Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Throne of David” as Want to Read:
The Throne of David
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Throne of David

by
4.2  ·  Rating details ·  35 Ratings  ·  19 Reviews
When a series of secret letters throws the ascendancy line of the British throne into disarray, only one person can prove the rightful heir—and everything depends on a stone that’s been lost for centuries. This high-stakes thriller leads you on a deadly chase around the world, following clues from King David. A mind-blowing mystery with an ending you’ll have to read to bel ...more
Paperback, 288 pages
Published August 11th 2015 by Cedar Fort Publishing & Media
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Throne of David, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Throne of David

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Margaux C
Aug 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I won a drawing for the Advance Reader’s Copy of this novel & enjoyed reading it! (However, I am not paid to write this review.) The detail given to the history and action strike a good balance to keep the plot moving. While the title suggests reference to the Biblical David, it was fun to learn about the fictional journey of the characters for the possible heir as well as the legends and story behind the Stone of Destiny. Quotes from The Holy Bible are used without feeling overdone so you c ...more
Becca
Aug 17, 2015 rated it really liked it
I thought this book was so much fun to read. It was far more exciting than I thought it would be.

David Lord is hired to find out if a letter written 32 years earlier is authentic. David had no idea the trouble that letter would bring. It sets a whole string of things into motion.

Peoples lives are in danger, a coronation stone needs to be located, and people are not who they seem to be. While we follow David and his friends in the search to find out if their is another heir to the throne, we rea
...more
Rhonda
Aug 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
5 STARS

The Throne of David is a exciting blend of action, history, heroes that I did not want to put it down. The characters are such a vast range. I fell for David and Enrigue. Two different characters fighting for answers in there own way.

David Lord owns his own business of Forensic accounting. He is single. His good friend in England asked him to come help him. David goes right away.

His friend works as a private secretary to Prince George of England. It can't be traced back to him but it ha
...more
Lisa  (Bookworm Lisa)
***4.5 stars***

Fiction books linked to ancient legends are a genre that I tend to enjoy. The Throne of David is a wonderful blend of modern day and legends from the past.

Before I read this book I had not heard of the Stone of Scone. I began to wonder if this was a fictional relic that the author had made up and described a thought out and fascinating history about. Of course, I had to google it and find that it is a real relic from Ireland and Scotland. It may have origins in Hebrew or Egypt.
...more
Kristin
Aug 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Wow. This is an intense story, tightly and precisely written. There is no rambling or flowery prose here. The author's love of precise vocabulary? It's a gift -- for her and, by extension, to us. I cannot stress enough how much I care about truly good writing -- the mechanics, the grammar, the punctuation, you name it. And, wow. It's as though Ann Farnsworth wrote this with me in mind.

The Throne of David is able to create a compelling, riveting adventure that is not preposterous or cheesy or for
...more
MaryAnn Dennis
Aug 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
First thought was WOW! It was a great adventurous ride, like reading a PG version of Dan Brown. I was absorbed from the first chapter thinking what a great treasure to find 32-year-old letters. Then the plot flew off from there, with story going on both sides of the Atlantic. The characters were running out of time-- the intensity, the on-the-run adventure and suspense. I couldn't put the book down and I had to go to work (one of life's tragedies when there is such a book to read). There are a c ...more
April
Aug 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Superb writing, storyline and characters. Very well written. It was interesting, intriguing and an exciting read. Wasn't sure what to expect, but was thrilled from beginning to end. A great thriller with suspense and mystery. Fans of Dan Brown will enjoy "The Throne of David". Well done! Look forward to more to come, hopefully. A fantastic read!

* Received for an honest review from the publisher *

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Sweet
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
Robyn Echols
Aug 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This exciting thriller with the right amount of romance held my interest. David Lord of New York is called to London by a former college classmate, Roger, to help with a delicate investigation--one where after a private lunch, David is offered a key to an apartment not known to be connected to Roger and told to stay there instead of at the hotel where is credit cards and phone calls can be monitored. On their way there, Roger is killed, David almost, but the mystery remains. The focus of an elim ...more
Cathy
Aug 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book caught my attention from the very beginning and I didn't want to put it down until I had read every last word. It begins with three school boys who want to open a locker. What they find is amazing, a mailbag missing for more than thirty years. One of the letters, when delivered, sets in motion danger, and adventure for American David Lord. He is called by a friend to find out just who could be the heir for the British throne, and that friend is killed before he's able to reveal anythin ...more
Michelle Brough
Jul 16, 2015 rated it it was amazing
You guys my mom WROTE THIS BOOK! I finished the book this morning, which is impressive considering I wasn't expecting to get it from Amazon until two days from now! The book is a page turner for sure, and is what I would call a mystery-historical thriller. The first half of the book read like most mysteries and was definitely interesting, but the last half was where things came together and the magic happens. The author introduced really fascinating legends about England's coronation stone and k ...more
Brooke Berry
Sep 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
If you love the thrilling scholarly adventure of The Davinci Code then be on the look out for the latest greatest thriller, The Throne Of David by Ann Farnsworth. The story begins with two adventurous twin boys who find a friend that can pick locks. They open an old postal office storage box containing letters that were meant to be delivered over 3 decades ago. A specific letter is delivered to the Prince of England and starts a whole series of events that disrupts a lot of lives.

David Lord, an
...more
Emmy
Right from the beginning this story drew me in. There is mystery and intrigue and a wonder of what truly happened. This book truly does feel like the Raider of the Lost Ark at times, with it's historical and religious history that ties into their search for a treasure or the truth. I am not a history or religious scholar, but it all felt very authentic and added greatly to the story.
There is murder, romance, mystery, suspense and even faith throughout this story. It really is very compelling
...more
Ann Farnsworth
May 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
A life changing opportunity to research and then write this book, I hope you all enjoy the characters, settings and historical facts as much as I do. http://annfarnsworth.com/
shay
Jul 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
I found this to be quite an interesting book. The mystery was great and the bit of romance thrown in was good.

