Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Seeing Evil (Cycle of Evil #1)” as Want to Read:
Seeing Evil (Cycle of Evil #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Seeing Evil

(Cycle of Evil #1)

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  230 ratings  ·  128 reviews
Fate in plain sight.

Major Crimes Detective Samantha Reilly prefers to work alone—she’s seen as a maverick, and she still struggles privately with the death of her partner. The only person who ever sees her softer side is Michael Turcotte, a teenager she’s known since she rescued him eleven years ago from the aftermath of his parents’ murder-suicide.

In foster care since his
...more
Paperback, 234 pages
Published August 4th 2015 by Red Adept Publishing, LLC
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Seeing Evil, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Seeing Evil

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  230 ratings  ·  128 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
When we first meet Michael Turcotte he is a very young boy and Samantha Reilly is the detective on the case of his parent's murder.
Fast forward and he is now a freshman in high school. He is living in foster care but has kept in contact with Samantha.

Michael is a very quiet boy and tries to stay under the radar at school. He doesn't have any friends because that would bring attention to him. He just exists. One day he does attract the school bullies though and they target him for abuse. Later
...more
Char (Tacky Genre Buff)
This book was a police procedural/thriller/psychological horror story-it doesn't neatly fit into any category except for: "damn fine read".
 
I usually don't get into the plot too much, since the synopsis already does that, but (briefly)- this is a story about a "hard as nails" police detective, (Samantha), who helps to rescue a boy, (Michael), from a murder scene and then kind of keeps an eye on him as he grows up in the foster family system. Fast forward to his early teens and the discovery that
...more
Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
'Aaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrgggggggghhhhhhh' *running from the room *

No more!

This book is just so wrong on so many levels.

What detective is going to take a 14 year old bullied boy around crime scenes and morgues?

The writing is heavy handed and not at all suspenseful.

It is full of ' angst', but lacks detail where it matters.

Abandoned at 52% , concerned for the safety of my Kindle. I thought that if I threw it across the room one more time, I may not be able to resuscitate it.

Thank you to Red Ade
...more
Paul Nelson
Apr 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
Seeing Evil is the kind of book that's chock full of intriguing elements, the main one and something I particularly enjoy reading about is kids confronted by evil. A parent to be exact, and one that leaks menace from every pore, then smiles and when needed switches instantly into perfect parent mode.
 
First chapter sees major crimes detective Samantha Reilly at a murder scene, where young Michael Turcotte has just witnessed the death of his parents. Forward 11 years and Michael is now in school a
...more
Linda Strong
First of all, many thanks to NetGalley / the Author / Red Adept Publishing, LLC for furnishing this e-book to be read and reviewed with an honest, unbiased opinion.

I have to say I don't like paranormal ... zombies, shape-shifters, end of the world dystopian, alternate worlds stuff. I do like psychics, though .. those that can see what the future holds or what has happened in old abandoned mansions, etc. This book combines both a psychic and a serial murderer and a female detective ... all my fav
...more
Bark (Has Atrocious Taste)
This review and the rest of the crap I write can be seen @ my blog Bark's Book Nonsense . Stop by and say hey.

Seeing Evil is a book about the evil human beings inflict on one another. It’s more thriller than horror but has a few disturbing scenes that fall more into the horror realm.

Michael was tragically orphaned as a young boy. Now he’s a teen living with foster parents and dealing with the typical cruelties and horrors of high school. He’s quiet, keeps his head down and minds his own busine
...more
Carol
Aug 10, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Michael sees evil......

The first five chapters of this thriller blew my mind. In one, a bloody murder scene reminiscent of "Halloween". In two, the horror of "burning" abuse. In three, the terror of bullies. In four, a "killer" vision, and in five, broken rules, discipline, punishment, no mercy and pain.....and that is just the beginning!

A foster child with "the sight", a protective homicide detective, and a relentless psycho killer who tortures first and kills later sets the stage for this fast

...more
Kimberly
Apr 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I've enjoyed many thriller novels lately, but I must confess that the "majority" of my favorite books have some sort of supernatural element to them. In respect to Jason Parent's SEEING EVIL, I was not the least bit disappointed.

Michael Turcotte is a boy who's lived in many foster homes during his fourteen years of life. Unfortunately, he's also a natural target for school bullies. After one extreme incident, his mind suddenly transports him elsewhere--to the near future where a brutal murder is
...more
Evans Light
Apr 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Gripping. Suspenseful. Touching.
A truly fine novel.

I first discovered Jason Parent a few years ago, around the same time I'd been reading David Wong's This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don't Touch It. Still craving another dose of comedy-tinged horror, Parent's first novel, What Hides Within, satisfied and then some with its highly original cocktail of thriller, horror and comedy with a touch of bizarro.

I've been lucky enough to meet and get to know Jason Parent in the intervening
...more
Bill
Apr 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this one from Jason Parent. It was a bit Dead Zone-esque in that Michael, one of the main protagonists, gets “visions” from contact with other people, but it goes further than that with excellent characterizations and fast moving intersecting plot lines.

