Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Syndicate (Timewaves, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Syndicate (Timewaves, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Syndicate (Timewaves #1)

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  411 Ratings  ·  183 Reviews
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a black market exists for anyone with the money, connections, and nerve to request items from days past. As a Runner for one of the underground syndicates that now controls the timewaves, Stassi 2446-89 has seen it all: the fall of Rome, the rise of Hitler, the end of democracy, the establishment of time tourism, and the dev ...more
ebook, 586 pages
Published March 1st 2016 by Sophie Davis Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Syndicate, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Annika There's a bit of romance, it's really cute but not the central point :)

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Ben Alderson
May 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Really cant fault this book. It introduced me to time travel fiction and has got me hooked. The characters, plot, setting and voice of the novel was incredible. I also loved that it was MASSIVE! :D NEED THE SEQUEL
Sarah
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Sophie Davis Books and NetGalley.)

"Cyrus just said he has an assignment in Paris, year 1925. You want it right?”


This wasn’t a bad book, but it did struggle to hold my attention.

Stassi was an okay character, although at times her devotion to her job was really shaky. I couldn’t quite understand her wanting to sit through 2 hours of hairdressing rather than cut her hair a bit, and I also thought it wa
...more
Norah Una Sumner
3.5 stars

Love me some time travel. I didn't even realize that this is one long ass book, though. But I actually really liked it, although Return Once More is still my favourite time travel book. I really liked the characters, especially our heroine Stassi, and I loved the fact that they time traveled to 1920's Paris. Charles is an interesting character, as well, although at times a bit too mysterious. The only problem I had with this book was that it was way too slow at times (and yet way too ac
...more
Alexandra
I enjoyed this one so much that rather than reach back into the dark abyss of the bazillion unread Kindle books I already own, I bought and have already started the next book in this series.

Overall this is very, very good. An adventure in 1920's Paris, seeking to obtain and copy a never published novel by a (fictitious) famous author, trying not to be outted as time travelers from the future, there's a bit of a sweet romance but it's not angst ridden and is just one thread in a complex plot. The
...more
Lissa Hawley
May 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

That being said, I can honestly say (gush) that I adored this book. It is a gorgeously written, incredibly detailed and researched novel that is like the best parts of Doctor Who, Downton Abbey and a bit of Veronic Mars put together. (It would probably make an epic TV show, someone get on that, please?)

I need everyone to read this book so I have someone to discuss it with. The Main Character had so many charmingly i
...more
Marjolein
Read all my reviews on http://urlphantomhive.booklikes.com

I like time travel, so naturally when I heard about this time travel novel featuring a Syndicate sending people back into time to steal certain artifacts.

Stassi and her partner are sent to 1920s Paris in order to track down a certain manuscript, while they have to mingle in with the local artists consisting of many, many famous historical figures. However, what starts as a routine job goes awry quickly as a new serial killer turns up.

I
...more
Bailey Skye
Feb 28, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc, 2016-reads
I received an electronic reading copy in exchange for an honest review.

3/5 Stars


I have such conflicted feelings about this book because it had such an amazing premise, an interesting story line, but it just did not deliver in being a solid book. It was full of so much detail, which I don't really mind, but much of it was so unnecessary and did nothing to advance the story. Too much filler, and that's saying a lot as this book is over 500 pages! It drags, and it's such a shame because the story i
...more
Rosemarie Short
Feb 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: science-fiction, arc
I feel like there is a really big gap in YA for well written, fun Sci Fi with an interesting concept. The Syndicate definitely goes some way towards filling this void for me.

Firstly, the characters are immensely fun. Stassi is passionate, smart, quick witted but also very human. Her reactions aren't always perfect but they're very relatable. She makes a great double act with her Partner, Gaige (who is the atypical smart ass Casanova with a heart of gold). I would like there to be more character
...more
Madeleine
Oct 13, 2016 rated it really liked it
**I received a free copy from Rachel E. Carter's YA Book Club on Goodreads in exchange for a review.**

First off, this book really reminded me (in a good way) stylistically of Claudia Gray's Firebird series- a little futuristic but nothing too wild (except for the mention of several more World Wars-yes it is plausible but a little pessimistic?), as well as Marianne Curley's Guardians of Time trilogy in terms of the being able to go through time- although with a little less magic and a little more
...more
Becc Moore
Apr 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
In 2446, a time when consumer demand has allowed The Syndicate to create a thriving underground black-market for unique antiquities and artefacts, Stassi and Gaige find themselves in 1920s France to acquire a copy of an unpublished manuscript for a customer. Their mission takes an unplanned twist when they find themselves caught up in a previously undocumented historical murder mystery, involving a rouge runner and a mystery man hell bent on achieving historical infamy. The question then becomes ...more
Steph Goodwin
Feb 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Once I started reading I was dragged into a world of intrigue where the lines for right and wrong are blurred. With a strong female lead and an amazing plot I cannot wait for the second instalment especially with an ending that made me wish there was just one more chapter to explain what just happened.
S.L. Beaumont
Jan 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An enjoyable, well written story with great characters and setting. From a dystopian future, 2465, Stassi is a part of a time travelling syndicate who return to earlier points in history to collect long destroyed or lost artefacts for their high paying clients. But when she and her partner Gaige return to 1920s Paris to collect a manuscript, the fun of hanging out with the glittering literary set is marred by the sudden appearance of a previously unknown serial killer.
Bryce
Jan 30, 2016 rated it really liked it
See the full review on my blog!