I had no idea of the mystery of Jacob's pillow, especially surrounding the areas of England, Scotland, and Ireland. It has made me want to do a bit of research to find out how legit it all is.

The description of Ireland and Scotland was great and man, how I'd love to visit those places and see those things.

The characters we good and interesting. I'm not sure how much I can actually see s
...more
Tex Reader
3.5 of 5 stars – Light, Fun Ride, Even If A Bit Incredulous.
[I'm excited to have won this as a Goodreads First Read – so thanks, Ann!]

I’m a fan of a good mystery thriller, especially set in faraway places, and this nicely met that expectation.

The main story had some decent action and a pretty fast pace, with a number of twists and turns. It reminded me a little of The Da Vinci Code (although not quite up to that high standard) – where an investigator and tag-along female companion pursued info o
...more
Melody
Oct 13, 2015 rated it liked it
A friend of mine lent me this book. I don't gravitate towards murder/mysteries, but this one was interesting and kept me reading. There was enough trouble to keep you guessing and enough good to keep you hoping. At the beginning, things seemed pretty grim. By the end, things seemed really easy for them. I can say that had it remained more challenging and they had to really work hard, it would have added to the suspense. Overall, it was a good book.
Marcia V. Jones
Oct 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A gripping tale

I really enjoyed this book. I really wanted to keep reading to find out what was going to happen next. It was an interesting and unusual plot. I loved the history she wove into the story that clarified some things about The Stone of Scone that I had learned about on my tour of England and Scotland many years ago. A fun read.
Amber
Jan 19, 2017 rated it liked it
A great read, full of interesting English history. A bit predictable, but I enjoyed it none the less.
Morgan
Jan 27, 2016 rated it it was ok
Shelves: 2016
The story was a good idea, but not as well executed as one would hope. Somewhat the writing, but especially editing, left much to be desired.
gay ebert
rated it it was amazing
Aug 21, 2017
Dianne
rated it really liked it
Jul 12, 2015
Shahab Bahador
rated it it was ok
Dec 31, 2015
Ilene
rated it it was amazing
Aug 21, 2015
Ralene Brough
rated it really liked it
Oct 26, 2015
Amanda Erickson
rated it liked it
May 01, 2015
Shab
rated it it was ok
Aug 23, 2015
Maria Carmody
rated it liked it
Nov 01, 2015
Emma Parker
rated it it was amazing
Nov 13, 2015
Jennie
rated it liked it
Dec 20, 2015
Cathie
rated it it was amazing
Nov 18, 2017
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Read Scotland 2014: July/August 2015 Giveaway, The Throne of David 1 4 Jul 27, 2015 04:12AM  
  • Crooked House
  • The Quantum Deception (Tanner Zane, #2)
  • A Nothing Named Silas
  • Discovering Peace
  • End's Beginning (The Gathering #1)
  • Pierced by Love
  • Willow Springs
  • Sense and Sensibility: A Latter-Day Tale
  • North for Christmas
  • The Ruby Pendant (Cleopatra's Legacy, #2)
  • Mile 21
  • Demon's Heart
  • Portrait of Lies
  • The Accidental Marriage
  • The Lazarus Game
  • Arbitrate (Daynight, #2)
  • Ella
  • Softly Falling
4 followers
I have always been a voracious reader and sometime writer even while raising nine children. In fact, reading allowed me to escape for a few minutes (or hours) during the day while staying connected to the needs of our family.

Our youngest is now ten and the stories that have been stewing inside my head as I washed dishes, cooked dinner and helped with homework these last 25 years are bubbling up an
...more
More about Ann Farnsworth

Mystery & Thrillers Deals

  • Genome (The Extinction Files #2)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • The Wrong Man
    $9.49 $1.99
  • What You Don't Know
    $13.99 $2.99
  • The River Is Dark (Liam Dempsey, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • When They Come for You (Harper McDaniel #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Murder at Bray Manor : a cozy historical mystery
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Wired (Wired, #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Every Single Secret
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Name of the Devil: A Jessica Blackwood Novel
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Working Fire
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Night Crew (Sean Drummond, #7)
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Music of the Deep
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Adventuress (Lady Emily, #10)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Summer Children (The Collector, #3)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • The Good Twin
    $5.99 $2.99
  • An Innocent Client (Joe Dillard, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • The Speed of Sound (Speed of Sound Thrillers #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Red Bones (Shetland Island, #3)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Bourne Initiative (Jason Bourne, #14)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Good Neighbor
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Under an English Heaven: An Ellie Kent Mystery
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Pretty Girls Dancing
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Swansong (DI Nick Dixon #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Have His Carcase (Lord Peter Wimsey #8)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • My Brother Michael
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Casino: Love and Honor in Las Vegas
    $19.99 $2.99
  • Mr. Timothy
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The Kill Society (Sandman Slim, #9)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Memory Closet
    $3.99 $1.49
  • What Lies Below
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Silent Child
    $2.99 $0.99
  • The World of Lore: Monstrous Creatures
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Pleasantville
    $12.49 $1.99
  • The Walkers of Dembley (Agatha Raisin, #4)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Killing Orders
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Heirs of Grace
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Prince Lestat (The Vampire Chronicles #11)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Mind's Eye (Inspector Van Veeteren #1)
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Sound of Rain
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hidden Killers (Tennison, #2)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • What If
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Paragon Walk (Charlotte & Thomas Pitt, #3)
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Secret Mother
    $2.99 $1.49