This one read quick and flowed smoothly from beginning to end. A taut thriller - Very little wasted dialog or excessive unnecessary descriptions to bog it down. I especially liked the characterizations in this one. The main char
...more
Cindy Newton
I liked this story, for the most part. One thing I have to say immediately: the narrator is a serious drawback. I'm fairly new to audiobooks; this is only the 5th one I've ever listened to. This narrator was by far the worst out of the few I've heard. Her reading style reminded me of myself reading to my children when they were small--the exaggerated pronunciation, the exaggeration of tone. There was absolutely nothing natural about her reading. Her male voices bordered on comical. I don't know ...more
11811 (Eleven)
Nov 04, 2016 rated it liked it
This was my first book by the author and I dug it. I was expecting a horror and this was more mystery/thriller but it was good at what it was. The thriller crowd should find comfort here.

I know Jason through Goodreads and received a free audio review copy.
Adam Light
Apr 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Not a horror novel, and that is just fine. Jason shows serious versatility and weaves a gut-wrenching supernatural suspense thriller with everything I could have asked for. I strongly recommend you read this as soon as you can. Big five stars!
Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
I took far too long in my many years of reading to pick up and read a book by Jason Parent. I could have had so many good books read by now. However the good news is that I have now read one of his books and it was a fantastic read that exceeded my expectations totally.

We meet Michael who in many ways is a typical teenager in but then in many ways is so very not normal and this dear reader is the key to a very clever and unexpected plot twist that takes you along with it as you turn the pages.
...more
Brittany
Check out my blog to see Reviews of Book and Movies, and check out some Recipes!

Seeing Evil was just plain Evil. At least if you were a part of the police department or inside of Michael's head.

Detective Sam Reilly and Michael first encountered one another on a crime scene when Michael was just a young toddler. Found in the throes of a violent scene involving his parents that made me think of Dexter. (view spoiler)
...more
Philomena Callan Cheekypee
Sep 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: loved-it, dark
This is my first read by this author and this certainly won't be my last as I really enjoyed it. Pretty much read this in one sitting as I couldn't put it down.

Samantha is a police detective. She first meets Michael when his parents are murdered. Although he's in foster care she still keeps in touch with him.

Skip ahead a few years and we see that when Michael touches certain people he gets visions of their deaths.

When his visions come through can he find someone to believe him?

Don't think thi
...more
Jason
Sep 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: tbr-penpal
wow!!
I actually won this book in a contest, or should I say an incentives program on goodreads, through the group For love of a book, so first and foremost thank you Jason Parent, and Brittany and the other moderators at For love of a book!
I am not just saying this because I won the book through a contest, but this book was amazing when I first started this book I will be honest thought okay another crime solving , veteran cop who fights the system , and her boss is fed up with her last chance
...more
The Grim Reader
Jul 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This is a book that I have really taken my time reading. This is not always the case. I read fast, but I really enjoyed the first couple of chapters and decided to soak up the story as slowly as I could. Jason Parent is a fairly new author to me, I haven't read any of his stories before but I feel that will change after reading this. If you are a fan of psychological horror novels and thrillers then you would be well advised to add this book to your collection. The characters are very well flesh ...more
Frank Errington
Jun 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Detective Samantha Reilly of the Fall River Police Department has known Michael Turcotte most of his life. Brought together by tragic circumstances they've remained close for nearly a dozen years.

When we first meet Michael, he's in a High School restroom witnessing the bullying of Freshman, Jimmy Rafferty, being worked over by Glenn Rodrigues and his cronies. Before the episode is over, Michael's head ends up in a toilet.

Tessa Masterson struggles with an abusive Father, Christopher, a wonderfull
...more
Bandit
Nov 09, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
There isn't such a thing as universal grade scale for books, at least not one I can master. For me the standards for audio books have always been lower. And so accordingly this was perfectly decent, because it maintained my attention and entertained, although the narration wasn't optimal. Had I actually read it, I might have been more critical of it. Thing is the most notable feature of Seeing Evil is its consistent mediocrity. It's a thoroughly mediocre thriller about a lady cop and a teenage b ...more
Nev Murray
Jul 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
A copy of Seeing Evil was sent to Confessions of a Reviewer by the author Jason Parent in exchange for an honest review. This is said review. This book is published by Red Adept Publishing.

I have not read a lot by Jason Parent, just his stories as part of the mighty crew that gave us the collections, Dead Roses: Five Dark Tales of Twisted Love and Bad Apples: Five Slices of Halloween Horror. I have known him for a while now and have to say he is a decent bloke. I admit to that solely for the pur
...more
Scot
Apr 06, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2015
Seeing Evil by Jason Parent

Imagine what your life would be like if you saw bad things happening to everyone you touch. Now imagine your closest friend is the detective who found you at a murder scene, your parent's murder scene. Jason Parent's Seeing Evil is an edgy thriller with a good bit of the supernatural sprinkled in for a little extra spice. This is my third thriller in the past month and I felt a little more in my horror element with this one. Parent really poured a good bit of his heart
...more
Cassandra
May 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!!
***Received a copy of the book for an honest review

The cover is very intriguing and definitely attracted my attention to read it.

