Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Once Upon a Dare (Risky Business #1)” as Want to Read:
Once Upon a Dare (Risky Business #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Once Upon a Dare

(Risky Business #1)

by
3.73  ·  Rating details ·  424 ratings  ·  96 reviews
Advertising guru Olivia Masterson is all work and no play. But on the eve of earning her dream promotion, her best friend dares her to drop her ice queen façade for one night and seduce a sexy stranger. Olivia’s worked her ass off to get where she is—why the hell not?

Cole Bennett never thought he’d run into his feisty one-night stand at the office, furious that he stole h
...more
ebook, 230 pages
Published April 7th 2015 by Entangled Brazen
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Once Upon a Dare, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Once Upon a Dare

Seducing Cinderella by Gina L. MaxwellTempting the Best Man by J. LynnTempting the Player by J. LynnProtecting What's His by Tessa BaileyOne Night with a Hero by Laura Kaye
Brazen Collection
182 books — 512 voters
Seducing Cinderella by Gina L. MaxwellVanilla on Top by C.J. EllissonThe Marriage Bargain by Jennifer ProbstTempting the Best Man by J. LynnRules of Entanglement by Gina L. Maxwell
Entangled Books
368 books — 339 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.73  · 
Rating details
 ·  424 ratings  ·  96 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾
3.5 Stars

I kind of hate you sometimes."
"If that's code for 'I want to fuck you until I can't walk straight', then I kind of hate you, too."


If you're looking for a light and easy read with a super sexy office romance, looks like you've found your next book. What a fantastic debut novel from Jennifer Bonds. I never know what I'm going into with a new to me author, but in the case here I was very pleasantly surprised.

Advertising guru Olivia Masterson is all work and no play.

Ain't that the truth
...more
✦❋Arianna✦❋
Mar 19, 2015 rated it liked it
3 Stars!!

description

Olivia is a 28 years old professional career woman who tried to prove all her life that she’s more than a pretty face. She’s hard working, putting work first before anything else, even her personal life. Known as “Ice Queen” around the office, Olivia is determined to become partner before her thirtieth birthday. Needless to say she’s not interested in dating. All she wants is to reach her goal. But one night, her friend Chloe trying to make Olivia to loosen up a little dares her to pick
...more
Claire Robinson
Mar 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
3.5 - "I knew you'd be a screamer." Stars!

I really enjoyed this easy going, entertaining romance from Jennifer Bonds. Set in the world of advertising the author offered a refreshing take on the romance genre. The first novel in the Risky Business series, and the first book I have read by this author ticked most of the boxes in relation to my sexy romance requirements.

She knew what she was doing in the boardroom and the bedroom.

I loved the premise of this one, a dare that results in a one night s
...more
[~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥
4 stars

I know I've got a good book when I tried to fit in a few pages here and there around RL. While I did enjoy the banter and hot sex I didn't think either MCs stood out as memorable. Also the end: cringeworthy!

Following so many unfinished books lately this was perfect for me. It was fun sexy and for a debut the writing was engaging. Recommend if you are looking for a quick smuty brazen title with office romance.

ARC provided by the Publisher
Release date: 7th April 2015
Sheila
Mar 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I was fortunate to receive an ARC of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. It is a romance novel written to perfection, all other romances could be held to the standards of this one. It's my first book by Jennifer Bonds but it won't be the last.
Olivia is a professional, career-driven woman who puts work first and is so serious all the time that she's known around the office as an Ice Queen. Her friend Chloe tries to get her to loosen up by daring her to pick up a handsome str
...more
Nicola
Mar 21, 2015 rated it really liked it
If you’re partial to an easy-read steamy office romance Once Upon a Dare is that.

When Olivia Masterson’s best-friend dares her to have some fun before she gets her big promotion the following day, she does exactly that and proceeds to have a one-night-sex-filled-stand with Cole Bennett. He’s not particularly happy when he wakes up to find she’s fled, but then again she’s not particularly happy when she discovers he’s the new partner for the company she works for… and her new boss.

description

Jennifer Bonds
...more
 ᴍɪᴄs ✖amante de los spoilers✖
I couldn't connect with the story, I think the hero had some old fashioned (sexist/misogynist) views about women.
Danielle
Apr 06, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, hot-hot-hot
I love coming across debut authors and when they can tell a story like they've been writing for years? Even better! And let me tell you, Jennifer Bonds did not disappoint with her Brazen debut. Once Upon a Dare is quick, steamy, and has everything a forbidden office romance should have.

Olivia has been working really hard to get promoted to partner and hasn't had a date in years so when her BFF dares her to let go of the Ice Queen facade for one night and have smoking hot sex with a stranger, she
...more
Veronica of V's Reads
Olivia Michaelson thinks she's getting a promotion at her ad agency, and goes out for a drink with her bestie Chloe to celebrate. While there, Chloe dares Olivia to hit on a man, and have her first one night stand evah...

Cole Bennett has just returned to NYC to take a partnership at an ad agency. He's out for a drink, and captivated by the blonde goddess at a nearby table, and he's not averse to flirting when she approaches him. Nor is he going to turn down her very forward request...

