Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Soul Awakened (Key to the Cursed #2)” as Want to Read:
Soul Awakened (Key to the Cursed #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Soul Awakened

(Key to the Cursed #2)

by
4.42  ·  Rating details ·  36 ratings  ·  16 reviews
LOVE FOR BLOOD OR HONOR

Kendra, an Egyptologist and demi-god in waiting, is the key to unlocking Bakari, the Egyptian God of Death, from his cursed slumber. Desperate to free him, she inadvertently binds herself to the god with a spell that only death will undo. To save Bakari from himself, she may have to sacrifice her innocence, and possibly her soul, before he becomes hi
...more
Kindle Edition, 2nd edition, 377 pages
Published July 1st 2015 by Fated Press LLC (first published January 15th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Soul Awakened by Jean  Murray
    Soul Awakened (Key to the Cursed #2)
    by
    Release date: Jun 29, 2015
    ENTER FOR A CHANCE TO WIN!!

    LOVE FOR BLOOD OR HONOR
    Kendra, an Egyptologist and demi-god in waiting, is the key to unlocking Bakari, the Egyptian God of
    ...more

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 184 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Feb 01 - Mar 03, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Soul Awakened, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Soul Awakened

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    4.42  · 
    Rating details
     ·  36 ratings  ·  16 reviews


    Filter
     | 
    Sort order
    Ollie
    Review by Ollie for BittenByParanormalRomance

    I have to first start off by saying I have been waiting for this book for what seems like ages, every since I was left hanging at the end of book 1 wondering what was going to happen next based on the set up. I don't know where to begin to describe the absolutely marvelous job that the author does in not only creating a wonderful world with so much depth and detail, but a story line the has the mystery and intrigue that will keep you glued to the the
    ...more
    Elena R a.k.a. Lunies R
    "The Carrigan sisters were the first step to their freedom.Light and darkness.Life and death brought together, the best of both worlds."

    Jean Murray, has written another wonderful addition to her "Key to the Cursed series"This is the story of,Bakari and Kendra.These two characters are written brilliantly! I immediately fell in love with these two, Kendra is just too cute with her light, sweet, fun personality, and her quiet, yet determined attitude to make things right.Loved her relations with Ba
    ...more
    Kristin
    Nov 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
    This is book two in the Key to the Cursed series and it was just as good, if not better than book one. I highly recommend that you read the first book so that you understand what happens in this book.

    This is Bakari and Kendra’s story. It was phenomenal. I had to force myself to put my kindle down to go to work, go to sleep and other things. Kendra comes off as fragile and weak, but she is so much stronger than her sisters credit her. I love that she finds her voice. There are few scenes where Ke
    ...more
    Cianna Sunshine & Mountains Book Reviews
    Fantastic! Jean Murray has yet to disappoint me with her writing! I'm not really a paranormal romance lover. I tend to find too many of them are stuck on the erotic side of things, and not enough on the characters, story, or even backstory. That is not the case in Murray's series. From the very beginning this author has taken time to craft a well thought out complex storyline, and pulled together complex and unique characters and situations.

    In the second book of the series, we come to where boo
    ...more
    Jean Murray
    The long awaited second book in the Key to the Cursed series arrives January 15th, 2013.

    Bakari's story demands to be heard. After years of torture by the Pantheons' enemies, Bakari awakens with a thirst that can only be quelled by the woman who released him from his confinement. Unlike his brother, Bomani, Bakari is far from the honorable male Kendra deserves. Only blood and honor will win her soul.
    Lynn Rush
    Dec 12, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: urban-fantasy
    Wow. This is a great sequel.

    I absolutely loved Kendra's character. And Bakari. **le sigh** Talk about tortured heroes. I just love him. So deep. And the last sentence of the back cover blurb "...his Parvana. His butterfly." Ohhhh, totally swooning over here.

    Jean Murray creates an amazing world that I got completely sucked into. I felt every twist and turn like I was there, and I just love that about a book.

    Nicely done, Jean!!!

    Wendy
    Dec 28, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Soul Awakened opens with a black scorpion in the desert. It is night, so the little assassin blends into his surroundings as he waits patiently for an opportunity to strike.