This is my first time reading a novel by Jason Parent, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I’m not usually a horror fan, but I definitely like mystery thriller. I think I might be misjudging books marked horror because of horror movies, but I’m not sure. I definitely liked this version of it, and I might need to
...more
Sherry Fundin
Jason Parent’s latest novel is a mystery with a psychic twist that had me interested from the moment I read the blurb. It may even be considered as part of the horror genre. Monsters come in all shapes and sizes and the human kind are the worst. Seeing Evil has its share of evil of the two legged kind.

Seeing Evil’s blue watery looking cover, with the eyes looking at me, peaked my interest further. A lot of times, I will grab a novel just because of the cover and this is one of those novels. Job
...more
Carrie
Jul 30, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
Detective Samantha Reilly gets called to a homicide, a husband has shot his wife and lover and then turned the gun on himself. At the scene is then toddler Michael Turcotte. Michael ends up in the foster care system but Sam stays close to him over the years and frequently checks in on him and spends time with him.

When a couple of high school bullies attack Michael he has his first vision. He see an upcoming murder and doesn't know how to stop what he is sure is going to really happen so he turn
...more
Angela Crawford
Oct 26, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. This is in no way reflected in my opinion of this story. This review is part of the Seeing Evil Blog Tour at Oh, for the Hook of a Book Follow along to find out more about Seeing Evil and Jason Parent.

Seeing Evil is a fantastic police procedural serial killer novel with a psychic twist. I loved this story!! It's well written and grabs ahold of you and won't let go. The action moves at a breathless pace leaving you hanging on every
...more
Andrew Lennon
Jul 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Wow! That was just brilliant!
Every single chapter straight from the very beginning had me gripped. I'm exhausted today because I stayed up late last night reading because I just didn't want to put it down.
I would go as far as to say this is probably the best book I've read so far this year. Absolutely loved it.
E. C. McRoy
Oct 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I give this a 4.5.

I went back and forth between four and five stars for this and ultimately it was the impressive quality of writing that pushed me to give it five. Even if I hadn't enjoyed the story, this wouldn't have gone lower than 3.5 for that reason alone. But I did enjoy the story.

Story: Engaging and fast paced, I didn't have any serious issues with the plot or the development of the characters. I fully hated Master
...more
A Voracious Reader (a.k.a. Carol)
*Book source ~ A review copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

Detective Samantha “Sam” Reilly has taken a special interest in Michael Turcotte for 11 years, ever since she investigated the murder-suicide of his parents when he was three and he was found at the scene. In the topsy turvy revolving door of foster families, Sam is the one constant in his life. He counts on her to always tell him the truth and she tries to help him whenever she can. When some school bullies trigger an ab
...more
Greg at 2 Book Lovers Reviews
So, I have decided to make a return visit to Fall River. This time around, Samantha Reilly has a new case to solve that has come from a most unusual source. Following an exceptionally tragic event as a young child, Michael Turcotte has had a very difficult life. When he has a horrific vision, he tries to get Sam’s help to prevent the violence that he is convinced will come.

Jason Parent really knows how to kick a story off in high gear. He introduces us to Michael as a small child, setting the s
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Horror Aficionados : This topic has been closed to new comments. Sponsored Group Listen-Seeing Evil by Jason Parent 72 247 Oct 30, 2016 02:49PM  
For Love of a Book: This topic has been closed to new comments. Seeing Evil Discussion 26 27 Sep 16, 2016 01:59PM  
Paranormal and Ho...: SEEING EVIL - R2R Copies 12 27 Jun 24, 2016 05:58PM  
  • Jurassic Florida (One Size Eats All #1)
  • Northwoods
  • Call to Engage (Team Poseidon #2)
  • Night Terrors (Savage Species, #1)
  • Human No Longer
  • Nobody Has to Know
  • Blanky
  • More Than Magic (Books of the Kindling, #1)
  • The First Life of Vikram Roy (Ruby Iyer Series, #1.5)
  • Last Vacation
  • Still Life
  • Don't Need No Water
  • Graveyard Blues (Night Blues, #1)
  • Arctic Dawn (The Norse Chronicles, #2)
  • Life After Dane
  • Langston's Daughters (The Lockwood Legacy, #1)
  • Deceptions (The Mystical Encounter #2)
  • The Torment Of Rachel Ames
540 followers
In his head, Jason Parent lives in many places, but in the real world, he calls New England his home. The region offers an abundance of settings for his writing and many wonderful places in which to write them. He currently resides in Southeastern Massachusetts with his cuddly corgi named Calypso.

In a prior life, Jason spent most of his time in front of a judge . . . as a civil litigator. When he
...more

Other books in the series

Cycle of Evil (2 books)
  • Hearing Evil (Cycle of Evil #2)
“Her life was like walking on a tightrope through a hurricane” 0 likes
“Everything is set with steadfast accuracy. Everything has its place. Everything, except for the blood.” 0 likes
More quotes…