Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Youth In Asia: 1968. Vietnam. The Central Highlands. Young Men Will Change. Some Will Die.” as Want to Read:
Youth In Asia: 1968. Vietnam. The Central Highlands. Young Men Will Change. Some Will Die.
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Youth In Asia: 1968. Vietnam. The Central Highlands. Young Men Will Change. Some Will Die.

by
4.10  ·  Rating details ·  127 ratings  ·  27 reviews
On the 50th Anniversary of the start of America's commitment of major combat units to Vietnam, Youth In Asia is a new novella of young Americans trapped in the jungles of Vietnam's Central Highlands in a war they did not understand. Youth In Asia relives the friendships, loyalties and betrayals of young men in combat.

Written by an infantryman who served as both an e

...more
Paperback, First Edition, 90 pages
Published March 29th 2015 by CreateSpace (first published March 24th 2015)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Youth In Asia, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Youth In Asia

Community Reviews

Showing 1-56
Average rating 4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  127 ratings  ·  27 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Youth In Asia: 1968. Vietnam. The Central Highlands. Young Men Will Change. Some Will Die.
Grady
Apr 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
`I saw the flow of casualties from the enemy's Tet Offensive...Marines from the meat grinder of Hue. They were angry.'

Allen Tiffany is a retired Army Infantry Officer who graduated from the Army's Airborne and Ranger schools and the Command and General Staff College. He has also earned his graduate degree in Creative Writing and has published a number of professional articles, a short story, has been a newspaper columnist, and he has been a fiction editor for a campus literature magazine. Allen
...more
John Podlaski
Apr 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The Army relocated Corporal Jacobs from the DMZ in Korea to Vietnam, assigning him to the 173rd Airborne Division just after the vicious battle of Hill 875 and the area around Dak To during November, 1967. After in-country training, he is assigned as a team leader in one of the infantry squads of Bravo Company, the entire battalion was critically short of personnel - replacements were trickling in every day.

This small novella is a first-person account of his short time with the unit just prior t
...more
Henry Fields
May 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
In Youth in Asia, a Vietnam Veteran recounts his experiences from 1967, shortly before the Tet Offensive, in a letter to his grandson who's looking to enlist.

The story picks up after an introduction from Mr. Tiffany, the author, giving a snapshot view of the war that broke the American military, and the men who helped reshape it--Vietnam veterans--who also trained Mr. Tiffany. I appreciated that personal connection.

As someone who has never served in the military, this story made the experiences
...more
James Devo
May 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
As child of the 70s, I spent a lot of my teenage years watching Vietnam movies. In my twenties, I travelled to Vietnam to make a documentary and saw the craters still scarring the land, the effects of Agent Orange on the populace, and in the middle of the coffee-growing regions, a farmer utilising a GI panier, with the name of its former owner still stencilled onto the thick canvas.
I also saw Americans, ex-servicemen, who had returned to the country where they had, as Allen Tiffany says, “lost t
...more
Travis Bow
Feb 29, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: non-audio
Is this a fun-filled page turner? No. Is it a heart-wrenching graphic drama of the horrors of war? Not really. But it's a good, solid, real-feeling story. It feels like the kind of story your grandpa might write down about his experience in the war.

I hardly noticed the writing, which is high praise. A bad book draws attention to the author's voice, either by awkward phrasing, pacing, and punctuation or by showy prose. This story does neither. It tells the story clearly, holds your interest, and
...more
H.D.
Apr 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The novella Youth in Asia by A L Tiffany is a very well written story of a small slice of the Vietnam War. It’s a fast-paced read and well worth the time. I’ve read many books and Tiffany managed to pull me into the world he created and keep me there. The description and action were expertly intertwined and kept the pacing brisk.

The violence was realistic and I didn’t think gratuitous. I felt the horror of the climactic scene and what the main character had to withstand to survive was realistic
...more
Ann Girdharry
Jan 13, 2016 rated it really liked it
Well written. Graphic. Brutal in its honesty. This novella describes the heat, the misery, the mental pressures and terror of fighting for your life in the jungle. The small group of men who are thrown together must work it out - survive together or die. It's a tough subject.
I particularly liked the author's intimate portrayal of each character's flaws and strengths and wove a story that drew in each of the men. There are some surprises and a lot of tension in this short work and I found I read
...more
Mary Ellen Woods
This is an excellent 1st person POV fictional account of the Tet Offensive of the Vietnam War. It is well written and compelling though brief. The audiobook was well narrated. The author did not belabour the reader with unnecessary detail but explained enough for those who are unfamiliar with military terms. The style is similar to Sean Parnell's Outlaw Platoon though it is not as lengthy and a different war. Well worth a read or listen. I was given a copy of the audiobook by the author with no ...more
Military Writers Society of America (MWSA)
MWSA Review