Let's get straight into the review! Starting with the plot, I thought it was pretty well-done. The beginning starts out with the MC, Stassi, on a mission to retrieve a letter. We find out that Stassi is a runner, and she goes back in time to different places to steal ancient artifacts. She then brings them back to the present (which is 2446) to be sold to different buyers. It's like a black market for valuable objects from the past.

The beginning started out very
...more
NJ
Mar 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
An unmissable, whimsical fun read…4.5 Stars!

“We have a novel to find, a rogue runner to locate, and a killer to stop. I’d say our dance card is pretty full at the moment.” – Stassi

If you love interesting, fun characters and time travel, you’re going to devour The Syndicate. It’s a captivating story of friendship, the glamorous 1920s, humour, thriller and history. It had me laughing out loud from the fantastic, tongue in cheek dialogue while being at the edge of my seat from the gripping plot. Yo
...more
Tanja
Feb 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
that story starts of quickly with a high end chase trough alleys and markets. stassi is running for her life, her partner not in sight. only at the very last minute does he show and "saves" her.
when both are back at "their" present time you get a more detailed view of how the syndicate works.
two people, runners, are sent back in time to recover old artifacts, artifacts that in turn are sold for a high price.
sometimes a job lasts a few days, or a week. when stassi and gaige volunteer for the next
...more
Monica Alvarado
Feb 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Another must read by Sophie Davis!! She is such a talented writers, and is really good at getting the reader on the edge of their seats from the beginning to the end. I couldn't put the book down. I had to learn more about Stassi, and Gaiges jump to France, If they would in counter the Night Gentlemen, and complete their mission. I can't wait to read more about Stassi, and Charles! Will they ever find out more about the five clover pieces and their owners? I just hope I wouldn't have to wait too ...more
Angel Leya
Holy freaking cow!

Stassi is incredibly grateful for the life she lives with the Syndicate--a time travel artifact procurement company--but she still wonders about her parents. A picture with a woman wearing her necklace points her to 1920's Paris, and when an assignment for that period turns up, she jumps on the chance. But this job, while more detail-oriented than others she's taken (stealing an unpublished manuscript from a famous and paranoid writer), has a lot more going on than she expected
...more
Annika
Feb 25, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
My original review can be found on Hiding in Books.

The first chapter sets things into motion nicely, and some necessary explanations are made amidst all the action. Then you get to the set-up and about 6 chapters of information being dumped on you - which I understand but... do we really need all this information at the beginning? It was slightly too much and kind of distracted me from the story. But, once the book got back into the action and intrigue it got a lot better.

Most of the story focus
...more
Kayla
Oct 16, 2016 rated it really liked it
I voluntarily reviewed a copy from the “Rachel E. Carter YA Book Club on Goodreads." I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

The Syndicate by Sophie Davis is a book that is based on time travel after an epic war has occurred that destroyed much of the world as we currently know it. “Runners” are individuals who are sent back to specific periods in time after undergoing rigorous training and preparation with the mission of acquiring a specific object (book, painting, etc.) as req
...more
P๏€cɨℓią* ~SLiTsRead
Feb 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
GAH THAT ENDING!! I knew it wouldn't end simply but I had no idea what had happened. I mean what Charles had said to Cyrus. What could unsettle the founder of The Syndicate? I can't wait for book 2 to be out!

This book was as good as I'd hoped. Awesome Paris backdrop and it wasted no time jumping right into the story, with Stassi just finishing off an assignment in an unorthodox way, jumping without using the Gate. Eventhough this is just book 1, so many things had happened, the Night Gentlemen a
...more
Lexi
Nov 14, 2016 rated it liked it
*** I voluntarily reviewed a copy from the Rachel E. Carter YA book club on Goodreads ***

First off, let me say I am not a big fan of time travel. After many, many attempts to get into time travel, I gave up and officially pushed the subject to the side. However, with this book, I am so so glad to say I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would. What really made me want to read this was the setting: 1920s Paris! *heart eyes* I ended up loving it for much more than just the setting, and for that
...more
Sharon
Sophie Davis Books and NetGalley provided me with an electronic copy of The Syndicate, in exchange for an honest review.

Stassi comes from a future in which time travel is outlawed, but a black market exists for items from the past. Underground syndicates employ runners that travel the timewaves, in search of those items requested by their clientele. Stassi and her partner, Gaige, are one such team, traveling the world through time with usually no problems. When an assignment comes up for France
...more
Jessica
Feb 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
5 stars!