Cue the hot
...more
Alison
Apr 27, 2016 rated it really liked it
3.5 stars

Really easy to read I got hooked straight away but about 80% in really started loose interested as the heroine was getting on my nerves.
Kim Reads (Read Your Writes Book Reviews)
Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews
by Kim

For the past five years, Olivia Masterson has been working her butt off at Pritchard and Associates. She has been so focused on proving that she's more than just a pretty face that she has gained the reputation of being the “Ice Queen”. Rumor has it that Olivia is finally going to make partner. In order to celebrate the upcoming event, she and her friend Chloe go out to celebrate. Chloe ends up daring Olivia to pick up a guy in the bar and have a s
...more
Maria Rose
This sexy office romance is the story of Olivia and Cole. Following a friend's dare, Olivia discovers that the man who rocked her world one night is the same man she's going to be working with at her advertising agency. In fact, he got the position she had been expecting to be promoted to! There's no doubt there is chemistry between them but Olivia doesn't want to compromise her hard earned position by fooling around with the boss. Can they find a way to be together against the odds?

I really lik
...more
Michelle
ARC provided by publisher in exchange of an honest review

[image error]

#Dare1

Once Upon A Dare by Jennifer Bonds was a quick, steamy and entertaining read. What started as a dare for Olivia Masterson to break her ice queen facade soon turned into a one night of unadulterated hot steamy sex with Cole Bennett. For one night, Olivia let her guard down and sexual inhibitions. And why not since she wasn't planning to start a relationship and what are the odds of running into him again..Well that all change
...more
Janey
Mar 25, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc, entangled
ARC generously provided by entangled publishing in exchange for an honest review..

3.5 I don't get out much stars

Crowned Ice Queen of Pritchard and Associates ad agency, Olivia Masterson finds herself in a NY bar contemplating her imminent promotion to partner. She’s destined to get it, she’s worked her arse off to get it, she is that archetypal dull girl after all.

So in complete contrast to her usual behaviour, she is challenged by her BF to launch her inhibitions and enjoy a one night stand.

Co
...more
Mandi Schreiner
Apr 15, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: contemporary
Wasn't a huge fan of the hero in this one. He came across condescending. Review to come
Becky Wise
Jan 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Hot, sexy and sweet. Once Upon a Dare is a fantastic read. Sometimes dares are worth taking. Olivia is a lovely strong woman who doesn't want a mans help to get ahead. Cole is strong headed and goes after what he wants. Even when Cole comes off a bit strong he is so totally swoon worthy. Olivia knows how to stand her ground. I really loved the love/hate relationship Cole and Olivia have. There is a strong fire between them that just burns off the pages and leaves all hot and bothered. I love whe ...more
Pretty Sassy Cool
Mar 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
x stars.

This review also appears on Pretty Sassy Cool.

Ad exec Olivia Masterson is out with her happy-go-lucky BFF Chloe, preemptively celebrating Olivia's impending promotion. Chloe challenges Olivia to let loose and hook up with a guy, and despite Olivia's best intentions, she sees just the man to make her change her mind.
Olivia had never been a believer in lust at first sight, but apparently her body hadn't gotten the message.

Sparks fly as soon as she talks to Cole Bennett. He can't wait to ta
...more
Lee
Apr 20, 2015 rated it really liked it
I loved the premise of this book, a dare, a one night stand between two feisty people who don't yet realise they are work colleagues and the resulting fallout when they realise they are.

Olivia was career driven, always needing to prove her ability to make it on her own merits. She gets the job done with good old fashioned hard work, never relying on her looks or gender to further her career. On the eve of a meeting with her boss where his is expected to offer her a partnership in the advertising
...more
2kasmom
Mar 18, 2015 rated it really liked it
The story of Cole Bennett and Olivia Masterson starts with a simple dare from a friend who think Olivia should get out more. Cole and Olivia meet at a bar near their work and the sparks were flying before they even said the first hello.

Cole has come to be a partner at the company they both work for. A position, that really should have been offered to Olivia. Now, with the heat coming off both of them when they hare a room, Olivia "Liv" and Cole have to learn to work around it. Since office rumor
...more
LJT
Mar 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I really love romances that take place in a corporate environment with a smart and hard-working heroine establishing herself in a dog-eat-dog world. So when I read the synopsis of Once Upon a Dare by Jennifer Bonds, I just had to add it to my TBR list. What a great read! The story is a little far-fetched in a couple of spots, but that is what makes it even more entertaining.

Advertising executive Olivia Masterson loves her job and is considered to be an expert in her field. She never does anythin
...more
Jeannie Zelos
Apr 07, 2015 rated it liked it
 
 
 
Once Upon a Dare, Jennifer Bonds
Genre:  Romance
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
This was a well written book, but the story just didn’t grab me. I’ve read books based around the same situation as this that have been fantastic, and was hoping for much from this one. I liked the characters but didn’t love them, didn’t really see why Olivia went off at the deep end when Cole did what he did – sure he was wrong, but I just felt her reaction OTT and childish. The sex between them was hot, b
...more
Irene
3.5 stars

Once Upon a Dare was a fun, steamy and entertaining read.