A.L. Tiffany’s novella covering a short period of time in the jungles of Vietnam conveys a story of young men living in an environment where they age quickly. While the men are young in age, they soon learn they must make mature decisions or suffer deadly consequences. The author describes combat patrols with enough detail to place the reader in the scene and at the same time keep the story moving at a good pace. Readers get to know the characters through few words and empathize with
...more
Santiago Panama
Sep 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I started to read this book and I wasn't able to put it down. I read it entirely non-stop.
Now, the title mentions the Tet Offensive, but actually the book deals about a short period of time between November 1967 and early to mid-January 1968, and the Tet Offensive started on January 30th, 1968.
It is a great read, the way that Allen Tiffany describes everything is so fluent, that before you know you are finishing the book.
I do recommend it is a great read.
If you are a veteran or if you like to s
...more
Dan Curnutt
Jun 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Allen Tiffany provides us a powerful short story about the war in Viet Nam in time to honor those who served there on the 50th anniversary of the beginning of that conflict. As a military officer, an graduate of Airborne and Ranger school, Tiffany provides a unique knowledge of the military and specifically the army that allows him to deliver this poignant short story about American Army Personnel who served in Viet Nam.

Having five people I knew loose their lives in Viet Nam and with one of thos
...more
K. Kumar
Jan 19, 2016 rated it really liked it
Youth in Asia is a short story set in Vietnam, following a group of U.S. soldiers as they patrol the border between Vietnam and Cambodia. The American troops are not allowed to enter Cambodia, while the NVA and Vietcong can cross the borders freely. This puts the U.S. troops in constant danger. Youth in Asia is told from the perspective of one of these soldiers as he recounts his experiences to his grandson. It is a unique way to tell this kind of story because Jacobs, like many survivors of Vie ...more
'Aussie Rick'
May 11, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction, vietnam
The author of “Youth In Asia”, Allen Tiffany, kindly sent me a copy of his book to read, although I warned him I hardly ever read novels. I’m glad that Allen persisted and still decided to send me a copy as I thoroughly enjoyed this short story of American combat soldiers in Vietnam during 1968.

I don’t think I can add much to the sterling reviews already posted in regards to this book. I suppose all I can do is add my compliments to the author for writing such an engaging account. Although it’s
...more
J.C.
Sep 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing
In the formative years of my Gen X, the American psyche was impacted by the Vietnam War and its aftermath. It was portrayed in TV shows like Tour of Duty and movies like Platoon. As time has passed, these stories have given way to those of the Afghan and second Iraq War. Therefore, Youth In Asia was a poignant reminder of those who have served and sacrificed, and not received the recognition and honor as others before and after them.

The main event of the story is how a small squad gets separated
...more
Bill Leviathan
Jan 29, 2016 rated it really liked it
Youth in Asia is a novella that follows a small squad on their mission in the jungles of Vietnam. It is written as a first person account of the events, with the narrator coloring his perception of the wartime events with how life changed after the war.

The story is short, and as such, there are not many characters featured in depth. There is the narrator, and a soldier new to the Vietnam war named Elvis. Elvis is a bright eyed young kid with ambitions of being a playwright, and views the war as
...more
Karen
Apr 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book!! This is a very well written account of one soldier's experience during the Vietnam War. I finished it in a very short time, because I couldn't put it down. While reading, I felt like I was actually listening to a soldier's experiences - the good and the bad of his year in the jungle. As an Army veteran (although too young to have served in Vietnam), I can attest to this being a very real account of military life, and the variety of characters you encounter while serving. Allen ...more
Marisol
May 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book is excellently written. Great character development, realistic action that keeps the story moving. The author doesn't presume that you know much about war and everything you need to know is detailed just right and doesn't feel presumptuous even if you do know a little on the subject matter. Highly recommended. ...more
Joseph Spuckler
Oct 08, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: war
Youth In Asia: The Vietnam War's 1968 Tet Offensive in The Central Highlands -- Young men will change. Some will die by Allen Tiffany is the recollection of a fictional soldier. For such a long title the book itself is rather short. The length is not so important as how well or original the story the story being told. Perhaps it's my age but I have seen and read plenty on Vietnam as well as hearing stories and serving under those who have fought in Vietnam.