‘The Syndicate’ is a time travel fantasy novel which allows readers to enjoy a glimpse of a cleverly imagined 2446 and follow the main character, Stassi, to 1925 Paris for several hundred pages of fashion and intrigue. Employed as Runners for the Syndicate, Stassi and her partner Gaige, are trained and prepared for time jumps on behalf of wealthy Syndicate clients who pay handsomely to own a piece of history. This particular run has them gracefully infiltrating the artsy group of Ernest
...more
Faith C.
Feb 10, 2016 rated it really liked it
Sophie Davis has done it again! I have loved everything that I have read by this author and that continues with this book.

This story is a quite a bit different from her other books but in such a good way. It was very well written and you could definitely tell that she spent tons of time researching the era, places, and people that she included in this story. It was really neat to read the names of historical figures that I knew and to get to read about them as if they were simply characters in
...more
Hetti
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Barbara Gordon
Apr 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I haven't read very many time traveling books, but I definitely love them. This one caught my attention straight off the bat. We are dropped right in the middle of an action-packed scene with a very familiar historical figure, and I thought to myself "If it starts off this good, it can only get better!" And boy did it ever. :) Without giving too much away, this story find us in the future with a team of...hunters...of a sort. They get sent all thru time to find historical objects that have been ...more
Jo  (Mixed Book Bag)
Mar 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The Syndicate by Sophie Davis – This is a fun and quirky time travel book. A great mix of characters that make up the world of the Syndicate. The world in this book is 1925 Paris and as I read I could picture the people and places as if I was there. Most of the world building takes place in Paris and is part of the story line. The rest is kept simple and part of the back story. The plot starts out as a very simple find and retrieve but quickly becomes more complex and dangerous. It was fun seein ...more
Annie
Mar 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
Thankyou NetGalley.Com for sending me an Advance Review Copy in exchange for my review.. A funny and interesting time travel story that has you hooked from the action packed prologue.. With elements of mystery, sci-fi, romance and humour, it's a very enjoyable and relaxing read..
Jaclyn
Jun 20, 2016 rated it really liked it
Really!?! Really!?!?
Megan S
May 09, 2015 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Free Audible Vouc...: Free Audible Credit for The Syndicate 11 34 Jul 19, 2018 09:50AM  
Sinopsis en Español // Synopsis in Spanish 3 4 Feb 11, 2016 10:28AM  
  • The Other Side Of Gravity (Oxygen #1)
  • Linked Through Time (Through Time, #1)
  • Wolfsbane (Tales of a Traveler, #2)
  • Secret of the Sevens
  • Consider (Holo, #1)
  • A Perfect Plan
  • Senior Year Bites (The Clanless, #1)
  • Washington's Providence (A Timeless Arts Novel, #1)
  • The Bound (Ascension, #2)
  • dotwav
  • Bad Spirits
  • Piercing the Fold (Piercing the Fold, #1)
  • Parallel Lives
  • A 3rd Time to Die
  • Forever Layla
  • The Muse of Violence
  • Hero (The Hero Rebellion #1)
  • Aerendgast
743 followers
"Sophie Davis" is the pseudonym for two best friends, roommates, and now writing partners. The pair met at Dickinson Law and instantly bonded over their love of great books and bad horror movies. After they graduated, when one longed for the ability to read minds so she wouldn't have to study for the bar exam, a Saga was born. When the Talented Saga went on to be an internationally bestselling ser ...more
More about Sophie Davis

Other books in the series

Timewaves (5 books)
  • 2446-89: Stassi's Diary (Timewaves, #0)
  • Atlic (Timewaves, #2)
  • Legends Untold (Timewaves, #3)
  • Dust Into Gold (Timewaves #4)

Young Adult Deals

  • Son of the Dawn (Ghosts of the Shadow Market #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Mechanica (Mechanica, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • A Night Divided
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Lotterys Plus One
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The End of Feeling
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Gone (Gone, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Moon Chosen (Tales of a New World #1)
    $8.51 $2.99
  • Deviants (Dust Chronicles #1)
    $4.49 $0.99
  • Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles, #1)
    $6.49 $1.99
  • Just Friends
    $7.80 $2.99
  • For Love and Honor (An Uncertain Choice, #3)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Chemistry Lessons
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Menagerie
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Infinite (Gates of Thread and Stone #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Black Bird of the Gallows
    $7.99 $0.99
  • My Best Friend's Exorcism
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Liars, Inc.
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Lumière (The Illumination Paradox, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Royal Ranger (Ranger's Apprentice, #12)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • I Hate Everyone But You
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Love and Other Unknown Variables
    $7.99 $0.99
  • Touching Spirit Bear (Spirit Bear, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Cruelty
    $7.80 $2.99
  • A Messy, Beautiful Life
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Renegades (Renegades, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
“Like a crazy person kind of sickness?” I squeaked. Cyrus” 0 likes
“You want this one?” he asked me softly, placing his hand on my forearm and giving it a squeeze. “Huh?” I asked distractedly. “Cyrus just said he has an assignment in Paris, year 1925. You want it, right?” Did arctic explorers want hot showers? “We’ll take it!” I exclaimed. For” 0 likes
More quotes…