Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Ghost in the Closet” as Want to Read:
The Ghost in the Closet
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

The Ghost in the Closet

by
3.91  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  16 reviews
5***** Reviews: "not your usual take on a ghost story" & "a fast paced plot with well described scenes and characters."

Dumdie Swartzs ability to see ghosts has gotten her into scrapes all her life, ever since she was little. In her senior years, it takes its toll when she gets fired from her job and loses her apartment as a result of her gift. Now homeless, Dumdie is
...more
Kindle Edition, 33 pages
Published April 30th 2014 by Smashwords (first published April 9th 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Ghost in the Closet, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Ghost in the Closet

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.91  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Ghost in the Closet
Stuart Keane
For as long as I can remember, a ghost story has always been the most elegant of the horror sub-genres. They tend to slow-burn, pulling you in gradually but surely until unleashing the ghost, startling, amazing, or shocking you. There's one problem with this: Some ghost stories don't get started and by that point, you interest wanes. This may be down to a readers imagination, not feeling the tension or the prose itself.

The Ghost in the Closet is a wonderful story but it took a while to get
...more
Danelle  @ Our-Wolves-Den
This very short novel rushes speed ahead from the first paragraph. I was impressed that a clear characters were able to be developed in just 22 pages, and have a plot that was interesting from beginning to end. You have to feel sorry for Dumdie, as it is not her fault that she see's spirits-this seeing of spirits is what landed her in the homeless shelter {old mansion-refurbished} to begin with. While some know of her abilities, nobody was prepared for a spirit to contact her at this location. ...more
Patricia Stoltey
The Ghost in the Closet is the story of Dumdie Swartz who was fired from her job and becomes homeless. When she and her friend move into a private shelter, Dumdie discovers the closet in her room harbors a ghost. A ghost with a message. The women's shelter is about to be closed because the deceased owner's will that will has gone missing. Without that valid will, the ladies who live there will be turned out.

Dumdie is not always as clever as she wants to be, but here's a case she considers so
...more
Danni
Jul 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love a ghost story, especially one that is grounded in an element of realism. I think this is what makes this one so special. The ghost in question is almost understated and serves as a reminder of lingering promises which I think is very clever and thought provoking. This is the second book I have read by the author and I love the way she gets to the crux of a story so quickly. No words are wasted and every sentence drives the story forward.
Lance Morcan
Oct 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

A very worthy 5 Stars


Heres a novelette thats strong on story, message and characterization - a superior read in many ways.

The author weaves a skillful yarn that weaves a winding path through everyday life and the paranormal.



Without giving too much (by way of storyline) away, it is also something of a commentary on problems of the day.
...more
Annastew1144hotmail.com
There is little value I can add by reiterating the plot so I will stay with the important bits. A wonderful short story, very atmospheric. This is the second short I have read by the author and I am always impressed by how much she conveys with so few words. I think she is a gifted storyteller and would love to see her write longer fiction.
Jerome’s Cat
Dec 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Enjoyable ghost story

Seeing ghosts has given Dumdee a hard life and an odd nickname. Lovely characters that Id like to see again in a sequel, and so nice to have a ghost whisperer who isnt in their 20s
...more
Angela
Dec 31, 2019 rated it really liked it
Awesome

I liked how it keep you wanting to know more. I feel pro people would enjoy this book as much as I have
Wen
Oct 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
October Read

This was most interesting. An unusual story...found myself routing for Dumbie trying to find the Will. I loved the ghost.
Grady
Jun 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
'Craigbourne has about as much fight as a wet dishrag.'

M.K. Theodoratus states in her bio as a fantasy author, `Magic and fantasy have been part of my life ... like forever. I started telling stories after my imaginary friend came to play with me on the front porch when I was about three. By the time I was in sixth grade, I was reading any story connected with magical worlds, ghosts, witches, and things paranormal, though I didn't much care for blood-drinking vampires. Still don't, with few
...more
Pratr- Authors
May 15, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a novella about a girl named Dumdie and her friends who are living on the streets.
Dumdie and her friends get moved off the streets and sleeping in cars to living in a mansion.
What they don't know is the mansion is haunted. When she goes into her room, she finds a ghost in her closet and her room is the the coldest. The ghost tells her to look for something very important. Does Dumdie find what the ghost want her to find? Do they get to stay in the mansion or do they leave? Read the
...more
Dani
This is the story of Dumdie Swartz, a woman who ended up being homeless after she lost her job. She has a very intriguing quality, but also very problematic. Because of her ability to see ghost, she ended up living in the streets. But now she has been rescued, and is living in the Archinhauser Shelter for Homeless Women. When a heir of the woman who owned the house threatens their destiny, she tries to use her ability to overcome the difficulties.