    The scorpion is the mark of Bakari, the God of Death, missing five long years from his post at the gates of the Underworld. Tortured by a sadist and left for long stretches confined in the dark, Bakari is little more than a wounded animal when Kendra Carrigan releases him from his sarcophagus. He cannot tell what is real from
    ...more
    Jodie Pierce
    Jan 10, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Kendra Carrigan, an Archeologist, Egyptologist and demi-god in her own right, ventures into Thebes, Egypt to deal with her father’s body that had been brought back to the Underworld my her sister Lily when she had to shove her sword into his chest when he was a zombie. Her husband, Asur wants his son Bakari’s tomb opened so he can move on in the Underworld. With Bomani, the Underworld Legion Commander by her side, Kendra jumps head first into the events that unfold around her. Though Bomani lust ...more
    MGGMMGGM
    Feb 02, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Originally posted at The Solitary Bookworm

    You've read my review on Soul Reborn above, now Soul Awakened is so different in my opinion. It picked up right after the first book and it didn't have the sluggish vibe I had with the first book. I read this right after Soul Reborn and I was complete taken by how good Soul Awakened is. Let me just get this out first thing since this is the only issue I had with the book - it was hard to differentiate who was talking at the time. That somehow disrupted m
    ...more
    Maghon Thomas
    Yep, we pick up right where we left off and it just keeps getting better. This is an excellent sequel! You get to explore in depth the second sister, who I happen to LOVE! And it’s just as action packed, still full of good suspense, still excellently fast paced and of course still written beautifully! More and more supes are coming out to play and the story is getting deep! Plus I love to see some returning characters from the first book!

    Kendra really is nothing like Lilly, from book one. She’s
    ...more
    Rachel V.
    Mar 10, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: for-review
    Well now I have read the second book and I want more!!!! When is the third book coming out because I can’t wait to continue this story? At the end of the first book we found out who another one of the villians was in the conspiracy against the Creation gods but towards the end of this story the mastermind was revealed. Now again I did figure out whom it was before it was revealed but I was still holding my breath to find out how and when they would figure it out.

    This book focused on Kendra the n
    ...more
    Atjoesgarage
    In book II of this series we get to meet Kendra, the youngest sister of the Carrigan women. Kendra is not a viper-infused Nehebkau huntress like her two sisters. She is beautiful, but does not recognize her beauty and relies almost entirely on her intellect to see her through.

    The ending of book I leads us into this book nicely. In the beginning of this book the son of Asar, the god of the underworld is entombed in a sarcophagus that has been cursed by the pain in the butt Goddess Kepi. The son,
    ...more
    Beth Tilley
    Jun 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
    Three sisters all fated to mate and help Ancient Egyptian deities to save their world. Their road is hard and full of danger, but love paves a way. Petite Kendra an anthropologist is the only one capable (bred) for the purpose of saving Bakari, God of Death, from his hellish curse. She is his pure, innocent, naive savior. Bakari is depraved and selfish but fighting to redeem is soul and honor. Only his Parvana, butterfly, can save him through an unplanned blood bond. This story's slow build to p ...more
    Sasha Summers
    Dec 17, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    It's probably not a surprise but I love tortured heroes, immersive worlds, and mythology - not just Greek! Kendra and Bakaria are relatable, her world is enthralling, and her love story - is everything a love story should be! Really loved this story.
    Shellby
    Mar 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing
    Soul Awakened is just as good as the first book! Kendra is an amazing character that everybody underestimated.A great continuation to the series!

    Kathy
    Jan 23, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    When's the next book coming out!?
    Pastor Dennis
    rated it liked it
    Dec 13, 2012
    Elaine Kirby
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 27, 2016
    Lorella Piras
    rated it it was amazing
    Jun 19, 2016
    Rayna
    rated it really liked it
    Aug 16, 2016
    Kay
    rated it liked it
    Jan 05, 2016
    Jean Murray
    Apr 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
    Audrey Buchanan
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 15, 2019
    Anna
    rated it liked it
    Jan 29, 2019
    Claire Prescod
    rated it really liked it
    Sep 20, 2013
    Elizabeth
    rated it liked it
    Feb 24, 2013
    Stacy Weinberg
    rated it really liked it
    Oct 11, 2015
    Brenda Demko
    rated it liked it
    Feb 01, 2013
    marz
    rated it really liked it
    Apr 08, 2015
    Sharlene
    rated it it was amazing
    Feb 03, 2017
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
    100 followers
    In her pursuit of a nursing degree, Jean Murray aspired to see the world and joined the Navy. At the end of 2011 she said a heart-breaking goodbye to her Navy family and retired after twenty years of military service. Although her dreams of writing full time have yet to come true, she continues her writing journey and draws inspiration from her travels abroad. She enjoys spending time with her fam ...more

    Other books in the series

    Key to the Cursed (4 books)
    • Soul Reborn (Key to the Cursed #1)
    • Soul Unbound (Key to the Cursed #3)
    • Soul Unleashed (Key to the Cursed #4)