Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “This Glorious Cause” as Want to Read:
This Glorious Cause
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

This Glorious Cause

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  12 ratings  ·  8 reviews
An ordinary young man in extraordinary times!
Gideon Hawke is a fifteen year-old with problems. What does he want to do with his life? Should he go to college or get a job? The girl he likes couldn't possibly like him, could she? Her father sure doesn't!
Then it happens: on April 19th, 1775 British troops march into Gideon's hometown of Lexington, Massachusetts, fighting b
...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published April 17th 2015 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform (first published April 16th 2015)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about This Glorious Cause, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about This Glorious Cause

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  12 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of This Glorious Cause
Sara Whitford
A ton of research and detail went into this book

Robert Krenzel is an impressive historian and author. In fact, I only have one criticism of this book and it is this: As a narrative, I wanted this story to focus more on Gideon, himself, and focus less on troop movements. I'm hoping as this series continues, the focus will narrow in on Gideon and the central characters.

That said, I stand in awe of the amount of historical detail that went into this book. I felt like I got an extensive history les
...more
Matt
Apr 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
I believe this is the first book by this author and in some instances this shows. The tale is fine and the characters are predominately well-thought and likable, however there are times in the book that could have used a little more tweaking, particularly some of the conversations in the book. This did not make the book unreadable and towards the end I felt the author improved his skills.

This one is a bit hard to classify. One one hand I would say this is a young adult book as the main character
...more
Ana Meyer
Nov 09, 2015 rated it really liked it
Giving me a historical fiction is both a curse and blessing. One I am history buff so I am holding you to the truth (for the most part) and a blessing because it is my genre of choice. This book focuses on a young man coming of age during a time of war. The perspective of the young during troubled times have become a great way for young people to become interested and learn more about the time period being covered. It gives them something to relate to when learning about the time period. This bo ...more
Terri Karsten
Good war story!

Gideon Hawke's story follows the events of the early part of the Revolution, with great historical detail. Robert Krenzel has obviously done his research. The book is both informative and interesting. My only complaint would be that I like a little more character development in a novel, though we do get to know Gideon quite well.
Robert Krenzel
Apr 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Recommends it for: Anyone interested in the American Revolution
Shelves: fiction, favorites
I wrote this, so naturally I think it's brilliant! I would greatly appreciate additional reviews, and especially constructive feedback. I'd be happy to discuss any questions you have on my author's page.
John
Jun 16, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Excellent easy read. Action flows. If you like historical fiction that follows true history this is for you. Readable by young teens as well as adults.
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Jun 15, 2015
Leslie G. Parish
Very interesting

The descriptions are vividly written, making the word pictures into mental images than remain in your memory. Tightly written and good character development make this a wonderful page-turner.
Gary
rated it it was amazing
Apr 06, 2018
Amanda Clay
rated it it was amazing
Jun 04, 2015
Josephine
rated it it was amazing
Mar 30, 2020
PWRL
May 23, 2017 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2017-new
A
E. Paul
rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2020
Katie
rated it liked it
Oct 26, 2017
Eric Tibbetts
is currently reading it
Apr 27, 2015
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Carla
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Caroline
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Rachella Baker
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Michelle
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Trica Johnson
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Tammy Pooser
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Cynthia Schwarzer
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Joy Yerkie
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Alaina
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Pam Mooney
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Joy Adams
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Cathy
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Teri Henry
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Pam
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Bert
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Mary Nee
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Barbara White
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Amanda
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Ted
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Jodie
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Connecting Reader...: YA Historical Fiction Giveaway! 1 1 May 17, 2015 07:54PM  
48 followers
A retired Army officer and married father of two, Bob Krenzel is the author of This Glorious Cause the first novel in the Gideon Hawke Series.

This Glorious Cause by Robert Krenzel
...more

Related Articles

While dealing with her husband's illness, this debut author turned to the refuge of Jane Austen's work. That refuge turned into her highly anticipa...
80 likes · 11 comments