At first, I thought it was a spooky ghost story,
...more
Scott
Jun 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
If you are looking for a great short story that you can read cover to cover before bed or on a short flight then The Ghost in the Closet by M. K. Theodoratus is a great choice for you. The Ghost in the Closet is a short story about a young woman who goes by the nickname Dumbdee. Dumbdee has seen ghost her whole life and been teased for what people see when she reacts to her sightings. She is a quiet woman who shies from confrontation. The most recent victim of her sightings is her job and her ...more
Robin Perron
Jun 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Ghost in the Closet by M. K. Theodoratus is a great little short story about a young woman who goes by Dumdie. Dumdie has been teased by her family and others as a result of her gift to see spirits. This gift has recently lead to the loss of her job and her home. She is fortunate enough to be given a chance to get herself back on her feet when she is given a spot at the Archinhauser Shelter for Homeless Women. As soon as she moves in, however, she can tell that something is amiss and is ...more
Holly
May 08, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

A short-but sweet story, that took me all of a half-hour to get through. I recommend this book for short commutes or sessions at the gym. It's a simple story about losing hope and finding a new home. Would be great as an expanded story, with a little more mystery thrown in.

4/5
MRS C TUCKNOTT
rated it it was ok
Feb 07, 2020
kevin winnett
rated it liked it
Dec 12, 2019
Pam White
rated it liked it
Jan 09, 2020
Chelsea Winstone
rated it really liked it
Sep 30, 2019
K.K. Allen
rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2014
Miss GM Jones
rated it liked it
Jan 13, 2020
Gail Butterworth
rated it liked it
Feb 12, 2020
anita longden
rated it it was amazing
Mar 04, 2020
Tegan Greenway
rated it it was ok
Dec 10, 2019
EDITH  ODUM
rated it it was ok
Nov 30, 2019
Paula Simerly
rated it liked it
Jan 17, 2020
Dylan West
rated it really liked it
Jun 25, 2014
Janet Housden
rated it really liked it
Nov 15, 2019
RICHARD GRINAVIC
rated it it was amazing
Nov 28, 2019
Mateo Bongiorno
rated it really liked it
Oct 25, 2019
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
GOOD REVIEWS: Short Novella Review Exchange, Anyone? 6 33 May 21, 2014 09:18AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The First Cases: A Roberts and Bradley Box Set
  • The Assassin's Gift: Book One
  • Stealing Power (Detectives India Kane & AJ Colt, #1)
  • Missed Connections: Book 0
  • Flesh and Blood: Part One (Roberts and Bradley Casebook, #2.1)
  • Sins of the Angels (Grigori Legacy, #1)
  • Curse the Dark: The Harstone Legacy Book 1
  • Who Killed the Bears? A Ghost Story - Inspired by True Events.: (Book One) The Legacy
  • She Never Came Home
  • The Ghost of Marlow House (Haunting Danielle, #1)
  • Tuesday's Child (Psychic Visions, #1)
  • Dead and Gone to Bell (A Samantha Bell Mystery Thriller #1)
  • 20 Dark, Scary and Sad Short Stories
  • Conviction
  • Found
  • The Greeks of Beaubien Street (The Greektown Trilogy #1)
  • Montana Untamed (Bear Grass Springs, #1)
  • King Of The Hoboes
See similar books…
208 followers
M. K. Theodoratus has been intrigued by fantasy since she discovered the Oz books. She has traveled through many fantasy worlds since then. When she's not reading about other writer's worlds, she's creating her own -- mostly that of the Far Isle Half-Elven where she explores the social and political influences of population genetics in a hybrid elf/human poplustion.

A sixth grade English assignment
...more

Related Articles

Diverse voices and sparkling debuts dominate today's contemporary short story collections. For this roundup, we took a look at the ...
70 likes · 6 comments