Although written to be a complete sto
...more
Louis Reichenbach
Jul 03, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A realistic story

After trying so hard to keep his men and friends alive he nearly gets killed himself! This book is a good read, but a little too short.
Mel (Reviews In A Pinch)
Jun 30, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: from-author
Full Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts: I read all the time. I have my favorite genres, but I do try to step outside of my comfort zones and read a little bit of everything. History and historical fiction are genre I tend to shy away from because I’ve found more books that can’t hold my attention there than books that I’ve enjoyed. However, if the book is about war somehow that piques my interest and suddenly I’m more likely t
...more
Charles
Jun 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
In the years when America was fighting in Vietnam, millions of American men were sent over into an unfamiliar environment, fighting and dying in a war that seemed to have lost its purpose. The war heavily damaged the American military and significantly contributed to social unrest in the United States.
To the soldier on the ground in Vietnam, it was simply a matter of surviving the current day. The main character is the leader of a small unit that is helicoptered into remote locations where the
...more
Vivian
Dec 03, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: biography, history
Brief, but insightful look into the definitive few months for one man in Vietnam. It is an unvarnished account of the boredom, routine, fuck ups and clusterfucks that are part of being in a combat zone.

The tone seems genuine. Having family members I've talked to who served in World War I, Korea, and Vietnam the attitude rings true. There's a prosaicism and fatalism that's necessary to survive combat both physically and mentally.

We were all scared at first, especially Elvis, but he quickly c
...more
Kelley
Jan 02, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2016-reads, netgalley
I received a free copy of this title from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
This was a quick read that I didn't want to put down because it is heart-wrenching to consider the horrors and discomforts soldiers endured in the Vietnam War. It was not what I expected in that I did not expect it to focus on such a short time period of the war but to include more details in the panorama of the war. There were times I was confused about what was going on because I am unfamiliar with military t
...more
Ronel van Tonder
Short but thought provoking

Army life, war or history has never interested me much. And yet, this journal like look into this man's service during the Vietnam war was engaging.

Despite being a short read, it contained a very detailed snapshot into a soldier's life. I can't imagine what it must have been like to be out there in the jungles and the heat an the death... But the author paints a vivid picture of this. Enough that I don't would never wish this on anyone.

This is a well written, engagin
...more
Peter Mirakian
Jul 08, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A Tale Well Told

This is a very fine novella. The narrator's voice is consistent and natural. The action scenes are tense and concise. The descriptions of Vietnam and the emotions of the men ring true. I would love to read more from Tiffany.
...more
Kirsty
Apr 29, 2015 marked it as to-read
I won this book through Goodreads First Reads. Review to follow.
Dale Hayden
rated it it was amazing
Jun 26, 2020
peggy fisher
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2016
Karen Clement
rated it it was amazing
Jun 21, 2020
Allen
May 05, 2015 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
mark
added it
Jul 29, 2015
Joy Kephart
is currently reading it
Jan 03, 2016
Suzan
is currently reading it
Mar 17, 2016
dima
added it
Mar 23, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Alpha One Sixteen: A Combat Infantryman's Year in Vietnam
  • The Lair of Raven
  • SONS OF KOLCHAK: A company commander during the Vietnam Tet Offensive of 1968 tells the story of his men's raw courage and valor.
  • Downburst (Rachel Hatch #2)
  • Smoke Signal (Rachel Hatch #4)
  • Peacekeepers (The Falling Empires Series Book 2)
  • Rigged (The Second American Civil War Book 1)
  • The Future of Humanity: Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality and Our Destiny Beyond Earth
  • A Friend Indeed: Help Those You Love When They Grieve.
  • Mongoose Bravo: Vietnam: A Time of Reflection Over Events So Long Ago
  • The Giant Killer: The incredible true story of the smallest man to serve in the U.S. Military—Vietnam veteran Green Beret Captain Richard J. Flaherty - Silver Star, 2 Bronze Stars, & 2 Purple Hearts.
  • Shadow of A Doubt
  • Recipes for a Sacred Life: True Stories and a Few Miracles
  • My Life in the Bush
  • One of Them: My Life Among the Maasai of Kenya
  • What You Did (Eva Rae Thomas Mystery, #2)
  • The Last Piece
  • Harden (Lee Harden, #1)
See similar books…
21 followers
Allen Tiffany is a retired Army Infantry Officer and has graduated from the Army's Airborne and Ranger schools and the Command and General Staff College. He has also earned his graduate degree in Creative Writing and has published a number of professional articles, a short story, has been a newspaper columnist, and he has been a fiction editor for a campus literature magazine. Allen was born in Ka ...more

Related Articles

Kazuo Ishiguro insists he’s an optimist about technology.  “I'm not one of these people who thinks it's going to come and destroy us,” he...
298 likes · 27 comments