The writing is well done and the chemistry between the characters is smoking!
Looking forward to reading more from Jennifer Bonds in the near future.

Thank you Netgalley and Entangled Brazen for the advance copy in exchange for my honest thoughts.
Laura Johnson
Ok read. One word I can say for this book... PREDICTABLE.
Olivia Farr
Nov 23, 2018 rated it liked it
"Once Upon a Dare" is a quick read that follows Olivia Masterson and Cole Bennett. Olivia works unbelievably hard at her job for an advertising agency- so hard that she has no personal life. Her hard work is about to be recognized, because her boss suggested that she would be made partner if she closed this case, which she did with aplomb. She is out with her only friend (because she works so much she can't maintain friendships) to celebrate. Her boss scheduled an unlikely meeting on Monday, so ...more
Whispers From
Dec 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Olivia is in advertising and the night before she’s supposed to find out if she’s made partner, she goes out with her friend Chloe. Olivia is known as the Ice Queen, all work and no play, so when Olivia dares her to have a one night stand with a stranger, she goes for it. Cole is back in New York after working in London for years. He is starting a new job and is out having a couple of drinks. Olivia comes up and starts flirting and then when she asks “ your place or mine?” he’s ready and raring ...more
Stacy Jordet
Dec 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
What do you do after you find out that the one night stand who gave you the hottest night of your life takes your promotion. Then you are tasked to work with him and he is now your boss?

Olivia is a very hard worker and deserves the promotion. The weekend before the reveal her friend takes her out and dares her to let her hair down for one night and go home with a man of her choosing. Olivia finally decides that she deserves one might of wildness and she promptly leaves in the morning.

I felt so b
...more
Pelusa Rivera
Dec 09, 2018 rated it liked it
I did enjoy the story it kept me entertained one afternoon. So we meet the Ice Queen, Olivia as she is known in the office. She is an Ice Queen because she is focus on moving up in her job and doesn't really take crap. On a night out of town her friend dares her to get a hot night and she found her victim and had said hot night, thinking she will never see him. Unfortunately, for her she meets him again at her job and Cole gets the promotion she wanted..Now what to do, ignore him or keep doing w ...more
Sandy Vaile
Jul 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
Cole and Olivia discovered how good they could be together on a dare, but working under the arrogant Cole could prove more than a match for advertising guru, Olivia. He's already stolen the promotion she's worked years for, but she won't let him win the war.

The perfect example of how working relationships gets very complicated when sex is involved. This story was sexy and lots of fun. I liked the way Olivia stood up for what she wanted.
Becky Rendon
Dec 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
Once Upon a Date is a steamy workplace romance. The one night stand that got away turns up the next day. Fighting list and egos takes up almost as much time as their day jobs.

It's naughty fun. Once Upon a Dare was a great way to immerse myself in a workplace romance with out the drama of real life. ☺ So kick off the offending heels, put your feet up, and cut loose with a Dare...

Katie Keller
Mar 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
More like 3.5 stars... cute, light-hearted, easy read. They had good chemistry, but there was a lot of telling rather than showing... I think she overreacted a bit at the end with the big conflict, and his apology was CHEESE-TASTIC, but, still cute. Loved the epilogue! Adorable.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Taking Control (Babysitting a Billionaire, #3)
  • Tempted by Trouble
  • Whisper
  • Recipe for Attraction (Madewood Brothers, #2)
  • Into the Fire (Hot Nights, #1)
  • Skin in the Game (Play Action #1)
  • Hold Me Until Midnight (Grayson Brothers, #1)
  • Threat
  • Kilty Pleasure (The McLaughlins, #2)
  • Game for Trouble (Game for It, #2)
  • Loving Laney (Shadowpeak Wolves, #1)
  • Unbreakable (Shadow Destroyers, #1)
  • Touch & Go (Dare to Love, #2)
  • Trained for Seduction (Spy Games, #1)
  • Chasing Desire (Chasing Love, #3)
  • Some like It Sinful (A Perfect Recipe, #2)
  • Hard and Fast
  • Wicked Games (McCade Brothers, #1.5)
234 followers
Jennifer Bonds writes sizzling contemporary romance with sassy heroines, sexy heroes, and a whole lot of mischief. When she’s not writing or wrangling toddlers, she can be found curled up with a good book and a bottle of wine. Jennifer lives in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, where her overactive imagination and weakness for reality TV keep life interesting. She’s lucky enough to live with her own real li ...more

Other books in the series

Risky Business (3 books)
  • Once Upon a Power Play (Risky Business, #2)
  • Seducing the Fireman (Risky Business #3)
“You know,” she stammered, resenting the way her body reacted to his touch with fireworks and songbirds, “I kind of hate you sometimes.”

“If that’s code for ‘I want to fuck you until I can’t walk straight’, then I kind of hate you, too.”
2 likes
“She shouldn’t be this close to Cole, not alone, not even when she was pissed beyond belief. It was too dangerous, since she had yet to find a cure for I-hate-you-but-I-want-to-fuck-your-brains-out-itis.” 2 likes
More quotes…