early reader series perfect for fans of Clementine, Just Grace, and Ivy & Bean.
 
Lily has just moved into the empty apartment on Sprout Street all the way from Hawaii--and her new neighbors can't wait to meet her! Violet is happy there's someone in the building who shares her love of art. Emma is excited to have a new br
...more
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published January 26th 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers (first published January 5th 2016)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A New Arrival, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A New Arrival

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.57  · 
Rating details
 ·  35 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Barbara
The five animals who live on Sprout Street are excited when Mili, a new girl from Hawaii, moves in. Although she's a little nervous about making new friends and fitting in and she misses her old friends from back home, Mili is a great addition to the group, and each one is thrilled to add her to their list of friends. A short story follows each character as he/she enjoys everyday life. Although at first embarrassed that her art is nowhere as good as Mili's, Violet finds someone to share her pass ...more
Bethanyanne
May 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Sweet story, my 5 year old loved it.
Mary Beth
Mar 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
I think this was a cute book with a lot of action happening.
Earl
Jul 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
I loved the first installment so I don't know why I waited so long to read the follow-up. The Sprout Street Neighbors welcome a new tenant into the fold and it causes many different and sometimes surprising reactions. I highly recommend this series as a read aloud because kids will enjoy the adventures and adults will be enthralled with the storytelling as well.
Katie Fitzgerald
The New Arrival is the second book of the Sprout Street Neighbors series. Mili has just moved from Hawaii, and all of the Sprout Street neighbors are eager to meet her. Each chapter covers a different character's budding friendship with Mili, and finally, Mili has her own chapter where she comes to embrace her new community while still maintaining her Hawaiian roots. I love this series, and this second book is nearly as good as the first. Kids will relate to the neighbors' excitement over a new ...more
Heidi
Nov 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
24 Sprout Street has a new resident, Mililani, who has moved all the way from Hawaii. Each of the neighbors befriends her and interacts with her. Each of the original residents has a story connected to Mili. Violet gets sick and loses confidence in her artistic abilities after seeing Mili's fabulous art, it's up to her friends to help her get well. Emma has breakfast every day with Mili, until the day she doesn't and she assumes that Mili is planning a surprise for her. Henry mistakenly tells Mi ...more
Elaine Bearden
gr 2-4
Hmmm. I love the art and the interconnectedness of the characters - all of them living in the same building. But I did find it difficult to get into the book. I think it was because there were so many characters. The characters' problems are right for the reading level - similar kinds of things they would be going through. I thought I would be more excited because it has the great art and white space and font and short chapters to support beginning readers.
Stephanie Tournas
Apr 15, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: children-s-books
The animals who live at 24 Sprout Street are good neighbors to one another. When someone new moves in, each resident experiences the expectations and hesitations of meeting someone new. This is a gentle story of friendship and learning to be a good neighbor. Whimsical black and white illustrations on every page depict the animals in everyday activities that a child can relate to.
Lynn
Mar 20, 2016 rated it liked it
I didn't read the first book which introduces the characters, so I occasionally felt I had been dropped into the story. I found myself rereading to keep the characters straight. The conversation about voting would help youngsters understand the importance of appropriate criteria when casting a ballot.
Sara Grochowski
This second Sprout Street Neighbors book is just as charming as the first! There's something about the characters and illustrations that remind me of Little Bear and evoke major nostalgia. A new series with a classic feel!
Kirsten
May 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Just as darling as the first Sprout Street Neighbors book. Perfect for those kids reading their first chapter books.
nellie zepeda
Jan 16, 2017 rated it it was ok
Can I read this book
Birch Shea
rated it it was ok
Aug 06, 2018
Sarah
rated it liked it
Feb 26, 2016
summer reimer
rated it it was ok
May 30, 2017
Carol Anderson
rated it really liked it
Aug 09, 2015
Jenny
rated it really liked it
Sep 24, 2017
Sharon
rated it liked it
May 14, 2017
Monique
rated it really liked it
Jan 05, 2017
LSS Book Shelf
rated it really liked it
Jan 03, 2017
Melody
rated it really liked it
Apr 12, 2016
Ella
rated it it was amazing
Jul 11, 2018
Clare Rossetter
rated it liked it
Sep 01, 2016
Andrey Tsediakov
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2017
Tara
rated it it was amazing
Mar 07, 2016
Ryn Lewis
rated it it was ok
Jan 03, 2018
Louve
rated it really liked it
Aug 03, 2017
Laura
rated it liked it
May 23, 2016
Elizabeth
rated it it was ok
Aug 10, 2017
Lillian
rated it liked it
Sep 12, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
16 followers
Hello!

Thanks for visiting me on goodreads.

Please visit my web site or blog to learn more about my work!

Cheers,
Anna

Other books in the series

Sprout Street Neighbors (3 books)
  • Five Stories (Sprout Street Neighbors, #1)
  • Bon Voyage (Sprout Street Neighbors, #3)